What a collection from The Writer’s Room.

This is what’s called ‘in camera’ art. The only thing I did to this post production was to level it up. The subject is a Poinciana bush in the front yard. How do you do it? Easy, I set the shutter speed to 1 second, focused at the top of the bush, pressed the shutter button and moved the camera down releasing the button  when I reached the bottom. Viola! Something arty.camera art

Two looks at the one scene. We’ve had some heavy mists lately so I thought why not do a comparison shot. The monochrome looks a little eerie but the colour has more body to the mist. Yes, there are two kangaroos in there.views from the house

I do like flowers. A little collection from my wanderings around the place.flowers

I know, ducks again but they have babies.ducks

Lorelle couldn’t escape my happy snapping in a park at Toowoomba.Toowoomba

Same park but around the corner from the above pic.Toowoomba park

Some impressive street art in Brisbane.street art, Brisbane

Two views of the inside of the house from last week’s post. Monochrome adds a little mystery.old windows

Here’s a few more. I thought the dark, gloomy look gives it a certain street appeal. The piece of briar growing into the wall is indicative of the house’s condition. I made everything sepia except the vine and a tiny piece of leaf. There are plenty of bottles and such lying around. I do like the face on the book cover staring out from under the rubbish. I played with the door picture a little, making the background more mysterious and highlighting the doorknob and surrounding timber. The bolt is sticking out from the front veranda. I left it be and applied sepia to the timber.old house

Finally a view of the sky off to the left of the house. The dead shrubbery is Lantana.sky

That’s your lot for this week. I’m off to format my River of Death manuscript for the printer and put a spine and back cover on it for tomorrow afternoon. (Friday) I hope you’ve enjoyed the offerings today. See you next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

42 thoughts on “What a collection from The Writer’s Room.

  1. mindlovemisery

    I love this Laurie especially those adorable ducks because I am sucker for cute things. I would Tweet this but I am locked out of my Twitter account and I think it is probably permanent

    Like

    Reply
      1. mindlovemisery

        I don’t know Laurie. I tried to share a tweet as I often do when I find something on WordPress I like and it said I’d been locked out of my account because of suspicious activity and to check my email for instructions. The instructions said I’d been locked out of my account and needed to reset my password. But when I click to reset my password the email never comes (its been 2 days) and I can’t ask questions on Twitter/contact help because I have been locked out. Unless I can reset my password I will never be able to unlock my account and the reset doesn’t work so I am at a total loss. This goes beyond my technological prowess. I only have one email address so I don’t know that I could even make another account.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You have been un-tweeted. that’s not a good thing. Get a new email address from google mail and do it that way. There’s always a way around most problems.

        Like

  2. Patricia Salamone

    Another beautiful offering Fratello. The ducks remind me of the new addition to our family. Yesterday we were blessed with another new addition. My sister’s daughter Patricia (yes, she was named after me :o).) made me a Great Aunt again, Ethan Paul, he is a beauty. Your photo’s are always amazing.
    Still unpacking, but getting there and always looking forward to your posts. :o)
    Great success with your new book. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella. So you had another hatching in the family? Congratulations. How’s Mike’s back doing? I’m glad to have brightened your day and don’t overdo it on the unpacking, there’s always tomorrow.🙂 Thanks for the kind thoughts on my book, it’s at the printers right now.😉
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Loved the abstract feel of the first one! But then there were the two of the mists, and then the ducks and on and on it goes. Again I started thinking I’d have a favorite but then each one had it’s own special feel. Another great collage of your talents, Laurence. I pray that you have a splendiferous weekend! Hugs, love, cheers, and blessings, Mein Sage. LMS 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie. I think that style would make a great wall hanging. I know, they just get better and better.😉 A splendiferous weekend indeed LMS, I’ll be preparing cards and book marks for my book talk and launch on the 19th. There’s no rest for the wicked you know. Mein Sage, or perhaps, Herr Herb? Love and hugs,
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Oh I like Herr Herb too! I pray your weekend went well and that you got you cards and book marks finished and that your book launch is very successful! Love and hugs, LMS

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It has a ring to it Natalie.🙂 My weekend was a little frantic but I now have my book at the printers and have received a proof copy of it and the cover. I managed to get the artwork together for the bookmarks, 6 foot banner and post cards featuring the covers of my three books so far. I’m looking forward to the 19th LMS.
        Love and hugs,
        Laurie.

        Like

  4. Pagadan

    So many beautiful and interesting photos! My favorite is the poinciana ’cause I love the colors and shadings. And the magnificent tree with Lorelle, and, and, … Oh, and the flowers, especially the two on the right that look like same kind but in different shades.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy. Thank you. I thought I’d try something different with the Poinciana, it’s interesting if nothing else. That’s a big tree, it needed Lorelle there to show how big it was. The two flowers are gazanias. When the sun goes in they close up their petals.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    So beautiful, your collection, Laurie. Today I found it a little easier to pick my favorite. It’s Lorelle under the tree. What a beautiful picture!! Love it!!🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. Raani York

        She’s a perfect Model in my eyes and makes this picture not only beautiful but exclusive and unique!

        Like

  6. suzjones

    I’m thinking David needs to clean his glasses again although he had me going back for another look. Gandalf would in fact be a tree I believe. Did you have some netting or something on it to protect it?
    The colour of the tree in the park in Toowoomba is delightful. I love autumn colours even if the tree hasn’t realised that it is winter now. And you will always win my heart with flowers. lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I think David may have been talking about the little shrub in the right foreground. It has a rain gauge and such there. The weather’s a bit iffy around the place, so I guess nobody told the tree. It’s a bigun. I love taking pics of flowers, especially gazanias and roses.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        That’s the one I thought he meant. It looks as if you have had a frost cover or something on it that has fallen from it. Gazanias are such happy flowers. We had some at the last place we lived in and I have photos of them. Roses…. well I have lots of photos of roses.🙂

        Like

  7. olganm

    Great pics. Love the house pictures although after reading David comment I had to have a look and now I’m also seeing things. Good luck with the book and keeps us posted (I’m planning on doing some posts about the books of my favourite author-blogger friends and you’re in the list so…)🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, it’s amazing what you can see when you start looking. Thanks, I took the artwork into the printer today after a monumental stuff up through all of Thursday and into this morning. Nothing wanted to work for me. sigh. Thanks for putting me on the list.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  8. davidprosser

    Some fantastic pictures again Laurie. Ducks are always welcome and the flowers are magnificent. When I first opened the post I had to dash off to the lounge to clean my specs only to find out they’re fine, it must be my eyes that are wonky.
    I only have one complaint (again) I’m sure you’re trying to scare the bejezus out of me. Last week you had me seeing a face in a picture, this week you do two pictures, one in b&w and it’s twin in colour. I can’t see any Kangaroos but I swear about three quarters of the way across walking along a path is Gandalf or someone very like him in a cloak.
    Bump me off and I’m coming to haunt you!
    Keep well matey.
    Hugs of the manly variety said in a very deep voice.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. The Roos are there, one at the right of the little dam and one on the left and further down. Bit hard to see. That Gandalf is a mixture of a small shrub, a ceramic head and a rain gauge. So your glassed and eyes are fine. I’ll have to see what else I can find to get your heart going.
      Even more huge hugs back at you matey.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

