A Medium, or just well done? Guru.

The Guru and his tiny band of followers entered my orbit via a recommendation from Betty, the lady from last week’s post. They lived a Hippy existence in the north coast hinterland, growing sage and other herbs. He rang a week after the pups were born and booked out the whole day. There would be six of them and they all wanted a reading and a healing. No worries at all, they were bringing lunch too. They arrived in due course and after the introductions they set up out on the veranda and the car port. You may have guessed by now that being a psychic/medium left one open to many and diverse clients. The Guru, we’ll call him Rodney had an air about him. A big man, he wore his black hair long and had a well-trimmed goatee. His wife, Sadie was a stunner in her cheesecloth dress, with honey blonde hair flowing over her shoulders. She gave me the impression that she put up with him and tolerated his position as clan leader. If I remember rightly there were four others but I can only recollect two that stood out. A man with that much facial hair it looked like a coir mattress had exploded out of his mouth. Built like a screwdriver with a voice made hoarse from too many cigarettes and scotch, he would turn out to be one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. I’ll call him Kevin. Finally a girl. She seemed new to the group, something about her screamed danger, madness. It’s a wonder Spirit didn’t send a large billboard to hover above her head saying, ‘Abandon all hope anyone who comes near.’  Rodney had a good eye for the ladies I think and this girl, Tiffany resembled a young Maria Schneider, a la Last Tango in Paris. She hardly left his side and kept her head down, avoiding my gaze.

IMG_0112Sadie went first, Rodney didn’t want a reading, in his words, ‘I have my head together, I don’t need anyone to tell me anything.’ Whoopty Doo, he did however want to sit in on the card reading for his wife. It didn’t bother me, the whole crew could have sat there but it can be a distraction for the client. It also has a tendency to draw in too many people in spirit at once. Sadie gave him a dazzling smile and said, ‘I’m a big girl darling, I’m sure I’ll be safe with Laurie.’ They exchanged glances, had a tiny battle of wills and he left. I had an idea now who really pulled the strings and mentally pumped the air, ‘Yes, I’m a threat!’ It was a treat to read for her she understood the process, listened intently and asked clear, pertinent questions. I don’t remember a thing about the content, although I felt that I gave her some great insights into their business and relationship. The rest, except for Tiffany came through for their readings, then we stopped for lunch.
I’m a people watcher and the interactions in this group while we ate were quite a revelation to me. Rodney came across as the consummate Guru, whose followers would obey his every wish. If I asked one of them a question, they would look to him first before answering, except for Sadie. It turned out Kevin loved photography and he showed me some of his work, all of them were great. He used film and I could see that he had an eye for detail. I started the healings and Kevin went first, of course Rodney sat in. At this stage I used to sit at the client’s feet, while they were stretched out on the massage table. This gave me a good view straight up through their aura and connected me firmly on an earth level. It also showed a multitude of events and people in the client’s life, past present and future. Imagine looking through the glass wall of a Sea World aquarium. Then instead of different species of fish you are seeing people coming and going, and they vary in density from ghostly to fully formed. You may see motor vehicles, animals and if you look deeper, above the silt of the aquarium floor you catch glimpses of past lives. What intrigued me with Kevin was the single, long, blue tyre tread running from his left ankle, up his leg, across his torso and fading in the distance over his right shoulder. You’ve seen the cartoons where a character is run over and they’re left with a tyre mark on them? Well, I thought, this is just a little strange. Do I say anything, have I finally lost it? No Laurie, remember the lady with the Roman spear sticking through her chest. She didn’t bat an eyelid when you told her.
‘Err, this may sound a tad strange Kevin but you have this long tyre mark, through……’ They both laughed and Rodney said, ‘So he should he fell off the tractor and it ran over him.’
Rodney convinced Tiffany to come in for her healing. She didn’t want to lay on the massage table so she sat on a chair opposite me. Rodney sat on the floor in the corner and for once kept quiet. I asked Tiffany for her hand, she looked over to Rodney, he nodded and she placed it on the table and I held it gently. I felt overcome by a huge wave of emotions, anger, fear, hate, loathing, both for herself and others. Then her mind tried to probe mine. You may think this is strange, or even stupid but I have felt it on many occasions from clients who, for want of a better word want to play mind games. This wasn’t a simple, oh hello, who are you type of thing?Tiffany’s mental self came at me like a rabid dog, with the above emotions working overtime. This, on the surface, sweet, pretty girl tore at me on the inside. I looked at her face and it showed nothing, her eyes were those of a survivor of great horror.  They were dead, hollow, with a glazed look about them. I didn’t have to be psychic to know something terrible had happened here. Taking my hand off hers I placed it on her scarred forearm, several years worth of self harming was evident.
The girl stood next to the bus stop sign on the edge of the gravel road. Dressed simply in a light, floral midi dress she kicked at the battered suitcase at her feet, more in frustration than anger. She flipped a bird at the car speeding off in a cloud of dust and yelled, ‘Well fuck you too Dad.’ The gravity of her situation descended on her and she flopped onto the case and cried. After half an hour she heard another car approach, standing up and smoothing out her dress she stuck her thumb out. The car stopped and she approached the passenger side. The driver leaned across and wound the window down. She stared at him for a moment and thought, He looks nice, I hope he can take me to Sydney. ‘Can you give me a lift, I’m heading for Sydney?’ The driver, in his early thirties took a longer look and said, ‘Sure thing, hop in.’ The following three days were punctuated by pain, humiliation and what seemed like endless intrusions into her body.  She had few recollections of the driver, only the pain of being tied down and his constant dialogue of hate and bile aimed at her, as a human, as a woman and being stupid for accepting a lift. When he’d used her up, he dumped her outside of a small town in the north coast hinterland. She wandered into the town and sat outside the small grocery store. Luckily for her she stopped Sadie in the street and begged for some money for food.
Still holding Tiffany’s arm I could feel a change in her. I’d seen these events from the perspective of her memory but the memory was held in her arm where she’d been bound. I believe that the body can hold the memory of events, especially injuries. Naturally everything is stored in the brain yet the injury site holds the memory too. Tiffany began to scream, terrifying screams that set my teeth on edge. She pulled her arm away, rubbed it and yelled, ‘He raped me,’ she looked at Rodney, pointed at me and screamed, ‘Him, it was him he raped me. Stop him, stop him.’ Then – right then I thought, Thank you for being here Rodney, thank you.
They left not long after and I begged Rodney and Sadie to get some help for Tiffany. The girl clearly had huge mental health issues brought on by her ordeal, she was a danger to herself and any male who came into contact with her. They assured me that everything was under control. Rodney invited us to come and spend a day or two with them with the proviso, ‘If you stay you have to work on the farm, you can’t do this, or that, or blah, blah, blah.’ – ‘I’ll call, bye.’ I have to say it was one of the more interesting days I have spent in this line of work. The highlight of the day? Meeting Kevin and Sadie. The downside seeing one man have so much control over people, especially vulnerable ones like Tiffany. Kevin left the group a few months later and visited me several times before moving to northern Australia. I asked him why he left the farm. ‘Well Laurie, there are some places where a man has to be for a while and the farm isn’t one of them now.’ He told me that Tiffany left not long after the reading and there seemed to be some disruption in the group.

