A Medium, or just well done? The Neighbour who wasn’t there and other stories.

I won’t be writing this series in any particular format or order. The stories will be told as I remember them, otherwise they’ll only fade away again. I know, I should write them down. The first story is another reason why I don’t ring the police about things I’ve seen.

The Neighbour who wasn’t there. We lived next to a block of four flats, or apartments for my US readers. Nothing flash about them at all, the block ran lengthways to the back fence, with flat one at the front near the carports. The back doors faced our property and after a year of putting up with a huge variety of tenants I planted a quick-growing hedge. Don’t get me wrong, there were some very friendly people. The front flat stood empty for a while after a thieving, drug dealer vacated the premises. One afternoon someone knocked at our front door, I went out and a young woman stood there. She told me that she had moved into the flat next door and wanted to say hello. My wife came out and we stood talking to her. She told us that she moved here to look for her sister, who had gone missing. After some chit-chat she left and walked back around the front of the flat.

Two days later she returned and we talked again while standing on the veranda and she told us she was looking for her sister. Hmm? Yes it was strange. She said she’d been missing for a year and she had been looking everywhere for her. I can be a tad thick and slow on the uptake at times, this woman’s face rang a bell. She left and I went inside and rummaged through our newspapers and there she was, a missing person. I can’t recall her name but she had long, brown curly hair, a lovely face, slender and about 5′ 2″ the exact description of the woman in the flat. So I rang Crime stoppers and told the woman who answered, that the missing woman in question was living next door to us. I was rudely informed that woman I had been talking to fitted the description of a woman who had been dead for over a year. It was the younger sister who had gone missing and that I should not be making crank calls. Putting the phone down I bolted out the door and around to the flat. It was locked, I peered through the window and it stood empty, nothing. After some careful thought I came to the conclusion that the older sister was indeed looking for her sibling, only from the spirit world. I have no idea if the younger sister ever turned up. I refer to this spirit as one with a mission.

The Man on the bicycle. At this stage I still worked at the RAAF base and if I was rostered on at the office I always took the Warwick Road route. On this particular night we were being blessed with a downpour of biblical proportions, something akin to standing under a waterfall. I left home at 9.30pm and drove off into the night. Motoring slowly along Warwick Road I peered out into the dark. My headlights were useless, the only lighting came from the streetlights and flashes of lightning. Approaching the intersection with Lobb Street, a man wheeled his bicycle out in front of me. I didn’t care about a wet the road, I stomped on the brake pedal. It made no difference, I ran straight over him and came to a halt in the gutter. Shaking, I switched off the car, opened my door and ran back to him, nothing, no one, not even a bicycle. Luckily there weren’t any other vehicles around as I grabbed my torch and walked up and down the road searching for the cyclist. Still nothing.

I drove to work and pondered the events and realised I had myself what I now call, an anniversary spirit/ghost. This is where someone appears to the living at the time they die or when the circumstances are similar, for example the storm. I figured by the way he dressed that he passed there in the late fifties, early sixties. He would have been in his mid fifties, wore glasses, a short brimmed, Akubra hat, like many men at that time and a brown, plastic raincoat. He had a Malvern Star bicycle with a carry basket on the handlebars. I jabbered a little when I recounted the story at work, mainly from the shock of initially thinking I’d actually run somebody down.

The visiting Farmer. This happened eight years ago, while we were having our house built. We spent all of our spare time at the property clearing the paddock, slashing grass and doing a few running repairs to the original fencing at the rear of the block. Lorelle and some friends who came to visit were off picking up branches and I decided to tackle the huge amount of dead grass tangled amongst the barbed wire. I had pushed an old fencepost upright, stood back and took off my hat to wipe the sweat off, when I saw a set of horses legs through the wire and grass. Looking up I saw a man sat on his horse a few feet away. The horse, brown and solid muscled was a type known as a Waler, bred in New South Wales and used as mounts for the Light Horse in WW1 stood there, head up looking over the fence. The rider, a stocky, powerfully built man wearing a huge bush hat, khaki shirt, moleskin trousers and well-worn, elastic-sided boots stared at me. What’s wrong with that you ask? He must be a neighbour stopping for a chat, no, sorry. We had a spirit here, his face was quite dark, I couldn’t see his eyes, only a huge moustache. I said, “G’day, how’re you going?” He kept staring then slowly faded away. Lorelle saw him a few weeks after we moved into the house. I was down the front slashing. She looked out of the kitchen window and thought the figure walking up the track towards the house was me. Being the good wife that she is she put the kettle on then wondered where the tractor was. When she looked out the figure had disappeared. The house hasn’t been free of spirits since.

