Is it time for The Writer’s Room again?

I call this Sunrise Roo, for obvious reasons. I leapt out of bed the other morning and took a look out the back door and there she was. A mad scramble for the camera, carefully open the door and viola. I wonder if they look at the beauty of a sunrise the same way we do?sunrise Roo

Happiness is a flower, a Dahlia to be precise.Dahlia

I thought Peeking Duck would be an apt title for this male Wood Duck. I sat out on the veranda waiting for the wallabies to come up and he kept running back and forth just over the embankment.Duck

Taken out in the front yard after I snapped Sunrise Roo. We actually had a wee drop of rain too.hills

Another early morning visitor is this beautiful Kookaburra. He usually sits in a tree down from the house. I watched him swoop on something in the grass, then he came up nearer the house. The sun gently kisses his feathers and makes them shine.Kookaburra

Another early morning visitor is Jack Frost. In last week’s post I showed you the dam with a little frost around the place. This is where I was heading, the front gate to put the bins out. The horses were miserable, they expect food when they see a car.froty morning

Sick of taking pics other people’s flowers I decided to shock Lorelle and buy some plants. This pansy looked to be a good subject with a few raindrops on its petals. (No, I didn’t water them) The two on the right are the same but the lighting is slightly different. You’ll get the full effect if you open it in a new tab.pansies

If you wait long enough they’ll stretch and scratch and pull faces.Wallaby

I shot these roses on my walk around by the hospital last week.roses

Luscious, is the way to describe this petunia.petunia

This house is on Denmark Hill around from the hospital. It’s a great example of a colonial dwelling. Could do with a good coat of paint too.house

This is my favourite, another pansy and those raindrops look like diamonds. Nature can be generous giving us delightful little things to wonder at.pansy

Well, that’s it for another week, something a little different to be sure. I hope you enjoy viewing my offerings as much as I do sharing them. Until next week,
Cheers
Laurie.

42 thoughts on “Is it time for The Writer’s Room again?

  1. Wordifull Melanie

    Love this bunch Laurie! The dahlia looks like it is carved out of pink wax, the sunrise roo…well you know how beautiful that is!

    Oh and by the way i love your descriptions, especially when a little poetry sneaks in unannounced🙂 Sigh
    ” The sun gently kisses his feathers and makes them shine”

    Like

    Reply
  2. Patricia Salamone

    Your veranda is a beautiful place for me. The beauty of your land and what lives there is amazing. Todays’ offerings are breathtaking. I of course enjoyed seeing the Roo or was it a Wallaby? It really doesn’t matter they are all gorgeous. The petals of the flowers are like velvet the colors can only be offered by Mother Nature, and then she drops bits is dew to enhance their beauty. Another great post Fratello.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I thought you might like another view from the veranda. It’s a bit dead looking at the moment though. It was a wallaby but it doesn’t matter, she was gorgeous. You may have guessed I enjoy taking pics of flowers.🙂 Thanks so much for dropping by Sorella.

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Well, hello, sir Laurence, it’s so good to see you and your world again!!! What a lovely offering of pictures you have this week. As I roll through you photos every time you post some, I’m always looking for my favorite, but then when I get to the end, I think that they are all my favorites. But I did especially love the first one this week and the raindrops on your new flowers. It does pay to get up early, it has been hard for me for some time however. I had not been sleeping well for months, but I believe a neurologist has finally prescribed a med that is controlling my Restless Leg Syndrome. So I’ve actually slept through the night for over a week now and am getting up earlier. Both experiences have been very welcome answers to prayer. Thanks for you lovely offering today and as always your continued friendship. Hugs and cheers from Little Miss Sunshine. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      First thing, I’m glad you have found an answer to your health problem, there’s nothing worse than disturbed sleep and no answers. A good nights sleep is definitely a blessing. It’s also good to know that one’s pictures are so appreciated. Yes the sunrise roo has been popular. One of those opportunistic shots.🙂 I love taking close up pics. The way the sun shines through those raindrops, it makes them look like diamonds. Take care little miss sunshine.
      Cheers
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pagadan

    Lovely respite from working online, Laurie. My favorite is the Sunrise Roo, followed by your front yard vista–so inviting–and the house on the hill. I enjoyed the birds–especially the Peeking Duck ’cause it’s so perfectly balanced–and the flowers–I love flowers–but I really enjoy vistas and old buildings (more character).

