A Medium, or just well done? Warnings.

The more my confidence increased, the clearer and more profound were my interactions with Spirit. The frequency of visitations prior to my clients turning up aided me greatly, many times they had answers to their questions. It was interesting to see an unbeliever, there were many, who would stop dead in their tracks when I’d say, “Oh, your Dad’s here, he said you have to fix that: car, stove, door etc.” I certainly had their full attention then. Quite a few people would turn up with the sole intention of trying to discredit me, irrespective of their friend’s glowing recommendations. I think it’s the only profession where you have to continually prove yourself. Enough whinging Laurie, get on with it.

Warning #1 The stroke. I’ve mentioned previously how I would check a person’s aura as they sat down, hold their hands and keep looking. This settled the both of us and gave me insights. The client today sat down and I closed my eyes and looked. In the area at the front of her skull the aura had no colour, black as black could be. I didn’t say anything at first and went on to answer the questions with the cards. they were about her daughter, work etc. I finished the reading, which she was happy with and said, “Have you had a check-up lately, you know blood pressure, heart etc.?” – “No, why would I, I’m healthy.” This is where it gets sticky, I don’t diagnose and I don’t like to scare people… but. I work on the precept that if I wasn’t meant to mention something, I wouldn’t be shown a problem. I said, “Look, do me a favour go and have  check-up at least for your daughter’s sake.” We left on great terms and I gave her no thought until her daughter rang me three weeks later. She’d found my card in her Mum’s things when she was packing her house up. Yes, she’d dropped dead from a stroke in the shower, two weeks after she’d seen me. I told the daughter what I’d seen and she replied that her mum had mentioned it to her and laughed it off. Very sad.

Warning #2 The car crash. Quite often 3 or 4 people would attend for readings, usually for moral support I think. On this Monday a couple and their friend, a young woman turned up. I didn’t see them arrive so I was unaware of the type of car they drove. The young woman came in first, sat down and I took her hands. No aura reading, nothing, only me looking down on an intersection near Coolangatta. I could see a white, Holden Kingswood sedan heading south and entering the intersection on a green light. A car came through the red light on their left and ploughed into the rear passenger side of the Holden, almost cutting the vehicle in half. With a huge deal of confidence I said, “You’re going to the coast this Friday night, with the couple out there, you will be seated in the rear passenger side seat and at the intersection of Coolangatta Road and Musgrave Street a car will hit you.” I could hear her bum drop through the seat, “You’re joking, right?” – “I’m sorry but I don’t joke about my work. It’s what I see happening.” – “Do I… die?” – “I’m shown the damage to the car, I can’t pick up death but crikey you’ll never walk again.”

We sat for a little while and I said, “Look, I wouldn’t be shown this if it couldn’t be avoided. All you have to do is say, no, I’m not going. Now I’ll do your reading, to see what happens if you don’t go on that drive.” The reading went well and she left with a half smile on her face. Her friends came in, they wanted a couple reading… always fraught with difficulty. I told them about what I’d seen, naturally they laughed. The young woman rang me the following week and thanked me profusely. Her friends went to the coast and she didn’t. Their car was hit in the rear passenger side, crumpling the rear halfway in, at the exact intersection. Anyone sat there would have been dead or severely injured. Her friends received minor injuries and their car was a write-off.

Warning #3 Don’t go to Belfast. I would find myself doing readings for particular groups: ladies from chemist shops, librarians, nurses. One would come and test the waters, tell her friends and the next day the phone would ring off the hook. A woman came to see me late one afternoon, I’ll call her Sue and her main question centred on work. I dealt out a few cards and ‘Leo and Green,” popped out of my mouth. “That’s who I work for.” *add a little gasp* Away we went and it came up that she would be made redundant at the beginning of autumn, which happened to be the following week. I have an affinity with my tarot cards, they were gifted to me 23 years ago and they’ve served me well. I don’t follow the meanings that come with them, instead I’ve created my own system that works on symbolism and astrology. I use the astrology side for dating events. The symbols in the deck are universal and open your psychic mind up. I kept dealing out the page of wands and a young woman with red hair came to me. My first words were, “You have a daughter who’s 23 and going overseas in 2 months. She can go anywhere in the world except Belfast.” *Eek* “She’s going there on holiday.”

