Diversity plus at The Writer’s Room.

Welcome to the Writer’s Room, I know there are plenty of pictures so where’s the writing bit? You can find it via the archives. I take photos so I have a reason to go out. I’ve had a moon up before but I like the dreamy aspect of this one. Taken from the front veranda.Setting moon

 A beautiful Gazania, almost a sunrise in itself.Gazania

Taken last week at the Ipswich Show, or Fair for those living over the pond. I’ll have more next week.Ferris Wheel

Fireworks need no explanation.Fireworks

Mother’s day flowers for Lorelle, so I did a little practice with the flash.Flowers

A close up of a carnation.Carnation

A Tawny Frogmouth at the Show. They’re often called an Owl but are related to the Nightjar.Tawny Frogmouth

I heard the Lorikeets squawking in the bottlebrush trees and went out for a look. This little bloke flew up into a nearby gum tree and gave me a ton of lip, err beak. I like the way the morning sun highlights him.Rainbow Lorikeets

Yes, more cars from the car show at Prenslau. A Morris Minor and a Ford below.Hot Rods

A little fun happening here. The Canberra Jet Bomber was used in Vietnam by the Royal Australian Air Force and were then retired from service. This bomber is on display at the side of the highway at Amberley. The pigeons love it I think.Canberra Bomber

On our little soiree around the district last week we came across Dick and his wife taking the cattle for a walk. Actually he was getting the Arab horse he’s riding used to cattle and roadwork for a client.Arab Horse

Okay, here’s a kangaroo pic for those feeling bereft. She gave a bit of attitude then came across the lawn and sat a few feet away for another shot.Kangaroos

There we have it for another week folks. Thanks for dropping by and looking at the images from my part of the world. Remember the pics look much better opened in a new tab or window. Until next week,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

52 thoughts on “Diversity plus at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    Hello Laurie… finally I’m back from vacation and can slowly work myself through the posts I missed. And I didn’t want to just “jump” yours. You know how much I love your pictures. And believe me – this one is quite a difficult one to pick my favorite. Of course the flowers and the horses and the fireworks… all of them are beautiful – but I guess, I decide for the Tawny Frogmouth. What a cute bird. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing Laurie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Great to have you back Raani. I like to make it difficult for people to decide which is their favourite. The Tawny Frogmouth is cute. They blend in so well with the tree bark that you can be often right next to them and not even notice they’re there. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  2. thisisnotbangkok

    This is one of your best photosets. Yes, it is uncanny that you took a ferris wheel pic so close to mine. Love the sunrise pic, the gazanea flower and the fireworks photos. That yellow flower really pops. The sunrise pic is perfectly composed. Fantastic view from your house. It seems like a very calming atmosphere. Rather desolate, but healing I imagine. Great post…..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for the compliment Michael. I have some fast and slow shots of the wheel too. That gazania does stand out, love the yellow. It’s a great view from our place, not too desolate the nearest town is on a 15 minute drive away. Although it sounded desolate the other night when we had a pack of wild dogs hanging around howling and carrying on.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Indeed, the people next door have some calves and sheep, plus there’re always Roos on our place. So it’s a one stop eatery for them. They’re a huge problem, domestic dogs gone wild don’t fear humans.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        They might bother guests but we’re used to them. It sounds eerie though when they’re about 30yards from the back of the house, howling their heads off. Then another pack down from the front of the house howl back. I went outside early one morning a few months ago and a Dingo was sitting by the back fence. He eyeballed me for a few moments and trotted off through the long grass. There’s always something happening at The Writer’s Room Michael. 🙂

        Like

  3. nataliescarberry

    Oh, Laurence, you know I love your photos and these are great as usual. I especially like the fireworks ones. I find it very hard to take shots of fireworks and yours are great. Have a great weekend, O wise one. Hugs and cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Natalie, you’re too kind. I love fireworks and getting great shots of them pleases me. I took a few last night at a rodeo. The secret is a tripod, switching the camera to bulb setting and using a remote switch to take the shots. It’s been an okay weekend, very busy now I’m kicking back. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. I was disappointed he wasn’t an Owl. he has all the characteristics and habits though. I was so pleased with how the fireworks turned out, I performed a little happy dance. 🙂 I love sharing my part of the world.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    Terrific Laurie, makes me realise how much I’m missong. All I’ve seen for weeks are boxes, boxes and nore boxes! Just to spice things up – no I didn;t get the sneezes from flowers – we have the flu…. such is life. Can I please have a firework for my troubles 🙂 Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Great to hear from you Susan. I figured you were still busy moving in. No, not the flu. get well soon won’t you. Yes you can have a firework. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie. xox

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. I had to put a couple of roos in, otherwise I would have had a riot on my hands. He was one cheeky Lorikeet. He squawked and danced and carried on.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Patricia Salamone

    A veranda? You have a veranda, that’s just great. I have wanted a house with a veranda all of my married life, and what do I get, a patio….
    The photos are great Fratello, I do love the little owl. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes Sorella, a veranda, front and back. Only a patio? You are definitely deprived. 🙂 Thanks for your wonderful comment. He is cute and they’re sometimes hard to find in the wild because they blend so well with the trees.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  6. talain45

    Nice post Laurie, I would like to take the orange Ford for a ride and I believe that some were in my basement I have a 1/72 scaled model of that Canberra Bomber. Thank you Laurie for the wonderful images, Michael 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael. Yes that Ford is lovely, I reckon it would rumble down the highway beautifully. The old Canberra was quite a work horse, they were also used for aerial photography. I don’t think the pigeons would have got anywhere with it. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    I was sure the moon over the mountain photo was going to be my favorite, but then I saw the flowers–and that vase–and the fireworks and fair and… The colors seem to be exquisite.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I know Joy, you just keep getting drawn in. I do like to get really colourful shots, they stand out so well. If they can’t be colourful then at least I want them interesting. Thanks for dropping in Joy,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Debi, thanks for dropping in and the lovely compliment. Some weeks it’s hard to select the pics to put up, then I fall back on kangaroos. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Wonderful. Okay my faves. It’s hard to decide really, but it’s fun to enumerate: 1. Moon, 2. Fair. 3. the second Lorikeet shot with the sun and the perfect leaf shadow. Brilliant, Laurie!

    PS The Tawny Frog Mouth is such a sweet bird. We held one at the Billabong Sanctuary.
    PPS The plane and cars are really nice.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Nia. The moon gives off a dreamy feel, I’ll try for a time-lapse one next time. It is hard to choose this week. With the lorikeet I like the way his feathers are still fluffed a little. The frog mouth is cute, I had to wait a little until he opened his eye though. 🙂 Thanks so much for dropping in.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. davidprosser

    Thanks Laurie. It’s always great to go through your pictures. There’s something for everyone and they’re all really well taken. The moon up is fantastic but this week my medal goes to the cheeky rainbow lorikeet pictures.
    All the best.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi David, thanks for dropping by. I try to cover all bases so there’s some diversity. I have a lot of lorikeet pics from last year but this fella was really giving me a piece of his mind.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. suzjones

    Love your moon shot and the droving shot. Very nice.
    Lately, I’ve been going out each weekend so I can take photos. It’s an excuse but it helps right? This weekend is a food/wine/art weekend at Mt Barney and some of the surrounding places so we are going to do that.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz, it pays to get up early and go tripping around the place. 🙂 Taking pics is a great excuse to get out and about. I hope you enjoy your soiree to Mt Barney and cheer yourself with wine, food and song.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Tami, your post was sent into my spam that’s why I haven’t replied sooner. Thanks for a great comment and you’re right. I took another look and they do give one that feeling. So it’s you who I keep feeling there. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

