At least it’s colourful at The Writer’s Room.

Good morning and welcome to the writer’s room. I bought another camera last week, a canon 1100D it’s a smaller version of my other one and I’ve been using it as a knock around camera when we head into town or go shopping. I hate leaving my good stuff in the car. I’ll put 1100 before the photos I took with it. This storm came over the hills last week, dumped an inch of rain, hit the paddock with a few bolts of lightning and impaired the lifespan of dozens of roos.storm coming

We were visiting the neighbours up the road, I took this shot of the hibiscus with the setting sun shining over it. 1100.hibiscus

Yes another bee but isn’t it beautiful? 1100bee

Flies are bad enough when they’re buzzing around you but in a photo? These two were enjoying the sun and the bottom one a water droplet. 1100flies

Flowers on a, I think Sheena’s gold hedge and another Hibiscus. 1100.hibiscus

A Noisy Miner bird giving me cheek while trying to photograph the lorikeets bellow. 1100.noisy miner

The Rainbow Lorikeets are doing a good job of hiding and eating. 1100.rainbow lorikeets

I like the different and odd and thought this duck made a huge touchdown at Lake Apex in Gatton.duck

 A flowering succulent.succulent flower

Their mothers always told them to be well-groomed, smart and to wash behind their ears before going out on a date. Old man roos

Finally managed to get a half decent picture of the resident Red Stag and his girls. They were lying in the long grass on the other side of the fence when I pulled up. He moved the girls away a little and did some strutting. The centre pic gives you an indication of the countryside, the hill is the one you see in my sunset pics. In the bottom pic they’d had enough and were heading back to the creek. The girls went under the fence and he jumped it. he caught me off guard and I moved the camera too far forward. So there’s no mid-air pic this time.Red Deer

There we have it for another week. I hope you’ve enjoyed your stay. Remember, the pics look even better opened in a new tab or window. Until next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

57 thoughts on “At least it’s colourful at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Hi Laurie!

    I’ve decided to get a lighter camera for our ’round the world trip and am thinking about the Canon 1100. Also looking at non-DSLR ones. I decided I can’t carry all my equipment that far.

    Thanks for showing the photos taken with the 1100 for a point of comparison. Very nice. More than a month later, I remembered your review and came back for a look.🙂

    Nia

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      If you want light Nia I think Sony tops the market for point and shoot cameras. The Canon 1100D is quite light but you’d still need a carry bag, whereas the point and shoot could be kept in your handbag. You can still use them on manual settings too. You can also get a tiny tripod for it, they’re a bit longer than a pen, very handy for those indoor shots.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Oh, Laurie, thank you so much!! Yes, I was thinking the Canon 1100D is overkill, not much different from my big DSLR. They are doing so much with the compact cameras now and the emphasis is travel here, not photography. I need good photos but need to travel light. The trip is going to be very taxing.

        Thanks for this tip, it’s really helpful, especially the micro tripod! I would be thrilled to be able to take some museum shots. Some of the smaller museums don’t mind. You are the best.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I think you’d be making the right choice with the compact. if it were a photographic trip then I’d go the dslr. Just make sure you have your photos set for the biggest jpg size. I picked up a micro tripod for about $3 new at a dollar store. You can still set them on a delayed shot etc. I hope you have a great trip. When do you leave?

        Like

      3. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        In a couple months. We are going to Denmark (Copenhagen), Norway (Oslo and fjord country), Sweden, St. Petersburg, Moscow, Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Bali, Townsville (to visit my co-author and his family), and New Zealand (both islands). I was going to take my camera bag then realized that was nuts. Especially when I have to bring my computer backpack. I have a compact camera already and will bring that as a back up. The main problem with it is there is no viewfinder. In doing research we’ve found they have some that have digital viewfinders that show what the sensor is picking up. They also have incredible zoom power now and the ability to do a smart follow of a bird flying, refocusing as it shoots fast. And the ability to take RAW. All for less than I would have believed. We’ll look into that Sony too. You’ll be seeing the results on the blog! 🙂 Thanks again, Laurie!!

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Your itinerary reminds me of those T-shirts that have, London, New York, and then some little town of your choice. So it’s Copenhagen, Moscow, Townsville. Love it. 🙂 Yes a screen on the back is the thing now, makes life much easier. Some top end ones are magic. Can’t wait to see now what you pull out of your hat as it were.🙂 you’re welcome.

        Like

      5. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        LOL! I love Townsville. It suits me perfectly. Although I’ve never been there through cyclone season! I like October.🙂 We rent an apartment there and settle in.

