Author Interview by, Wal Wallaby, Rooving Reporter.

pageddd

pagewwwww“G’day viewers, Wal Wallaby here from, Macropod Monthly, the magazine for discerning readers. I have the dubious honour to be interviewing, L.W.SMITH today, author of the Death Series. You will find links and NEW covers at the end of the interview. You may remember him as the pesky photographer who delights in sneaking around the paddock, photographing the local inhabitants. Last report by Wal.
I managed to catch up with him after he’d finished, as he says ‘pottering around the place.’pagezzzzzzzz

Wal: *clears throat* G’day, do I call you L.W?”
Laurie: “G’day, Wal no, Laurie’s fine and thanks for taking the time to come and chat with me today.”
Wal:  “Thanks, Laurie you’re welcome. I must start the interview with a question from one of our magazine’s models and my assistant a, Miss Marilyn Munroo, *sound of pages being flipped* She’s read your first novel, Mountain of Death and wants to know if you’ve modelled the hero, Jack Hardy, on yourself?”
Laurie: “That’s something of a compliment, Wal but no, I’m afraid not. Jack is an anti-hero, the best of a bad bunch. Yes he’s tough, the ladies love him and he can fight like a threshing machine. He’s a small time career criminal who, after teaming-up with Eddie Barnes, an ex-jockey on the run decides to hold up a US army payroll in Kings Cross. This is in the days of R&R during the Vietnam war. Like all my characters, he’s a, for want of a better word, a com-fit of people I’ve known over the years.”
Wal: “So, Laurie you must have known some heavy types then? Oh, Marilyn likes the exotic dancer Fifi, she’s not keen on the lady with the snake though.”
Laurie: :  “I certainly did, Wal, I spent seven years working in jail and five in the police. I’ve seen them all: heavy duty armed robbers, outlaw bikers, murderers, burglars, rapists, an alleged member of the Sydney Toe-cutter gang and right down the food chain to petty thieves. The worst were the child killers. So I have no end of grist for my writing mill. I can see why Marilyn likes Fifi: blonde, attractive, sexy with a mean streak a mile wide. She’s Jack’s nemesis in a way, a definite love-hate relationship. *laughs* Oh, Patsy the snake dancer, now there’s a girl who knows her art, she’s definitely real and I saw her perform.”
Wal: “Err, really? *Brushes film of sweat from his brow* There seems to be a lot of violence in this story, Laurie. Is it relevant, or even necessary?”
Laurie: “It’s like this, Wal the characters are inherently violent. Their lives have been caught up in abuse, violence and neglect. Yes they are adults now and can make choices but sometimes life gets in the way. For Jack, Eddie and all the other characters their lives intertwine with that of Hans Draheim and his son Otto, he……” *Wal interjects.*
Wal: “Sorry but is this character relevant, come on an ex SS Colonel. Don’t you think it’s a little passé?”
Laurie: “Not at all, as late as last month a couple of concentration camp guards were brought to trial in Europe, they’re still out there.  Look, although the book starts with Jack on the inside, the story really begins in Kings Cross, in 1969. The Draheims left France in 1944 and came to Australia as refugees via Spain after hostilities ceased. Having access to a huge amount of stolen gold, they set up shop as it were in Sydney. Hans is the consummate villain, just plain nasty and he likes to keep in practice, with his err, bolt cutters. He doesn’t need to work, all he finds pleasure in is hurting and controlling others through blackmail and corruption.”
Wal: “Do people like that exist? I mean, I’m only a Wallaby who likes to interview people, this is shocking news for my readers.”
Laurie: “I’m sorry to burst your bubble there, Wal, it’s true. The good thing is we have people who strive to fight against such things.”
Wal: “Oh, so it’s like all the old movies, with the black hats against the white hats then?”
Laurie: *laughs* “Not at all, Wal, there are no black hats versus white hats here. Only various shades of grey. No, no, not fifty shades of grey, Wal. Hmm although Fifi could teach them a thing or two. No, my characters are human, with faults, vices and needs.”
Wal: “So, Laurie will readers of your book be entertained? Marilyn tells me there are hmm, *cough* sex scenes in there, are they really needed?”
Laurie: “Everything else is in there, Wal, violence, murder, pain and suffering. I can’t really fade a love scene out with rushing trains and firework displays in the background. No, it’s people doing what they do.”
Wal: “Laurie, we have two other books to discuss, could you, in a couple of sentences tell my readers what to expect from Mountain of Death?”
Laurie: “Certainly, Wal, like many stories, it’s a journey. A man’s journey within the confines of his own life, still a criminal though he’s growing, learning, loving, losing and overcoming huge obstacles. Yet, he still moves forward, he has a moral code, it may differ from what normal people consider moral but it’s a code nonetheless. They can expect brutal violence at one turn and love at another. They’ll get a glimpse of life in jail, the reality of life on the streets, and just how bloody mean and evil people can be. Though at the end of the book there is a sense of justice being obtained.”
