Birds, shadows and water at The Writer’s Room.

I had my 500mm lens on when we turned up at the Bicentennial Gardens in Toowoomba last week and of course nearly all the water fowl were after bread. I couldn’t ignore this fine looking duck though. Yes, he takes up most of the image, I’ve invented a new rule; rule of 7/8. I love the colours through his feathers. You know he’s going to look great in a new tab.
duck

Yes, another duck. Lorelle and I were leaving and a couple of mallards took off. We stopped and I started shooting, moved with the birds and whacked her in the head with the lens. So he blurred a little and what do we do? Of course we make art. The water was green from the reflection on the far bank.duck

The following two pictures are from the Japanese Gardens at the University in Toowoomba. I practised with a couple of long exposures to mist the water a little. I think the dapple effect on the rocks is cool. I know our brains need to make known objects out of abstract things. So, open the second pic in a new tab and see if you can see the spooky head.

waterfal

waterfall

Back at the Bicentennial gardens the Ibis were getting flighty. I’m happy with this picture, especially the way the feathers have rumpled up. The Ibis on the right was not a happy camper.Ibis

Okay, let’s get these wings folded and drop gracefully to the ground.Ibis

He took off again, an okay flying shot but all we see is the back of his head, so I got creative. The reflection was already there, so I darkened the photo with the contrast, made an oil painting and popped in a false moon.Ibis

A bridge in the Japanese Garden.bridge japanese garden

This Kookaburra perched here to watch a few picnickers at Picnic Point Lookout, Toowoomba. No, he’s not in a gum tree. The park has many European trees and the leaves are changing hence all the yellow. No artwork at all here and he happily posed.Kookaburra

I may have wet myself a little when I saw this on the back screen. To appreciate this in its entirety you have to open it in a new tab. This is at picnic point and I took a couple of pics from above, then we went down and I took some from in front. Ho hum they were ordinary. I made my way into the trees turned around and thought, This is way better, and snapped a couple of shots. Now the wall is natural sandstone and this is how it came out, the soil is red and reflected the light beautifully. It almost looks like a studio light is being shone down there. No tripod only a hand-held, off the cuff shot.waterfall

That’s enough back-slapping for this week Laurie. I hope you like this week’s offerings folks and I invite you all back next week for another look. Sorry to all the Kangaroo fans but ducks need love too you know.
Cheers
Laurie.

36 thoughts on “Birds, shadows and water at The Writer’s Room.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    You are really putting Photoscape to great use. I really like the cliff photo at the end. It is both real and surreal at the same time–very unique and effective. And the moonlight shot with the bird is ingenious. It has an ethereal mood to it that really works. Great editing there.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I think the cliff photo is one of my best this year, the only thing I did to it was a slight crop. I would have kept the bird as a photo if he had more head showing, although there is that surreal quality about it. Thanks so much for your welcome compliments Michael.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        You are welcome. For me, the surreality of the bird photo makes up for the lack of seeing more of the bird, if that makes any sense. The subject does not have to be the bird, per se, but the whole photo and the mood it creates.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        That’s true, I guess I’m looking for perfection in my shots to the detriment of art. Some I like to be crisp, others have to stand alone. Thanks Michael.

        Like

  2. Patricia Salamone

    All beautiful Fratello. The waterfall is my favorite, however I looked for the spooky head but the only thing I could see was a duck’s butt. When looking at the waterfall however I did see what looked like a bear sitting on a rock. I guess that goes to show you how your Sorella’s mind works. Ciao :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, ahh, the waterfall. We all comprehend images differently, all will be revealed next week. A duck’s butt, hmm that could say a lot. -) Thanks so much for dropping in.
      Cheers
      Fratello

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Another great photo tour and the narrative as usual was great! I love birds of all kinds, especially the ducks. We have a neighborhood duck pond near my house and many times I’ve gone there for a photoshoot. Cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pagadan

    I love the ducks and the all the water photos, but I especially love the colors and the composition in the kookaburra photo, and the last photo is spectacular! Especially enlarged.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, yes the Kookaburra photo has a great background, all colourful and blurry. He sat there graciously while I snapped away. That last one is nice, I love it.

      Like

      Reply
  5. olganm

    Great pictures. Yes, the waterfall is great. I also particularly light the shapes of the light in the Japanese garden pics (remind me of impressionistic paintings) although then I started looking for the head… Mind you I’m with David on my photographic skills. My speciality is taking pictures of my own finger…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, I love it too. There’ll be some more Japanese garden pics up next week, a couple of wide shots. I’ll put the pic up next week with the head in it and draw around it.
      -) I’m sure they’re great pics of your finger as well…

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    Oh – they’re beautiful, Laurie. All of them… and it was kind of hard to find out my personal favorite this week. I of course love all the bird pictures, the duck – and then I saw the bridge and returned to this particular picture again and again…
    And finally I decided – my favorite this week is the waterfall and the palm trees – the last picture. So amazing!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, I pondered over this weeks offerings and the waterfall makes the top of the list in my book. It looks like a spotlight is being shone down the fall. I took a pic from over by the palm trees and it’s boring. No, this one is my favourite for the year.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz, it’s there. Go to the right of the flat rock and there’s a rock with green on top, it looks like a head in profile, with the top of the skull scrape out a little. I know, we all see things differently. -) I’m extremely happy with the waterfall pic.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

