A bit rushed at The Writer’s Room.

Life has been a little hectic this week and I haven’t had a lot of time to organise things, so I threw a few pics together. This is a flower from a tree locally known as a powder puff. The bee was far too busy to bother about lifting its head for a pose.bee and flower

We pass this old barn on the way home, so I decided to take a pic the other day and turn it into a drawing. There are a few deer at the fence.old barn

Another statue in Anzac Square, Brisbane. This one is in memory of the Nurses who served in WW2. war memorial

This little bloke was quite happy to have his picture taken in Newcastle last year.schnauser

A colourful assortment of waterfowl at Lake Apex, Gatton on Thursday morning. It was a cold morning but it didn’t deter this lot from coming for bread. I like the Purple Water Hens, they add a splash of colour.ducks

Nature isn’t subtle in its display of floral abundance.succulent flower

Joey is checking out his blade of grass before chewing on it.wallaby

What can I say? It’s a beautiful rose.rose

This is Siobhan, a friend’s daughter. We were visiting yesterday and I convinced her to be a model for the afternoon. So we tried for that wintry, windy look. I think it works.Siobhan

That’s all I have for this week, I hope you enjoy and remember the pictures look better opened in a new tab or window,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

55 thoughts on “A bit rushed at The Writer’s Room.

      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’m a man of mystery Michael.😉 Actually I just love taking photos, especially of people. They’re so interesting, then it’s animals, flowers, landscapes oh and macros.

        Like

      2. thisisnotbangkok

        Got it. Very impressive. Actually I have another photo that I think you will like and should be easy to put a title and caption on. Do you have time? Can I email it to you???

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you. I’m very happy with the pic of Siobhan. I like to get a person in now it adds something I think. Joeys are always adorable. I never tire of their cuteness.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. kelihasablog

    What great photos Laurie! I love the joey, but that’s cuz I’m partial, and the barn is “right up my alley”. Your photo of your friend’s daughter is fabulous!!! I know you both have to be pleased with that one!😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, yes Joey is cute, the little poseur. I finally stopped and took a pic of the barn, it’s been there a long time. I’m very happy with the pic of Siobhan, so is she just quietly.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I think Siobhan is Irish, then again Gaelic would work for Scotland too. Don’t worry, there are plenty of Scots/Irish descendants out here.🙂

        Like

  2. nataliescarberry

    And a lovely assortment it was! Especially loved the red fluffy flower with the bee. And of course the roos are always a welcome sight. I hope you catch up this week so you don’t feel so rushed. Hugs, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie, it’s just one thing after another lately. I love getting flowers and bees together. I have to think of the Roo fans, that little bloke was so engrossed in his piece of grass. Until next time, Hugs to you,
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      There, I’ve introduced someone to a new bird. They are a beautiful bird and spend their time plodding around the water’s edge. They seem to be more purple at this time of year too.

      Like

      Reply
  3. olganm

    Hi Laurie. Great pics. You always manage to find some flower I’ve never seen before. And I love the hens…I’m going through my purple phase so…

    Like

    Reply
  4. suzjones

    I notice you had the wind yesterday as well (from the photo of Siobhan). We got home to it and then we were blamed for bringing the weather with us lol Love your photo of the matchstick flower as well. I spotted this morning that ours were blooming also.
    I noticed you didn’t do your usual Wednesday post and was hoping all was well with you. Glad you are just busy and there is nothing ailing you.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Oh, we definitely got the wind alright. The birds were flying backwards to keep their bums warm. So that’s what they call those flowers. Good. The bees love them. No I haven’t done the Wednesday post for a little while. I’ve been busy and then ailing a little and good again. I come good when I have the camera in hand though.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I love having the camera in my hand and then when I get home and look at the photos I’ve taken, the wind goes from my sails. lol
        I’m glad you’ve found something to keep you on the right track.

        Like

  5. Raani York

    Another week full of beautiful Laurie – pictures and me having a hard time choosing – again. But finally I made my choice. This time my favorite is the statue of the nurse in Brisbane. It’s beautiful and so “real”. I’m deeply touched and impressed by it!
    Just out of curiosity. You know I love all the pictures you take Laurie – and mostly I chose animal pictures as my favorites. I nearly chose the “powder puff” flower with the insect… except that I tried to look and look and stare at this insect – and I’m nearly convinced it’s a wasp, not a bee… at least to me it looks kind of “naked” for a bee…
    Uhm… maybe in Australia bees ARE naked…?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, I just love it that I can keep the standards up as far as making it difficult for you.😉 It’s good to see a statue commemorating women in the service. It’s definitely a bee Raani. He immersed himself in the powder puff and went to work with a vengeance. Because the flower is so soft with all those tendrils he just went in. Not naked, well not that naked.😉

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia. The deer were an afterthought there, it was more about the barn, hence the post title. I’ve been a busy bee this week. I can’t go wrong with cute joeys😉

      Like

      Reply
  6. davidprosser

    Great pictures Laurie. I guess the rifle in the memorial would be useful for shooting your PM before he says anything else daft.
    That’s a great drawing converted but the deer are a bit difficult to see, blending in as they do.
    The water hens are fantastic, they look as though they’re on parade and a crowd just walked through them. Your model is excellent and you made it look like Winter perfectly.
    All the best Laurie
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. You could probably thump him with it.🙂 The barn was more about the barn, I threw the pics together last night. The deer do what they do best, blend. The hens are very bright and yes a parade is about right, or maybe more of a bread line. It didn’t take much effort to make it look wintry, there was a gale blowing and it was about 10 deg Celsius. hugs back at ya David.
      ps, I’ll get to answering your last message soonest.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    I love the powder puff! We have them and bottle brushes here. The barn “drawing” is very picturesque; the joey is cute; and I like the memorials you have there. And the wintry, windy portrait is lovely; she could be a model for a book cover.

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

