There’s even more diversity at The Writer’s Room.

Greetings from the Writer’s Room, and we have another car from the Prenslau car show. You need to open this in a new tab to appreciate its style and beauty.Antique Roadster

This is Nardia Lagoon on the way into Laidley. Autumn mornings are quite bright.IMG_0018

 A collection of snaps from the Ipswich Show. I love the challenge of night photography.Ipswich Show

Clockwise, at the car show and the car is still on the road in original condition. Milk cans make great letterboxes at Roadvale.  The derelicts in the bottom picture are slowly rusting away when they could at least be recycled through a metal merchant.oldthings

 A Billabong or waterhole near Mt Mort.Billabong

A Dandelion head ready to go forth and multiply. I took the pictures at sunset, then in the dark and I picked it early the following morning while there was still dew on it.IMG_0580-horz

Back to the show, a couple of movement shots of Go Kart racing. The blurring is intentional. I like the top one, the man with the flag has his eyes shut, ‘I don’t see any winners.’ In the bottom shot. ‘What’s that Fred they all went past?’ The cart driver goes, ‘He, he, he, they can’t see me.’Go karts

This lumberjack was part of a comedy act at the show, he played around 50 feet off the ground. With all the fun and planking, at the end of it all he was a photographer.Lumberjack

A peaceful country scene, even the cows posed.RedBarn

Back to the show. This motocross rider performed well, I managed to get these shots regardless of a man’s large head, two girls who kept jumping up and very little light.Motorcross

 He wasn’t that sure about having his picture taken at all.Kangaroos

 That’s your lot for this week, hopefully I’ve catered for Team Roo, those hardy souls who love cute. Until next week,
Cheers,
Laurie.

Click this link and it will take you to my Facebook album for the Crows Nest Rodeo even if you don’t have Facebook you will be able to view it.

42 thoughts on “There’s even more diversity at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    There’s another “round” of beautiful pictures, Laurie. This time to me personally some of them are a little “confusing”… I think my Jetlag might not be over… I get confused by a 1/4 inch spider on my bed. HAHA.
    That’s why I prefer the calm picture series of the dandelion this week. Very nice!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. The confusion may be because of the lumberjack and motocross pictures. They’re only several pics put into one frame and being taken at night would leave one’s jet lagged brain to be confused. I tried to freeze one of the dandelions but it fell apart.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Eli Pacheco

    1. I wanted a closeup of that menu from the Show, mate. See what I can get into.

    2. At first, i thought you meant the bloke on the motorcycle had a big head and kids jumping. I thought that might make one heckuva spectacle.

    3. Thanks for the look into your world again, friend. Wouldn’t be the same without a roo. I dig the classic cars. It takes something special to become a classic, as you know.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      !. Sadly they only sold dagwood dogs, waffles and fairy floss. Nothing outstanding although there were quite a few other vendors.
      2. Now that would have been a shot. I went closer to the fence and these girls kept jumping in front of the lens. When I returned to my seat a bloke stood in front of me. So just getting the shots was a miracle in itself.
      3. You’re welcome Mate. yes being a classic I relate to the cars and the roos? I have to slip them in now and then.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Wow, diversity indeed and of course the roos just topped the whole post off. I loved that car in the first set of photos; sure would like to own that one. Thanks for the fun photos, Sir Laurence, the Roo Sage of Austraiia. Cheers and hugs, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie. You and me both on that Roadster, what a beauty, now that’s a car! I thought you may have liked more roos. I love the look on his face as he peeps around the bush. Sage indeed, you’ll have to call me Herb.😉 Cheers back at ya.
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    The dandelions are exquisite. I love all the shots! I can’t believe the expression on roos’ faces.🙂

    P.S. The photographer as a joke is funny.
    P.P.S. The motorcycle is amazing. Can’t believe you stopped that much motion at night. Kudos.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I do favour the dandelions, especially the one with the dew on it. You don’t realise that the Roos can show such a range of faces. The orphan joey has a real hang dog look. With the bike it was a matter of upping the ISO to 1600. I could put up with the noise to at least get a good stop motion shot. f/5.6 – 1/250sec It wouldn’t have been a problem in daytime. Thanks Nia.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Thanks for the detes.🙂

        The roos are unbelievably sweet. I had one eat out of my hand at the billabong sanctuary, but she was a small one, I think she was a wallaby. I still don’t know the difference, but the ones at the sanctuary were tiny by comparison to yours. They have long eyelashes and soft velvety lips and they eat out of your hand very gently.🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re welcome. I couldn’t go faster on the shutter otherwise I would have lost light.😦 I think the Roos and wallabies they keep at sanctuaries are moved on when they get older. because they can get quite cranky. Hmm, that’s probably what’s wrong with me, I digress, they don’t want the big males around because of that. Besides they tend to want to mate with everything smaller than them. You’ll notice the eyelashes on the wallaby pics I put up, they have glorious eyelashes. I must admit I do like to pet them at these places.🙂

        Like

      3. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Yes, I did notice the eyelashes on yours. They have incredibly expressive faces. And as for getting cranky when they get older, they are very much like people, huh?! That’s why they don’t make good pets, I guess!

        These roos are wonderful. I’m glad you enjoy them, photograph them, laugh at them, and pet them at the sanctuaries.

        I love animals too. Once again your camera has opened up the world to me.

        Thank you!

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Yes, just like people, I guess if you had them from a tiny joey they could be okay. Then again the instinct is there to be with the mob. I derive a great deal of pleasure from getting outside, sitting on my seat and watching them. They ignore you after a bit and get on with whatever they’re doing.
        That’s what I like about photography, you get to share your work with the world. You’re welcome Nia.

        Like

  5. hitandrun1964

    Great pictures. I can’t believe the photo with the barn and cows, isn’t a painting. Impossible to believe a photograph could look like that:) Love the cars…Wow. Classic beauty and the Roos are always a welcome treat:) Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. It would make a nice painting. it was one of those scenes that jumped at me when I drove over the hill. That Roo is a real treat, puzzled face is an understatement.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    My favorites were the lagoon and the billabong and the kangaroo peeking out of the bushes; and I think you did well with the night shots. Oh, and the show pictures were fun.

    Like

    Reply
  7. davidprosser

    Thanks for brightening my night Laurie. You’ve taken some cracking shots there, it’s pretty hard to choose a favorite but I’m glad you managed to keep the roo’s in.
    All the best, keep well.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      No worries David, I’m the original night brightener.😉 That you can’t choose a favourite is good, it means they’re all super. yes that roo is so funny.
      Hugs Mate, take care.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. ytaba36

    There’s something for everyone in this post! I wish I could have seen that ‘lumberjack’, it looks like he has a good routine worked out.

    Cheers, have a good weekend. Yvonne

    Like

    Reply
  9. suzjones

    Love the dandelion photos.You’ll have to come to the Beaudesert Show. The Saturday night program has derby cars and lots of stuff for the boys. The Friday night program generally has a calf scruff. It’s a lot of fun.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz, I was going to freeze one and see what happened.🙂 If it’s this Saturday night we have a birthday party on. I do know I like taking action shots though.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        That’s good. Birthday party was good, a small soiree and I had a bottle of wine. Woke up in the wee hours and thought, where did this headache com from? Oh yes, the wine. Baby showers eh? They can get raucus.🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

