A Medium, or just well done? A healing that will have you thinking and Reiki.

 A healing that will have you thinking. I have an enthralling story to tell of healing. Not because the person recovered but because of what I saw while channelling an absent healing. Yes, absent. You don’t have to be in the same room as your client or even the same house, let alone the same country. Although my client was in another city, it didn’t diminish the power or wonder of healing.
My night shift at the air base finished and I drove out to the guard box, Bruce kept the boom gate down and peered in through my window, ‘Laurie, my brother Darryl went into the cancer ward in Brisbane yesterday, he’s got biliary cancer and won’t be coming out again. Can you do your voodoo stuff for him?’ – ‘No worries Bruce, I’ll see you tomorrow.’ Driving home I thought how funny it was, most of the blokes I worked with didn’t believe in what I did. After I gave Bruce three Melbourne Cup winners in a row, he sort of had a grudging respect for my talents. Actually I gathered quite a following, especially amongst some of the service police. There always seemed to be a strain, backache, headache and such that vanished after a few minutes of hands on healing. I arrived home, slipped out of my uniform and set up my room. For absent healings I would light a candle, burn a little incense and sit facing a blank wall. Then I would concentrate on the person in question.
Within a few minutes I found myself hovering along a rather dismal, dreary corridor in the Royal Brisbane Hospital. I’d been to this ward 10 years previously on a visit. At the start of the corridor and on the right there were some treatment rooms, then a curtained off section. I could see other beds further along the wall. What made me stop were a huge pair of feet, about a size 12 and they were propped up on the foot of the bed. The soles reminded me of the bottom of a camel’s foot, all porous and thick. They were knobbly, and the toes were fat with hard, yellowed toenails. I couldn’t go any further so I stayed where I could look through a gap in the curtain. I only ever saw Darryl from the knees down and his skin looked yellow. There seems to be some conjecture amongst healers in regards to giving healing to someone who hasn’t asked for it. I don’t have the answers and believe that if it isn’t taken on board it’s for one of a few reasons. 1. The person doesn’t want it. 2. The soul has its own plans and healing isn’t one of them. 3. It may be part of the person’s karma that they don’t receive the healing. So where does all this channelled healing go? I’m not sure, probably back to the source.
I usually gave half an hour to an absent healing, if I had more than one on my books I would share it around. I’m going to state here that I’m not a follower of religion. This doesn’t make me a bad person, I still believe that there is something more powerful than us ‘running the show,’ and I’ll leave it at that. What I’m about to describe, I think is amazing but it tends to provide more questions than answers. From where I hovered I could see a nurse at the bed next to Darryl’s, she wore a white gown and seemed to be prepping her patient. I quite clearly saw a man wearing a white gown, sitting next to Darryl’s bed. He had long, thick, black hair that reached his shoulders and was clean shaven. I have never seen such a handsome man, before or since. He looked in my direction and smiled, then turned his attention back to Darryl. He never spoke a word, he closed his eyes and bowed his head. I asked for the healing to come through and it entered Darryl’s feet. The man sat still and for some reason I thought he may have been a strange visitor. Strange indeed as the nurse stepped back and moved through him, and then walked away. I took another look and saw what appeared to be the same man sitting next to other beds, or standing at the head. I felt the healing slow down and found myself back in my room.
I think the term, Gobsmacked might be an understatement here. Putting the candle out I made my way to bed. The image of the long haired man stayed with me and for once in a long time I slept peacefully. The following morning I stopped off and spoke with Bruce on the back gate. I told him about the huge feet and he laughed, ‘That’s funny Laurie, Darryl hasn’t wore a pair of shoes in his life. He’s a dairy farmer and winter and summer he goes bare foot.’ I didn’t tell him about the man and promised to keep up the absent healing. Every morning I sat in my room and every morning the man sat by Darryl’s bed. I could never get any closer than the foot of the bed and those big feet. The man would smile, I’d start the healing and still wonder. I couldn’t communicate with him, although the sense of peace and love that came from him uplifted me. After a week I stopped the healings, I tried to go back but nothing happened. I figured that what needed to be done was done, besides, the yellow tint on his skin had vanished.
I didn’t see Bruce for a fortnight and when I did bump into him he took me aside in the office, “Sorry Laurie, I should have told you earlier, Darryl went home last week. The doctors were amazed, they hadn’t seen anything like it before. My brother’s well enough to spend the last of his time with his family.’ This heartened me no end and I felt a little chuffed that he may have that extra time. Darryl lived three months longer than the doctors gave him. Virtually pain free and able to talk with his family almost to the last. Did my channelled healings extend his life? Or was it the dark haired man who made the difference? I don’t really know. What I do know is that someone who went into a cancer ward to die, walked out under his own steam ten days later to spend valuable time with his loved ones.
I want to remind you that only if I travelled did I take payment for a healing, which paid for fuel. Absent healing, healing at my home were all free and this brings up the old chestnut, ‘If it’s free it can’t be any good.’ Clients would say, ‘You don’t charge for doing a healing, yet you charge for a reading. Doesn’t it all come from the same place?’ I always replied with, ‘A healing is a gift from spirit, which heals me and you. A reading may come via spirit or deceased loved ones but I’m the one who has to put up with all the bullshit from clients who want more for nothing. I put five hard years of reading, studying and practicing to get where I am. So you’re paying for my time, which is just as valuable as yours.’

