Googly eyes and stuff at The Writer’s Room.

A sunset for a change this week, a dramatic sky taken from the front lawn.Sunset

For those who like kangaroos we have the metal roos from George Street in Brisbane. I’ve shown these before singly, this is a view from across the street. They appear to be begging from passers-by.metal kangaroos

What do you do with a red light camera that’s begging to be photographed? You turn it B&W and give it googly eyes.traffic camera

I like the way the light reflects off these buildings, plus the palm tree gives it some style.buildings in Brisbane

We went to a credit union function so I decided to takeย a few pics from the third floor. The wind blew these grass heads to and fro. I like the way the light filters through them.grass

Nobody seems to notice the tree growing up on the roof, taken in the Queen Street Mall.queen street mall

Somebody has to make characters out of balloons.balloon man

I reached the end of the mall and saw this old gentleman walking towards me, I took the snap and kept going. When I looked at it again I saw a correlation between him and the young man walking beside him. Both are in step, heads down and deep in thought. Each marching to the beat of their own drum. street photography

I seem to be drawn to horse events lately. Last Sunday I went for a drive and saw a sign for Polocrosse at the Laidley show grounds. Signs on the gate said it was a private event, so I hung around outside and took a few shots, then a woman invited me inside. Once inside I took a few more and an official told me to go up between the two main fields, so I could get better shots. I think I did. Right amongst the action I snapped madly away, taking shots on both fields. I only had to dodge out of the way once.ย  The first picture is my favourite, the woman looks ready to clobber her opponent with her racquet. It reminds me of one of those paintings of a cavalry battle in times gone by. I think the women gave as good as they got in the matches I saw played.polocrosse at Laidley

Polocrosse at Laidley

Polocrosse at Laidley

That’s the lot for this week, thanks for stopping by and sharing my week. If you want to view more photos of the event follow this link and it will take you to my Facebook album. You don’t need a Facebook account to view it. For the kangaroo fans, follow this link to see a kangaroo and joey on our veranda. Until next time,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

48 thoughts on “Googly eyes and stuff at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Wordifull Melanie

    Lovely lot! My favorites from this group are the opening sunset and the photo of the two men waliking in synch. I imagine it as a young man walking with his future self. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  2. Raani York

    Fantastic pictures once more, Laurie… this week my favorite is the sunset picture. All of the pics are great – but I need the beauty, piece and silence of the sunset right now.๐Ÿ™‚ Well done!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. The sunset is almost in its winter position, so I had to walk to the far edge of the garden to get it this time. I think it’s quite dramatic. Okay, are you going to say what’s wrong, there have been a few words of gloom in the last few comments? You’re sounding down. Hmm?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        You keep amazing me, Laurie… I’ll tell send you an email within the next hour, ok?

        Like

  3. Eli Pacheco

    1. I wondered less about the tree on the building as I did the dude in the balloon hat. But the next picture answered that.

    2. I wonder if the two tourist girls gawking at something across the street knew they were missing a better picture.

    3. The only way to make your polo story even better is if they’d have given you a mount and taken pictures of you in the fray.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      1. Yes he is lurking in the shadows, nothing surprises me in the big smoke though.
      2. I left them in the shot to show the things that we miss, when we’re looking somewhere else.

      3. I tell you what Mate, I felt the urge to mount up. I last rode a horse ten years ago. Prior to that I’d bred, trained, broke and rode them. Oh and come off them. The trouble is I could have got carried away and ended up like the girl looking ready to whack the other bloke.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m beginning to think it’s only played here Bob. It’s certainly a fast game. I’m quite happy with the sunset, it’s a little different. Thanks for dropping by Mate, I appreciate it.

      Like

      Reply
  4. peglovesjesus

    Hi, Laurie. Your photos never disappoint! Thanks for sharing images from your creative perspective.๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  5. Patricia Salamone

    Hi Fratello. Well as usual you have taken me on a tour of delight. I never heard of Polocrosse , but it looks interesting. My daughter-in-law used to play Lacrosse in High School. Love the shots of the city and the beautiful art work on the public sidewalks. I saved the sun set for last, it is absolutely breath taking. Thank you for your wonderful offerings. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sorella, it seems that not many people overseas have heard of it. A fast game full of thrills indeed. it’s basically a cross between lacrosse and polo. I like to put city scapes in now and then. There are still beautiful things to see in cities. That sunset is great, dramatic is the word.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  6. nataliescarberry

    What I think is that I loved the googly eyes and the trip to the big city and elsewhere, Laurence. As always the photos are great and you do have a way with words, my friend. Thanks for this weeks tour! Cheers and hugs, Natalie ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Natalie, that camera was made to have googly eyes on it. I’m glad you enjoyed my offerings this week, at least you got metal roos.๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers and hugs Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Yes, I’m so glad I got some kind of roos, although they were not nearly as much fun as the real ones. I hope you have a great weekend, Laurence, but then I guess yours is already half gone down under. Cheers, N ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Metal roos are better than no roos Natalie. yes, it’s Saturday night here, cool, wet and I’m sitting by the fire.๐Ÿ™‚
        Hugs
        Laurence.