There is a post script to this story. A couple of years later we were attending the local bushfire brigade Christmas party. The property, originally settled in the 1840’s covered a vast amount of land and the same family still live here, although the holding has shrunk considerably. I approached the current property owner, Harry and his wife and told them the story of the man on the horse. After I described him, Harry said, “Oh, that’s my Uncle Harry, he had a dark face and a big moustache. Yeah he’s been dead for years. Used to be in the Light Horse in WW1.” Another one solved, the, visiting familiar places spirit. I’ve felt him a few times in the house, he likes to look over your shoulder when you’re on the computer.

The let’s try to scare the crap out of Laurie, Uncles.  I returned to England in 2002 as part of my whirlwind tour of the world on a budget holiday. I stayed with relatives. One Aunt, who shall remain nameless put me up for a few nights and insisted that I have her bed in the main bedroom, while she slept in the spare bedroom. She wouldn’t take no for an answer, so I sunk into the huge, soft bed and snuggled under the doona. Within minutes it started, whispering voices, the doona being tugged, shuffling feet and a thump, drag, thump drag sound of footsteps. I said, “I’m tired go away, we’ll talk in the morning.” Shuffle, thump, drag, whisper.  I wasn’t feeling the love here, the sounds came up alongside the bed and two indistinct shapes slowly made their way towards me. So I sat up and in a clear whisper said, “For Christ’s sake, fuck off and let me sleep.” It worked and I had a great sleep. The following morning I spoke with my aunt and it turned out to be her ex-husbands. The second one only had one leg and walked with that thump, drag noise when he came to bed. Now I know why she preferred to sleep in the spare room. They’re what I call, annoying for the sake of it spirits.

The unwanted apology. When I first began readings I would do house calls, have tarot cards and tape recorder will travel. Early in the piece I realised that many people couldn’t distinguish between a Tarot reader and a Medium. I did both so when I turned up at their house at least I had it covered. I’ll call her Kate, she rang and wanted a medium reading. When I turned up and told her what I did she said, “No I want the cards, I don’t want to talk to dead people.” Okay, let’s do it. I sat on the lounge chair, set up the recorder, gave her the cards to shuffle and started. As I’ve mentioned I close my eyes and tune in to the aura. Straight away a shadowy form appeared next to her. Me, “Well, somebody is here, a man and he wants to talk.” Her, “No way, deal the cards.” I laid out the cards in a Celtic Cross and began. Click, the recorder switched off. I switched it back on and continued, click, off it went again. Taking the new tape out I put it aside and opened another new one and put it in. Click, off it went off again. By now I knew her Dad Rob, was here and he made it quite clear to me he wanted to talk to his daughter.

Her, “You tell him to piss off, I told you I don’t want to talk to him.” Me, “Well, it’s not that easy. He’s here and wants to speak to you.” Her, “Just do the bloody cards.” Click. I pulled the batteries out, they were reasonably new. I replaced them and it switched off again and said, “Do you know how difficult it is for someone in spirit to get through and actually communicate?” Her, “I don’t care.” Sitting back I let him tell me what he wanted to say. It seems that he had sexually interfered with Kate when she was about eight years old and left the family shortly afterwards. Dying about ten years prior to the reading. This spirit came across as remorseful and the interesting thing, he told me everything Kate wanted to know in regards to the reading. Finances, things about her car, children, her last boyfriend and why he left. The recorder still wouldn’t play so I came out and told her why her last boyfriend left her. You have to understand that I could only go by what was being given to me by a very anxious dead, Dad. That I had to trust my own personal guidance and tell Kate what I was being shown. I described her four-year old daughter, who at the time of the reading was in day-care and how her ex abused her in the bathtub. This would occur when Kate went to work at night and he looked after her children. She sat and stared at me for a moment and whispered, “I knew it, I bloody knew it and he denied everything. She told me what he did and I didn’t believe her.”

Her Dad came through again and told me how sorry he was and that he couldn’t move on without her at least acknowledging him in some way. I told her, she shrugged her shoulders and said, “What the hell, I guess I can think about it.” I switched the recorder on and it worked beautifully. She seemed happy with the reading, to a point, It brought up more questions for her in relation to her abuse and her daughter’s. In many ways I saw it as positive, a spirit managed to voice his sorrow and apologies, therefore giving himself permission to move on. Kate had a lesson in forgiveness and learned a valuable lesson about listening to her children. I learned that forgiveness can free us from people and us from them.

Next week: Group Bookings.

65 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? The Neighbour who wasn’t there and other stories.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    An Unwanted Apology: a great story, well told and with a lesson. The best kind. For me, it shows that when spirit wants its way, it will get it. And in respects to your service, spirit made sure that you were there to tell here what she needed to hear.

    Like

    Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes, I sort of got that as well. I mean who knows how she reflected upon it later. But I got the feeling–from the way you wrote it–that she had a rather nonchalant attitude.

