A Medium, or just well done? Groups.

The Fish Shop Lady. Besides having a few business cards printed and deposited around town I printed up some flyers. I taped them to telegraph poles, stuck them on walls, the authorities seemed to be after Bill Posters, so I was pretty sure they’d leave me alone. I also dropped into cafes and takeaways. On my way home from work I stopped at a local fish and chip shop and asked the woman who ran it if I could put one up in her window. “Sure but you have to prove to me right now, that you are a psychic.” Fair enough, her deceased grandmother hung around her and was a font of knowledge. After a few minutes she said, “Go ahead and put it up, can you come to my place Friday night?” We arranged the details, I bought my dinner and left.

I arrived half an hour early to set up, there were several cars there already. Hmm, it looked like I had my work cut out. Jan and her husband, Wade met me at the door and showed me to a spare room. After setting up my recorder and spreading a cloth over the table, Jan came in and said, “Can you come up to my bedroom, there’s something I want to show you?” Steady readers, it wasn’t for that. We stood at her bedroom door and watched as her bedside lamps turned on and off. They were touch lamps and flicked madly, I said, “I take it you’ve had them checked out and they aren’t faulty.” She gave me a look reserved for small, backward boys. “Of course I bloody well have, watch this.” She unplugged a lamp and it flicked back on. You guessed it, grandma was here. Once I convinced Jan that it wouldn’t hurt her and it was the only way her grandma could announce herself, she relaxed. “Thought I was going bloody crazy. Wade reckons I was doing something to the lights.”

Settled into my room I began receiving clients, Jan came first and we went through the usual questions, family, money, work. They were a military family and weren’t due for a posting for two years.  They had a young teenage girl and a 10-year-old boy. She seemed quite happy with the answers I gave regards to her business. When I told her that her daughter would be pregnant the following year, I thought she would burst a lung. Then, that they would be moving out of Queensland before the year’s end, brought an ominous, purple hue to her freckled complexion. When I told her that it would be because of problems with her son she lost it. Oh yes, she was a redhead, a very volatile redhead. Getting a grip she stood up and sent the next client in. The final two were Wade and then his elderly grandmother. Wade seemed quite happy with his reading, it didn’t involve anything I’d told Jan. he asked different questions, about his career. I finished with checking his health. By holding a person’s hand and touching the palm at various places I would see small pinpoints of light. Depending where it lit up I would see the problem area or old scars, injuries etc. Wade, the almost believer left shaking his head after I told him about his vasectomy, circumcision, broken clavicle and fall off a motorbike.

Enter Grandmother, and let me tell you it’s difficult reading the future for an 85-year-old woman. What a lovely lady, we had a great time, especially when her deceased husband came through and much to her surprise her father. We chatted on then I felt the urge to write down 6 numbers for her and said, “Play these for at least 6 months.” She came from New South Wales and at that time they played a different lotto system. I wrote the numbers down on a piece of paper and handed them over. She put them in her purse and we joined those who were left for a cuppa and cake. I told Wade about the numbers and asked him to make sure she played them. After giving a couple of healings I packed up and faded into the night. Well it sounds dramatic.

I attended Wade and Jan’s place a couple of times that year, she would organise people to come along for a reading, I would do one gratis reading and everybody was happy. The end of the year drew close and Jan came to my house with her son one night. He’d been abused by a scout leader and the Military were posting the family interstate. I think it was so Jan didn’t kill the man. They  spoke to me 18 months later and said they drove over the border at 11.55pm on New Years Eve. Oh yes, their daughter had a baby at the end of the following year. The lotto numbers? A few months after the reading Wade contacted me and asked if I remembered the numbers, “Sorry Mate, I write them down and forget them.” – “Well, I checked with Gran to see if she’d put them on, she hadn’t, after she’d shown them to me she put the list in her purse. Now she can’t find it, then I saw the first dividend for Tattslotto and I’m sure they were the numbers. Damn.” What can you say? Sometimes what has to be, just has to be.

The users. I try not to be judgemental but some people get right under your skin. Word gets around and a woman rang me from the Gold Coast, she had five friends who wanted a reading and could I come down. Seeing that there were that many would I consider a discount? Why not, she would be putting on lunch and the more people you read for, the better your chances of increasing your client base. She had a lovely home in the hinterland and wasn’t short of a quid. I can only remember one of the readings, well a major highlight anyway. The woman was in the process of building her own home, by herself. A warning came through loud and clear, water and electricity, danger. I could see a small body of water and an orange electrical cord. What else can you say but be careful? At the end of the day I went on my way. Several months later she rang again and would I do the same deal. I undervalued myself at the full price, many readers were charging 3 times what I did. I explained that the first time was a one-off and that I would have to charge my normal rate. It would have been $5 more than last time. You would have thought I’d asked for her left kidney. I did receive feedback on the lady re the electricity. Apparently a few weeks later she was working in the kitchen with an electric drill, stood on a step-ladder and the power cord dropped into a sink of water. She said that as she flew backwards through the air my warning came back loud and clear. Better late than never.

When they want more than your psychic abilities.  Ah, the price of fame, or is that infamy? Another lady found one of my flyers and made an appointment. I only had to drive to a nearby, country town. “Do you use crystals in your readings?” – “Well, I like to have a small amethyst point nearby.” – “Okay, we’ll put ours out.” You may have seen those cartoons where someone turns up at a house, a hand comes out the door, grabs them and they’re dragged inside. Well you have some idea of my welcome. The house was an old, wooden cottage and had been host to dozens of families over time. It hummed with those in spirit. I’ll call the hostess Gwen, a sturdy woman who I do believe never took no for an answer. She led me into the lounge room, it looked like a hippie hangout from the 60’s. Incense burned in about a dozen holders, the lights were dimmed and rugs were strewn over the floor and huge pillows were bundled around the room. A clear quartz crystal, about the size of Mt Rushmore stood in the centre of the table. I’ve used various crystals in healings over time and this one, well it felt like I was being hit with waves of electricity. I convinced Gwen to move it into the kitchen.

