A little something for everybody at The Writer’s Room.

Another week and another sunset at the Writer’s Room. They never bore me with their beauty and more importantly, their daily appearance.

 My young brother paid a visit and we went for a walk around the property, taking in the sights and looking at things from a different perspective. This tree was struck by lightning a couple of years ago and died quickly. The white ants took over and then the bark fell off. Hmm, I know exactly how it feels. It stands at the end of a dam and appears to be reaching for the sky. All the grooves and marks are from where the white ants chewed through the sap under the bark.Dead tree and sky

The order of the day was to look at the unusual. We found this claw from a Yabby or freshwater Cray underneath a piece of loose bark on a log. The only way it could have ended up there is probably via a Butcher Bird.Yabby Claw

I moved away from the log and my brother said, ‘Laurie, take two steps to your right.’ I did, turned and this is what I saw. About a metre and a half of Red Bellied Black Snake making his way towards the dam. We’d obviously disturbed him. They’re venomous although not in the same league as the Brown and Taipan. If you look closer you may see his neck starting to flare, so he was ready to strike or slither.Red bellied black snake.

I put a picture of our home up a little while ago, although the grounds didn’t look as neat as this. Thanks for the help Bro.Our home

This group of Roos didn’t like being disturbed when we were driving up to the house. It didn’t stop lover boy on the right from chatting up a sweet young thing though.kangaroos

At least I got a smile for my efforts in the Queen Street Mall in Brisbane.ueen Street Mall

Yes, another Polocrosse picture but take a look at that tongue. Concentration at work.Polocrosse

It’s a red Bougainvillea in the background. We went to a friend’s place for lunch and of course I began taking pictures. This Wanderer Butterfly gave me some enjoyment for a while.Butterfly and flowers

 Gazanias are so beautiful. These were growing next to the footpath in Ipswich.Gazanias

 I found this feather on the footpath and took a photo. A little bit of contrast and viola!Feather

That’s your lot for this week and I hope you’ve enjoyed another look into my part of the world. If you’re new here don’t be afraid to jump in and have a look in the archives. You’ll find more photos, poetry, updates on my novels and some, hopefully insightful peeks into my careers. I’ll be starting a regular Wednesday post, naturally called ‘Whacky Wednesday.’ It will be a vehicle for some fun, guest posts, the odd funny pic, cartoon, poem or anecdote that doesn’t fit into my current posts. So stay tuned.
Cheers,
Laurie.

 

 

 

70 thoughts on “A little something for everybody at The Writer’s Room.

  1. talain45

    Hello Laurie, you weren’t kidding about a little of everything. Beautiful images and I love the stories behind them. Now the Red Bellied Black Snack would have freaked me out, I’m not to fond of snacks. As a young boy I was attacked and bitten by a Water Moccasin that was over 4 feet long. It would not let go of me at first and I still remember the nasty infection that I got in the wound and being sick for some time afterwards. Beautiful sunset, nice colors! My oldest boy has taken up a fascination with the claw of the fresh water crab that we have here. He’s got quit a collection of them now. I’ll be trying to ketch up on your post today, I don’t suspect that I will be disappointed. All my best until the next time, Michael

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Michael, thanks for dropping by and commenting. I think the Black snake is similar to the water Moccasin. They’ll both make you sick.😦 I was bitten by an Eastern Brown snake when I was 12 and was in a coma for a couple of days. They’re the second most venomous land snake in the world. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_brown_snake
      I do like the claw picture, I might even put it on canvas. I like to give a wide variety of pics, although f I had access to a wider range of birds I’d probably take more pics of them.🙂 Did your son like the pic of the Yabby claw? there’ll be another wide selection up tomorrow. Take care Michael.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. thisisnotbangkok

    Love the photos and the free-flowing text. You are quite a character–in the best sense. You can write a hardcore, brutally violent, yet masterful set of novels like the Death series, and then marvel at the beauty of gazanias. I think it’s incredible. Oh, and the last photo is quite interesting🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you so much Michael, I guess it is a complete turnaround. It balances my psyche. There is this Laurie inside who can push out the novels and he takes the edge off the brutality with the beautiful things in life. I do try to keep it all evened out. I found the feather laying amongst some weeds, fluffed it back into shape, held it up and snap! The pattern is so simple yet exquisite. Nature is wonderful.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes all of this makes complete sense. We all have different aspects of ourselves, all or many of which need to be expressed. Plus it is good to have multiple talents. I am just curious. Did your brother read your books and if so what was his reaction?