        Like

  2. thisisnotbangkok

    Let’s Scare… this one was a little eerie, but fun. Love the term ‘annoying for the sake of it spirits.’ Was your aunt surprised and/or freaked out that you saw these people???

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Eerie indeed Michael, they wanted me out of there. My aunt wasn’t surprised, it was why she moved into the spare room. Apparently she’d stopped sleeping there for quite a while because of the nightly attention.

      Like

      Reply
  3. thisisnotbangkok

    The Visiting Farmer: another wonderful story. Harder for skeptics to ignore since it was validated by Harry. Never heard the term ‘visiting familiar places ghost’, but it makes sense. I did not know your property was officially haunted….

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I like making up words and phrases to suit the occasion Michael. There’s nothing like having a sighting verified. Our property is built on what used to be a dairy farm. Some of the old fencing is still around the place. When people have a great love of a place, they tend to stick around.

      Like

      Reply
  4. thisisnotbangkok

    The Man on the Bicycle: a nice, quick recounting. This is what we call in the states a residual haunting, where the spirit is, like you say, re-enacting the event when the conditions are right or on an anniversary of a death, etc. From my understanding, the ghost just does its thing and does not interact with the surroundings. In other words, it is not an intelligent haunting. Once again, I would think this kind of sighting is rare, but very believable.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes these are the most common hauntings I think. You find them in ancient castles and at battlefields. The energy’s part of the countryside. It’s like the squad of Roman soldiers who march through the cellar of a pub in London. Energy caught up in a time warp, doing their thing.

      Like

      Reply
  5. thisisnotbangkok

    The Neighbor Who Wasn’t There: FASCINATING story. Right up my alley. You told it so well and in the best way possible. It is so rare to have LIVE interaction with a ghost, especially one that is so full-bodied. If I didn’t know you well, I probably wouldn’t have believed this story. But on a psychic and spiritual level it makes complete sense. The older sister was lost and/or was looking for the other one on the wrong plane.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Interactions like that are extremely rare Michael. I should have clicked when she wouldn’t come any further up the stairs or closer to us. Thanks for accepting the veracity of my story Michael. When there’s no other proof it’s quite hard for people to believe the spoken word. Yes a fruitless search by the dead for the missing. Sad indeed. There’s plenty more to come.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Well there will always be skeptics. But to me, you seem like a credible person. There are just some things you cannot make up. And I believe this story is one of them.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’m my own biggest sceptic Michael and when you’ve discounted all other theories, well you have only one answer. I couldn’t make this stuff up Mate.🙂

        Like

  6. Eli Pacheco

    This is the post I’ve been waiting for, mate. Loved every single story, although the bicyclist least. I like that I now have a friend who has told a ghost to fuck off.

    Do the deceased really meet with us in our dreams? This is encouraging to me.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Nobody likes the cyclist one Mate, probably because it was too real. Yep, when the ghosts get tough you have to take a stand, especially when you’re tired. Yes they do meet with us Eli, usually in that state between awake and asleep. This is when your mind is more receptive, some will say it’s an illusion but I know different. When you get deceased pets turning up you know something is happening. I take it you’ve had someone visit and thought it was only a dream?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Eli Pacheco

        I just hate the thought of you looking for the bloke after the fact, you know? I get kind of protective when it comes to my mates.

        I’ve had a few very real-feeling dreams about my dad. It’s been a while, but they always leave a mark.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks Eli. Yes it was quite a shock, I couldn’t live with myself if I ran someone over. The dreams about your dad are good, especially if things are resolved and words are exchanged. It makes a difference.

        Like

  7. Patricia Salamone

    Very interesting journey’s Laurie. Now I realize why you an I connected, However my contact is a bit different. Most times it’s a dream, other times I will be sitting and I will see a shadow quickly pass from the corner of my eye and I know who it is instantly. Once I was sitting talking to my younger son and as he was speaking my father appeared in his chair, only for a moment and then he was gone. Other times I will hear the voice but not actually see the person yet I know who it is. You see Fratello our connection was not by chance.
    I actually enjoyed reading about your visitors, not scary at all, except maybe for the man on the bicycle. You are however way more sensitive to it than I am. I tend to push it back most of the time, but they come as I sleep when I am defenseless. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      People see it in different ways, Sorella, some only hear or feel. Dreams are THE place to meet up with the deceased. They pop in like your father for a moment, or let an odour fill your senses that you associate with them. The only reason I’m more sensitive Sorella is because I worked hard at practicing my craft. made it my business as it were. Why don’t you try to listen, you may be surprised what you hear.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  8. Raani York

    This is though stuff, Laurie.
    Maybe you will allow me a question here: considering you’ve been dealing with different kind of spirits/ghosts… so far most of them seemed to be anxious since they might have things left to do, might be helpful in ways, might be watching how you write on your computer…
    Have you personally experienced some “presence” that seriously scared you? That you had to send away for your own good? And if yes, how did you do this?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Ooooh, we are the hard nosed investigative reporter Raani.😄 Yes I have and it made me feel exceptionally uncomfortable. I will be recounting it in a post in the near future.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes, I imagine you would have received quite a bit of grief over time Russel. Cutting them loose works. With Kate she needed to hear the apology. Life and death can get terribly confusing.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Miss Lou

    The tale of the Father and daughter saw me being reflective.