        We chose a camera! It is the Panasonic DMC-ZS40K Digital Camera with 3-Inch LCD. I’m super excited. I think it will be very good in addition to convenience to have something less obvious.

        Like

      6. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re not missing a lot in cyclone season, believe me. I loved it there when I was in the army. I’m not stalking here but what part of town do you stay at? I’ve just checked out your camera on youtube. If a person can’t take good shots with that then I don’t know….. It’s a great choice Nia.

        Like

      7. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Thank you, Laurie! I’m glad you think it’s a great camera too. I am amazed at what is available for a reasonable price. Technology moves fast. My husband did a lot of research, found an amazing website that had comparisons and reviews.

        Ha ha, don’t think you’d be too interested in stalking! We stay at the Dalgety Building. It has great views and is off the touristy bit but still walking distance to the Strand. It’s also next door to a Woolies and is in the legal district across from the courthouse. There are several law offices around, real estate and other businesses. I’d like to write a mystery series set in Townsville, using a retired American cop, so that I can use my experience as a visitor, as I am not an insider and never will be, unfortunately. So this time I hope to make it inside the courthouse. Maybe even into the police station. I’ll also be helping my friend John Holland launch the print version of his novella series which I am editing and formatting. Maybe do a reading or something, and take the book to the library for inclusion in their local author section.

        Like

      8. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I was very impressed with it Nia. I know the area you’re talking about. I have a major part of my next novel, Cape of Death set in Townsville. I promise not to blow up the Dalgety building though.🙂 In River of Death Townsville gets a chapter or two. There’s nothing like having been or being on the ground somewhere to get the feel of the place. It sounds like you’re going to be right into the research then. I do hope all goes well for your friend’s book launch. Getting your books into a library is a good thing.

        Like

      9. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Thank you for your support, Laurie! I look forward to reading your books and giving you reviews too. I have one, but not River, I don’t think. I’m a slow reader and a tad overextended and reading in my romance genre for “work” so what I’m saying is, I have to make that promise with a lot of caveats! But I want to and intend to. I’m not sure I can pull off that mystery, but it’s in the future as a dream. I write way on the light side of things, or try to.

        Like

      10. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re welcome Nia. No sweat on reviews, whenever. You know the rules here in Oz, she’ll be right. You’ll never know what you can do until you try with your mystery. I write on the heavy side but have been known to throw something different out there…………….

        Like

  2. laurelslovelyliving

    Hello my friend! I have fallen behind reading your posts! The problem is…they are all so good I wait until I have time to give them the proper attention. 🙂 Love the bromeliad – Have the same exact one with the same color flower in my front yard on the other side of the world. I love how small the world is when you get right down to it!! Alright – off to read your next post!!

    Have a great night! Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hello to you friend with nearly the same name.🙂 A few people have been doing that, sort of stacking them up and sitting back to read them. it is a small world indeed, it’s only made big and scary by those who don’t like us realising it. Now keep on reading and we’ll talk soon. Great nights are good and I have been having a few.
      Love. L.

      Like

      Reply
  3. patgarcia

    Hi,
    Your photography is outstanding. You have an eye for it. The colors from the hibiscus and gold hedge impressed me tremendously. They look as if you could reach out and touch them.

    I really do enjoy this series. It gives me another viewpoint of the world that I live in, when I am down and out. Your pictures are extremely encouraging to me.

