Kangaroo Wednesday.

Due to unprecedented requests for more kangaroo pictures, I gave way to mob rule. (Actually two people said, ‘We want Roos.’) After massaging my twisted arm I put these pictures together for your viewing pleasure. – This fine specimen of Roo-hood is new to the front yard. I sat out on the veranda and took these a few evenings ago. He kept eyeballing me the whole time and actually made me feel a tad uncomfortable. I don’t censor my pics, yes that is his penis.  The bottom one was having a good scratch, when you open these in a new tab you’ll see the midges flying around their heads.
kangaroos

The little joey appears to have been orphaned and the Roo he’s with is a juvenile male. They interacted almost like mother and joey. They were both quite comfortable when the big fella turned up.kangaroos

Everyone wanted to have their portrait taken next to the strange heads in the garden.kangaroos

I hope those who felt deprived have had their fix and remember, they look much better opened in a new tab or window. Until next time,
Cheers
Laurie.

PS. Sorry about the odd post with html code that popped up last night. I was trying to do something new and it didn’t work.

 

40 thoughts on “Kangaroo Wednesday.

  1. Raani York

    I just LOVE these pictures, Laurie. And thanks for all the explanations to them. I, as an outsider, I could hardly make a difference between males and females if it wasn’t too obvious (like them showing their penis) or a little baby looking out of “Momma’s belly”.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s a little difficult from behind but when they turn around you can certainly tell the boys form the girls.😉 Good to see you working your way through the posts.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia, they’re kind of easy on the eyes and I never tire of photographing them. The sunlight does look good on the belly of the roo. The fifth one is three lonely males, kinda sad really.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Patricia Salamone

    When my day is long and filled with stress it is nice to know I can pop over to sit on your veranda and enjoy the Roos. Yesterday was one of those days, filled with turmoil. I have started naming your Roo’s and adopting them as my own. :o). It is nice to know I can click on a little mouse and leave the stress filled day behind and travel halfway across the world even if it is for just a little while. Thanks for the offerings, the pleasure of the use of your veranda, and the serenity of the view.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I don’t know what to say Sorella, that’s such a beautiful compliment. I guess I don’t realise the beauty of where I live and the uniqueness of the animals and their effect on others. I am truly blessed. feel free to enjoy the view and the Roos anytime.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pagadan

    I especially liked the ones standing up by the heads and bushes.

    I experiment with my computer all the time. (All right. Where have you hid my files this time?!)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The middle one of them I think is quite noble, the orphan joey and of course the first one.
      Yes I tried to insert a post from Facebook, followed the instructions and poof! Away it went.😦

      Like

      Reply
  4. nataliescarberry

    I did get my roo fix and I thank you for that mister! I can’t believe you can just sit on your porch and see these guys like this. That’s just amazing! Thanks so much for this posting and I hope your twisted arm is much better very soon. Cheers and hugs, Laurence. Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re most welcome Natalie. I was thinking of you. Yes, right there in front of the house. Nearly every afternoon. If people stop twisting it, well it might get better.B-)
      Cheers
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        I thought maybe you were since I had mentioned that I’d missed them in your last post. It’s so nice to know you’re thought of every now and then. Well, I won’t twist it again at least for a little while, Sir Laurence. Cheers and hugs, N

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I always think of the lovely ladies who grace my blog Natalie. It’s a little sore tonight so leave of with the twisting.🙂 I’m actually named after Sir Laurence Olivier. The parents picked names from TV, so I’m glad they didn’t like Rin Tin Tin.
        Cheers ‘n Hugs back at you Natalie.
        Laurie.

        Like

      3. nataliescarberry

        Oh Sir Laurence Olivier was one of my all time favorite actors. They picked a great name for you then, and yes I too am glad it wasn’t Rin Tin Tin. That would hardly be an appropriate name for the Sage of Australia. Cheers, N

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        The old man wanted to call me John Wayne at first. he relented and it ended up Laurence Wayne. Still better than Rin Tin Tin.🙂
        Cheers
        Laurence.

        Like

  5. davidprosser

    Nice company you keep Laurie though I’m not sure I’d like to be stared at by the one with his appendage pointing at me. I don’t know how good his eyesight is.
    You have a great place there and the heads in the garden are fascinating.
    Keep well.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, yes he actually had me worried. Not because of his appendage (only a quarter showing) but he made it known I was in the way. It’s a great place and the heads, well I woke up one night and wondered what the hell was in the garden. There was a full moon and it reflected off the head.😦 Keeping well.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Mary Strong-Spaid

    All of us….who are not from Australia….most certainly appreciate the photos of the Kangaroos. Definitely not something that I would ever get to see here in Virginia, USA!!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

