A Medium, or just well done? Some people just don’t get it at all.

Phone Tapping? The room, already dim seemed to grow darker. A faint hum started off in the distance, slowly growing in intensity until my ear drums vibrated. The room came back, I opened my eyes and saw the anxious look on the face off my sitter, Joanne. Her eyes seemed huge through the lenses of her glasses. I closed mine again and wished I hadn’t. Lights flashed past and the blurred faces in the crowd appeared and just as suddenly vanished. The hum became a roar now as I felt the small, shaky steering wheel in my hands. Staring ahead I became aware of being in a metal cage, Then it came to me, a racing car. Clenching the steering wheel in my now trembling hands I went into the approaching corner, too fast. The rear of the sprint car slewed around, I corrected, slammed into the barricade and stared at the horrified faces looking back at me. Fire. The last thing I saw were hungry, searing flames reaching for my face. Then, silence, peace and a familiar floating sensation. A man’s voice came through, ‘Tell her it’s Dad, tell her.’ Groggy, shaken I opened my eyes again. She sat forward in her chair as I fumbled with the deck of cards in my still shaking hands. I’m not keen on fiery deaths and this one felt all so real. Taking a sip of tea from my mug I sat back and relayed what I had seen and gave her the message. Picking up the box of tissues from the floor I handed them over, ‘Thanks, how, how did you know all of this?’ – ‘Well, I just do. You’re here for a reading and obviously want contact, now you have it.’ We discussed her Dad for a while, he’d been a racing car driver and spent his spare time diving at various speedways in Queensland. He showed me his last one. ‘Look,’ I said as gently as I could, ‘he really didn’t feel anything.’ – ‘But he burned to death, surely……’ Her words hung there for a moment. ‘I felt his passing, he… well he was pissed off about it, there was something wrong with his carburetor.’ She took this in for a moment and said, ‘Are you sure he’s okay?’ – ‘Well I reckon, he’s going on with some jokes now.’ She brightened up at that and the reading went on, nothing earth shattering only a father reconnecting with his daughter and giving her solace about his passing. He waffled on answering personal questions, talking about her children, all in all a good reading. When her hour was up she left the room feeling elated. The next sitter came in with my new mug of tea and I began her reading, nothing unusual here. My night had been organised by Jesse, Carly’s Mum and she had lined up several friends. These were people who I’d never met before, nor had Jesse told me anything about them. The following morning I received a phone call from Joanne, it went like this: ‘I don’t know if I really believe what you told me last night now.’ – ‘Why not, your Dad gave you plenty of proof that it was him?’ – ‘Well… I was talking to a friend and she said nobody could know that much about a stranger.’ – ‘I did.’ – ‘She said you must have been reading my mail, or even tapping my phone line to know all of that.’ I left the incredulous retort unsaid as I composed myself, then I said gently, ‘You’ve never met me before last night, right?’ – ‘Yes.’ – ‘And I don’t even have your phone number or address, right?’ – ‘Right.’ – ‘Then how the bloody hell could I tap your line or read your mail?’ – ‘Well, hmm I don’t know.’