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It does, the trouble is if one of these parts wants to have a total takeover. I haven’t reached that one thankfully.🙂 My brother is very impressed with them and always gets copies to sell to his friends. He’s a huge fan and one of my beta readers and not one to tell me what I want to hear. He’ll give great feedback and let me know if anything needs to be looked at again.

        Like

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I changed ants to wants. I looked at it and wondered why am I talking about ants? Yes we have a good relationship and he’s not backward in coming forward if something isn’t right. He’s also my technical advisor on things that go boom.

        Like

  3. Patricia Salamone

    Great photos Laurie. I look forward to Wacky Wed. Love the pic of the homestead, must take a while to mow that lawn. I see the Roo’s are still mulling around. I’ll be on the veranda if you are looking for me :o)…..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, it may be low key next Wednesday but I’ll have something up and running. The lawn’s fine. I have a tractor and slasher plus the zero turn mower for the fiddly bits. I can see you sitting on the veranda, beverage of choice in hand, yelling at Mike to get the cooking going.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. nataliescarberry

    And another lot of photos it is except for the snake. I no likey snakes at all even in pictures, but the rest were great and I always enjoy your narrative. Cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bette, yes I think it is. I thought so and checked online. Different country different name, I’m glad you like my work.🙂 How’s your back going?

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pagadan

    I love your sunsets! Have I mentioned that here in the city, we don’t have a horizon (I could walk all the way down to the lake) so I don’t see sunsets or sunrises. Lovely vista with the house, and the fleurs are pretty. That butterfly isn’t a monarch? The feather is striking. At first I thought it was a cactus or something.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, yes it’s a little hard in the city to get good sunsets. The view up to the house is nearly as good as the view from it. I think it’s a Monarch. I checked the name on-line and it came up with that one.

      Like

      Reply
  6. suzjones

    Wow. Lucky you didn’t stand on the Red-bellied black my friend. A lovely collection of photos to be sure. I envy you, your country lifestyle. One day it may happen for us but until then rural suburbia it shall remain.🙂 Still we get wallabies in our garden and other visitors (such as an echidna) sometimes.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Lucky indeed Suz, they can still make you sick but what a beautiful specimen. I do love our country lifestyle, we miss very little about suburban living. Hmm, rural residential, you can’t get around in the nuddy there can you? We’ve had an echidna pay the odd nocturnal visit don amongst the trees a couple of times. Love em!

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        This echidna turned up during the flooding and stayed for a couple of weeks lol.
        Can you get around in the nuddy? Well it has been done. Like the night we were swimming and I stripped off and hung my stuff up before I went inside but generally – NO! It can’t really be done. lol

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I do like echidnas, except when I hit one in the middle of the night near Rocky and he left 70,000 spines in my tyre.😦 Sad face for him and tyre. There’s nothing like baring the bod to a few cosmic rays Suz. Swimming naked in the dark doesn’t count.😉 Well I guess it depends on the chances of being seen.

        Like

  7. ytaba36

    “That’s your lot for this week” … add a bloomin’, and we’ve got that nice old fellow who used to do the gardening show on the ABC!

    Man, I’m glad you obeyed your brother, he’s a good lad, eh?

