Sort of ordinary at The Writer’s Room

For a change we’ll start off with a rainbow. Sad to say we didn’t get a drop of rain from the shower.rainbow

When you get a picture of a succulent flower that isn’t quite sharp enough you create an oil painting.succulent

I returned and took another picture of the Bat Plant, I think this one is better.bat plant

So while I was there I took a picture of this native bee on a Gerbera.

gerbara

This Laelia Cattleya defied the odds and survived criminal neglect in our orchid house.orchid

Okay, we’ll have a sunset. I like this one you can see the rays.sunset

In the Flinders Ranges, South Australia.flinders ranges

Now the Joeys want their ‘day in the sun’ and like to pose on the lawn.joey

Our place, what more can I say?house

Yours truly taken about 26 years ago, see, I could still ‘pull a bird.’ Seriously I think the top knot pigeon thought my beard was his nest, he flew out of a nearby tree and sat on my shoulder for ages.Laurie Smith

That’s the lot for the week, I have to get out and take more pics I think. Until nest time take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

53 thoughts on “Sort of ordinary at The Writer’s Room

  1. Wordifull Melanie

    You can’t say “ordinary” then start the post with a rainbow! LOL

    Lovely flowers, gorgeous sunset and adorable joey. 🙂 And I love the birdy on your shoulder. Did he tell you any secrets?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      This is true Melanie, I’ve yet to get a perfect rainbow. The only thing the bird said was, ‘Give us some beard hairs, I’m building a nest, or I’ll poop onya.’

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Garden extravaganza and pondering composition | Nia Simone, Author

  3. Pingback: Week – end roundup and Weekend plans | It Goes On

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael, yes a little bit of the writer coming out. We’re a 20 minute drive from the nearest small town. 40 minutes from the closest city, pop 177,000, this includes the whole shire. We’re on a ridge overlooking a long valley. We’re lucky there’s only a large cattle property behind us and nothing really until the nearest town.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        That is what I call isolation. It’s a peaceful life, but eventually I think it might drive me crazy. I personally love the country and the desert, but I must be more connected to civilization in general.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It’s great for me Michael. Over time I’ve become a little reclusive and find crowds to be quite confining. So we live here in the woods and venture out to the big smoke now and then. -)

        Like

  4. Patricia Salamone

    You certainly have a big back yard. It must be a bitch to mow the lawn. No wonder you can take such beautiful pictures. The rainbow was amazing, the sunset divine and the Joey adorable. Of course I loved all of the shots Fratello. Your homestead looks like such a tranquil haven. They say if a bird lands on your shoulder good luck will come your way, it’s an Italian thing :o)…Off the grid completely, that’s a dream come true. Bye the way Fratello I didn’t see a picture of the guest house, where will we stay when I come visit? :o)…….

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      42 acres big for the front yard Sorella. We only mow about 5 acres and a fire break around the boundary. We have a tractor and slasher, plus a zero turn ride on mower. A neighbour’s horses are helping keep the rest down. It is a tranquil haven Sorella. Now the only good look with a bird on your shoulder is, you’re lucky if it doesn’t poop on you. Guest house? There’s the tractor shed down the paddock a little. -) We have a spare room.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia, I try to keep a cheery aspect going, even when my face aches. -) So don’t delete those slightly out of focus pics make them arty. With the house people can see I do actually live out bush. I might go up the hill behind us and take a pic. One has to keep snapping Nia.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    Another beautiful bunch of pictures, Laurie! I love the colors, of course I love the rainbow – but what attracted my attention particularly this week is the picture of the man with the bird on his shoulder.
    Very unusual I would say, but very cute too.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, you know I try. Ahh, the man with the bird on his shoulder. a pirate in training? Perhaps not but the little pigeon thought I was okay. Cute hey? Must be the beard. That was long ago.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. talain45

