You beauty, The Writer’s Room is back!

Welcome, it’s good to be back with another Writer’s Room offering. As always there’s something for everybody. Clouds this week looking south from our house. When I was a little boy I would lay in the back yard and stare at the clouds. I always believed there were huge cities in them and you could walk up there. No I wasn’t eating any strange mushrooms.clouds

I took this in the animal enclosure at Queens Park, Ipswich last week. He has to be one of the cutest wallabies I’ve seen in ages. ‘Okay, you’ve basked in the cuteness, now move along there’s nothing else to see here.’Wallaby

Back to the paddock. the big Roos came up on the weekend to hang around in the shade. What else can you do but groom yourself and oh yes, lick the back of your knee. The old man roo is a hefty type, after I took this he moved in, obviously expecting romance. The little fellow sprawled out in the bottom picture appears to have relaxation down pat. Dare we say it’s Rootopia here at the Smiths?kangaroos

This used to be a private residence many years ago. Now it’s an aged care home. A fine example of colonial architecture, Chermside Road, Eastern Heights, Ipswich.colonial house

A Curlew in the aviary at Queens Park.curlew

A Royal King Parrot, at Queens Park.royal king parrot

I forgot to get the name of this pretty bird, so I’ll call him Bert. Updated News Flash, he’s a Glossy Ibis.bird

A Black Swan. I love the dapple green water, itย looks a little magical.black swan

The lake in the Queens Park Japanese gardens. There are plenty of water dragons this year, they seem to get on okay with the waterfowl.water dragons

These wasps are building a nest on the veranda. I’m allergic to wasp stings so I got out the telephoto lens for this shoot. I turned the top four pics upside down so you didn’t have to crane your neck.wasps

I love photographing bees, they move so fast. In the first pic you can see the hairs on him. The flower in the bottom right is well, a flower. I think the plant is a legume and used for stock food. I know the horses ate about an acre of it when they first came.bees

To get the best out of this weeks offerings I suggest you open them in a new tab or window. I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit to the writer’s room. I look forward to hearing from you and will gratefully accept suggestions as to the identity of Bert the bird and the flower. Until nextย time take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

73 thoughts on “You beauty, The Writer’s Room is back!

  1. talain45

    I love the birds in this post Laurie. This aviary at Queens Park looks like a neat place to visit, I was at the Bronx’s Zoo in NYC many years ago and they had an outstanding aviary back then. I hope to visit that in the next couple of years again going digital this time. Lovely images of everything as always, I get a good senses of your country from the post you publish. I’m getting to look back at previse posted that every one has made in the pasted two or three weeks. I thought that I was having a problem with Word Press but it turned out to be my lap top. Hopefully everything is fixed. I’ll be bouncing through today and keeping in touch with your resent posts. My best wishes and take care, Michael๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are nice Michael. Sometimes you just have to go to an aviary to get the good shots. Yes, doing it digital is the way to go. At least you can snap off as many shots as possible. I try to give a balanced view of life around my part of the world, and I think it’s working. Lap Top trouble eh? Nothing worse is there? I hope it’s all worked out for you. Thanks for dropping by and catching up Michael. Until next time, Cheers, Laurie.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. laurelslovelyliving

    Fabulous as always!! Roos, bees, birds & old age homes…what more could a gal ask for๐Ÿ™‚ You really are a very talented photographer. You make me want to hop a plane for Aussie land right now!! Glad you’re back by the way๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers from the flip side ~ Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m delighted that you like it L. Where have you been? I haven’t seen a post in a week. Thanks for the compliment I try to do the best I can and bring the pick of the crop to my viewers.๐Ÿ™‚ Hop a flight, come on down. Cheers right back at ya.
      Love.L.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Ms. Vee

        You’re welcome. Timing is everything. I purchased your book suggested yesterday, I am looking forward to taking time out to read it. Blessings!

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks for buying my book Vera. I nipped over to your blog and checked your about me page. I remember you saying you worked in law enforcement. Hopefully there won’t be too many surprises for you.๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      3. Ms. Vee

        I don’t think I can be surprised about anything that happened in criminal law. It was depressing, and stressful when I first started. But I had to overcome that aspect, and do my job. The guns and holding cells scared me to death.Thirty years went by quickly. Thank God. It made me paranoid though, even today, and I am a city girl. I am always keen to my surroundings, and carry pepper spray. My motto…spay, kick in the double bubble, yell and run like hell.๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I love your motto Vera, Lorelle had a great laugh when I read it out. There’s certainly nothing pleasant about working in the cells, it’s where you usually find people at their worst. I hope you give them that look before you spray them.๐Ÿ™‚
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  3. Nia Simone and รntonia Moran

    There they are! I’ve been waiting. You did a great job with the wasp and bee. The roos crack me up. The wallaby is so sweet. I love those gentle creatures. The birds are amazing. You have the best birds in Australia. I also like the house. Thank you for bringing us a sampling of Queensland today. I feel like I visited and I haven’t even gotten out of bed yet!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Nia Simone and รntonia Moran

        ๐Ÿ™‚ I got some more flowers today… at least I think so. I have yet to check my camera but I’ll be posting something tomorrow, anyway! (I forgot to turn the ISO down from its moonlight setting for most of them, but I did finally remember on the last two shots.)

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        There’s nothing worse than taking pics on the wrong setting. A good hint is to set it on creative auto before you put it away. Then at least you’ll have no worries about missed settings. Looking forward to the flowers.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re welcome Nia. There’s only so much you can do with flowers, however there’s always different angles, slightly darker lighting, getting deeper into the flower. I like to look outside the box now and do things a little differently.

