More birds from The Writer’s Room.

You may well remember last week when I complained about the Peregrine Falcon taking off. Well I went out looking for him a couple of days later and guess what? He took off. This Brown Falcon a couple of poles away stayed put. So here are three views of the same bird.brown falcon

 All in all it’s just, another moth on the wall. Outside the front door actually.moth

A Purple Waterhen chick playing tug ‘o war with its lunch at Lake Apex.purple water hen

This is one of those pics you take and don’t know what to do with. I decided a little artistic treatment was required, real life being overtaken by art. Toowoomba Japanese gardens.ducks

 I always get excited when I see Red Deer. This handsome chap (both pics) was grazing in the paddock about a mile from home, naturally it was after sunset. Hence the graininess. A fencepost stood in as a quick tripod. Take a look at his haunches in the top pic. he’s ready for the mating season, or Rut. You can see a strand of velvet hanging on his antler. A younger stag with a broken short antler huddled with the females, he’s smart. It will be interesting to see if any other contenders turn up.red deer

I love ducks. This hungry chap came zeroing in on our bread scraps from the other side of Lake Apex. It’s fascinating how he fluffs his feathers out in the top pic. The wing feathers come into play as brakes. Then fold and drop, feet out and a kind of dignified plop into the water.ducks

 Another resident of Lake Apex, this Top Knot pidgeon stayed long enough for his picture.top knot pigeon

Even the Egret posed.egret

 This is a fine example of a typical mid to late 1800’s Queenslander cottage. It’s situated at the back of lake Apex in the historical village. Cast iron lacework was a popular feature, a silver painted roof to reflect the sun and wide verandas to keep cool on. The fence at the front is a sliprail style.queenslander house

 A couple of houses up we have the old Gatton railway station.railway station

That’s it for this week, a little heavy on birds I know but it shows the wide variety. Until next time take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

45 thoughts on “More birds from The Writer’s Room.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    Beautiful photo set. I like the deer, the second pidgeon pic and the egret pic the best–nice shots. ‘Just another moth on the wall’–hilarious. Is the Gatton Railway Station supposedly haunted or am I mistaking it for another one?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Eli Pacheco

    The topknot made me think I was looking in a mirror, mate. The hair can sometimes prove unruly. But my favorite is the waterhen, because who hasn’t struggled to get their lunch now and then?

    Like

    Reply
  3. Owls and Orchids

    A great selection as always Laurie. I don’t seem to get enough time at present. We spent ages trying to get good shots of the Blood moon the other night Photos were great but the midges finally won. 😢
    Still hopeful though. The new place offers a little ore variety. 😃
    Take care.
    Susan ❤

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pagadan

    The falcon posed nicely, but the duck coming in for a landing was great. And I loved the house and railroad staiton. (I love old buildings.) I’ve always liked the Australian style of homes with verandahs that are built for the climate. We have dog-trot houses in the south that take advantage of the breezes and air circulation. (We built a house modeled on the dog-trot with a long, wide hall that went from the front to the back with lots of windows.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That was one cool duck, I loved the way his feathers came into play. It’s always interesting to see houses from everywhere. The dog-trot style sounds interesting joy.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Susan Wingate

    Love the birds and critters, Laurie. We have a few resident Peregrine Falcons around the island too. Lots of eagles and red-tailed hawks. Thanks for the great photos!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia. I needed something to compliment all that blue sky. I’ll get a better shot of the big stag one day. I have some great ones of the females. The house is nice, they’re cool in summer and bloody cold in winter.😉

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        That makes sense about the Queenslander house. Thank you for telling me that detail because I’d like to write a mystery series set in Queensland.🙂 You seem to be doing a great job with wildlife photography. It’s really hard, I think, and takes patience.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        There’s nothing wrong with the old American visitor twist in a story.🙂 There’s certainly plenty to photograph. Souls searched, found wanting, pulling socks up.🙂

        Like

  6. nataliescarberry

    A potpourri, as it were, of very nice mixed shots. My fave is the pigeon with the top knot. He is just too cute! Thanks again for the trip around your environs. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. suzjones

    I love photographing birds. Your egret shot is gorgeous.
    Hopefully I will make it to the Toowoomba botanical gardens next weekend. My daughter is graduating in Toowoomba on the 26th and we will be up there for that.🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. talain45

    Nice post Laurie🙂 I’m jealous of these great bird images. very beautiful they all are. The Queenslander’s cottage is neat, I love that hug porch. I, myself am struggling to find time to go out to find images. Glad that you had these wonderful opportunities. Take care, Michael🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Michael. You have to be persistent to get them.🙂 The house is nice, I may take some pics of bigger ones around the place. Time is the thing with photography, I’m lucky being retired I can pick when I want to go out. Have a great weekend Michael.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  9. Raani York

    So amazing… I can’t find superlatives big enough for these pictures! I love the birds and the butterflies – and all the deer (is it deer or deers😉 )
    But of course – the falcon caught my eye again. What a beautiful bird!!
    So great, Laurie!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I love big superlatives Raani,😉 it’s deer, singular and plural. That falcon is nice, I’m amazed at the size of their eyes, they have great vision. I try to put the best ones up.
      Cheers
      Raani.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Patricia Salamone

    Beautiful shots Fratello, but do you have to rub it in and make sure we know what a beautiful place you live in? Yes, I am jealous, and I will warn you now, one day I am going to turn up at your door with enough luggage to last at least a month. :o)

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