These anecdotes are coming as I remember them and not in any particular order. Over time I added some new skills to my repertoire. Always looking for something different I decided to try letting the spirit take over and speak to the sitter. This is a practice not overly common today, in the early part of the 20th century many mediums practised it, some faked it others didn’t. Believe me I didn’t enter into this willy-nilly. I gave it a lot of practice with close friends first, and scared the crap out of them too. Before any reading I usually found myself heading for the toilet, nerves played a big part, hey come on, it’s stage fright. Once I started the take-over business then I found myself running to the loo a few minutes beforehand. I would never spring this method on a sitter. If someone was there in spirit I would inform the sitter and ask if they wanted to give it a try. No one ever said no. This was how it worked. I always performed a quick meditation while sitting on the loo beforehand, so my consciousness would be elevated. (There were few interruptions in there) After asking the sitter to remain quiet and if they saw anything, not to touch me, as the shock to the system can be quite intense, I would begin. Eyes closed, breathing evenly I let my body relax. Normally I would see the spirit then feel a heaviness at the base of my skull. A pushing, pulling sensation then I would feel myself hanging out, over on one side or the other. The funny thing is I talked but didn’t know what I’d said. I couldn’t open my eyes, didn’t have a clue what the sitter was saying, yet I found myself conversing with someone else not present in the room. I was receiving insights about me while the person in spirit was doing all the work. hardly seems fair taking the money.😉 The exit usually occurred quickly, leaving me feeling dazed for a few minutes. Invariably upon opening my eyes I would see one of two things: a sitter crying softly or one trying to get out of the room. The common remark was, ‘Your eyes, they weren’t your eyes.’ That’s right folks they weren’t.  One funny thing happened, well not for the sitter. I sat tuning-in before the first client of the day and meditated on my totem animal, a grizzly bear. (I also do some Shamanic work) The world of animal spirits is one I find interesting and will talk about in another post. Suffice to say my sitter turned up early and I didn’t fully disengage from the meditation. ‘I’m sorry officer, I didn’t know it was illegal to drive under the influence of bear.’🙂 Can you see the resemblance?Grizzly bear Settling down in my room I went through the preliminaries closed my eyes and after a few moments I heard a squeal, ‘Bear, it’s a bear, oh my God it’s a bloody bear.’ Oops it was definitely a case of, ‘Here’s one I prepared earlier.’ This brings us to:-

Old Blue Eyes.  I’ll call him Dave, a young man in his late twenties he lived alone in his deceased father’s house. I visited him along with one of my clients, Diana who had taken on the voluntary role of manager. A psychic in the making I think she wanted to learn all she could. We arrived at Dave’s place at 1 pm. The house, a typical Queenslander from the 1930’s sat back on the big allotment. Huge clusters of Chinese Elms threatened to devour the house, casting dim shadows over the  peeling, red tin roof. The leaves oozed out of rusting gutters and fluttered onto the derelict cars parked tightly against the side of the house. We both stood for a moment at the front gate, I glanced at her and raised my eyebrows, she smiled and said, ‘No, the Addams Family don’t live here.’ Whistling the theme tune to myself we walked up the path, then mounted the creaky stairs. Dave peered at us through the wooden louvres on the veranda door. I stared back and watched as a little light came on his eyes and thought, Well, at least someone’s home. A tall, bearded, skinny man he reluctantly opened the door, ushered us inside and led us into the lounge room. I felt the spirit immediately as it hovered close by. Diana spoke with Dave and I heard him say, ‘Okay, you can have a look around.’ I immediately went to the front bedroom, they followed and I began pointing things out, starting with the bedside drawer, ‘Well this is where my wallet, keys and watch are.’ Standing next to a huge silky oak wardrobe I continued, ‘My rifles are in here, there’s the Lee-Enfield .303, a Martini Cadet .32, a Sportco .22 and more ammo in the bottom drawer.’ Dave looked at me as if I were stupid and walked into the hallway, I followed, ‘That’s your room still and the bathroom is…..’ The guided tour went on until I saw the huge Genoa lounge chair, facing the television. I settled in and felt extremely comfortable. I might add, this house was an antique dealers wet dream, the place oozed bargains galore. Dave sat in a chair opposite and Diana stood in the doorway watching. The spirit moved closer and identified itself as Brian, Dave’s Dad. I didn’t say anything as I felt the now familiar pushing and pulling at the base of the skull. I knew what Brian looked like, I saw him close up. A nice man, he had red hair with thick patches of grey, a pleasant face, eyes bluer than Frank Sinatra’s and an eagerness to talk with his son. I stepped aside and let him at it.

blue eyesI heard a movement near my chair and looked up into Diana’s concerned face, ‘Are you alright Laurie, you’ve been out for half an hour?’ I looked over at Dave, his eyes were wide open, like stop lights and his face had a grey colour to it, ‘I’m fine, what about him?’ – ‘He’s okay, I think.’ Dave piped up in a somewhat squeaky voice, ‘Your eyes, you have really, really blue eyes.’ – ‘Sorry Mate, they’re green.’ – ‘No, your eyes were wide open all the time you were talking to me, they’re blue.’ – ‘Nope, it was your Dad you saw.’ He let this statement sink in and thought about it for a moment and blurted out, ‘Oh, you’re one of those psychics aren’t you?’ Gawd help us.

