Something’s upside down at The Writer’s Room.

Good morning, yes it’s Friday in Oz and it’s writer’s room time again. I took this burst of fireworks at Crows Nest, north of Toowoomba. The mist came in as the show began and the effect is quite eerie. Here is the link for the  Crows Nest Rodeo for those who are interested. You don’t have to be on Facebook to view them.fireworks at Crows Nest

A view of Cunningham’s Gap, on the Great Dividing Range taken near Aratula.Great Dividng Range.

This rural scene is on the opposite side of the road from the red barn picture in last week’s post.Rural

Yes, it’s upside down. Taken at Nardia Lagoon in Laidley.Nardia Lagoon

A rather large hibiscus taken at a friend’s place. While I snapped the picture on the right a flower lower down caught against my jeans and covered my front in pollen.Hibiscus

Yes, I do get off my bum and do something now and then. One of three dead trees I felled for firewood. In the bottom picture you’ll see a Butcher Bird perching on the wood. They turn up within a minute of the saw starting up. There’s a regular feast of bugs  living on the wood and they swoop in and grab them.Tractor

I took a break and sat with the camera, waiting for him to come closer. I got the feeling that he wanted me to stir up more food.Butcher Bird

If something stays there long enough without care, then nature takes over, at Mt Mort.gtave

I’ll toot my own horn here and say that this is a pretty good night shot of a fast horse. The barrel racing ladies certainly put everything into their sport.barrel racing

I had to drag myself from a comfy seat to take the pic on the left at ground level, I’m still picking sand out of my teeth. The pic on the right needs no introduction, lovely lady on a beautiful horse.horses

The show’s over, the fireworks fizzle out and three lovely ladies stopped to have their photo taken.cowgirls

Okay, here are the Roos. ‘Mum, that man’s taking pictures of me.’ Dad turns up and solves that problem.kangaroos

Definitely something for everyone this week. I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit. Until next week,
Cheers,
Laurie.

38 thoughts on “Something’s upside down at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    Another series of beautiful pictures, Laurie – and it seems you make it harder for me every week to pick my favorite…
    It took quite some time – but I guess I got it now: It’s the hibiscus. I love these pictures, both of them… they’re happy and bubbly and I need this right now. Thanks for sharing them!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I put exceptional pictures up just to make it difficult for you Raani.😉 Thanks for taking the time to catch up. That’s a huge hibiscus too.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie, there’s always something nice to look at.
      🙂 Did your son and his girlfriend come up to Queensland? Pricasso? I have heard of him, I tired to paint with my penis once and ended up with a colourful sex life.😉

      Like

      Reply
      1. Mélanie

        yes, they did and really loved it…🙂
        * * *
        glad to hear you’ve had a colorful intimate life: you must be an artist of “ars amandi”(art of loving)…🙂

        Like

  2. hitandrun1964

    So fabulous. The bird is beautiful…all those fluffy white feathers, black lovely feather on his head…so pretty. Lots of wonderful pictures but the one where it looks as if the joey is whispering to his mom is just adorable. The way she’s looking at you. So cute:) It’s truly beautiful where you live and I love seeing your photographs.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. He is a lovely bird, quite brazen too. I’ve had them come up to my feet and pick up grubs. Joey and Mum are great. That’s why I sit there and snap away for ages, I catch the gestures and funny faces.🙂 It is beautiful here and I love sharing my pictures.

      Like

      Reply
  3. olganm

    Another great post. Yes, roos and fireworks would make an interesting combination although I suspect they might not like the noise… I think you’ll have to consider sharing your photographic tricks (not with me, not at that level)… although I guess having an eye for it always helps. Happy weekend Laurie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. I agree, the roos might find it a little uncomfortable. I like trying different things with photos, new perspectives and all that. I’m a rank amateur at this. I intend to have a glorious weekend Olga.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Well I was going to say the first photo was my favorite, but the lady on the horse, the close up profile, is amazing. I also love the one taken from behind — the one you said where you got sand in your teeth. The motion is incredible. The roos are hilarious and sweet as usual. And hibiscus .. one of my favorite flowers.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes the lady on the horse, I’m very pleased with that one, the specs, f 5/6, 1/100 sec, 1600 ISO 187mm focal length. No flash, I upped the ISO knowing that I needed all the light I could get. If I’d have used a faster exposure time I think I would have ended up with a darker pic. It’s still a good action pic. That sand, pffftttt, got right in the teeth, it could have been worse considering which end of the horse I was filming. I don’t think you can go wrong with roos, they have such great faces. That hibiscus was huge! Pollen is difficult to brush off the front of one’s pants.😦

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    I love the trips you take me on in Oz and amidst all the other great photos, you included two of my faves, roos and fireworks. The fireworks shot, by the way, was great!!! I’m so glad we connected through the blogosphere, Sir Laurence, AKA Herb. Cheers and hugs, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      All I need now is a roo with skyrockets in her pouch and we’ll be right.😉 I’m glad to have entertained you again this week Natalie. That is my favourite firework shot from the rodeo I have a few more. I’m glad we connected too Natalie, I look forward to talking with you every week. Herb indeed.🙂
      Cheers and hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I love fireworks, and that one’s a beauty! I also love Northern lights, mountains, clouds, flowers, horses, critters, … so I know I’m going to enjoy your photos; and the roo collection at the end is cute.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Well, I’m really ticking everything off this week Joy. The only thing I can’t offer is the northern lights. Although I had a little piece of the Aurora Borealis in a pic last year. That joey is so cute, looks like he’s whispering at his mum.

      Like

      Reply
  7. suzjones

    I’m partial to Butcher birds. They have the most amazing vocal range. It’s just a pity that they think my poor canary is fair game.
    Whilst I love your action shots, my heart is lost in the country scenes.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes Butcher Birds live up to their name and love caged birds. I can listen to them for ages, they have a great warble. I’ve seen them catch tiny bats in mid air when they’ve flown off a tree I’ve felled. Zap! and they’re lunch. They love white ants and centipedes, that’s why I take a break in between trees. it gives them a chance to clean up any nasties, i.e. scorpions.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        Let me know if you decide to go and we can grab a cuppa. We’re thinking about heading up that way today and staying overnight. Might also visit the Darling Downs Zoo. We’ve been saying for ages we should check it out.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Monday’s out, we have a kids birthday to go to.😦 The zoo isn’t bad, not really photographer friendly though. They have pics up of all these great pics but they’ve been taken during private visits.

        Like

      3. suzjones

        Didn’t get to the zoo. Looked up the entry costs and gave it a miss. The auction was pretty cool. Lots of beautiful stuff. I should have taken my camera in to take photos but I didn’t.

        Like

      4. suzjones

        Well I had my little one with me and took a couple of photos of the chaos inside the gates but was so caught up in the atmosphere I didn’t think to take photos of some of the gorgeous stuff there.

        Like

  8. davidprosser

    Nice to visit with you Laurie. Great pictures as always though the first one reminds me of the opening scene of one of those alien invasion movies. I half expected Will Smith to turn up to save the day. The picture of the fast horse is exceptional.
    Hugs. Take care of yourself.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Nice of you to pop in David, thanks for the compliment. It is kind of surreal, the mist really makes the picture and makes it appear other worldly. Well Will Smith wasn’t there, Laurie Smith was, LOL! It’s good to get a capture like that with the horse. I like to get people’s faces and freeze them it all adds to the scene. I’m out today, going to the big smoke, hmm more photos. Take care yourself Mate, big hugs at ya.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