“Why, why can’t she go, she has to?” – “I’m not sure, yet give me a moment.” I’d felt the familiar nudge from someone in spirit. Actually it felt like a kick in the shins. A tiny woman began to form at my side and I saw her fully in my mind’s eye. She pointed at my client and in an insistent voice she said, “I’m her grandmother, I come from Ireland. Tell her that if Toni steps one foot in Belfast, she won’t come home. She can go anywhere else, just not Belfast.” Then in living colour I was shown a black taxi come around a corner near a shop. Toni was standing outside the shop and someone in the taxi began shooting. I sat for a moment and said, “Look, I would try and talk her out of going if I were you.”

I received a call that night and a man, let’s call him Geoff, made an appointment for the following day. We sat in the room and he said, “Just do a reading. No aura stuff or any of that shit.” Okay, Mr Grumpy. With that I had him shuffle the cards, I took them back and began laying them out. I looked at him, the cards then back at him, “You’re Sue’s husband.” – “How do you know?” – “Exact same cards for starters and I have the same old lady with me here, and she’s saying the same thing, don’t let her go.” I completed the reading, he wanted to know about his job prospects, he would be made redundant too. I was about to wrap up when he said, “Look, I’m worried about my Mum, she’s old but hasn’t been real good lately. Her doctor says it’s old age but I don’t know.” I wrote his mum’s first name down and tuned in. I gave him a commentary on her home which I was shown, then a woman came into view. After describing her and the house he felt sure I had mum. A lovely lady with the major arteries on each side of her neck nearly blocked off. He asked and I told him, “I can’t diagnose but your mum needs to see a doctor, he needs to check her out urgently.”

A steady little stream of soon to be ex-employees of Leo and Green came to see me that week. Followed by, lo and behold Toni. Grandma came back with a vengeance and the room rocked. “Don’t go.” Toni seemed to take it all in her stride and smilingly flipped a bird. I don’t know if she went. I do know that Geoff made an appointment for his mum the following day. After a couple of tests they found her arteries were perilously close to blocking up, and she would be operated on the following week. He rang and thanked me, it made me feel good that someone else had taken notice. People don’t realise how difficult it is for those in spirit to break through and pass these messages on, and even harder for the reader to convince their client.

Warning #4 The Soul Mate Not every warning was a portent of doom. Let’s call this next young lady April. She arrived all giggly and fidgeted in her chair, another nervous one. Straight into the reading I checked the aura, nothing out of place. I laid out the cards and started. She’d asked about a soul mate and I avoided telling her my theory on them. I’ll tell you instead dear reader. I firmly believe that a soul mate can be of any sex and not always a lover or life companion. They can be a brother, sister, parent, friend and probably the second greatest one of all, an enemy. Naturally the one who completes us, is the mate who spends their life with us in a hopefully loving relationship. One who completes your life and is always there for you. As a firm believer in reincarnation, not where you come back as your neighbours cat or a starlet’s Chihuahua but in the soul’s journey through the ages. We return for a variety of reasons and with a variety of companions. An enemy, an antagonist, someone who throws obstacles in your path is there for one reason, to make you grow. They could have been a lover or mother in a previous time. Someone who loves you that much, that they take on a role no one else would want. Sure we also have a karmic debt and I’m sure there are those who want to harm us or make life miserable. That’s another post, back to April.