Reiki Healing. A Reiki master joined the spiritualist church and all those who were interested attended a weekend of learning and were attuned to Reiki level One. This gave us all we needed to embark on a career as bona fide Reiki practitioners. (The blue link at the beginning of this paragraph will take you to Wikipedia to give you an overview.) I thought everyday spiritual healing was good. Well I have to say Reiki blew my socks off. For the first two weeks after my attunement, the palms of my hands stayed hot and sweaty, to the extent that the first two layers of skin peeled off. To counter the unbelievable amount of energy that coursed through me, I had to perform a daily self healing to keep it under control. It came with two warnings, 1. It will change your life. 2. You have to keep using the healing energy. It changed me, I felt like the energiser bunny. My senses were heightened, every healing turned into something special and I found I possessed a greater range of ‘seeing,’ in the sense of working with the human body. One or two people who were attuned at the same time stopped working with the energy. They found themselves feeling tired, rundown, heavy in the chest. Let me say here that how I work with Reiki may not be the same way as others do. I know of people who do it strictly by the book, others sit there like robots not even interacting with their client. I’ve had no complaints from either side, so I continue to do it my way.

ColouredChakraswithDescriptions[1]

Life changing? Part 1. In a way yes, it brought me into contact with many people and allowed me into their lives for a short while. It also took me into a realm of wonder where I saw things that are normally hidden from our view. I’ve never been one to accept that life is only what we are aware of with our five senses. The best way to explain this is to take you through a healing. People always asked when they turned up, ‘Do I get to leave my clothes on?’ – ‘Sure you do, I’ll be the one not wearing them.’ They’d look at me and I’d give them a wink, ‘Oh, you’re joking right?’ – ‘Of course I’m joking, I like to lighten the mood a little.’ I’d still get a few funny looks but it took the tension out of the air. Look, I’m not a caftan wearing type who wanders around casting blessings. Staring deeply into people and connecting with them in the hope of wringing funds out of them, or drawing them into their little club. (I’ve met a few like that though) I’m just me, who happens to have a talent and a need to look beyond the veil. Half an hour prior to a healing I would make sure my massage table had clean linen, pillows and a blanket. The room temperature can change quickly during the healing and the client usually descends into a deep sleep. So they need to be warm. I always light a candle, light a stick of incense, I like the smell, and play some soft music. These aren’t necessary, it’s more of a ritual for me and to lighten the feel of the room. As a level 1 practitioner I would stand in the room and ask for the healing energy to begin. Now at Master level I draw the symbols in the air above the table.  Let’s create a client, we’ll call her Claire, she’s 35 and feeling sluggish, worn out and depressed. She brings a friend, Anne. A large percentage of my clientele fitted the age and gender profile and many brought a friend. I encouraged women to bring someone, it gave me a sense of security.
Ann, feeling nervous sits in a chair in the corner of the room. Claire climbs onto the table and lays down. I put the blanket on her up to the waist and she makes herself comfortable, ‘Now close your eyes Claire and relax.’ – ‘Yeah right, why do I need to close them?’ – ‘It will help you relax and I can assure you of a colourful spectacle.’ My hands have warmed up with the healing energy and I go through my own style of prayer for protection and healing. I hold my right hand a foot above Claire and move it over her body, at first along the line of the chakras. If any one of them isn’t giving off a good feeling I note them for further attention. If there are problems with the limbs I’ll feel a pull towards the one in question. Satisfied I stand at the table behind Claire’s head. We’ve discussed my touching her body and she’s agreed, if not I would hold my hands above her. Starting at the crown I place my hands on the top of her head and close my eyes. I do this to better see what is happening and to focus on what I’m being told. I give each chakra about five minutes, then if there are any problems I have time to work on them. The crown is the connection to the soul and I’ve found it to be an uplifting experience, especially when you see the pure white light that shines from it. That and the information that sometimes comes, to pass onto the client, quite often when they are in a time of doubt about life and their place in it.  I’ve found that many people have a limited connection to the soul, why? I can only imagine that it has to do with where they are in their life. What they want and how immersed they are in the physical plane. Then I move to the third eye centre on the forehead. One hand on the front, the other on the back of the head. This is when the colours really begin to emerge and depending which one it is I can ascertain where the problem lies. Claire is half asleep and says, ‘Hmm, look at the colours, all those blues and reds.’ I hear a little snore, open my eyes and see that Anne has dozed off in the corner. She’s getting a healing too, along with me. I return to the task at hand and place my hands gently on each side of Claire’s throat. The blue comes back stronger, mixed in with red and streaked with black. I’m shown incidents from Claire’s childhood and think, ‘That’s why she’s feeling so out of sorts.’