    Nice images Laurie, sorry you did not get any rain from the beautiful show. We’ve had plenty of it here the last couple of day. enough that I wish I could share it with you. I’ve never seen the Bat Plant before to my reckoning, its a very beautiful and interesting flower. How’s criminally negligent in the care of the Laelia Cattleya. Hopefully not you Laurie! It looks pretty good, no worst for weir at least. The sunset, now that is really nice! is that from your place? Nice Place You Have by the image! I’ll have to asked, are you share that the pigeon was looking at your beard? I think he was looking at your T-shirt and was looking for a good time too. He’s even got his party hat on trying to impress the ladies. It would have sucked if he thought it was a toilet though!
    Have a “GREAT ONE” Laurie🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael. Me too mate although it’s supposed to storm today. That Bat plant is different. I think it’s a better shot this time. Me bad as far as the orchid’s concerned. They’re down in the bottom garden and I’ve neglected it. The sunset was taken from my front door, it’s hard having such a nice view.🙂 Yes it is a nice place, we love it. Yep, the T-shirt is a dead giveaway. I’m glad it was only a little pigeon that landed there. I’ve had an Ibis drop his load of digested fish on my face while riding my motorbike to work one day. Ah the smell of poop and fish, wonderful.😦 So a wee bird wouldn’t have been too bad. thanks for dropping in Michael.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    I love the rainbow and the sunset and the succulent… The joey is cute! Is that rock or bare, sandy soil in the Flinders Ranges? And thanks for sharing your home place. Is that a cistern on the right? The pigeon seems really content–looking forward to the party maybe..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, I’m glad you like this weeks offerings. It’s a mixture in the ranges, a lot of rock, sandy soil. It was winter when we visited so we’ missed the wild flowers, just dead grass I’m afraid. Left to right on the house pic. Two fresh water tanks, down the front is the waste water/sewage tanks, house of course, shed/garage, another water tank then the solar house, our only source of electricity. Yeah the pigeon certainly didn’t appreciate the lack of a party.

      Like

      Reply
  8. hitandrun1964

    Wonderful. I love the blue jay on your shoulder:) And that’s where you live. I understand why the kangaroos like your place. So much room. Wow. They can play and hop around for ages and still have room left over. The flowers are lovely and a rainbow without rain…well, at least where you were. Another great batch of photographs. The baby joey is adorable.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes it’s the castle del Smith, home of cute joeys and such. We have 42 acres for them to play on. The good thing is, the 7,000 acre property behind us. Just the odd few cows wandering around. I think the rain didn’t reach the ground, those rainbows lie, I’m sure. I put the joey in for the fans.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  9. suzjones

    What program did you use for the oil painting Laurie? And your photo of the Flinders Ranges reminds me of an Albert Namitjirra painting.🙂
    We got 1ml out of yesterday’s rain. Some areas around here got about 20ml but it was really patchy.
    Hope some decent rain comes soon. All that shower did yesterday was put some green tips on the grass. It will burn off soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I use a few programs Suz but I find PhotoScape does a great job when it comes to filters. I like that pic from the Flinders, it was bloody cold that day too. What I wouldn’t do for 1 mil of rain, you are truly blessed by the weather gods.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I have some photos we took in the Grampians and I took them all in the space of 5 minutes before jumping back in the car to escape the wind cutting through us. lol
        Does PhotoScape have the ability to edit RAW? I had a program but somehow I’ve lost it. I use photoshop but it is a really early version.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Where’s your sense of adventure and your big coat? When I was in Canada it was that cold I took my point and shoot camera out of my pocket and the new battery died instantly. PhotoScape will convert RAW files, you won’t be able to edit the RAW file first though. Only the jpeg.

        Like

      3. suzjones

        No, I want something that will edit the RAW photos. This other program I had was free and I can’t remember what it was called. It really pulled my photos from inside the Jenolan Caves into something useable after editing in the RAW.
        I love cold – I truly do. As long as I can stay warm. This wind tore through the 5 layers of clothes I was wearing😉

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’ll have to troll through Google to find a program then, Suz. If you have any camera software you might find that it will do the job. That cold eh? -)

        Like

  10. Patrons of the Pit

    I like it! I enjoy little snap shots into your world.

    So solar panels in Australia point north then I presume? What are you charging? Are you off the grid!

    I like your little castle there too, and the big old yard, and long driveway full of wallabies. The good life, mate. Happy for you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you, I try to share the good life. North indeed, it’s a 9kwh system with 24 panels and 24, 2.2 volt batteries. We’re totally off the grid, not a power line on the place and we catch rainwater. When our tanks are full we have about 22,000 gallons of water. The only place to build a castle is on a hill. As you know from the video that driveway keeps on going, so we’re out of view from the road. Yes it’s a great place to be.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Patrons of the Pit

        I love it, Laurie. That’s the way to live! Do you cook and heat the house with propane then or how does that work? There’s another video idea for you. A tour of your off the grid living systems. I enjoy that sort of thing. Anyhow, thanks kindly for sharing your slice of paradise down there. I enjoy it immensely.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Our cook top and oven is propane, the hot water system is solar. In winter we have a log burning stove, we keep two kettles on it for our cuppas and also use it to cook soups and stews on. We have no shortage of dead trees in heaps in the paddock. So we aren’t doing too badly at all. One day with the video, when I run out of things to write about.🙂

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you. I use the art feature in my photo-editing software. I picked oil painting then adjusted how much of an effect I wanted. It’s great for a picture that’s a little blurred. The neighbourhoods good.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

