A Wallaby Windup Wednesday.

 Nothing overly whacky today, only a couple of old friends around the paddock. Roopert and his Mum were disturbed by some shenanigans going on by the trees.wallaby

 It disturbed a romantic moment between half-ear and her new boyfriend.wallaby

Yes, a fight, or is it? Are they really learning to dance under the watchful eye of their instructor, Francois?wallaby fight

“Just a little to the left, move those hips Enrique and those arms, up, up.”wallaby fight

“No, no, hips to the right Raoul, to the right.”wallaby fight

“No Raoul, slapping is not part of the routine.”wallaby fight

“This is terrible, stop, stop. I didn’t leave ballet to teach dirty dancing.”wallaby

“Don’t take him literally Raoul, he didn’t really mean it when he said to stick it up your cloaca.”wallabies

“Life is tough in the paddock Enrique.”
“it certainly is Raoul, especially when you want to bring a little culture to the place.”wallabies

Stay tuned viewers, there could be something even more stupid next week.
Cheers
Laurie

55 thoughts on “A Wallaby Windup Wednesday.

  1. eightdecades

    Enjoyed greatly the photos of the roos, I have never seen a roo except in the zoo, guess that will have to do.
    I must say that the comments you leave on my blog are always uplifting and encouraging, and as a bit of a recluse myself I don’t get out enough, even on the internet, so hearing you have had a bit of down and sorrow I felt compelled to send a lifting greeting your way. (something I don’t do enough). Of all days for me to visit you have a blue moon up. So once in a blue moon I come to visit. Great photo by the way, and I really like the duck. Thanks for your frequent visits and comments, they really do lift a soul.
    John

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m glad you enjoyed the Roo pictures John. They’re such a unique animal and I love to share the images. I like to leave comments on the blogs that inspire me John. Your art and words touch me, they bring back an era that is long gone. I truly appreciate that you have taken the time to write. I know how difficult it can be when you want to shut the world and people out for a while. That if you get too close then you have to keep on with the connection. A blue moon indeed, yes there is some synchronicity at work here. I didn’t know if the moon would go over well, being a day time shot but in retrospect I’m glad I put it up. The duck! What a character he is, that stare. You’re welcome John I love dropping by your place and if by doing so I give some upliftment then you know I’ll be back.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Raani York

    Oh, what an extraordinary day at the Paddock, Laurie. Dancing, and the regular starlets (like half-ear and her new boyfriend) – Do we know already who he is? Or is this still a secret?😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Extraordinary indeed Raani. Well we’ve had Shakespeare, so we’ll have dancing too. Half-ear has been around, I’ve seen her with different wallabies. I think she’s looking to end up in one of your letters to the stars blogs.🙂 It could be Wal Wallaby she’s with, he’s a ladies’ man.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    Love the Roo’s and their antics Fratello. I am so sorry you are down right now. I know what you mean about feeling low, however I also love how you try so hard to keep us entertained with such beauty. I think the sadness we go through makes us appreciate the good times we have had with the people we loved and cared about. I am sure your mate is with you in spirit and love.
    Sorella xoxo

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, a couple of down days now I’m back up again. I felt him there for a while. It’s the sadness of them not being here. They go to somewhere a little better than here. I’ll keep on entertaining, don’t worry.
      Cheers
      Fratello.xx

      Like

      Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    Wonderful witty reparte Laurie, one wonders how far up their cloaca some people have gone? Yes I know it’s not possible but the imagination runs wild. I really enjoyed the giggles at your conversational additions…. I wish I could fo that. One day I;d love to be able to see it… the roos able to wander around (but watch out for my garden!) and all their antics. If I do, I;ll definately think hard and send it to you🙂 Thanks Laurie, the laugh was needed. Sorry about your mates funeral – The chap you wrote about a ‘couple’ of posts ago? I’m truly sorry… not a good day.
    Blessings and prayers for healing the grief.
    Susan❤ xoxo

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, some people are still up there looking. I love putting captions on things, I’ve done it forever I think. I’ve really given up on the garden, you know it’s the hares that do the most damage. The roos break a few thinks but they don’t eat the flowers. Sniff them, yes. Yes it was the chap I wrote about. They buried him yesterday and I couldn’t make it to the funeral. I did think of him at the time and shed a tear or three. I haven’t had good days for a week now and am extremely antisocial. I missed your call the other day, my phone was dead. I only go looking for it when I head out. We’ll talk, just not yet. You’re a real chum Susan, thank you.
      Laurie. xox.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Natalie Scarberry

    I always love your posts about the roos. Do they fight a lot? Seems like they must. Great photos as usual. Cheers, Laurie. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie. Yes they do, they’ll be eating one minute then whack, it’s on. Then it’s over but sometimes it may drag on for a little while, it depends on how available the females are.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        They must like us Nia.🙂 The grass is good, no dogs and we leave them alone. So they feel safe I guess. We had a small, new mob come by yesterday morning. They stooped on the front lawn, had a good look at the house and hopped away down the paddock. They went and stayed by one of the dams. I love adding commentary, must be from reading lots of comic books.🙂

        Like

      2. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        I just typed out a big long reply but I think it was lost. I hope this isn’t a repeat. Anyway, I was going to say that I have been learning some interesting animal behavior from your kangaroo sequence! We had our bunny come by again today and eat grass. I try to keep predators off our property as I like the birds and now this bunny! I didn’t get a photo though. Too busy making coffee at the time.

        Like

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It’s not a repeat. They’ll turn up if they feel safe. I love that we have wildlife hang around the place. Not too keen on the snakes but hey, as long as they keep away from the house. Bunnies always turn up when you’re drinking coffee.🙂

        Like

  6. Susan Wingate

    I laughed aloud, Laura. Especially at the cloaca comment. Something that I will henceforth refer to as the cc. Your Wednesdays are my favorite day of the week, Laurie.😀

    Like

    Reply
      1. Susan Wingate

        No, not at all! I love the name Sherman and actually thought about changing my name because of the slip. But, honestly, I thought you were having some fun with me and meant to call me Sherman–sort of as an endearment.🙂

        And, about “cloaca”–have you ever heard of the “cloacum kiss?”

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I have indeed, it’s what birds do to procreate. With the roos everything is in the one place, except the testicles. No, Sherman was a true blue mistake, I think you’re more of a Teddy.🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