The night  went well actually, I’ve never come across a group of people who wanted to know about every facet of what I did. The readings went well, some visitors from the other side came through and everybody seemed happy. Then came, can you do some healing, can you teach us how to meditate, can you…? The night wore on, then I checked my watch, shit, it’s 1 a.m. I rang my wife (1st one) not a happy camper at all, especially when the women began calling out, “Come on Laurie, it’s my turn next, you promised you’d do me next.” Putting the phone down I removed the icicle from my ear and said, “How about a cuppa?” I stayed another hour then went to stand up from the table. Gwen grabbed the inside of my upper thigh, squeezed it and whispered, “How about it? Me first then you can have my friend, Claire.” I stammered a little and said, “Thanks for the offer, normally, you know, maybe but I’m here working with spirit and it wouldn’t seem right at all.” I fled into the night, vitals intact, jumped into my car and sped off. I knew without doubt that if I stayed I would have had the time of my life and it wouldn’t have been the walk of shame afterwards. It would have been crawling up the footpath gasping for breath. My first marriage was in free fall but I had to try to stay true to myself with the work I was doing.

A group from the other side: A lady came to see me one afternoon, my last customer for the day. A middle-aged woman who spoke with a strong Scottish accent. She sat down and said, “No questions for you, just tell me what you see.” This was a common request, many clients believed that if they asked a particular question, then I would make up the answer. Not to worry. I settled down and went to work. In the screen of my mind a large, battered wooden door opened and a young woman in spirit stepped through it. ‘My name’s Milly and that’s my Aunty Gloria across the table.’ Well, I thought ,this is good no straining and trying to hear what they’re saying. I told Gloria, “Oh how wonderful that she’s come, poor thing died two years ago.” Milly faded away, the door opened and an elderly man stood there, “Ma names Douglas, she’s ma daughter.” I told her, “Oh Dad, he went three years ago.” I picked up my pencil and started to take notes. Twenty six people in spirit later we stopped. Every one of them a relative, everyone gave a name and Gloria knew them all. “We seem to have an unlucky streak in our family, as you know they died from natural causes and accidents, terrible.”

Terrible indeed, yet I had never channelled as many spirits before or since in one sitting. None of them were sad, or miserable they exuded happiness and cheer. Uplifting both for me and Gloria and she went away an extremely happy person. I must add that many a reading sapped my energy, this one filled me with hope and happiness. Many spirits come through and find it difficult to impress their thoughts on the reader or know that they can speak. Sometimes it’s like talking to a person at the far end of a tunnel on a windy day. In one reading all I was shown where a series of faded photographs, I had to explain what I was seeing to the client and interpret what I thought it meant. Yet the photos actually existed in the clients, grandmother’s home and in the end she clicked and recognised the person communicating with her. It’s like herding butterflies sometimes.

paged

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next week: Warnings.

37 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Groups.

  1. kelihasablog

    Wow…. I just love all these posts Laurie! And you’re right… I know several people who have gone trying to be the smart ass…. and yep, they always try to explain away whatever happened… It’s really funny listening to some of the bizarre reasoning they try to come up with.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Quite often Keli the explanations they come up with are way beyond ludicrous. I think being accused of tapping the phone and reading the mail of someone I’ve just met is beyond bloody stupid.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Theresa

    Ahhh, Laurie – it seems I either laugh or cry when reading your posts. I am curious – how do you block spirits from coming through with all of your bloggers and their comments? I would think that some would come through loud and clear, but then I don’t know how this works.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hopefully in equal measure Theresa. I just ‘shut the door’ some become insistent but I have to be staunch. When I first started doing it, I did a few readings via a chat room. It’s all about connecting. I’ll be writing about it in a future post.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Vera, it’s actually fun remembering them. Thigh squeezer, oh boy I didn’t need the complication in my life right then. They would have used me and cast me aside, a shell of my former self.😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. Eli Pacheco

    So fascinating mate. You really have a gift (plus, the thigh squeeze). Say, what do you do if you get a really bad vision for someone? Do you share it all?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Feed the fish first David, bring Rueben and I’ll make you a coffee that’ll knock your socks off. I have a few crystal points still so we’re fine. -)
      Thanks David,
      Cheers
      Laurie.
      ps, I won’t send a hug today David, just the mauve coloured rose I keep seeing.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I guess because it was mother’s day there at the time. I had a quick look at the meanings of colour and it stands for endearing love. It was quite a large bunch.

        Like

  4. Raani York

    This was very interesting, Laurie. You must be extremely good in what you’re doing!! I’m very much impressed with your strength in all important things!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. suzjones

    Very interesting my friend. I guess I’m like a lot of your clients – I don’t ask questions. At the last reading I had done (about 18 months ago) I was told “You are making life hard”. But she gave a pretty accurate reading in a lot of areas using numerology.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The sad thing about not asking questions Suz, is the time wasted. I could pick up a dozen different things with a client, all of them worthy of pondering. You’d finish the reading and they’d say but I didn’t want to know that I wanted to know, blah blah blah. Sometimes the question would be obvious. Then again it’s their money to waste if they want to play, test the psychic for an hour.’ I will write on the things people would do to put me off, try and trick me etc. -)

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

