A bit ‘o this and a bit ‘o that at The Writer’s Room.

Something of a change this week, I’ve made the pictures a little smaller so those with slower connections can view the post easier/quicker. Of course they look better in a new tab. I took this on the way home the other day. It’s looking south from Rosewood.view near Rosewood

I have to stick a flower in now and then, a Gazania taken at Toowoomba.gazania

Three different views of the same scene at the Japanese gardens in Toowoomba. The third one has been made into an oil painting.Japanese garden, toowoomba

 Japanese garden, Toowoomba

Japanese garden, Toowoomba

This duck wasn’t impressed at all about having her nap disturbed by yours truly. ‘I vant to be alone!’duck

A damp Sunday and we went to town, cabin fever had struck. So when the going gets tough, the tough go shopping. I didn’t want to haul too much equipment around, so I only took my 50mm portrait lens. The shopping centre is River Link at North Ipswich. The murals depict the local rail heritage, the centre is built on what used to be the shunting yards. As a boy we lived opposite them back in the 60’s. This is the best angle I could shoot from.riverlink, Ipswich

 Another awkward angle, I took this from the pedestrian bridge. The stone structure is part of the original railway bridge from the mid 1800’s. I like two things about it, the care put into creating the sandstone blocks by the stone masons. Then nature finding a way to cling onto life.ipswiich

 While taking pictures this chap stopped to have a yarn, so I asked if I could take his picture, “Sure, just don’t blame me when your lens cracks.” I thought he’d make a great black & white subject.old man

Looking down onto the Bremer River from the pedestrian bridge. The walking path has been there for years, the viewing platforms and seats etc are a new addition.bremer River, ipswich

 Of course you have to do lunch and what better meal to have on a wet day, than an all day breakfast. I tucked into poached eggs, bacon, sausages, tomato and sautéed mushrooms and toast. We dined at Jamaica Blue, Rhonda opened the kitchen again to cook this, what a gal. Their coffee is great too. No freebies were offered for saying such wonderful things about their food.Jamaica Blue, Riverlink

A Kangaroo view of our place on Sunday, you come home and they’re already moving in.House

Here’s the head from last week’s post.pagexx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well that’s your lot for this week, please let me know if you find having slightly smaller pictures makes much difference to your viewing pleasure. Until next time, take care,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

55 thoughts on “A bit ‘o this and a bit ‘o that at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: Flowers | Nia Simone, Author

  2. Mélanie

    HL=huge like for your post, especially for the lovely Japanese gardens…🙂 I’ve been to UNIQUE Japan 4 times and I often miss it… domo arigato and have a positive week!🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. kelihasablog

    I always love your blogs Laurie. The pictures are great (I’m envious..LOL) but of course I always love your writings, with or without pictures. Working on your book now! Love it so far!😀

    Like

    Reply
  4. lifechange90

    I’m so glad yer riting fer us slow folks, Laurie… I mean, a big picture is worth a thousand words, it takes me all day to get thru it! A small picture is so much faster to look at, worth only 500 or so words…

    Darn good pics too! The duck is a corker! I can imagine it saying that!

    And the brekky… Ahhh, the all day brekky… Wonder what we have left in the frig.. Bacon, eggs, cheese, a T-bone, no sausages, but I guess that’s enough… Pity about Susan’s dinner though, if I pile all that onto a plate….

    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ll have to do thumbnails then Ray.😉 Yes, that duck gave me the eye alright, not impressed at all. You can’t beat an all day brekkie, it appears that people like pics of food. Susan may not be happy if you pig out before dinner Mate.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I like panoramas, especially when the clouds are strange looking. The roos certainly take over, there’s a big one in the back yard now sleeping under a tree. Apparently we seem to be here as their source of shade and entertainment.🙂 It was a nice day out Nia, I feel great when I’m snapping away.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Owls and Orchids

    A beautiful smorgasbord of pictures Laurie (like the foodie reference?😉 The photos really are adorable. I keep forgetting a double space doesn’t always give you a full stop! Totally out of sync- have no idea of the day until I see your post! Please don’t change your routine my friend 😉
    Blessings Susan x

    9

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Great foodie reference Susan, I like it. So our sync has sunk has it. Yes, if it’s Friday it must be Laurie’s photo day.🙂 I won’t change.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    What a beautiful picture gallery, Laurie! I love them all. (Maybe except the railway… to many trains in my life so far. LOL – but that’s another story)
    You know how I pick my favorite picture every week, right? This week it’s the picture of the old man. – What an interesting face, full of expression, wisdom and experience. It’s so special!! Thanks for sharing these!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. can there be too many trains in one’s life? Obviously it’s a big story you aren’t telling. Yes the old bloke was a treasure, his life is well written on his face. I want to get more shots like that one.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. davidprosser

    The pictures were still stunning despite their size. However, you and I have fallen out, so quickly from friends to enemas. How could you show a picture of that all day breakfast. Speaking about it is one thing, I can skip that, but to show a picture !!! It’s 10.40 pm and there’s nowhere to get an all day breakfast from round here. Could you not have taken the care to do this blog post at a more reasonable hour for those of us in Britland? I’m salivating all over my knee and gnawing on the edge of the desk thanks to your lack of consideration.
    All the best mate.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Oh, this is priceless David. I can see you licking the computer screen. The only thing missing is a bacon scented, scratch and sniff card. Yes it is inconsiderate of me, hmm, I’ll have to do a steak and chips one next. How good did the desk taste mate?
      Thanks David,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifechange90

        David, I’d have thought that the prospet of making an enema would have taken away the appetite… But you’re right – the good old ‘all day breakfast’ is ever mouthwatering, and always at the wrong time or when there’s no chance of finding one where you are!

        Like

  8. Pagadan

    The bridge pictures, including the oil painting, are lovely–and I liked the bridge stonework (I love masonry). The gazania is beautiful (I bought one recently–yellow and red). The breakfast looks yummy, and the portrail is interesting. And thanks for showing us the head! (I’m not good at that.)

    Like

    Reply
  9. suzjones

    Now I see the head!! rofl
    You know I used to live in Ipswich many years ago (before marriage and children). I used to walk across the Bremer from the train station to reach my first home. The second one was at Brassall and the third was Denmark Hill (just below the water tower). I lived in a very old Qlder that had been subdivided into flats with shared toilets under the house. I used to take my roller skates up to the water tower on weekends and skate lol
    Love your photos of the Japanese Gardens in Toowoomba. We’re hoping to get up for the Carnival of Flowers this year so I’ll check it out.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Finally got the head.🙂 An old Ipswichian eh? There are some beautiful homes up on Denmark Hill. I don’t think you can get up on the water towers now. Occ health and safety I think. The council is worried someone might jump off. The Japanese gardens are wonderful in spring.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        Everything is OH&S these days😉
        It was a gorgeous old home and it had this huge tree at the back of the house that the possums used to love. I wonder if the house is still there?

        Like

Tell me what you think.