The hanging woman. Diana, ever eager to help lined me up with a friend of hers, a recent widower. He lived in a high set, spec built home in North Ipswich. A basic oblong box, built-in underneath with 13 steps going up to a house-wide, front veranda. Diana would be meeting me there. I parked next to her car on the footpath and made my way across the overgrown, front lawn in the dark. A light glowed from a front room in the house, doing nothing to show me the way. When I reached the bottom step I noticed a fainter glow coming from underneath the house. The entry door stood ajar. I looked in to see a workbench at the back wall, the glow increased and I could see the shadow of a woman swinging from a rope. A faint sound came to me as the rope slid across the wooden beam. A creeeeek, creeeeek, that grated against my nerve endings, like a sadistic teacher setting your teeth on edge, as he drags the chalk down a blackboard. It didn’t take much in the way of deduction to realise his wife had stepped out of this life. The front door swung open as I reached the top stairs, Diana ushered me in and introduced me to Graeme. A huge man, he looked to have lost a lot of weight in a short period of time. Still dressed in his work overalls he shook my hand and we sat at the kitchen table. His three children sat in the darkened lounge watching TV. Diana made coffee while I talked with Graeme. It didn’t take long for his wife, Jean to come through. There would be no take over tonight, Jean was not a happy woman. I looked at Graeme and began talking about his wife, mentioning what I had seen under the house. He nodded and kept drinking his coffee, talking only when one of the children called out. I don’t need confirmation about anything with a reading but it helps if the sitter speaks, it makes for a clear connection with spirit. Graeme stared at me after I related a personal detail from his wife, shook his head and said, ‘You’re a psychic, aren’t you?’ I honestly don’t know what Diana was telling these people. Seeing that in both cases the houses were for sale she probably told them I was a real estate salesman with insight.

Next week: I really need a break! How many times do you have to prove yourself?

61 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Some people just don’t get it at all.

  1. Gary Leigh

    You write really well and it’s engaging. Nice work. It’s hard for people to accept psychics can be real, no matter how much proof there is. You can’t really blame then, though. Society conditions us to not trust our feelings and believe what we sense. (And while what we sense may not be what we think it is, we shouldn’t just dismiss it all either.)

    Good blog. You’ve gained another follower.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Gary, I appreciate your kind comments. I go into detail in next week’s post about proof. True, people react to a lifetime of conditioning and it makes you wonder about all the other things they ignore. Many don’t take the time to investigate new things or strange happenings. Instead they stick with the old order, it worked for grandad, it’ll work for me. I’ve always wanted to know the why’s and wherefores of life, it can get you into trouble sometimes.
      Welcome aboard Gary, it’s great to have you here.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes, most likely not with us…. And I always wanted to be in film production–applied to the UCLA film school, but did not get in and then sort of gave it up. But I am still an avid movie watcher. As for film reviews, I have written some, but could never make a living out of it.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You must still have the smarts there Michael for reviewing. There are many blogs out there where people publish their reviews. I guess the internet makes it difficult these days for that kind of work. Anyone with a connection and a laptop can make comment. that’s the hard part is making a living, it sounds like you have all these talents. On their own they won’t make a living but bundled together probably would help financially.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        I agree completely. Getting paid is the hard part. I am trying to invent myself and find my calling. It is probably somewhere in the area of teaching–but not in public schools. Been there and done that; or in film/photography. I already have a successful YouTube channel where I post math vids and make some money from that. I think I mentioned it to you already. I just started a new one where I will make skits, rants and blogs, etc. But unless you are a hunky guy or gorgeous girl between the ages of 18 and 30, it is VERY hard to get subs. So I will probably advertise the new channel on my 7000+ subscriber math channel after a few vids are up.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Sometimes it’s hard to see where you’re going Michael. I take it you’ve considered private tutoring? You mentioned the math vids. Mate all you can do is try, put yourself out there and promote. It sucks that talent is based on looks and age. The only upside is you try harder.