Quick break for tea and scones, Marilyn arrives and nudges Wal to one side.
nnnnnnnnnn
Marilyn: “Sorry to jump in like this, Wal but I’d like to ask a few questions about Valley of Death.”
Wal: *mouth full of scone* “Humph, whatever, just be quick about it.”
Marilyn: *sits quite close to author and flutters eyelashes* “Don’t mind me butting in, Laurie. I have to ask, in your second novel, Valley, you have a female lead, a policewoman. Why the change of pace?”
Laurie: “Although it’s a series, Marilyn, *pushes a delicate paw away from his thigh* first off I wanted the books to stand alone and secondly I didn’t want to have to keep up the pace with Jack. He’s a full on character, although he’s in Valley he plays second fiddle to the lead, Annie Leeson. I don’t want to spoil the end of book one but Annie plays a small, though a quite relevant part there.”
Marilyn: “As a man, what qualifies you to write from a woman’s perspective?”
Laurie: “I’d like to say that I managed to get in touch with my feminine side. That won’t work, no, as a writer one is supposed to be able to write from different perspectives. Whether it’s ones voice or from a child, woman, man, even a dog. You need to put yourself in their place. I created her and gave her certain attributes, both physical and moral.”
Marilyn: “Hmm, I noticed all that red hair and green eyes, plus a, err, large chest. Oh and what’s with the bi-sexual angle?”
Laurie: Annie was a foster child and has a past well entrenched in abuse. Now she is a police officer and hopes to be able to make a difference. Being bi-sexual is part of her makeup. Early sexual abuse has terrible consequences on a persons sexual preferences. It also gives me a chance to show a different side to her persona. So she’s confused in that area but not in her determination to get to the bottom of a supposed drug overdose by a young girl.”
Marilyn: “I like her, she’s tough and from what I’ve read so far she can handle herself. Is she real?”
Laurie: “I’ve known a few tough women in my time, one or two of them could wipe the floor with me. *Wal chokes on the last of his scone and tea* She has to be tough, Marilyn. The police force is hard for a woman, not only the policing but the fact that women have to work harder to get ahead. In regards to her physical self, red hair and green eyes run in my mother’s side of the family, hmm and big chests.” *laughs*
Marilyn: “From what I’ve read, Annie is faced with some huge obstacles in this story, not only in her work life but her personal life also, why is this?”
Laurie: “It’s quite simple, this story is about her journey. One of discovery, love, loss and brutality. Life doesn’t treat our Annie too well at all. Yes she is quite wealthy, having received a huge inheritance but it can’t protect her from a determined and sadistic killer.” Marilyn looks out towards the paddock and watches the joeys hopping around and playing.
Marilyn: “I see that the victims in this book are children, Laurie, why have you chosen them instead of adults?”
Laurie: “I chose them because they are the most vulnerable members of society. They are our future and yet they are the ones who receive the most abuse, and they don’t have a voice. In the book they are the street kids, runaways, the throw-away kids that nobody wants. Rejected by the system, because it’s too hard to control them by the time they reach their early teens. Then they are preyed on by the drug dealers and perverts on the streets. Many of them leave home to avoid abuse and they end up far worse off.”
Wal: “Sorry, Marilyn I’ll take over. Laurie, the antagonist in this story is a supposed pillar of society, yet he gets away with committing terrible acts.”
Laurie: “He does indeed, simply because he doesn’t look like the type of person who would do these things. This man is based on someone I knew and believe me when I say, I didn’t have to make him look any worse for the story than what he truly was.”
Wal: “That is sad. So, I take it your readers are in for more of the same.”
Laurie: “In a way they are, Wal. You have to remember this story is about a young woman facing horror on a scale that would make the strongest of us turn away. Her past is brought to the surface, she falls in love, loses loved ones, encounters evil and ends up on a downward spiral towards her own destruction. I don’t like to end a story on a negative stroke, this one will surprise you, yet at the same time there is hope for a future.” Loud grunting and barking noises waft up from the paddock.
Wal: “I’m sorry, Laurie. Marilyn and I have to go, it appears the McPod brothers are fighting again, we need some pictures for our sports section. Look, can we catch up in a week or so and talk about River of Death?’
Laurie: “That’ll be fine, Wal, I’ll still be here. Thanks for a great interview.”
Wal” “Great, c’mon, Marilyn grab your camera we’re off.”

