Autumn colours and other bits from The Writer’s Room.

We took a trip to Stanthorpe and then into New South Wales last week. I wanted some autumn colour for a change and found it behind the local tourist information office.Maple tree

I said hello to this lovely old couple and thought how great it was to see them out and enjoying the weather. The track goes for about 4.5 klms.old couple

There’s also a lovely pond and the grey skies added a certain atmosphere to it.Stanthorpe

More views, in the bottom one you can still see the couple striding out.Stanthorpe

Okay, so I like boulders. These are in the Bald Rock National Park and they show quite well that a rolling stone gathers no moss.boulders

On the way out from the Boonoo Boonoo national park I spotted this termite mound. It’s about 7 feet high and looks okay as an oil painting.termite mound

No spraying water here, it was raining. We stopped at a lavender farm and while waiting for my coffee I nipped outside and snapped this.flower

Sometimes a flower looks better as art, especially with a little embossing.flower

This statue commemorating the Vietnam war is situated in Anzac Park, Brisbane. It was posed like this to show a soldier guiding a chopper down to pick up his wounded mate. So what better way to show it than from above. I gave it a newspaper photo effect, I think it adds to the drama.vietnam war statue

Finally a negative view of a forest track. it reminds me of how filmmakers show the alien’s eye view of their surroundings. Even in normal view the track didn’t look inviting.trees

That’s it for this week, nothing dramatic or outstanding just another week at the Writer’s Room.
Cheers
Laurie.

47 thoughts on “Autumn colours and other bits from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Wordifull Melanie

    Love the autumn tree🙂 The boulders are cool and what the heck…never seem a termite mound like that?!

    Oh and i prefer the flower without the embossing. So pretty with the rain drops.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      In the Northern territory those mounds get as tall as a house. Now that’s a lot of termites. The one with the embossing didn’t look as crisp as I liked so I tarted it up.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. nataliescarberry

    Oh my, master of the Roos, what a wonderful collection of photos!!! I kept thinking that one was my favorite and then the next one was and then the next one was and so on. That rainy splattered purple one was stunning! I adore autumn as much as I love spring and so this was a real treat. I hope you have a splendid weekend, my friend. Cheers and hugs, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I just love to keep the ladies guessing Natalie.🙂 yes the purple flower is nice, a gotcha moment there. Autumn here is my favourite season, just right. Weekend should be good, taking pictures at a horse event Saturday and we have a gathering to go to on Sunday. there’s now end to it Natalie.
      Cheers
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    Love the elderly couple enjoying their time together. The nature shots are magnificent and the memorial befitting the men who served. You are getting really professional at this picture taking Fratello. Lots going on here for me, keep well.

    Sorella :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sorella, thanks for dropping by. I guess the more you do something the better you get at it.😉 I’m glad that you’re enjoying them.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  4. suzjones

    I love that area behind the tourist information centre. Did you see it on the news last week when it was completely white with frost and ice? A beautiful part of the world for sure Laurie. I love Stanthorpe.🙂 (There’s actually a really nice pub in the main street that is great to sit and have a drink beside the fire place).

    Like

    Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        No storm required, it’s an old naval saying any port in a storm. So you change a seaport for a fortified wine port and…….. you probably know this.😉

        Like

  5. Pagadan

    I always enjoy fall color, and the rocks are lovely, but the termite mound is impressive! Loved the embossed flower, and the alien’s view of the woods is authentic… I’m glad you explained the statue.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy, I miss the autumn colours too, so one needs to go on a little drive to see them. That’s one big mound alright, a citadel even. Have a look what I said to David Prosser about the track.😦 Yes the statue needed some explanation, I like it.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    There’s another bunch of beautiful pics here Laurie. And you don’t make it easy for me once more.
    It took me a while – and now I’m caught. There are two pictures I like equally… one is the elderly couple on a walk – the other one is the first picture – the red tree.
    They both are beautiful in their own special way.
    Love all pictures Laurie!!🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ll keep making it difficult for you Raani.😉 With the elderly couple I saw it as nearing the end of life’s path, although I think they’ll be around a while longer walking every day. I believe the tree is a Japanese maple???? Whatever it is it’s beautiful. Thanks for dropping in Raani,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. davidprosser

    Hi Laurie, you’re wrong about the outstanding. The flower in the rain qualifies and so does the picture of the flower as art. I can see either of those hanging on someone’s wall or if my Ju was still here I’m sure the flower in the rain would be decoupaged and be gracing the front of a card about now. Pity they don’t trust me to hold scissors these days.
    Judging by the last picture I won’t be going down in the woods today surprise or not.!
    Take care of yourself. Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The flower in the rain is good, I judge myself a little harshly at times. It would look nice as a decoupage. Yes, don’t run with those scissors mate, you could cause yourself a mischief. Let me tell you David I stood on my own by the track and took that picture and felt quite uncomfortable. As soon as we drove into the National Park I said to Lorelle, ‘This is serial killer country.’ Some places hold memory and I didn’t like the ones around that track.
      Hugs back at ya David.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Laurie these are some of your best photos. Great color and composition in the landscape pics. Love the termite mound. The way you shot it, it looks like a real mountain, as if you are paying respect to the abilities of the termites. Your use of filters is sparse but appropriate for the subject matter. Once again I feel like visiting AUS, but mostly the scenic parts.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks Michael. That mound is epic, it reminded me of a Butte. A lot of work would have gone into it. The blighters work hard. I tend to use filters if the subject is good but may be a tad out of focus. Only the scenic bits? There’s plenty of them.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        Right. One should use filters for a reason and not just because they are there. But of course us photo veterans know that🙂. I am sure there are tons of scenic bits all over Aus. I am not the kind of traveler who would just want to go to the tourist hot spots in the cities and that’s it. I would rather see what most tourists don’t see and prefer the country, national parks, etc.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        This is true Michael. I like using filters for some shots, others go au naturel.🙂 There’s no shortage of national parks here, the most dramatic are in the Northern Territory and northern Western Australia. Magic. South Australia has some great ones, wild, rugged country.

        Like

      5. laurie27wsmith Post author

        There are some similarities, although we have nothing like the Rockies. Our great dividing range would have been like it several hundred million years ago. The continent has been above sea level longer than any other so it’s been worn down over time.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