Now for something completely different. This occurred a few years ago, long after I’d given up my work. Lorelle’s hairdresser worked from home and I would accompany her on appointment days. They would be in her studio and I would sit in an alcove and read a book. That is until Lorelle told Danielle what I used to do, then I didn’t get any peace while we were there. Both her parents had died and they would pop in for a chat. Danielle’s Dad actually came through very well and was able to explain in detail what had happened to her inheritance, and other family matters. We were between haircuts and travelling home from Ipswich early one Friday evening, when the conversation turned to, ‘What’s for dinner?’ That’s easy, fish and chips. There were two routes to the small town where the takeaway was located. If we kept on the highway it would have taken us a couple of minutes longer to get there. It didn’t seem to matter until I received ‘a strong feeling’ to drive via the connection road. We arrived at the car park located at the small shopping centre and pulled into the only spot left, right next to a familiar looking car. We saw Danielle and her daughter coming out of the takeaway laden with packages and waited at the rear of our Utility for them. We had the usual, how are you going, what’s happening conversation then Danielle said, ‘Laurie, I lost my engagement ring a week ago, it’s worth about  ten grand, can you find it?’ Without saying a word, I looked down at my feet and saw something glittering in a crack in the cement. Taking out my pocket knife, I opened it, crouched down and lifted out a gold and diamond engagement ring, ‘Is this it?’ I’d never seen her speechless before, I don’t think she would’ve been anymore surprised if I coughed it up in a fur ball. She took it from me and began to cry, ‘How did you…? It must’ve been here since last Friday night.’
She stuck the ring down her cleavage, hugged me and left. Lorelle and I looked at each other, both amazed at what had happened. Was it a case of synchronicity? Had the planets aligned, was the moon in Pluto and Danielle was a lucky bugger? Or something simpler,  did her dad who it seems kept an eye on his girl latch onto me while I was driving home? Normally I would have taken the highway. I believe that Danielle’s dad stepped up and gave me the hint, leading me straight to the lost ring.