Amazon Link
Mountain of Death

Mountain of DeathAmazon Link
Valley of Death

Valley of Death
This could be the McPod  brothers fighting. I filmed it several years ago before I cleaned the paddock up. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgpAJj1XqUc

48 thoughts on “Author Interview by, Wal Wallaby, Rooving Reporter.

  1. Pagadan

    I enjoyed the interview, and Annie sounds like great heroine. Is the book a complete tragedy though? I’d rather see her kick ass and take down the villain even if it’s off camera and done subtly because she has to do it that way because of his reputation… But if it couldn’t happen this time, I hope she takes him down later.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, Annie is a great heroine. She has a lot on her plate though. She kicks plenty of ass and is strengthened by the adversity. She doesn’t give up. I can’t say much more or I’d ruin the ending, let’s just say that she stars in the following three books.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Patricia Salamone

    Love the interview Fratello, you are so clever. It is great to let your childhood blossom and finally be set loose. I hope the Wal does return for another interview. You are so entertaining.
    Bye the way, I just purchased you book “Mountain of Death”, and I will get to the others as soon as possible. Have a great day! :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, my childhood imagination lurks close to the surface.🙂 Wal will definitely be back, that’s if he can keep away from the ladies. Thanks for buying my book, I hope you enjoy the read.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  3. hitandrun1964

    Great interview. I had no idea that Kangaroos were also journalists, but I certainly don’t see why they shouldn’t be anything they would like to be. Their ability to speak English and ask all the right questions was amazing and very impressive. You, of course, were the perfect author to be interviewed for this literary piece. Interesting and informative. Well done. LOL way to go:) Lots of fun:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You would be so surprised at what these kangaroos and wallabies can do Gigi. We have: Shakespearean actors, news anchor men and women, athletes, tour guides. the list is endless. It is amazing that they speak English, sorry, Australian and just get those questions right, time after time.😉 It never ceases to amaze me. Of course they picked the right author, hmm, I think I’m the only one for miles. Seriously, it was a lot of fun and thanks for dropping in.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Laurie, a little touch of poetic license there. I try to inject a little humour, that way I can laugh at myself.🙂 I thought it was a great way to run an interview. Did you see Roomeo and Jooliette?
      Love. L.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pagadan

    Great interview and well-drawn preview of the characters and stories, though I’m not sure I’m up for that even though I watch The Blacklist and the occasional slice and dice flick on the SyFy channel.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for dropping in Joy, you have to love those wallabies.🙂 My books aren’t for everyone, although those who have read them find them entertaining.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Me too Olga, I’ve lined them up for River of Death in a week or two. Then there’ll be my next Shakespearean epic, The Taming of The Roo. Marilyn will be starring and Wal will be there for the running commentary and after party.🙂
      I’ve got to do something funny Olga, otherwise I’ll go crazy.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    This was an amazing interview by Wal Wallaby🙂 – I loved Marilyn Munroo too – and I LOVE the new covers of your books!! They’re great!
    Oh – yes, of course, Laurie!! You were good too!😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, I enjoyed it too. That Marilyn was a little flirty though, and I’ll have to keep Wal away from the scones as well. I’m VERY happy with the covers, I think I’ve nailed the look that I want. Me? I’m always good.😉

      Like

      Reply
  6. Patrons of the Pit

    You have too much with yourself! I think I like these wallaby reports!