        Like

  4. Patricia Salamone

    Your beautiful soul show through your picture taking. I love every single shot this week Fratello especially the Royal King Parrott and the Black Swan. It is the first time I ever one, it is magnificent. The wasps were a bit scary, got stung once and have been scared ever since. Great to have you back.

    Sorella

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, as you know I try.๐Ÿ™‚ It gets hard some weeks deciding on what to put up, although this week it was all quite colourful. it’s great to be back.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Great photos as usual! Loved Bert, but I no likey wasps either. Rather than trying to photograph them I’d probably been spraying them with a bug killer. Actually I make James do that. He can still run faster. Loved the little water dragons too. Never had heard of such.
    Great post, Laurence. Cheers, O Sage of Australia. Natalie ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie, I don’t like wasps either but they make interesting subjects to photograph. yeah the water dragons are nice, I’ve put some up in the past where you can see the red and yellow on their belies. They swim very well. I’m going to have to grow a beard again with the Sage moniker.๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Ooooh, a bearded Sage portrays great wisdom! Then you will be a force to be reckoned with, huh?! Sir Laurence, the Sage of Australia! Has a nice ring to it, don’t you think? Are the water dragons dangerous, O wise one? Cheers, Natalie ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Titles are great Natalie, the only thing is you have to live up to them.๐Ÿ™‚ The water dragons aren’t dangerous, they posture for a few seconds then scurry away. They love sunbaking on the rocks.
        Cheers
        Laurence.

        Like

  6. Raani York

    The Writer’s Room pictures are back – I’m so excited, Laurie!! – I love that house, the parrot of course and the bees. So beautiful – but this week the black swan is my favorite!! I bet you could have guessed.๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Raani, good to see you. The house? Believe me, beautiful as it is there are some stunners around the town. I’ll be snapping a few more this year. The swan is captivating, it’s up on the wall along with Bert the bird. I had taken a few pics of the swan on the other side of the little lake but he was very aggressive. This is why he looks so good swimming, I think he wanted another go. The reflection on the water really makes this shot. Now I have to keep the standards up.๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for being here every week.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Absolutely gorgeous photographs. I enjoyed every single one. Bert is so cute but all of the birds and animals are wonderful. This was a beautiful post. The bee shots are lovely. Thank you. You really do live in Paradise.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Gigi. I took them in my week off, it gave me some inspiration. I’m happy with the bees, especially the first one. All those fine hairs on him. My fave is Bert. I think it’s all the different shades and how he blends in. The swan comes a close second.
      Paradise indeed.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  8. suzjones

    Sorry, can’t help with identifying Bert but beautiful photos as always. There is some wonderful architecture in and around Ipswich that’s for sure.

    Like

    Reply
  9. davidprosser

    Great to visit with you Laurie. I’m fine with most of the company you keep but me, I’d be all for getting rid of the wasps. Bees I have no problem with but I’ve never found any use for the nasty little wasps who sting for no reason and don’t have the courtesy to die afterwards.
    Keep well mate.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Don’t worry David, the wasps are being given their marching orders. They do however have a certain, alien appearance about them, except when they fall into your wellies.๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Keeping well Mate.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Pagadan

    I love your photos; the clouds are beautiful, but the black swan on the green water is a work of art–worth framing. The critters are interesting and cute, and I always enjoy the various examples of architecture you share. (I especially love colonial architecture.)
    Btw, we have black swans, white swans, and black-necked swans on some of our lakes here in Lakeland. The white swans were a gift from Queen Elizabeth to the city many years ago.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, I’ve printed out the swan. I love taking pics in places with shadows and reflections. I’ll be putting more colonial houses up over the year. Those black swans get around, I’ve seen them in Texas. Those huge white swans are certainly majestic. It was nice of the Queen to give the swans. Thanks for being a follower Joy.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Hmm, I know I live in a beautiful place Jane. My point was that if someone is envious after seeing my pics, then I’ve accomplished what I’ve set out to do.

        Like

      2. Jane Dougherty

        This is a good example of how misunderstandings arise when you can’t see or hear the person you’re talking to๐Ÿ™‚ That’s was I was struggling to say in a cack-handed way. Carry on taking the pics, Laurie, and making us all envious. We love it.

        Like

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I was worried there Jane. it didn’t sound like you at all. I can see how people having relationships online can get into trouble.๐Ÿ™‚ No worries, I’ll keep happy snapping away.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  11. Patrons of the Pit

    Very Nice, Laurie. I have not a clue on the various bird life of Australia, but let it be said, Bert is beautiful!

    As usual, I have enjoyed your persuasion for pictures. Sort of a cross section, core sample if you will, of a day in the life of Australia outdoors. So much going on there. Thanks for capturing if but just a wee bit of it.

    Be well!

    -PotP

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks PotP, I was too busy to look up Bert’s real name so I’m leaving it to viewers. I do know it’s a distant cousin of the New Zealand Kiwi. He did come up nice, the light was beautifully dappled. One of those money shots I think. I try to keep some variation in the posts, although it’s a tad bird heavy this week. Thanks for dropping in, I mean you’ve been so busy eating T-bones and all.๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Tami McVey

    So happy to have the Writer’s Room back, and in such high style too!! Gorgeous shots, I just love learning about your part of the world through your eyes! xo

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Tami, I thought I’d something of an extravaganza today.๐Ÿ™‚ I actually printed out the Bee, Swan and Bert the bird on A4 sheets and put them on my wall, they look gorgeous. I’m glad you like to see my little part of the world. Now go and start reading my books.๐Ÿ˜‰
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

