Definitely something for everyone at The Writer’s Room.

Greetings from the writers room, yes it is a beautiful lump of mountain. We hit the road yesterday for a trip around the district. This is the western aspect of, I think Mt French. If any locals know different please let me know. It looks much better opened in a new window.Mountain

I took the remaining pics last Saturday, we went to the Prenslau State School to take in a car show. A farming district settled in the mid 1800’s by German Immigrants. This farmhouse is typical of the mid to late 1800’s style and sadly is abandoned. The bottom picture shows the kitchen, separate from the house. I think the family may have built a new one across the road.old queenslander farmhouse

We arrived at the school and saw this handsome fellow hitched to the fence. His owner came up and we chatted, for a while. The horse is called Sparkles, his owner Terry Hermann used him to bring the buggy to the school. After we found out Terry was related to Lorelle, well, I waited awhile longer to go in. Terry, a fourth generation farmer in the district occasionally takes his children to school on the buggy.Draught horse

Shane Hauschildt, ‘Country Entertainer’ belted out the songs.ballad singer

I think they have a fascination with skulls somehow, they’re towing a little caravan too.hot rods

Don’t look at the Chevy Impala, look at me.car

Tanya Falagan, a fourth generation member of Ashton’s Circus family. She works the trapeze, high wire, silks… you name it, she teaches circus skills to children. talk about fit.Tanya Falagan

Okay, it’s another bee. He has plenty of work ahead on this ‘Anzac’ bottle brush.bee

I know, deer again. We were on our way home and there they were, right on the corner. I could have hit him with a rock they were that close. Possible dialogue going clockwise: ‘Crikey it’s the bloody paparazzi.’ – ‘Let’s hit the toe ladies.’ – ‘No jumping today, it’s under we go.’ – ‘Follow me now Bozo.’red deer

This is a view of the Brisbane River at Twin Bridges, Fernvale. The area where I took the pic with the anomaly is behind me.brisbane river

That’s it for the week. I hope you’ve enjoyed a look at my part of the world and I promise, no more deer or bees next week. So until then take care.
Cheers,
Laurie.

54 thoughts on “Definitely something for everyone at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bruce, much appreciated. The car was a Ford, pre 1940 I believe. The saddle is an Australian stock saddle, probably the most comfortable one you could ride in. I’ve ridden with a jumping, dressage, western and cavalry saddle at different times. The stock saddle is the best in my opinion. A good deep seat and the thigh pads make for a comfortable ride.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Patricia Salamone

    Catching up Fratello, you have such interesting places to visit. The history is amazing and the photos’ are great. I am learning so much about your country.

    I have to ask you something. While I was away I was having a conversation with some folks and Australia was mentioned, and someone in the group said that the Aussie’s hate Americans. Is that true. I was stunned and immediately jumped to Australia’s defense. I know I have never visited your country, but knowing you I could not believe what I was hearing. We spoke back and forth and in the end I told him he didn’t know what the hell he was talking about, I hope I did the right thing. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hey Sorella, I try to keep some variety happening here at the Room.🙂 I don’t think anyone could make such a sweeping statement as, the Aussies hate the Americans. There was a lot of animosity during WW2 when American troops were stationed here for the Pacific campaigns. There was the old, ‘They’re overpaid, oversexed and over here.’ This referred to the fact that they were better paid and dressed then Australians. There were huge brawls, especially in Brisbane and a lot of rivalry. During the early 50’s Britain changed its far east policy and moved its troops out of south east Asia. Australia then formed military alliances with the US. Move forward and you have Vietnam. The government pledged troops and it caused a huge split amongst the people. Then there was R&R with thousands of troops back here. Add a huge influx of American television programs and a lot of people resented what they saw as the ‘Americanisation’ of the Australian culture. So you have a couple of generations of people with mixed reactions about Americans. I think you can go anywhere in the world and people will say, ‘All the British hate the French.’ ‘Germans hate poles.’ Russians hate everybody.’ ‘All Americans hate Mexicans.’ The list goes on. I don’t hate anybody Sorella and I imagine you don’t neither. We can dislike people or find them a little insufferable but hate is such a terrible word. You can tell these folks that some probably do and many don’t. I’ve been to the US twice and I found that everyone except two Mexican who wanted to fight me were great. people couldn’t have been friendlier.
      Cheers
      Fratello.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        I have always wanted to go to Aus. However, I would like to visit the lesser traveled places, like the outback and other rural areas. The only two cities I really have an interest in is Sydney and Melbourne. But I mostly like to do non-touristy stuff.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        As I’ve said before it’s a great destination. There are many places off the beaten track that are unique. Yes we have the theme parks and such but they’re outweighed by other attractions. Hobart would be the place, old, full of convict history, haunted etc. I could sit here all night pointing out places to see.🙂

        Like

  2. hitandrun1964

    I don’t understand why my comments don’t always show up on your posts. This has happened so often. Belinda was also dropped off of my list again. I did see this post and did tell you how much I enjoyed your fabulous photographs. I don’t understand why things just disappear. The horse is beautiful. The bee, wonderful and I love the deer:) Maybe you will see this one.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I see it Gigi. Sometimes WP just doesn’t work.😦 Thank you for commenting, I’ve had people drop off my list too. I’m glad you like my pics. Sparkles was such a charmer, big but a charmer.🙂 The bee is great, I love capturing them on camera. We saw the stag a couple of nights ago, grazing on the side of the road. talk about deer in the headlights.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    How beautiful, Laurie! This week I actually like the mountain the most. Under different circumstances it would have been the horses, but I was horseback riding yesterday, and I sure feel sore. LOL

    Like

    Reply
  4. nataliescarberry

    But I love the deer and the bees! And why were there no roos! I always enjoy “our” trips around your country and your narratives, especially the bees, deer, and roos. Have a great weekend, Laurence. Cheers and hugs, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie, they are popular. I gave the roos a rest this week though, I might have to do something on Wednesday.🙂 There’ll be more tripping next Friday though. You have a great weekend too.
      Cheers
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  5. suzjones

    Beautiful shots Laurie. I think it is Mt French although I did a double take at first thinking it was Mt Lindesay and was going to ask why you didn’t tell me you were out this way. lol
    Sounds like the car show was a bit of fun.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It took a bit of map checking to come to the conclusion Suz. There are so many volcanic peaks out that way. The car show was good but because the parking area was crammed I found it hard to get good pics of them.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I love the mountain! And the house; I’m sorry it’s abandoned. So much waste. Here too beautiful old homes are left behind when people move into a boring modern house out front, leaving all the beautiful built-ins that people still talk about to rot. Oh, I enjoyed meeting Sparkles and the colorful trapeze artist. I liked your selection of other pictures also. Thanks for taking the time to share them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy, yes the mountain is a dramatic lump of rock The house would probably cost a fortune to get it up and running again.😦 Yes Sparkles is a delightful horse, as soon as I saw him it was snap snap. As you know I like variety. I love sharing my pics Joy.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    But I like the bees and deer!

    The Mt. French landscape is gorgeous.

    I like how the circus gal is in the air. A very dynamic photo, worthy of an acrobat! The horse and the portrait of Terry are wonderful… especially Terry. I like the story, too.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      So do I!🙂
      I like the way the foreground sweeps towards it.
      Tanya is a lovely lady, I should have asked for an upside down shot.🙂
      Yes Terry had that lived in look about him.
      Thanks for the feedback Nia.🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

