Birds, Boats and Dancing at The Writer’s Room.

Yes, there are some kangaroos in this week’s post. Gasp! Well when they’re as beautiful as this young lady, why not? So we have two favourite subjects, Roos and sunsets and when they’re in the one shot they’re something else.Wallaby

We were out driving the other day and I thought the sky looked a little different, have camera will travel.sky

I just love the look in the whistler duck’s eye, kind of OMG, look at the size of that goose. Taken at the Lake Apex bird sanctuary.magpie geese

I know you’ve seen fighting wallabies before, ho-hum. I took these pics from our bedroom the other morning. I left the veranda posts in so you could see that I’m not kidding, the window needs cleaning too.fighting walalbies

I gave a girly squeal when I saw the top photo of the Magpie Geese. I’d taken quite a few with my telephoto lens and they were well in the distance. To catch them in flight with good clarity is a real bonus for me. The bottom picture is okay and it gives you a feeling that they may need air traffic control. There would have been about 300 geese on the lake.magpie geese

Another afternoon in the front yard and I wentΒ towards the garage to take some pictures. These two males were having a little push and shove over the embankment, I went on to take about 60 pics of the ensuing fight. I thought a little comic relief wouldn’t go astray and I love the look on his face. No I didn’t put that white bit in his eye, I’d say it was rolling in fear.kangaroos

Fort DenisonΒ in beautiful Sydney Harbour. Click on the blue link for its story.Fort Denison

Top picture shows a pair of Eurasian Coots feeding in Lake Apex. The lower one is of a Royal Spoonbill, he seems to be parading in front of the Whistling ducks.

water birds

One of the many ferries that traverse Sydney harbour.

ferry, sydney

That’s the lot for this week folks, a mixed bag. Okay there are Roos but they’re all over the place at the moment and I have more cute joeys than I know what to do with. Remember the pictures look much better opened in a new tab or window, especially the flying geese. Until next week take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

53 thoughts on “Birds, Boats and Dancing at The Writer’s Room.

  1. laurelslovelyliving

    I can never get enough of the “roos”. They are such a magical creature – I can’t wait to visit your part of the world one day and see them up close. Especially love the babies!! Oh, they are precious – More baby roos pretty please πŸ™‚
    Have a great day! Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Michele D'Acosta

    Laurie, I’m in awe of you. When is somebody going to make a movie of your life? Or is such a film already in the works? Your photography is stunning… and with your mind’s eye you can see waves of energy that are invisible to most of us. Blessings always, Michele

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Michele, I’m afraid nobody’s beating a path to my door though. I do love taking pictures, I’m sure the kangaroos sigh when they see me coming, ‘Look out, it’s him again.’ I have no regrets about starting on the psychic path. It’s been good to me and the things I’be seen, well, nobody would believe me. Thanks so much for dropping in.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Michele D'Acosta

        Laurie, it’s my pleasure. Your comment about the kangaroos is just wonderful! And your psychic path is incredibly powerful. I was astounded when I read this about you. I’m guessing you have at least six or seven senses? Cheers, mich

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’m just full of hidden talents Mich, some are that well hidden I can’t find them. πŸ˜‰ Seriously though I have used these extra senses as it were for quite a while now. My trouble has been that I don’t stick at things long enough. They haven’t left me though I just have to kick them into gear at times when they’re needed. Although writing about them tends to kick things along a little. I’ve been having a few visits at night, nothing drastic just someone in the room.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

      1. suzjones

        Since I’m not as into my photography as I used to be (there’s that time things again), the GG won’t entertain the thought of a zoom for me. Mine is 350mm. He got me a macro lens once but I don’t use it as often as he thought I would.
        Maybe, he might relent and get me one for my birthday before our next holiday lol

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Yes, we tend to move in and out of pastimes over the years. I love taking pictures, especially macro. That’s the next lens on my list. 300mm’s okay, you should get some good shots with that. I’m sure GG will get you what you need.;-)

        Like

  3. oldmainer

    Love them all, but my favortie is the skyscape. Almost black and white to the eye with just a touch of color, and full of movement. Another enjoyable week.

    Like

    Reply
  4. talain45

    Nice captures as always Laurie, Your getting a lot of activity on your yard now. Time to set up the video camera too catch all of the action and maybe place some bets. The Magpie Geese you have in Australia, I take that they are a fairly large bird by the beautiful images you’ve shown. At one time I use to have Magpie Ducks up to the farm but not for many years now. The Dance on the other hand is funny, LOL. The kangaroo that was rolling his eye mite have been thinking to what the hell did I get myself in too. The other Male looked larger! I found your post very cheerful today, thanks for the laugh and the birds, Michael πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael. I have some video from a few years ago, it’s not all that good though. I may have to practice. πŸ™‚ I bet on the big one from the photo. The geese are about the same as the common goose, actually I saw a couple of males who were bigger than the rest. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magpie_Goose
      The link will reveal some interesting facts about this bird. I love the dance, when I saw that look on his face and how his eye rolled, I thought, Yes, comic book time coming up. You can almost hear his bum hit the ground when he realises what he’s in for. πŸ™‚ I’m glad I was able to entertain you today Michael, I like a good laugh myself.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    This is another beautiful pictures series, Laurie.
    I love the goose-picture, of course, but the one I love especially this time, is the one with the unusual sky. It’s just downright beautiful!! I’m happy you caught it so well!

    Like

    Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    That was great:) I still cannot believe the kangaroos are in your YARD. Amazing. It’s just so difficult to imagine animals that size just roaming around. The deer we have are in the forest preserves so we rarely see them out in the open. I love your pictures. The birds are so pretty. You have a nice view from your window. Looks like a park.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, I put that pic in because I thought people may just not realise when I say front yard, I mean front yard. When we go out for the day some of them will avail themselves of the shade on the back veranda, they sleep under the picnic table. It’s a great view, when I put up a sunset or just one of the hills, that’s what we see from our bedroom. We keep the grass cut down to the horse fence, I like the park look.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    I enjoyed browsing all your photos, but the flying geese are fantastic. I did open it up to get the full effect, and I see you put it on top of your page. Great choice!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks, there’s no shortage of Roos, believe me. The lake is half an hour away and I always drop by there when I can. I had a 10 second window to get that sun shot of the roo, I took a few shots and that one stood out. I was after the effect and yes I agree it is one of the better ones.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