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I must really make your day Joy. It’s great to see that you enjoy my offerings here. It seems I have the perfect formula here for you. Thanks so much for dropping in Joy.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. hitandrun1964

    Wow! These are truly beautiful. Your favorite flower is my favorite flower as well. Are those your horses…I’m not sure, from what you wrote? These are so wonderful. I’ve looked through them several times already. I love them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Gigi. Pansies are such happy flowers.🙂 They’re not our horses, they belong to a fellow down the road, he keeps his mares in foal up here and some of his geldings. they’re doing a wonderful job keeping the grass down. I’m glad you like my offerings for the week.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. suzjones

    A beautiful sunrise shot my friend. And the house on Denmark Hill is awesome. It was a lot of fun living up there you know.🙂
    We haven’t had much frost here but we live on a hill. I have noticed that some of the taller plants around the pool are quite brown though so maybe a light frost got them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you so much Suz. What was the old address again? We’re on a hill too but last week we had frost on the lawn, brrr. I think the frost might have bitten your plants.😦

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I think it was 47 Waghorn. Just up from the park and guide hut (if that is still there). On the right hand side of the road as you go up toward the water tower.

        Like

      2. suzjones

        I’m not 100% sure it was 47. I would have to drive up the street myself to be sure. I’m sure I’ve gotten rid of anything with the address on it by now though.

        Like

  7. Raani York

    Okay Laurie. Here another post with pictures I have to chose my favorite from – and today I just cannot decide. I’ve got two favorites: The “Sunrise Roo” and the Kookaburra. Both pictures are very special and touch me in a special way.
    Thanks for sharing them!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I don’t know if I can make it any harder for you to choose pics Raani.😉 I’m so glad you’ve picked your faves again. The Roo is wistful and the kookaburra is just plain beautiful. I’m always happy to share them with you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  8. talain45

    Good afternoon Laurie. Another lovely post from the Writer’s Room. A very nice collection of beautiful images and sort stories. The Sunrise Roo is an extraordinary image, I’m glad that you managed to get your camera in time too capture it. In the mornings around my home I’ve knottiest that the Robins will sing more and longer on a colorful morning versing a foggy or over casted morning. They are more in tune with the nature then we are but it still romance the question if they perceive the beauty the same way we do. I would like to think that they do. Love the wide openness of your front yard looking into the distance. Very aw inspiring you lucky devil. I hear you with taking picture of other peoples flowers. Watering them made for some really great shoots. Things are well hear and doing good. planning my nested adventure hopefully very soon. Hope that you are taking good care of your self and all and that lovely angel of a wife. Gods speed, Michael🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      G’day Michael, thanks for dropping by and viewing my posts, I really appreciate it. I do like the Roo, she has a certain wistful air about her. True, there’s not too much to sing about when the weather is socked in and you can’t see. I guess in their own way they may see something in the beauty but I’d go with the ever watchful animal that is thinking about survival. the front yard has a million dollar view and it changes so quickly, I love it when the storms come through. We’re lucky alright, everyone who visits comments on the view and the peace and quiet. Before I took ill in 2011 I had some good flower gardens going here, this is the first time I’ve put flower out since. I’m glad to hear that all is well at your place. I hope all goes well with your next adventure, have camera will travel.🙂 I’m doing the best I can at taking care of myself and I’m always taking care of my Lorelle.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  9. davidprosser

    A great selection of really top photographs Laurie. I always enjoy the animal shots but I have a soft spot for kookaburras. That one’s a gem. You caught the pansies just right too after the rain.
    Great to catch your post. Keep well please.
    Hugs ( manly of course).

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you so much David, I try to give a lot of thought to what I put up. Kookaburras are a delight and if you want to take the pic and make a drawing for Rueben please do. It would be a little present from me to him. I became quite excited when I saw the drops on those flowers.🙂
      Keeping quite well actually thanks. Huge manly hugs back at you David.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia, sometimes the early morning sneaky shots turn out okay.🙂 I took the flowers with my 500mm lens on a tripod. Had to get about 7 feet away but it takes a good shot now and then. Every time I go to take a close up of flowers the wind comes up.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Patrons of the Pit

    Wow, some great photos this time, Laurie. Well done, Sir. Some days a bloke get’s lucky huh? That sunrise roo is just awesome, likewise with the wood duck. My two favorite shots.

    Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks very much guys. it pays to get out of bed early some mornings. There is something winsome about the Roo although the duck is cheeky. Good to see you again. I’ll be over to your page later today.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

