A Medium, or just well done? Melanie’s house and using dowsing rods.

The end of last week’s episode found me standing in the hall attached to Melanie’s house, sending out healing and white light. Most people can walk into a building where great suffering had taken place and not bat an eyelid. A psychic or someone who is sensitive to these things will feel every nuance of emotion and suffering. Naturally you don’t want to inflict all of these things on yourself so you deflect them. I usually say, ‘Thanks, I can feel what happened, now please take it away.’ Most of the time the feelings will go. It’s when the place has been inundated with suffering that you need to bring the heavyweights in, white light. I’ve spoken about it in earlier posts and all it entails is calling upon what you believe to be the most powerful, protective force in the universe. Then ‘see’ it as a white light pouring through the room/person. Dying is fraught with emotion, especially when it is drawn out. Fear, loss, regret, sadness and love all give off a feeling and it lingers where the person died. One of the calmest deaths I attended as a police officer was this one, the rest of the week.  Dying is even worse when it’s brutal. Each death leaves its own stamp on the environment and those who live there.
Back to the hall. Once I’d finished Melanie came back in with a glass of water for me. It’s easy to get dehydrated doing this work. She said, ‘So, is it clear now?’ – ‘I’m not so sure. Spirits can hide away, especially when they’re frightened.’ I pointed into the far corner, ‘I feel drawn over there so I’ll use my rods and see what comes up.’ Taking them out of my belt I hold them by the shorter end at a 90° angle to my body. I don’t grip them tightly, just enough so they don’t fall out of my hands. Before using them I ask a couple of yes/no questions and ask them to cross over for yes and go apart for no. If the question can’t be answered or it is ambivalent, the rods don’t move. So I try putting it another way. I’ll ask them to point at a person nearby to make sure they’re working with direction. Keeping my elbows locked to my side and holding my arms out I asked, ‘Are there still spirits in this room?’ The rods swung together with a click. Yes. ‘Cross over when I get to the number, one, two,’ – Yes. ‘Point in the direction of the first one.’ The rods flip around to the right and point at the last window. ‘Cross over when we reach the first spirit.’ I take about ten steps and they flick together. ‘Is this spirit male?’ – No. ‘Did this spirit die here?’ – No. I went on with the Q&A establishing that the spirit was that of a woman who died at a nearby farm in the early 1900’s, and was attracted to the hall when Melanie and her husband moved it there. Once there she felt frightened and stayed in the corner, even hiding from us. I couldn’t ‘see’ this woman at all but her presence was quite obvious. I asked for whoever was looking out for her to show her where the light was. After a few minutes I asked the rods to detect her and she’d gone. Standing back in the middle of the hall I started again and was directed by the rods to turn and go to the far left corner. There seemed to be a collection of strong emotional energies here. It turned out that they were the grief and sadness of a child’s parents. My belief is that every thought is. We think something and it’s out there, becoming part of the very air around us.
Yes, they’re my battered rods, I put the little sparkly bits on the end.

