A blatant plug and some pics at The Writer’s Room.

It is the writer’s room so I must have a blatant plug for my books now and then.πŸ™‚ This is what my foldout banner will look like and it will stand at about 6 foot. Instead of doing one for each book we decided that putting all five on would be the way to go. River of Death is the latest release. Cape is finished and is in the process of being edited andΒ Bay is about half way through being written. Hence I don’t have artwork for the covers yet. I have bookmarks and postcards with the book covers on for those who will want to buy eBooks on the day. The blurb for each book is on the reverse and it’s printed out just like a real postcard.

banner for death series
It’s been a rough week so I’ve resorted to doing a little art on some pictures.Peacock painting

I dug this one out of the old computer. Luna Park in Sydney right on the harbour. Taken in 2005 on my Kodak Easy Share camera. The entry to the fun park is right under the teeth.Luna Park, Sydney

Reflections in a car park. reflection

Beautiful homes in Newcastle, New South Wales, given the old artistic reworking.newcastle, Sydney

It looks like the red flower is trying to photo bomb the rose. ‘Hey, you, yes you the rose move over.’yellow rose

You stop the car at your peril here at the Smith’s place. The horses believe that food will magically appear from inside and they try to mug you.horse in mirror

An update on the little wild deer herd that lives down the road, they have babies.red deer

This mob didn’t seem to fazed when I stopped on the way to the house to pick up some kindling. I like the one scratching himself at the back. he’s saying to the one sniffing him, ‘No, up here, it itches up here.’kangaroos

This portrait hangs in an old stone house turned cafΓ© at Silverton, near Broken Hill, New South Wales. I took it with the Kodak Easy Share. What attracted me to the picture? Her eyes actually. She looks neither happy nor sad and appears to have been photographed at a wedding. Her dress has faint pink tinges to it and the flowers in the basket are a giveaway. The frame is silky oak and beautifully made, especially with the artistic cut-outs. She must have been a well-loved child of wealthy parents I think. The area boomed in the late 1800’s until the silver ran out, and it would have been quite expensive to produce and frame such a large photo.Β The frameΒ would have to be about 2×3 feet. I love old photos and can look at them for hours. It feels to me that a part of them is looking back at you.portrait of girl.

That’s it for this week, I’ll endeavour to liven things up again next week. Until then, take care.
Cheers,
Laurie.

 

54 thoughts on “A blatant plug and some pics at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron. I found that girl’s picture somewhat haunting and beautiful. That puddle was one of those, ‘Walking past a puddle and oh, that look good’ snap.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  1. John Holt

    Hi Laurie – a great page, and some great pictures. I wish I knew how to set up a blog, but I wouldn’t know where to start. For some of my books I have prepared business cards (the front cover, and on the rear the book blurb). I hand them out wherever and whenever I can. Mind give the postcard idea a look. Wish you well

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks John, I appreciate it. It’s easy with WordPress, there’s plenty of instruction and support and you learn as you go. The only thing you can’t do on it is sell products from the page. But you can link to where your books are etc. I’m hoping the postcards work, fingers crossed.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. olganm

    FAbulous pics…. If you don’t mind I’ll borrow the banner for the post I’m preparing about your books. I read about a company that created something similar to your cards that could be sold in a bookshop with a code for the e-book so if you wanted to give somebody an e-book as a present you could also give them something tangible. Not sure how well they are doing although the company was from Barcelona… Must try and check…

    Like

    Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Hey, I thought this was a great post and am amazed that you managed it as busy as you have been. Not to mention being cafeine deprived for 3 days and going through that awful surgery.
    My first digital camera was a Kodak Easy Share. After my husband saw some of my photos he insisted I should have a better digital camera. So he bought me my Nikon D80 and it does take much better photos. But it’s sure not small enough to put in my pocket like my Kodak was.
    I pray you have had some coffee by now and are looking at a more restful weekend. I pray also that your new book does very well. We are in the nasty heat of August now and I am envious of your coolness. Love and hugs, Mein Sage of Australia, LMS πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Natalie, oh I savoured my first coffee, bliss.πŸ™‚ I shouldn’t have been such a cheapskate and bought a decent DSLR to begin with years ago. That’s the only thing wrong with them, the size. But I enjoy using it. thanks for the good wishes re, book sales. Yes, we’re enjoying the cooler weather. There’s been a lot of snow down south, with some bad weather to boot. Okay LMS we’ll talk soon.
      Love and Hugs.
      Herr Herb.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pagadan

    Good idea for combining the books on the banner, and it looks beautiful! I enjoyed all the photos, especially the two flowers, the horse in the mirror (perfect shot), and the portrait.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s great Joy, I picked it up from the printers this morning. I’m glad you enjoyed this week’s offerings, it was a rush job. Did you like what I wrote on the mirror?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Ms. Vee

