More stuff happening at The Writer’s Room.

A varied offering this week viewers. Where’s the sun I hear you cry? Well I thought this daytime moon shot looked to be a winner this week. A touch of contrast and highlighting the blue and there you have it. Blue Moon.Moon

This is the mountain range in front of our house. I took this after the rain last week and as you can see we have waterfalls. This picture was a little hard to take mainly because the clouds parted over the hills and the sun shone there. I shouldn’t complain it’s about 5 miles away.mountain waterfall

Okay, so I like ducks and ducklings, these little blokes were resting up in the sun at Toowoomba in the Japanese gardens. The second pic is in one of those gravel gardens they have, where it’s all raked in patterns. I like the huge orb above the palm tree.Japanese gardens

This is the epitome of hard-ass duck, take a look at those eyes. “Hand over the bread crumbs Mate, or else.” Even his reflection looks mean.Duck

I haven’t put a windmill up for a little while. Took a drive down a dead end road yesterday and saw this. The water tank has seen better days though. The picture underneath is situated to the left of the mill.windmill

This bridge crosses the Bremer river between Ipswich and North Ipswich, foot traffic only. It seemed to be something of a long haul for the trio having a smoke. I added a little light to the end to bring out the vehicle there.footbridge

This wee cottage is in Albert Street at Rosewood. It’s been there for quite a long time I think. A definite handyman’s delight.pioneer cottage

I’m kind of happy with this picture, he sat there until I jumped out of the car, camera at the ready. I focused on the falcon when he sat on top of the pole (notice how sharp and clear the pole looks) and went to shoot; whooshka, he took off. I will endeavour to do better next time.hawk

After the falcon left I had to satisfy my snapping addiction with these Ibis’s. Not as dramatic, I know but at least I managed to capture a clear face. The grass gives it that something I guess.Ibis

Ah, Kangaroos, this happy little family group were resting down the paddock on Sunday afternoon. The young fellow standing there is on guard duty, junior is having an afternoon snack and the big guy with the spot on his side is doing what blokes do well, snooze. For the more observant amongst you, he is Spotty from last years blog of the fighting kangaroosKangaroos

 Here they are again, upright and posing for the camera. That Spotty is definitely a hunk.kangaroos

That’s the lot for this week, I will try and get a better pic of the falcon. I hope you’ve enjoyed this weeks offerings. For those who are new here there are numerous picture posts over in the archives under the title, Writer’s Room.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

31 thoughts on “More stuff happening at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Miss Lou

    Beautiful pictures Laurie (You should look at putting together a calendar in RedBubble!)

    Also love your descriptions! The fourth one down – that looks like Cycads in that picture? My FAVORITE plant (in all it’s varying forms)

    Thanks for sharing,

    Miss Lou
    x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Miss Lou, I’ll have to check out RedBubble now. 🙂 Yeah I think you’re right about the cycads. I like to put my 10 cents worth in with the pictures. I know, they’re worth a thousand words. Thank you for dropping by.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Eli Pacheco

    I like the ducks lounging in the sun … I’d like to do that today.

    Who do you suppose was that orb?

    And I guess maybe you’d find another youthful trio smoking inside that shack, possibly. But what is wagging?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Those ducks were cute, they had relaxing down pat. I’m not sure about the orb at all, biggest one I’ve ever seen though. There could have been moisture there, some light refraction going on. Wagging is a term for staying away from school, it’s the same as playing hookey over there.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    The moon shot was my favorite, as I am a moon child :o), but all of the shots were great. I wonder what is inside the shack. Possibly a small hidden treasure left there years ago by a child. The duck looks like he’s got a lot on his mind and you interrupted his thoughts, and the majesty of the falcon is breath taking with the talons ready to strike. I so enjoy your offerings Fratello. Thank you :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The moon is quite popular Sorella. Ah the shack, well I wouldn’t mind getting around it with a metal detector, there would be quite a few coins, and artefacts. That duck is Daffy Duck reincarnated I’m sure. I’m glad you enjoyed them Sorella.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  4. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    Your Blue Moon is beautiful and it won my heart. All of the pictures in this collection are wonderful, but the Blue Moon is really unusual and one of your best. You should think about submitting it to a magazine or a newspaper.

    Shalom,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Did, How wonderful to hear from you. I have your, Everything Must Change post up to comment on and was thinking about you. I returned to my emails and there you were. I sent you an email a while ago answering your lengthy response on a post. I didn’t hear back and thought I may somehow have upset you. I’m so glad that you like my pictures. The moon is different isn’t it? I hope you are well and that life is taking you forward with all of your work.
      Love
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Oh I always love your photos and comments about them. The duck was definitely giving you the snake eye! Even though the picture of the falcon wasn’t as sharp as you would have liked it to be it was very good. It’s hard to get as clear a shot as yours when a bird takes off like that.
    Very enjoyable post, my friend. Cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Natalie, you’re very kind. What a duck indeed, he had grit. I’ll get over the falcon, sniff. Saw a bigger one on the way out this morning though. 😀 Thanks so much for stopping by Natalie, I always look forward to your visit.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I love the blue moon photo in the clouds–lovely. The mountain range photo looks so soft; and I think you did a good job of capturing the falcon in flight. The windmill photo made me feel nostalgic; I was born on my grandparents’ farm, which had a big windmill and water tank for the livestock. and I think that cottage isn’t going to be leaning much longer.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, looks like I ticked all the boxes this week. This is why I put a wider selection up on Fridays. I’m glad that you have connected with them.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Raani York

    Okay, these are AMAZING pictures. Now I’m feeling ashamed I even published my Zoo pics. *blush*
    I love the picture series, as usually. This week I did have a hard time deciding on my favorite – and I finally decided it’s the falcon. So beautiful!! What an amazing photographer you are, Laure!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Your pics from the zoo were great Raani, don’t put yourself down. I always look forward to your pic of the week. I’ll be getting a better one of him, just you wait. 😉 I’m very glad you like my offerings Raani. It inspires me.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. hitandrun1964

    Beautiful and the falcon’s talons show up nicely. So much power in that picture…wings, strong body. I never tire of seeing your photographs because they are like a different world to me. You have a mountain and waterfall that you can see from your house…and kangaroos. So much fun. My mountains are steel and glass. They arrest you, if you try to climb them:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. His talons were the only part of him in real focus. However it doesn’t detract from the imagery though. yes indeed we have a waterfall, only after rain though but that’s good. It makes it all the more impressive when it turns up. Well I guess climbing skyscrapers isn’t the safest of pastimes. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  9. davidprosser

    Stunning shots Laurie. I love the duck that’s putting a hex on you but the picture of the falcon is tremendous. To have caught that much you must have been Quick Draw McGraw.
    Have a Great Weekend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That duck has attitude in spades. 🙂 I’m glad you like the falcon, I wanted a clearer shot. I know where he lives. Thanks for appreciating my work David.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. suzjones

    That happens with me all the time. I get my camera lined up and the subject becomes camera shy. lol
    I love, love, love the moon shot though. Awesome stuff.
    I think the three girls on the footbridge may have been wagging somehow. lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It gives one the pips, just not quick enough, nest time though. Yes the moon is different, I like to look at some things differently. I think there was a little pot smoking happening on the bridge. 😉

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

