It’s bare at The Writer’s Room.

I took this in Ipswich yesterday, it’s outside a house near the hospital. For those who don’t know, all the orange is a Pyrestega vine. Hint, never grow one near where you run horses, they’ll eat all the flowers.garden ornament

This is Serafina, a friend’s cat. She spends an inordinate amount of time sleeping on top of cupboards or sitting on windowsills. She has cute down to a fine art. The cat that is.🙂black cat

Yes, I’m desperate for subjects to photograph, this is a small plate.fish

This magpie was sunning himself out front of the dental surgery last week. It was a cool day and he sat there while I took my camera out. I think the rock was warm.Magpie

A display using split rail fence posts in a friend’s garden.garden

We had a few frosts last week, I took this on the way to the front gate to put the rubbish bins out.dam

I’ve featured a Glossy Ibis before, this is the female I think.Glossy Ibis

Yes, we’ve seen a Miner Bird here before but I thought his feathers looked good in this one. He’d chased the Rosellas away by the time I neared the tree so I took him instead.Miner Bird

A couple of views in Boonoo Boonoo National Park. I like the white branch coming out of the water, somewhat skeletal. All the time I was there, I took a few photos around this lake, the feeling of being watched was overwhelming.forest

I think it’s a Red Necked Wallaby, they haven’t featured on my posts at all because this is the first one that’s come anywhere near the house. They’re very easily spooked and she took off after I took the shot. I’ve seen a couple on the road near the front gate.wallaby

I featured Jorja after Christmas last year. She has a classic face that is a pleasure to photograph.portrait

That’s all for this week, I’ll have to hit the streets again to get some diversity for future posts. So until next week,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

32 thoughts on “It’s bare at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    It is said that the wildlife of San Diego County is among the richest in the nation but where they are when I’m out taking pictures is beyond me. Maybe they mean in terms of money instead of diversity……..hmmmmmmm…………..LOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Perhaps they all have credit cards Russel and they’re at the teller machine when you turn up.😉 Thank you so much for camping at my place. I appreciate it.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I think I am Laurie. I want to put up the best of what I take and I’m very critical with my work. The main thing though is I like putting up a variety. That cat is so cute, she spends most of her waking time posing.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Mary, I like to keep it personal. Although a picture is worth a thousand words, you sometimes need a few more words. I’m glad you’re along for the walk.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Wordifull Melanie

    Not bare at all! Lovely lot🙂 Now some favorites…the cat is adorable as is the Red Necked Wallaby, the Miner Bird looks as if he is up to know good!

    The photos from the National Park…both the lake pic and the forest….amazing that you can get a sense of foreboding in a photograph.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie. I hope to get more of the red necked wallaby, they’re photogenic, when they stay still that is.🙂
      The Miner birds are bloody cheeky at the best of times. I think he was mocking me. You’ll be amazed by what one can pick up through holding or looking at a photo. it’s a connection to the place. Plus the area is just so, I don’t know creepy. It watches you, something strange is there and I felt its displeasure by daring to sit there for a moment.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Yves. I think there’s something ancient lurking throughout that park. I know when someone in spirit is watching, or nearby. But this different, it made me feel as if I were trespassing on its turf, not of human origin.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pagadan

    Loved the colors in the flowering vine photo, Serafina, the fence posts in the garden, the glossy ibis (ours are white), and Jorja. And the skeletal white branch. Interesting variety.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I put that wheel/flowers pic through the art program Joy. Oh my, didn’t it turn out beautiful. Our Ibis’ are white too, this one is special. I love the colours on it. I always go for variety Joy, it certainly makes it different.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. nataliescarberry

    Oh I would hardly say the writer’s room was bare. Looks like you found some very nice photos in there, mister. I loved all of them. It’s so hard to wrap my head around the fact that you’re dealing with frost since we’ve been in the triple digits this last week. Keep the home fires going, Laurence, and stay warm. It’s always good to hear from you and get a look at your world through your photos. Love and hugs and cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It felt bare Natalie.😦 I had to dig deep this week. Well down south they’ve had blizzards in the Snowy Mountains. Two snowboarders were killed in an avalanche. Up here in sunny Queensland we have very strong westerly winds. That’s when we know winter is really here. It’s certainly fresh. My fire is definitely burning, it’s a glass fronted wood burner and we have a huge amount of wood to use. It’s always great to hear from you too Natalie, I do like our little conversations. Love, hugs and cheers right back at you.
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. ytaba36

    As usual, you’ve satisfied all your followers! I really liked the way the split rail fence posts were used. I’ll have to have some duplicates made of concrete, to stymie the white ants!

    The water in the dam looks, umm, dam’ cold!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That’s me Yvonne, Mr Satisfaction.😉 Those rails do look good. I guess you could give the bottoms a good soaking in creosote though. Yes that water was cold. There were a couple of ducks out of view sitting on the frost rather than paddling in the water.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    Beautiful pictures again Laurie. This weeks favorite of mine is the kitty cat. (don’t tell me it surprises you. LOL)
    She strongly reminds of my cat Cherie who passed away a couple years ago.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. I could have put anything up and the cat would’ve won.🙂 She’s a lovely kitty though, and like most princesses she’s high maintenance.

      Like

      Reply
  7. suzjones

    Oh, that glossy Ibis is just gorgeous. So much nicer than the general run of the mill ones that are everywhere these days.
    You are so lucky to get Serafina to sit still. Every time the Diva sees me with a camera she thinks it’s time to check out what I’m doing.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It is Suz, if you look at my page you’ll see it’s mate on my about me photo. Serafina is just a media tart. They definitely want to play with the camera though.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