I picked up a card, tuned in and a workplace materialised, it turned out to be April’s. I described it, her workmate and the front counter in relation to the front door. I saw a young man walk in and approach the counter, a salesman he put his case down with a clunk and April approached him. They spoke and I saw a long road ahead for them, filled with happiness, children, good health. I gave her a detailed description of the man and sent her on her way. About nine months later she turned up again. We sat down and I said, “You were here a while ago.” – “Yes, I want to see who my partner is going to be.” Wheels and cogs clanged in the background as I thought back. Remember I’m seeing about 10-15 people a week, ah-ah. “Didn’t I tell you about a young salesman coming to your workplace?” – “Err, yes you did.” – “Well?” *Huge Sigh* “He turned up when you said and I ignored him. Somebody else finally got up and spoke with him. I told my workmate that he was the soul mate the psychic told me about. She told me to get up and talk. I didn’t believe you so I ignored him.” Cue to Laurie mentally belting his forehead on the table and gritting his teeth. “So, now what can I do for you?” – “Can you tell me if I’ll meet my soul mate?”

Next week: Eddy’s place and other haunted houses.

33 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Warnings.

  1. kelihasablog

    Once again laurie, I must say I love your writings. I think I love the subject matter as well, so you get a double “like” on these😀 It’s so interesting!❤ it

    Like

    Reply
  2. Wordifull Melanie

    Reading about your readings is so engrossing. I’ve have so many experiences yet never praticed to hone the skills nor have I ever felt comfortable telling strangers things I’ve seen. A few close friends over the years though.

    Mostly what comes through to me on a frequent basis are warnings. I have seen some spirits but the most powerful experiences I’ve had is when i just “feel” them. I become over run with what they are feeling and thinking and just know thier story.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s what I touch on in next weeks post Melanie, and that is we all have this ability. it’s like anything, if you really want to do it you will. The hardest part is actually telling a perfect stranger something that can leave you open to derision. I would say you are empathic with your feeling experiences. Knowing their story is them impressing their thoughts onto you. My advice? Listen to them.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. thisisnotbangkok

    Like ALL of your writings, this one again rings with both clarity and authenticity. One cannot make this stuff up, unless he or she were a bona fide sociopath or pathological liar, which I decided long ago you are not🙂 ….. I was totally fascinated by these stories as they all dealt with how your work as a medium affects people’s lives, either transforming them or saving them. I was just having a conversation with a friend the other day how when one sees a psychic, the reading can be authentic, but that events that are discussed can change due to our free will. These stories definitely prove that point. You do not here about this side of the psychic coin on TV shows where popular psychics give readings. I am really looking forward to the haunted house post.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you for your kind words Michael. You’re right, you can’t make it up. I think people expect far more from a psychic than they do of other professions and put them down just as quickly. It always felt good when someone would ring and thank you for how things turned out. I saw my work as an adjunct to peoples decision making. I would tell them to take what I said on board but at the end of the day, they had to make a value decision on their lives. Yes free will is the name of the game. The trouble is from experience I know we tend to make valued decisions based on emotion rather than giving it some deep thought beforehand. I often wondered why people wasted their time and mine by coming along at times.😦 But it is free will. I’ve finished the haunted house post for next week, it will be in 2 parts at least.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        This all makes wonderful sense. There are so many different types of readings. The kind they show mostly on TV are the ones where the psychic tells the client about various deceased family members who allegedly come through and then the psychic usually confirms that the deceased are there, followed by info that comforts the client with the deceased person’s messages, etc. These readings are the hardest to verify. Your readings seem more practical and have often been verified or validated later. That is quite a gift. I will def read the haunted house posts–looking forward to them !