        Like

      5. thisisnotbangkok

        So well said. Yes, I owned my own tutoring business since 2003 and then in 2009, when the recession hit, the biz sort of crumbled. I have a few clients now that I am holding onto, but I am not advertising for it anymore. Lately, I have stopped ‘worrying’ and killing myself everyday and basically turned things over to the universe–sort of surrendered my situation to the higher powers. In fact, more opportunities have opened up since then, just not the ideal one yet. But I feel I am close to doing something. I must do what I like, that is for sure. Thanks for these words of wisdom.

        Like

      6. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re welcome Michael. I think that at times we get in our own way when it comes to life. some things are there waiting for us and we fight and rebel against what is. Of course we end up ballsing it up then have to step back and take another look. It’s easy to go out and do what we don’t like doing, because fear drives us. When we let go of that then the things we need come to us. Keep positive mate, you’ll get there.

        Like

      7. thisisnotbangkok

        Wonderful advice. I have been working hard on letting go of fear and just surrendering to the powers that be, WHILE looking for new work and not being passive. In fact, I went to a car dealership the other day to see how much I could get for my car. He said he would take it AS IS and pay me 4k–basically twice as much as I could get for a trade-in. But then I saw a used Mercedes there that he did not mention. I asked him if I could test drive it and it fit me like a glove. I was really impressed with it and had a good feeling about the guy. So I went back today and filled out a loan app for the 6k gap between that car and the 4k he will give me for mine. I honestly do not know if I can afford the Merc, but I am trying to make some positive changes in my life and felt I was close enough to at least try to get it. I believe it could open up new doors and change the way I am perceived. Sometimes we make decisions that are NOT based on logic. I will know by Wednesday and let you know.

        Like

      8. laurie27wsmith Post author

        That’s the thing Michael, many just sit back and wait, one has to meet it head on and that’s when the good things happen. The Mercedes sounds okay, a classy vehicle, it will give you a sense of accomplishment which will then come through with your attitude to succeeding. Logic can sometimes get in the way of great things happening. Looking forward to seeing what happens.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  2. Eli Pacheco

    1. I love the insight into the process – you’re delivering valued messages, but it must be tough to have to die a thousand deaths, too. On the other hand … the experience of that, it has to be something you value too, right?

    2. Do you sometimes think people are skeptical when the message they get is what they thought they would get, but didn’t necessarily want?

    3. This doesn’t feel like 2000 words. At all.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      1. Thanks Mate, the insight hopefully makes it easier for people to understand the process. That 1000 deaths is an interesting experience, sometimes I went a little far and found myself in a strange state of being. Like walking into a room where you definitely shouldn’t be.
      2. Many sitters received a message they didn’t want to hear and from people they didn’t particularly want to hear from. I think people have unrealistic expectations at times about readings and what comes through. A deceased dad could come through with a, ‘Tell your Mum that I’m here with Jill and Bertie.’ It may turn out that Jill is Mum’s deceased great Aunt and Bertie was the family dog.’ Ordinary, common, mundane. Nothing different than real life in most cases. Yet it proves existence. The sitter didn’t know either Jill or Bertie and only finds out about them after talking to Mum. Most expect great truths and sage advice. I tell them that just because someone dies they don’t turn into a supreme being. they’re still basically Dad or Mum who want to prove they’re still ‘alive.’
      3. it doesn’t when you read it quickly.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: How to Differentiate between Fake and Real Psychic Mediums? | Earthpages.org

  4. olganm

    Fascinating to know how the taking over works for you. It’s the type of things one sees and reads about but never from the point of view of the medium. Looking forward to more.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It is a fascinating subject Olga, I’ll talk about anything.🙂 Insights are always helpful, it brings the subject to life and cuts through the mysticism that’s grown around psychics.