        Like

  7. talain45

    Thank you for your adventures from the past week Laurie, very cool. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Polocrosse before. It looks like Lacrosse on horses, probably they are similarly played. I would love to see a dramatic sky like your. We’ve had five straight days of rain and clouds here. Brisbane is quit hug city by looking at the buildings you’ve taken images of, much bigger then my city for sure. I think people are a little more creative expressing art work in your cities as well. As always, enjoy my stop. Thank you again for share your part of the world with your creative flair, with LOL, Michael๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome Michael. Days of rain can get a bit depressing. Yes, that’s basically what polocrosse is and it’s fast! Brisbane is the third largest city in Australia, at 2.1 million people. There’s quite a lot of art on display around the place, I have some for next week.๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for dropping by Michael and commenting, I appreciate it. Cheers, Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. talain45

        No problem there Laurie, I look forwards to seeing them. Brisbane is definitely the winner! I think the Triple Cities combine ( Binghamton, Johnson City and Endicott ) have about 160 thousand people between the tree. We have horse racing and horse & cart in Tioga Downs witch is about 25 miles away from us hear near Owego NY. Kentucky is the home of more grand events and I think it’s the horse capital of the States. Anyway, Love hearing from ya,Take Care and God Bless, Michael

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        They sound like cosy little cities there Michael. There’s always something going on around the place by the sound of it. Kentucky must be loaded with horse event. Especially the Derby. Yes, you take care too Michael and happy snapping.๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  8. hitandrun1964

    I went to the site with the kangaroos on your patio. Adorable. So sweet. The mom and the Joey eating grass was darling:) I love the shots of the buildings and the kangaroos on the street. That kind of amazed me. With all the traffic I kind of assumed they would be in such a busy area. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Glad you liked the video, I took it a couple of years ago. I couldn’t believe that she stayed put while I filmed her. Brisbane has a population of 2.1 million so we don’t get the huge crowds like in other places, although it can get busy.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  9. Pagadan

    I love the clouds in the sunset photo–and the clouds between the buildings. Beautiful. The grass is lovely; the googly eyes and balloon characters are cute; and you really captured the horses in action–and the two men. So, when are you going to display some of your photos? Offer them to a bank or somewhere for a display.

    Like

    Reply
  10. suzjones

    Could putting googly eyes on a red light cameras be classed as defacing government property? rofl
    Great photos of the city Laurie. Love the one of the (I’m assuming) homeless man.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I guess it could, I thought it looked bloody funny. Imagine if they had them on for real? Thanks Suz, I enjoyed the day out. Yes the old bloke was homeless.

      Like

      Reply
  11. davidprosser

    Just great Laurie. I love the metal roos’, and found the google eyes very funny. The picture of the two opposite men walking in step was thought provoking but for me the best was the woman who looked about to brain her male opponent with a polo mallet or maybe she just wishes that’s what t was.
    Wonderful pictures as always my friend with a healthy dose of humour thrown in.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David I appreciate that. The roos look as if they’re begging. There’s been a bit of comment about the two men but I do agree that the polocrosse player is out to do mischief.๐Ÿ™‚ Those ladies play hard. Hugs back at ya David and take care.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  12. olganm

    I agree with Michele. Love the picture of the two men. I guess we’re more alike than we think, or do you think it’s a picture across time? I had to go and check the video. Delightful! Good evening/morning!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, it’s funny that the pictures I’m ambivalent about seem to get the best reactions. I think the picture shows that you can be young and vital, yet there lurks the possibility of old age and fragility. I do like the video of joey popping his head out. A good morning/evening to you to Olga.

      Like

      Reply
  13. Michele D'Acosta

    Your wonderful voice is expressed through your words and images. I love your picture of the two men marching in step “to the beat of their own drum”. You’ve sent tingles down my spine, tonight. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Michele, I really appreciate your comments. I wasn’t going to put the picture up of the old man, mainly because it didn’t feel clear enough. When I converted it to B&W and put some grain in it, I didn’t think it mattered then. I guess it’s a case of the content is more important than the clarity. I was going to use the old man on his own. Then when I went back to the RAW file I noticed they were in step. I’m glad that my picture touched you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Michele D'Acosta

        Thank you Laurie, I really appreciate you sharing your creative process. You have an extraordinary sense of the “moment”. Looking forward to more instances of your magic. All best wishes, Michele

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re welcome Michele, I love to share my work and the things I see through the lens. The sense of moment I think is due to my hyper-awareness. I don’t miss much of what is happening around me. PTSD makes one overly aware of what is in their vicinity, so I’m always looking. It gets tiring but I don’t miss much.๐Ÿ™‚ There’s certainly more to come.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

