Art is Art at The Writer’s Room

This is for my followers in the US of A, happy 4th of July. Also for any Canucks, Happy Canada Day for the 1st July and for those of you who like fireworks, enjoy.fireworks

A stairway at Spring Bluff railway station with leaves from a London Plane tree.Autumn leaves

We were driving home late Wednesday afternoon and this Red Deer and her baby were right next to the fence. By the time I tumbled out of the car and went for a shot they’d run further into the paddock.  Although it was a well focused image I felt it to be too grainy, so here we have a watercolour. Oh yes, she let out a huge bark after I took the shot, warning me to stay away. Yes Virginia, some deer do bark.Red Deer

I haven’t picked berries in 52 years so I don’t have a clue what these are, only that they look nice. Update, this is Rubus Rosifolius the West Indian Raspberry. Dang, I could have had a feed.berrys

A water feature behind the platform at Spring Bluff.water feature

This long dead forest giant is decaying happily away at the entrance to Bald Rock national park. Nothing wrong with the photo but I thought it has more character as a painting.hollow tree

Peach blossoms at our neighbours place.Peach Blossom

This street art is in an alley off Margaret Street in Toowoomba. It’s on the wall next to a camping and army surplus store. You’ll notice I said art and not graffiti, this has obviously been commissioned by the store owner.street art

I kept walking down the alley and found this behind the shops.street art

Pretty maids all in a row. These wallabies were sitting by the side of our track the other day, we stopped, I rolled down the window and click. They don’t come much prettier.wallabies

‘Was it something I said? Don’t go, I’ll change my deodorant, I come in peace.’ Some days kangaroos just don’t want their picture taken. Taken down near the front gate.kangaroos

Andrew McSweeney owner of ScuzzTrans container transport kindly allowed me to photograph his Ned Kelly truck. All the truck details are in the link. This photo needs to be opened in a new tab to be truly appreciated. The drawing on the end of the siege at Glenrowan Inn is inside the cabin of his rig.Ned Kelly Truck

This brings us to Sean Ferguson. Lorelle and I were having a cuppa at Christopher’s, outside Toowoomba when I saw him behind the bar. Camera in hand I said to him, ‘Mate, you have an interesting face, mind if I take your picture?’ I took a couple and this is the one he wanted posted. The interesting thing is he bears a resemblance to the famous Bushranger, Ned Kelly.Sean Ferguson

There we have it for another week. I hope you enjoyed the offerings.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

45 thoughts on “Art is Art at The Writer’s Room

  1. talain45

    Very cool, loved them all Laurie. Well, maybe the berries a little bit more just because I was thinking how great that they mite have tasted! The three Kangaroos picture is a very interesting shot. Nice, very nice. Michael 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael. I could’ve picked the berries but I wasn’t sure what they were until I looked them up online. The three roos are a classic, definitely pretty maids in a row. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my offerings.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella. Yes that’s what struck me and I didn’t need to get out of the car to take the shot. They sat and posed. They’d all be closely related, same dad I’d reckon. There’s only one wallaby that has twins and they live way down south. it must be bedlam in the pouch at night with two feisty kids in there. 🙂
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Love the peach blossom, such a soft background. Great portrait. The fireworks made me smile because their pretty but also I’ve been sitting here listening to them all night and they sound so exciting but I can’t see them! So thank you! All great shots, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      A last minute entry that blossom and I think I picked well. Sean made a great subject, he has one of those expressive faces. I’m so glad that I could give you a visualisation on the fireworks, you’re welcome. Thanks Nia, I do appreciate your input.

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    I always enjoy your offerings, Laurence! What would a week be without them, boring that’s what! Love all the pics and off course the roos and wallabees are always a must, but the fireworks and the berries were my faves. Those were gorgeous berries. I wonder what kind they were? I pray you have a great weekend down under. Cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie, I’m happy to be keeping the boredom at bay. 🙂 I must google those berries and see what I come up with. I’m looking forward to the weekend, there’s a party on Sunday afternoon. I’ll let you know what I find out.
      Cheers
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    More beautiful pictures this week Laurie. And I had a hard time picking my favorite again. But I got it – it is the water picture – the spring. It’s like a little part of “fairy land”.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Pagadan

    Well, an even more enjoyable selection than usual, so that I don’t know where to start. Love the spectacular fireworks–and the leaves, but they’re always favorites. Also the water feature, the flowers, the deer and downed tree, … I don’t recognize the berries.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, I try to exceed the previous week in awesome, 😉 A little something for everyone has always been my aim. I like photos as art, either in their original form or enhanced, it adds a certain charm I think. I’m still checking on the berries.

      Like

      Reply
  6. davidprosser

    Fantastic photo’s Laurie, and I love the art at the back of the building. It’s clever he way you turn some shots into watercolours. I’ve just got this phone app that lets you make changes to pictures you take and the sketch ones are fantastic. I suppose the 3 wallabies are to make up for not getting one Kangaroo this week, just about the right ratio. Are wallabies a distinct species or just the smaller variety? Do they argue as much and kick you?
    I’m trying to figure out how Sean could look like Ned Kelly when he wasn’t wearing a helmet.
    Cheers mate. Hope you’re feeling better. Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. I like changing pics into water colours. I play around with the hue and saturation then convert them. yes I had to put the wallabies in, I wasn’t up to posting midweek so I knew there would be a few fans hanging out. Wallabies are Macropods (bigfoot) and are a sub species. I think there are about 92 different types of kangaroo and wallaby. I couldn’t find a steel bucket to put on Sean’s head. 😉
      Feeling better thanks mate. Hugs Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. olganm

    Fabulous. What a great truck! And face. No, I can’t help with the berries either other than telling you they aren’t any I’m familiar with..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for dropping in Olga. Yes that truck is great, the owner raises a lot of money for charities. Sean has a great face. I might have to google the berries…..

      Like

      Reply
  8. Patrons of the Pit

    Very nice. Love the photo of the leaves on the stairs. Nicely done!

    The berries reminded me at first of raspberries, but upon closer inspection, I don’t think so. I’m afraid it remains a great mystery, about your berries down under.. That didn’t sound right…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks PoTP, they have that raspberry look about them but I wasn’t going to have a nibble. My berries down under, hmm, look this could go in all directions you realise that? 😉
      Thanks for visiting…

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