Next week: Part 2 and Reiki and the Trucker.

37 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? A healing that will have you thinking and Reiki.

  1. Tamara Gerber

    Wow, what a thought-provoking story! I thought the black haired man was a dead relative who wanted to make sure Darryl didn’t need to be afraid.
    Such a wonderful gift you’ve got. Thanks for sharing – both your skill and this story!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      My first thoughts were a relative, then when I took a closer look I realised he wasn’t of this plane of existence. I’ll go as far to say he could have been a collector. Waiting there, giving comfort but ready to help the spirit move over. I’ve seen the same entity before. At least we know there’s always somebody there for us when we go.
      It is a gift Tamara but sometimes it can be a curse.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Wow, I can’t wait for the next installment of the story! I have had a little Reiki here and there at different psychic fairs. They always felt marvelous. One time somebody did tuning forks on me, and that felt wonderful as well. I read part of the book called Healing Hands once. It was really deep. Over my head, but I liked learning a bit about it.

    What an incredible talent that you have. Thank you for sharing your experiences and perspective.I have been having problems with my hands, my fingers really. I finally figured out it was because I was clenching my fists and sleeping on top of them. It was a process to get to the bottom of this, but I finally have. I feel that if I stay on top of any physical symptoms and follow my impulses towards what is needed to fix them, I seem to be able to right things fairly well. Sometimes following that impulse means going to a doctor. Sometimes it means taking up yoga! The important thing is not to ignore them. And it is good to know there are spiritual healers who can help also. How wonderful that you offer that gift for free.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Next week’s is done and dusted Nia.🙂 Reiki can be very relaxing for all concerned. The tuning forks are good. I use the OM sound for vibrational healing, that spins me out no end. healing hands is a great book, and you’re right, deep. I think by sharing my experiences with others via the blog it shows people that there’s nothing to be scared about. You’re on the right track by looking at what was happening with your hands. Use your intuition and if that doesn’t work then see your Doc. I never advised anyone to stop medical treatment and usually asked them if they were seeing a doctor for their condition. I offer it for free for one very simple reason. A few years before I finished working I asked for the time to be able to devote to healings and reading. I became extremely ill, had to give up work and ended up with all the time I needed. I have enough money to live comfortably and all the time I need to do healings. So I don’t charge. If I had no other income then I would charge a nominal fee.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Eli Pacheco

    1. Who do you believe the man was? That he was present for so many?

    2. When a cortisone shot couldn’t take the pain in my ankle away, I just gave up and started running again. The pain isn’t as bad, but it hasn’t gone away. Would you suggest Reiki for it?