    My mother was abused by her father as a little girl, and as a result suffered from alcoholism and abused anti depressant, prescription medication. I’ve never been much of a drinker as a result, and I hate to take any kind of medication

    I once did a genogram – looks at all the qualities/ aspects within relationships outlined in our family tree.

    It was remarkable to find how far certain issues in relationships travel down through the generations. Alcoholism, drug abuse, incest, domestic violence. I once did a class in spiritual warfare through my church. One of the topics touched on was generational curses. The preceding knowledge, then the class tied some things together for me.

    Yes, abuse can be passed down. I always looked on it as learnt behaviour, either directly or subconsciously – even looking at things like the people we choose to be in relationships with and the types of behaviour within those relationships can sometimes mirror that of our primary carers…

    After the class in spiritual warfare, I saw things form a different perspective – the spiritual side of things.

    Interesting stuff that leaves me no longer watching horror movies with a spiritual basis.

    ML

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Don’t they call it the sins of the fathers? It makes me wonder about generational abuse, well generational anything really, whether it’s drugs, alcohol, sex abuse violence. I think we learn these things as children, subconsciously it’s like taking it in with the breast milk. So many things we do are planted into tiny minds from birth or even conception. then of course there’s the cyclical effects of karma, life lessons etc. We tend not to look at why things happen to us, most people look at karma as something that should happen to someone else, not them. It can be hard to come to grips with the knowledge that we may be living a life solely as a lesson to someone or vice versa.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Owls and Orchids

    Fascinating as I’m sure you expect me to say🙂 It’s always surprising, in one sense how determined Spirit can be to get their message across, and how, in the end, most of the time it is for the best for both sides.
    Glad you’re beginning to feel a little better. Take care of yourself now – too many stories to tell Laurie;)
    Ciao, Susan xo

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan. I found it quite hard to get through to Kate just how difficult and special it was for her Dad to come through. I’m doing okay, some interesting new drug for the PTSD is kind of working. I’ll keep the stories coming.😄
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        Chum? I haven’t been called that in ever such a long time…:) In fact I’, not too sure I’ve ever been called one….many other things, most not nice, but it comes with the territory.

        Chipper Ciao, Susan x

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Its because you mentioned Biggles you see. All those hearty chums. I can only imagine you’ve been called far worse.
        Cheery Laurie. We’ve had RAIN! 8 inches of the beautiful stuff, the tanks are overflowing. -D
        xox

        Like

  11. Natalie Scarberry

    Very chilling tales, Laurie. I hope you are well and wish you a great week ahead. Cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  12. kcg1974

    What an interesting life you’ve lived and continue to lead, Laurie. Every story has such a twist or turn. Some hidden for us to find. others simply present themselves for you to share. How I wish you could read your cards for me!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for a lovely compliment Kim. One thing I learned when reading the tarot and that was, most of the clients knew what they should do about the situation before hand. If you have a problem my suggestion is to sit, clear your mind and let the thoughts rise about it. Then listen to your inner guidance. It’s hard because we end up with conflict between what we should do and not wanting to upset the status quo. I always read the cards giving the sitter options, what would happen if they continued on the same track. Then what would happen if they changed their mind. Sometimes when we’re at a crossroads with what we want to do and what others think we should be doing, then it gets confusing.

      Like

      Reply
      1. kcg1974

        Exactly, Laurie! I made a very big decision just last week. Everything was “good,” but not enough time for “me.” I wonder if I did the right thing…..and yet, there is so much I want to pursue on my own. So, it was ironic that right after I turned it down, I found out my article was published. No big $$$, but validation in a way. Crazy, I know……we writers are that way.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Sometimes we have to let things run their course Kim. What seems like a setback usually ends up being the start of a different course for us. Yes, we writers are crazy at times.😄

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      There definitely are Olga. I’ve had it proved to me time after time that we do exist after death to some degree or another. I know science isn’t convinced because it wants empirical evidence. That can be hard to do when you’re working with something like spirit and the human mind. You can’t replicate the same reading over and over again and get the exact same result. Too many variables with brain chemistry, observation etc. If it were just down to me seeing these things then I would hesitate before writing about them. When I received feedback from a client confirming what I saw, felt or heard then I knew that something real has occurred. Thanks so much for dropping by.🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