    Cheers from ‘way up north.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I liked him, he was dry and quite funny at times. He loved running his hands through mulch. ‘And that’s your bloomin lot for this week.’ Yes bro is a good lad and he knew I wouldn’t ask why or where, I’d just move. Cheers from back down here.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. SalvaVenia

    So what can be seen from this daily week writing is that the bark still haven’t come off … 🙂

    Did watch the Soccerros against the Dutch; you played quite well and certainly were a little surprise for them. Keeping my fingers crossed for your next game, then. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. Not many people use love and snake in the same sentence. At least he was in hiss habitat and not mine.🙂 Yes the tree is quite stark, beautiful too.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Your brother gave you clear effective instructions, thankfully! The shot of your house really shows the Queensland Bush perfectly. It’s such a lovely setting. The kangaroos are charming as ever! I love the way you arranged the flower photos and the macros of course. A great balance of wildlife, flora and family. Thanks, Laurie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      We’re both military trained Nia, just jump instead of asking how high.🙂 yes, a little bit of work and our place looks good. Getting enthusiastic is the problem. I like using the templates for flowers like that, I had too many butterfly pics so at least I can show off a fee at once. Yes, a good balance indeed. It’s my pleasure to share them Nia.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Ah ha! That’s what it is. Military training. It really stood out to me. Like it.🙂

        I let yard work go forever, then I’m so happy when I do it, I vow again to stay on top of things. But so far, never do.🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Jumping without having a Q&A session is how one stays alive sometimes. Yard work sucks and then it can be therapeutic, especially if you get someone else to do it for you. Unfortunately I do my own. *sigh*

        Like

      3. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        LOL! Yes, with yard work, I just like that there is a visible result, and that I get a little exercise. These things are lacking from writing sometimes! Well… exercise is always lacking from writing!! As for visible results… I’m still waiting.😉

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I used to be right on top of things around the place, now it’s a real chore. The only way to exercise and write is do it on a treadmill.🙂 Is that visible results from the gardening or writing?

        Like

      5. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        From yard work. But I’m feeling a little less negative about my writing. I’m actually making progress on this big editing job I received from my publisher. I didn’t realize I strung together the whole book with “And” and “but”. LOL I don’t know what came over me. At least they bought it and (oops) it is going to be a lot better.

        I had to come back to here and glad I did because I hadn’t realized you responded. I wanted to come back to point out that when I’m being all holy about my yard work you have to keep in mind that A. I have a quarter acre. And B. I’ve pulled about 3 weeds this year and I’ve managed to keep a few succulents alive. (My hubs does most of the work.) I have no idea how you handle all that land that you have!

        Like

      6. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Gardening’s easy! it’s not hard to use all the lazy words Nia. I highlight all the lazy words in my manuscript then go back through it and make the changes, phew. Holy about the yard work, love it. I do I handle it? Machines. Ride on mower for the smaller areas and tractor and slasher for the bigger bits. I look after about 10 acres, 5 acres run wild and a neighbours horses look after the remaining 27. If only I could get the horses to use the weed eater.

        Like

      7. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Machines, that makes sense! But it’s still a ton of work. No wonder most of us live in cities or the burbs and just look at your posts for country life. Wow good for you with highlighting the lazy words. I am looking forward to reading your novels.🙂

        Like

      8. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I look at farmers and think, Wow, now that’s hard work.🙂 It’s a good idea with lazy words, means a little bit of re-writing but you end up with a better sentence.

        Like

  10. Raani York

    Wow… another bunch of beautiful pictures, Laurie. This week my favorite is the white “ant-tree”. I think it’s really special. You do your sharing so nicely with the explanations behind everything.
    Thank you!!

    Like

    Reply
  11. davidprosser

    Another enjoyable visit thanks Laurie. I’m glad your Bro warned you about the snake before stepping on it, I’m not sure I’d trust Mike to do that with his sense of humour. You turned that simple feather into an amazing picture.and the gazanias are something else ( Yes, I know they’re still gazanias).but I think my favorite today is the first one. The moment I saw it all I could picture was someone ( or thing) diving and all we could see was the torso and the legs. Once you’ve got something in your head like that you know it won’t go away.
    Take care mate.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re always welcome David. I am too, believe me. Mike would probably have slipped it in a bag to torment you with it later.😦 I do like that feather, it certainly stands out. I haven’t meat a gazania I didn’t like, they’re beautiful flowers.
      That’s what I like about photos, everybody sees something else in them. true, it gets in your head. It’s like getting a song in your head and you can’t get rid of it. Taking care. hugs, Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