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks Michael. You’re right there are many types of readings and the common thread should be proof of life after death. That some part of the person survives, somewhere. There are times when it only takes one thing to prove that the loved one is there. Some people will never believe if you offer them a thousand things. It’s all the better if you can put a date on something or even an event that only the sitter and the deceased know about. There are a lot of generalisations out there Michael.
        cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  4. lifechange90

    Fascoinating stuff Laurie, but you are right – the ones who come to you are often the biggest sceptics! The novelty of a ‘reading’ is OK, but then acting on what you say and takeing the chance to actually make a difference in their lives, take responsibility? No, too hard. Let’s just go get another reading next week….
    Not all, as some folks are serious and do act on what comes through, but spo many are really wasting Spirit’s time!
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      So true Ray, a lot of people came along on a dare or for a lark. I liked it when they received a good reading. I’ll be posting on some of the excuses people came up with for the correct results/answers. Quite a few were psychic hoppers. They’d go to different ones every week, asking the same questions. It was always good to see when somebody took notice. So many just didn’t realise how much effort was required to get everything in place.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. laurelslovelyliving

    I suppose you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make them drink. The hardest ones for you must be when people perish after you’ve given them fair warning. That must be saddening for you. How do you deal with it? Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      So true my dear, all you can do is give the message and hope for the best. How did I handle it? Shrug the shoulders and get on with it, getting involved can really cruel things for you.
      Love. L.

      Like

      Reply
  6. olganm

    Thanks for sharing Laurie. It can’t be easy and indeed there’s only so much you can do. I think you’re right about soul mates. Keep the stories going.

    Like

    Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Do you see things about people when you don’t want too or aren’t trying to…like when you are out doing everyday things things? You truly handle your abilities well. Very impressive. Scary, but impressive. You need to write a book about this, or at least think about writing one. So interesting. Just keep them coming, please. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I certainly do Gigi, especially if I’m relaxing, you know, thumb in bum and mind in neutral. Then all sorts of things pop up. I pick up peoples emotions first, no matter how they try to hide them, if I get a chance I’ll check the aura. I pick up on places and react accordingly. Especially if I’m in a café or pub. If there’s a vibe and if it isn’t good I’ll leave. The feeling can be quite full on, the same when it comes to driving somewhere. There are times when I’ll pass someone in the street and receive overwhelming feelings about their health, it can get annoying. A book? I’m writing it with every post. Don’t worry there are more posts to come, now be patient until next week.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        Thank you. It must be difficult at times. I just pick up vibes sometimes, mostly “MOVE AWAY FROM HERE NOW!!!” kind of things…and I move, believe me. I pick up things riding by barns and pastures…about how the animals feel, every now and then. I imagine that when I do, certain animals are just broadcasting loud enough for me to feel it. I, like so many others, am fascinated by your stories. Looking forward to SUNDAY (grumble, grumble, so far away) and the next installment:)

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Difficult indeed Gigi. What you’re getting is a psychic warning. You’re obviously tuned in to animals. believe me they are delightful to work with. I’ve received some great insights from people’s pets. Sunday will be here when its ready.🙂

        Like

  8. davidprosser

    Real frustration there Laurie. Today I received an email from the daughter of a friend who has just seen a psychic.She was given a message for me to pass on but she was confused because it referred to Ju sending love to her children and this young lady only knows of Yvonne. I had to explain that there is indeed another child- the black sheep who she didn’t know. Yvonne is over the moon to know her Mum is around and watching her and her new family unit.
    All the best to you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s messages like this that prove to me that there is something happening after death. Getting a message for someone you don’t know exists, is a spinner. I think that it would make you feel good knowing Ju is still there thinking of you all.
      You have a good day David.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Raani York

    You know, Laurie… this is tough stuff – but I guess I told you that before. What impresses me enormously this week is, how you handle the “warnings”. I could imagine it isn’t easy to hear or see the death of a person right in front of you (or someone close to them) and let them know in a tactful and sensitive way, but I think you managed quite well!!
    As for April: She’s a dumb nut… LOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      What I find amazing about it Rani, is that I’m known for blurting things out. Yet for these warnings I was the epitome of cool and reticence. Something bigger at work in the background I think. Life prior to being a Medium showed me so much horror that anything spirit showed me didn’t shock at all. April the poor girl.? I think you said it all.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