    So, how was the process of publishing a book onto Kindle? I understand its a simple enough affair. Any tips? I do like your covers or thumbnails or what ever they’re called.

    Thanks Laurie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Way too much fun and probably too much time as well.🙂 They are unique, having personable, cute faces helps. Publishing on kindle is quite easy, preparing your manuscript is the important part. Imagine your manuscript is printed on a paper roll, that’s how it is on kindle. No page numbers, headings or footers. You have to switch on the pilcrow in word, this shows you all the extra tab and enter marks which have to be removed. Otherwise it creates gaps when the book is viewed on the device. There are fiddly things to do, like put a linked table of contents I. At the end of the day, if you want a well formatted book then you have to do the work. Tips? Format, use a simple text like New Roman, size 12 for text and 14 for headings. Make sure you anchor any pictures you put in the manuscript. Then I format a copy for print publishing which is then converted to a PDF. Busy busy indeed. I’m glad you like the covers. I wasn’t happy with the original covers and found an artist online who has a collection covers. After looking at them I realised they conveyed exactly what I felt the story was about. I put them in thumbnail size as I didn’t want them overpowering the reader.🙂
      Thanks for setting the smoker aside and dropping a line.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. thisisnotbangkok

    Laurie, this was a fantastic post. Read every syllable of it. You did a fantastic job creating your own fictional world of what your fiction is all about so to speak. In itself, it was perfect. It also pulled together a lot of the elements of the book, VOD, that I am still currently reading and thoroughly enjoying.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much for a great compliment Michael. I get a little carried away at times. No, I enjoyed writing it. One has to have an edge, especially with all the author interviews around the web. Wal and Marilyn add the fictional edge, with a hint of Australiana. It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying VOD. I enjoy writing them and positive feedback makes it a little easier to open the next manuscript.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes I get it. I think the length of the piece was perfect. And in all honesty it would be much more boring if a real journalist interviewed you. So I only think this can help.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re right Michael, who needs a real journalist when I have the obvious talents of Wal Wallaby. Getting the length of a piece is the problem, I can only thank the McPod brothers for brawling again.😉 It’s something different, hey, I might hire him out for some comic relief.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        Funny….well I could have seen where someone without your discretion would ramble on and on, but I really do think the length is perfect. BTW, VOD seems like it is right up my alley. I must finish MOD first. I will give you another update of where I’m at soon. I am spending a ton of time on my new car business and I have no other option but to bring in more money so I can stay in my apartment. So long reading stints are hard to find.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        One can get a tad verbose when it comes to interviews. I’m giving a talk at the library, for senior’s week in August on writing. I hope they have their hearing aids in. Oh, you’ll like VOD, it’s gripping. Mate take all the time you need, it’s nice having someone read them.🙂 Making a living comes way before most everything else.

        Like

      5. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes I agree about the making a living part. And I would love to hear your library lecture. Just read one of the sex scenes from MOD to the seniors and that should get their hearing aids working.

        Like

  8. bgbowers

    You are so inventive, Laurie🙂 Do you think you could send Marilyn & Wal over my way?! Ha ha!
    Seriously, very clever. Is the Death series available on kindle? I finally bought a kindle last week & I’m loving it, because it’s helping me catch up on reading by authors I know. I’m also writing reviews on Amazon & Goodreads once finished.
    Bianca.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bianca, one has to try anything to sell a book.🙂 Wal and Marilyn are available for interviews, both TV and radio, book tours and photo opportunities. Their agent is Gerard Deparoo, over at Macropod Monthly. Yes there are links to both books on the post, the book titles in blue are direct links. (I nipped back in and put Amazon Link above them) and on my page. I’ll do another interview for book three, probably next Wednesday or the one after.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Ernest Swain

    Great Idea Laurie – spoof interview – brilliant book publicity. Hope you’re keeping well. John.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi John, thanks Mate. I thought I needed to do something seeing I put the new book covers up. You can’t go wrong with Wallabies and author interviews. I’m not doing to badly John, every day is a treasure. Hope you’re doing well and that you’re still enjoying your horses.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