    3. I hate that you encounter naysayers and other bullshit when sharing your gift, mate.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      1. More than likely someone who is there to take you across when you die. When I had a NDE in 2001 the same being stood in front of me, waiting.
      2. Reiki is great for joint pain. Lady next door had a new cruciate ligament in her knee. I gave her a healing on it on Saturday and it stayed pain free for 36 hours.
      3. I do too Mate but I smile to myself knowing that they really don’t believe in anything.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    Laurie – just one question (now at least)🙂 I was told when I did my Reiki 1 that once attuned you would have that ability for life. Since it is the life force we are woking with through Spirit it would remain with us (me). I use it but not daily… do you mean my connection and healing ability is therefore negated? Are you saying I need to redo Reiki 1 even though I’ve gone all the way to Master level myself? Sorry that is more than one question after all.

    Love the story by the way. So shaky today and I don;t know why….

    Susan (imagine a heart)!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That’s right Susan, you have it for life. The problem is if you don’t use it there is a tendency to feel sluggish and out of sorts. No new attunement or anything like that at all. Your healing ability ISN’T affected. I wanted to get across that if you get attuned then you really need to use it often. Even if it’s nothing more than grounding yourself out, or a quick self heal.
      Shaky could be if you’ve given up some medication, or perhaps dropping me a line.😉
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        Okay. I wonder who those people were. There’s so many things happening at the same time ad on different levels. Healers from a different plane? So many guesses:) I wonder why you couldn’t communicate with them, since you were there. Possibly different vibration, or you weren’t allowed to do it. Well, it’s all great reading and i look forward to it:)

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I know who the people were. They’re healers on the other side and you’re right things happen without you knowing it. That’s why the healer is the conduit for all of this. Communicate with them? It’s all done on a mind level, I’m there to channel the healing, they’re there to direct it. If there’s anything I need to know then it’s impressed on my mind as a thought. They aren’t big on small talk.🙂

        Like

      3. hitandrun1964

        I can understand the silence and lack of small talk. I can also understand that the healer can be, or is, a conduit for healing energy. It’s June 29th but I can’t find a new post from you. Am I missing something?

        Like

  5. Raani York

    I’m kind of “there” – and feeling the healing energy. You’ve got a wonderful talent, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Patricia Salamone

    Always a great read Fratello. I could almost feel your presence or something. Please pray for my husband. The spinal stenosis is getting worse and I feel so bad for him. I would like to see him smile again. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella. I don’t offer up prayers but I do activate an absent healing. I’ll start this morning for Mike. What you can do is sit behind him and put your hands on his spine, then pray for a healing to come to him. Whether you feel anything or not is irrelevant, it’s the intention that counts. Just keep your mind open and let it flow.
      Fratello.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. suzjones

    The lady who gives me a massage from time to time also does Reiki. She asked me once if I would like her to do this as well and I said yes. I have to admit that apart from the feeling of warmth in her hands I felt nothing else. But boy, can she give an awesome massage!🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Not everybody feels things during a healing Suz. Some get up and say they didn’t feel a thing, others lay there and weep. Some are determined to show you that you’re a crock and what you’re doing is wrong. It takes all kinds.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        Oh, I wasn’t about to try and prove anything. Just didn’t feel anything. Off for another massage this morning (Mother’s Day gift from my son🙂 )

        Like

      2. suzjones

        It was lovely. She had pulled some cards for me before I came as well and all three were extremely relevant. It has given me cause for reflection.

        Like

  8. davidprosser

    Your stories are never less than fascinating Laurie and I’m always guaranteed a great read. There’s always such a lot to think about afterwards. I’m grateful that you share the details of how and why things sometimes do and don’t happen.
    Take care of yourself please.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you David. Entertaining and informative, I’ve achieved then. I like to write about this subject because people don’t have to suffer. It’s there for everybody who’s willing to look into it and give it a go. I’m keeping well thanks David. Hugs Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Anja

    awwww chakras……I used often when I was battling my own disease and still do to this day for keeping my life…health…everything…balanced.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Anja

        I am doing so much better now. Healed and all other life surprises seem to be calm now.🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