        I do too. I’m still reading your book. I have devote more time to reading in the winter. After all it’s to cold to be outside.πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Ms. Vee

        Hmmmm, I wasn’t going there! But that is so true. I think I’ll have to get a warm up book. Maybe I’ll re-read Fifty Shades Of Grey. LOLπŸ™‚

        Like

  5. Raani York

    The foldout banner looks fantastic Laurie!! I’m so curious about your next books!! – And this week I love the bird the most.πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, I picked it up today and it’s, WOW! I will be updating my Death Series page on the blog to give readers an idea about what they’re in for. Yes the peacock is nice, with all that colour.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  6. davidprosser

    The foldout banner looks fantastic. A great idea to have all the books on it to entice someone to buy them all at once.
    As always I love the pictures. Like you I adore old photographs and have great fun with a trunk full I have. One minor worry, at the back of a family album is a picture of about 6 dwarf couples and I’m not sure why- they’re all in evening dress too.
    The beautiful picture of the little girl reminds me more of the Catholic Confirmation pictures where the girls are supposed to be Brides of Christ or something to prepare them should they ever take the veil?
    Hope the mouth is getting better.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, I think it is and less expensive than hiring a snake dancer or stripper.πŸ™‚ Hmm, that would be a real mystery with the dwarf couples. I couldn’t help myself, I’d have to do some digging on that one. Look, I was thinking about the whole confirmation thing and you may be right. The only thing that made me pause was the pink on the dress. I know they added colour in those days, however it may well have been a confirmation and they added the colour afterwards.
      The mouth is feeling much better thanks Mate, I only look like a squirrel this morning.πŸ™‚
      Manly hugs (watch the face)
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. SalvaVenia

    BTW, I tried to order via Amazon, but they told me: order from Germany not possible. Any idea how I could obtain hardcopies of your books from over here? May be I could order directly from the publisher without being charged thousands upon thousands for shipping costs? πŸ™‚ Any advice is highly appreciated.

    Greetings,
    Salva

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Salva, I only have the books available as eBooks overseas. As you say it costs a lot of money to ship hard copies. 18 euros for the book and 20 euros in postage, compared to 1.73 euros for an eBook.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. SalvaVenia

        Whow … By chance I inquired from our local post-office about surface mail to Australia – et voila – no problem, although it might take up to eight (8) weeks … πŸ™‚

        How many books did you already publish in that “Death-Series”? I think I should order all of them to be dispatched in one single parcel to save at least some costs?

        Happy greetings from the other side of the world,
        Salva

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Hi Salva. I’m going into town in the morning, so I will check with the post office to make sure that they will send by sea. I’ll take a book in and get it weighed, then work out the costs into euros. I have three books in the series so far. Book three is being printed now and will be ready for my book promotion and talk on the 19th of this month. So I won’t be able to send anything until the 20th. When I have all the figures I will send the details to your email address.
        Thank you,
        Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. SalvaVenia

        You are very kind, indeed. πŸ™‚

        If the post won’t send it via surface mail, I’d accept that as well. And – being half-clever at least – I would wait for your next publication, of course. πŸ™‚

        Best regards,
        Salva

        Like

  8. thisisnotbangkok

    Love the postcards for the books. Great idea. You must be excited about them. The novels are a terrific body of work. A real accomplishment. Love the Luna Park pic. It’s like the giant face jumps out at us like a huge surreal mask in an otherwise normal cityscape. The reflections photo is my kind of picture: ordinary subject matter given an elusive twist. The Newcastle photo is perfectly framed. Great choice adding the artwork. I think each photo here can easily stand on its own. Great post βœ”βœ…βœ”

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I am Michael. I can put book codes on the back or gift codes. If people want the eBook then they have a cover to keep and an author’s signature. Luna park is certainly the place to photograph, it is odd. It was closed for years after several people died in a fire on, I think it was the ghost train. The reflection reminds me of gazing into another dimension. I like adding a little artwork, it breaks the post up and gives a twist to a photo.
      Thanks for the compliment Michael, much appreciated.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Great points. In a photo set, it’s nice to change things around a bit. Interesting story about Luna Park. It does look like it’s on the bizarre side. As for your book, love the idea of codes. Great marketing technique.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I hope it works as a marketing technique. A common complaint with eBook readers is they don’t get a book cover as such or an autograph. This should do the trick. I hope they work too, time will tell Michael…….

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        Gotcha. I don’t care about the book cover, just some alluring cover art and a by – line that captures my interest. Then I will download a free sample of the eBook. And if all is still going well, I will then buy it. Of course with yours, I go right to buy 🌞

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Some people are funny Michael, they want the eBook yet still hanker for the old ways too. You’re right, something to catch the eye and whet the appetite and you’re away. Why thanks Michael, a great compliment.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