      Like

      Reply
  5. thisisnotbangkok

    Phone Tapping: once again, I love reading about the PROCESS of the reading, rather than a recap of how it went. It does seem like your experience of what you see is also traumatic, as it is for the sitter. In the case of this sitter, she should have just gone with her gut and the authentic memories and info you gave her. As in most service businesses,when the client leaves, they are confronted with doubters and naysayers, etc. I’m sure I lost much business from people who were on the fence and then later, told that “you don’t know him” or “how can you trust him,” etc. Very frustrating.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael, I try to give a bit of both. Yes it did get a little confronting at times, especially when people die violently or suddenly. Heart attacks can be the worst, the spirit usually gives you a quick taste of how they left. You get a quick twinge or a stab of pain. Some didn’t let go and you had to make it clear that you understood.
      Many people were scared to death about coming for a reading, not knowing what to expect. Then when you confirm multiple details about their loved one they can’t comprehend the experience. Then doubt takes over. You’re right, it’s frustrating. Sometimes you have to take something on face value.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        By the way, I have another photo that I cannot use on my blog and that I think will be right up your alley. If you don’t mind, I will email it to you within a couple of days.

        Like

  6. Raani York

    These were another three interesting – and I bet, energy robbing, moments in your life, Laurie. I have to admit, I didn’t expect you permitted to let the spirits use your body. I’m surprised… don’t ask me the reason, I couldn’t tell you…
    And I really would be curious too what Diana had told these people. LOL🙂
    And of course: How come you look so much like the bear?😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They’re always interesting Raani.🙂 Don’t worry about the spirit hosting, I was always in good hands. It didn’t happen for everybody, only those who really wanted to get the message across came in. I’ve always been the type of a bloke who will give anything a go. I found the whole experience quite fascinating. I’d like to know what Diana said too. Ah the bear, indeed we are remarkably alike.🙂 A Canadian Mountie took that for me at Vancouver airport, she said the same thing.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. suzjones

    I think people who say they are psychics will have to continually prove themselves because those who aren’t the real deal make it difficult for others (especially after shows like last night’s “Sunday Night” where they tore Anne Villiers apart about the missing hitchhikers from the 70’s).
    Interesting reading as always my friend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Even with glowing references from their friends who saw me didn’t convince some. I used to tape the readings so they heard what went on. I haven’t watched the show yet, will get back to you on that. Thanks Suz.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    2. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I watched the show and of course reporters love to tear people down. That’s an example of why I don’t bother doing that anymore. On the other hand she’s treading a shaky path by making claims against the family that she can’t prove beyond a reasonable doubt. I watched the body language of the Borland woman and listened to how she responded. I’ll keep my ideas off a public forum though.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I’d be interested to know what you thought though.
        Although they tore her down, she really left herself wide open and the fact that she sent an invoice for the reward money to the police didn’t do her any favours.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        My thoughts? She let herself get emotionally involved in something she should have let go of years ago. Fine, if it brings a killer to justice but when you disrupt people’s lives to that extent then it’s time to stop. I would have to know exactly where the remains are of a victim, or the weapon before I’d consider going to the police now. Then I’d make sure I had an alibi.

        Like

  8. davidprosser

    Frustrating then Laurie but great for funny stories now. Did you ever find out what Diana had told them you were there for? Did she ever go on to be a psychic herself?
    Looking forward to the next episode.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Frustrating indeed David but one gets over it. No I never asked her, she moved on after that one. She wanted something more than experience with the spirit world. It’ll be there next week mate.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Patricia Salamone

    I could read these kind of stories all day. They are so interesting. I have a friend who is gifted like you Laurie. My visions come through dreams, and feeling. I will say something for no reason at all out loud to my husband or a friend and at times one of my sisters. It will then come to pass. I do not do readings, I think people will not believe me, so I keep many things to myself which causes anxiety for me. I think what you do is amazing, I am not that good, but I understand it and know that it is true. I also know how much it drains you afterward. I patiently await for your next adventure.

    Sorella

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s all about having confidence in what you’re doing Sorella. if you’re happy with what you do then go for it, people will always disbelieve and that’s fine. They don’t know what they’re missing. Don’t get anxious, just let it go. I only became good at it by doing it and having confidence in what I saw or heard. I’m writing next weeks today, so you won’t miss out.🙂
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