Next week: Crystal healing and readings online.

28 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Guru.

  1. kelihasablog

    Coughed up a hair ball? LOL…. That is hilarious. Glad you helped her find the ring though, I know she was grateful for that! Too bad about Tiffany…. I hope that when you had those kind of experiences, they didn’t seem to stay with you any longer than the others. You just amaze me every time. Love the post!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      She was certainly happy about it. 🙂 No, I sloughed off other people’s angst otherwise it would’ve made me sick. All you can do is advise them. I’m glad you enjoy the posts.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Ms. Vee

    What an intriguing tale Laurie. I’m glad I took the time to read up on this series. I knew I didn’t want to miss any of it. God bless you! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Eli Pacheco

    Almost as fascinating as what you can see, to me, is how people behave in your presence. I suppose you can learn a lot (and make sense of what comes to you) based on how they act.

    Bigger than all that is your proclamation in your response to David about your happiness, mate.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      People react quite oddly at times Mate. It’s why I try and keep my eyes closed while I’m doing the reading. That way I can’t be accused of picking up on subtle body language. You can’t ignore the odd arrggghhh! or bloody hell etc. Many people have an expectation of how the reading will go, either from watching TV or from seeing other psychics. I’ve never told them what they want to hear and this can create tension.
      My happiness. That is something I now seem to have under control. It’s taken a long time though and I’ve found the only person who can make you truly happy is yourself. Good health helps an awful lot too.

      Like

      Reply
  4. CaronAllanAuthor

    I’m loving this series, Laurie, it’s even more grabby and touching than your military career! Just as a sidebar, I’d love to know if anything vaguely ‘weird’ happened whilst you were ‘in the army now’? Sometimes it seems when our own lives are stretched to extremes, something connects in another ‘realm’.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      This is good to hear Caron. Weird? Well I think the ball lightning hanging over my head could be classed as weird. That type of lightning is odd at the best of times. I did my very first card reading in the army. Other than that no. I blundered through life like most people and lived each day as it came with no real thought for the future. If only I knew what I know now, sigh.

      Like

      Reply
  5. hitandrun1964

    You didn’t show up on my Reader again, just for your info. Another great post:) It’s amazing, the things you can do and see. I look forward to each post. Seems that for many, life is about power…over others…over children, people who trust you (Guru) hitchers. Someone always wants something. Torturing kids because they can…driver…demanding, in one way or another, that people look at you before speaking or moving. Blah. Sad. 😦 At least you help people.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It can be a terrible world indeed Gigi, there are so many people who desire control over others. It does show their lack of humanity though. You only have to look at the Jones Town massacre. 😦

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    This was a quite fascinating read, Laurie. Both parts of the post. It was kind of “scary” in a way to read about Rodney and Sadie… She must have been very subtle in “steering him” if he accepted it like this. 🙂
    I hope Tiffany got some help!
    And the “ring-event” was quite interesting – but for some reason not too surprising, if one read all the stories from your work so far. 🙂
    I love the way you write! It feels like I’m kind of “next to you” and experience it with you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, it is scary when you realise that there are so many manipulative people out there. Sadie had him by the balls. She oozed sexuality and reminded me of a real Earth Mother. No he had too much to lose if he tried to push her too far. 🙂 The ring blew me away, mainly because of the manoeuvring of spirit required to get us there and in that exact car space at that exact time. So, you’re the one peering over my shoulder. 😉
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        *chuckle*. I think I’m more “peering” around you…. LOL
        Felt, that, didn’t you? 😉

        Like

  7. suzjones

    Interesting once again Laurie. Reading from my phone since no wifi access. I knew you would have a post this morning so checked in. Take care.

    Like

    Reply
  8. davidprosser

    I envy you the peace you’ve been able to bring to both people and spirit though I’m not naive enough to think there hasn’t been a price to pay perhaps in your health. I’m still asking you to take care of yourself please.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The price I paid was my first marriage David, it was in effect the very thing I needed to propel me out of it and into some happiness. Look, one can put more of the self into the whole medium/healing game and if you don’t watch yourself then it can be overdone. My health both mental and physical had been on the edge since I came home from Vietnam. Life conspires and it makes you take stock of things and if you don’t look or take notice it pushes you further. It pushed me to the brink of my existence before I stopped and looked at where I was heading. Then I began a journey of mental/emotional pain that changed my whole life. It began 14 years ago and I’m finally in a place where I feel happy with my life.
      Hugs to you David.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