    Great work.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sister, Thanks so much for dropping in and looking at my photos. I like colour in nature and bringing up the small things. Hibiscus flowers have to be my favourite next to roses, it’s all about the colour and texture. I am pleased that the pictures lift you up, because I gain a great deal of satisfaction in presenting them to people who appreciate my work. I feel good now knowing that halfway around the world somebody is feeling better for what I have done. Thank you.
      With love from your Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Wow, I’m like Raani, it’s too hard to choose. I’ll go with the ones that made me really stop and pick my jaw back up off my chest. The noisy miner bird… he’s a cutie and I have to wonder how you got that shot. Since hibiscus is arguably my favorite flower, I’d have to go with those, too. The second one is particularly luscious. And the fly, especially the second one. Dang, it’s like looking at a fly under a microscope!! I LOVE being able to see it so closely, the eyes, the wings… seeing the leaf through the transparent wings. Overall, I the range of the photos shows the diversity of life and landscape in your corner of the world. Stunning. As for the camera… seems to be working pretty great!! P.S. The roo jokes cracked me up.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia, that’s so nice. here’s the settings for the Miner bird: f/6.3, iso 200, exposure 1/125 sec, focal length 236mm. I used the standard 70-250mm lens and stood about 15 feet away from him. It blurred the background beautifully and made him stand out almost like 3D. I love that fly. I sprayed the flowers and leaves with a spray bottle for the flowers, so he decided that the water droplet was all his. I snap insects as often as I can because they look so interesting as macro shots. Hibiscus flowers lend themselves well to the lens. Especially the red ones, the colour is so deep. I feel lucky to have the diversity, all within driving distance. The Roos are great subjects for humour, that quartet looked decidedly anxious about a night in the paddock. I’m happy with the camera, it’s a great backup. Thanks so much for stopping by Nia, I appreciate it.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        I experimented with the focal length and aperture today and see how you did it. Thanks again for that tip. I haven’t had time yet to look at the videos but did look up one article and experimented. I’m going to keep working on it. I’m excited. Also I’m excited because I can more appreciate what I’m seeing in yours and others’ photos.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        This is good to hear Nia, it makes a huge difference. You can also just work with the Aperture setting on the dial and let the camera decide the exposure. That’s handy for macro or where you want a blurred background. there’s so much to learn.🙂

        Like

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It’s AV on my Canon and it’s great, the camera usually picks the right exposure. Another hint: if you want to get confident with manual, take a picture in auto mode, view it on your lcd screen then click on the info button. It will show the settings for the pic, exposure, f stop and iso. Put your camera in manual and use those settings to take the pic again. Then play with the settings increasing or decreasing them. This will give you some insight. 🙂

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        it’s good practice, then you get confident and start picking your own settings. Atta girl, now get a bigger memory card.🙂 I have a 32 GB one in the 600D and a 16GB in the 1100D. I shoot in RAW format so they pump out 18-24MB pictures. Hint# If you have the software that came with your camera set your image size to RAW. they’re big but allow you to do more with the file. They can be brought right down to half a MB and still look great. I print from the RAW file and you get exquisite pictures.

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. This is true, it’s what you have at the time. I wanted something that I could use when I’m in town and if it went missing I wouldn’t cry. It has proved itself quite well. I’m off to a car show tomorrow and a historic house viewing.

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Wow, Laurence, you got some great pics with your new camera! I always look forward to you photo shoots. So glad to see that the writer’s room is alive and well again. Take care oh wise sage and have a great weekend. Cheers, Natalie Thymeberry

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Natalie, I’m happy with them and the camera. it’s a little beauty. Yes the writer’s room is getting along and thinking about next week’s offerings.🙂 This sage will have a good time and keep out of the salt cellar.
      Cheers
      Laurence. Love the Thymeberry.

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    That was wonderful. The bee is beautiful and the flowers are luscious. I love lorikeets. Really, your photographs are outstanding and I enjoyed them so much. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, I appreciate that. A little something for everyone, except the flies maybe.🙂 I like to put the best up and share them with the world.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    I love the storm photo (they’re always a favorite), the duck splashing down, the flowers, the close-ups of the bee and flies, …. Seems to be a really good camera.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Raani York

    Oh Laurie… so beautiful, these pictures, again. And seriously: you gave me a hard time choosing this weeks favorite. I thought about the stag and his girls for a while – but then I found it – my favorite is the “Noisy Miner Bird” – cute!!! Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      We’ll have to do a Raani’s pic of the week award or something.🙂 The Noisy Miner certainly stands out, although the deer are always a winner with me. Then there’s the……. you get the drift, I love them all. Thanks for dropping in Raani,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. suzjones

    I just looked up the 1100D and it doesn’t look like a ‘knock around’ camera to me😛 It takes awesome photos though. Are your lenses interchangeable with your other camera at all?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes it’s a good entry level camera that takes great shots. It’s also half the price of my 600D and the lenses are interchangeable. It’s a knock around in respect of I’ll only cry half as much if I get it nicked.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  10. Patrons of the Pit

    Love it. The new knock around camera does pretty good! Good enough for internet work anyways. It’s nice to have something adept like that, yet you don’t have to worry about it all the time. A fine line indeed.

    I asked a pro photographer one time, what his favorite camera was. His response always stuck with me. “What ever camera is in my hand”, he said. I liked that answer.

    Take care, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks guys, I just wanted something I wouldn’t cry over – too much – if it went missing. Or if someone hit me with it.🙂
      That’s the answer, the one you have in your hand. It’s always great to see down here. Yes I’m taking care, trying not to fall over my feet.🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