divining rods Melanie felt a little left out because she wasn’t aware of what was going on. She only had my word for the happenings. ‘Come on,’ I said, trying to sound cheery, ‘let’s have a look at the half house.’ – ‘Oh, now that place scares me.’ Once more into the breach I thought as we walked to the other end of the veranda. I could hear him before I reached the door, ‘Hey you, piss off, go on piss off.’ Now this sounded interesting along with the foot stomping coming from behind the door. Melanie stood behind me, biting at her thumb and whispered, ‘I hear him every night when I go to the loo. I think he watches me.’ Charming. I opened the door and said, ‘Okay Mate, you’re scaring the lady, it’s her house and you have to leave,’ total indifference, ‘what’s your problem, you don’t need to stay here?’ Footsteps. I moved into what was the lounge room but now it was being used as the TV room. A cold draft fluttered around us and Melanie stepped a little closer and said, ‘Bloody hell Laurie, can you feel him?’ – ‘Yes and he’s not pleasant.’ I didn’t use the rods at first, he kept moving around the room. The feeling came to me that he seemed annoyed by the new technology in what used to be his house. Besides being angry he gave off a strong feeling of fear. Stepping back I shut the door and led Melanie back to the kitchen and said, ‘I think it’s time for a cuppa tea. We’ll leave him to it for now and I’ll see what I can do from here.’
When it comes to things psychic, time and distance aren’t barriers. Spirit can be detected in a house from the other side of the world. While Melanie pottered in the kitchen I focused on the room again and asked for assistance. The usual, ‘Is anyone here in spirit for the man in the TV room?’ Silence, then an overpowering feeling of warmth and love. Hmm, someone’s here for him already. An elderly woman appeared in my mind’s eye and her presence filled the room. Mother Love. Yes it was his Mum. Melanie put some biscuits on the counter and a mug of tea and we talked about what had happened up till then. After dunking my last biscuit I decided it was time to go back to the room. Melanie opened the door and stood back, rods in hand I moved through the doorway and asked if the room was now free of the spirit. Clink! A resounding yes. I walked around and asked if there were anymore in the rest of this section. No. ‘Okay Melanie, everything is clear in the building now. I’ll go for a spin outside.’ – ‘What could be out there?’ What indeed?
The old road ran between the front of the house and their garage, an old barn. The house itself was high set and full of junk underneath. Bushland encroached on the property on three sides and I didn’t like the feeling that came from the roadway.  Ley lines, or energy lines are all over the place and usually run like grid lines on a map around the surface of the earth. In ancient times people would build their temples and sacred places on the junctions of these lines. Some junctions were more energised than others and often had water running underneath them. I have mapped the lines on our property and an east/west line runs through the centre of our house. Right through the healing room at the rear. I keep the healing table aligned with it. Back to Melanie. Standing in line with the centre of the old roadway I held up the rods and asked where the Ley lines ran. I moved one step forward and they swung back. Okay it runs down this way. Turning, I charted it and followed the rods under the house and they crossed over above a pair of garden ornaments, two Aboriginal warriors holding spears. Hmm, interesting. Going outside I asked a series of questions regarding any elemental influences, and if there were any remnants of Aboriginal ceremonies that may have been conducted here. Surprise surprise, I felt a strong elemental energy, ancient and extremely powerful. I believe that where people have spent a long time praying or indulging in ceremonies for good or bad, they leave their essence. It becomes a palpable, real thing. If we think of the earth as nothing more than a lump of rock, then we won’t be in tune with its many faceted self. The intricate energies of water, air, soil and vegetation, all part of the life force. When we put our thoughts and feelings into the mix then we have this invisible life happening around us. This is where divining rods come in handy.
Just to make sure about the statues I walked away, turned around and asked the rods to lead me to whatever was disturbing the flow of energy. Straight to the statues again. I called Melanie down and told her about them and how the energy line kept running under the house, ‘Oh we had them at our old house, hubby threw them here.’ – ‘Come outside and I’ll show you something.’ I went through the whole routine again, even going further away from the house and showing her another line that ran straight. Then back to the house, ‘How about this? We put a warrior on each side of the road, one at the front gate and the other over by the garage, facing each other.’ She gave me that look. I put them in place, walked about a hundred metres up the old road and started again. The rods stayed in a straight line for another hundred metres past the house. Melanie said, ‘So what are you saying, something was upset about a couple of old bits of plaster?’ – ‘I think it’s what they represented. Look, this is an old land, who knows what’s gone on here over time. All I do know is that something seemed a little upset with where they were, now they’re not.’ I thanked her for letting me visit and do my thing, she tried to pay me but I reckoned a cuppa and biscuits were enough.

So how do these rods work? They are the one thing that anyone can use whether they’re physic or not, with one proviso. They won’t work if you think it’s a load of crap, because you are then blocking off the link between you and the rods. People say that the rods respond to the person gripping them and making them move. Not in my experience. I believe they move independently by minute vibrations from the aura. It picks up on whatever question is asked and the rods move accordingly. I don’t use them for asking personal questions about myself or those close to me, because of the need to ‘get the right answer.’ In other words our desires override the rods to provide an answer we want. Many dowsers only use them for water and deny any link to the aura, claiming their rods are attracted to the water. Some rub metal elements on the ends to find that particular metal. You have to be specific with a question. I find it useful for dating events and getting names for people in spirit who aren’t forthcoming. With a person laying on my table I can check their aura for damage and their chakras to see if they’re functioning properly. Checking out houses for energy blockages, diagnosing sick pets, the list goes on.

A recent case. I write this blog between one Monday and the next, so this event occurred on Friday night just gone. Our nearest neighbours are half a kilometre away on each side, two kilometres away at the back and nothing for two at the front. We don’t get people walking up to the front door. I was typing away about the spirits in Melanie’s house and Lorelle was on Facebook when something slammed against the screen on the front door. We looked at each other thinking, kangaroo? I clambered out of my chair and walked down the hall, switched the front light on and opened the door. Nothing out there at all. I checked the fly-screen, nope. I thought it could have been a night-bird hitting the door, or a bat. Hmm, it would have to have been bloody big. With the fire on our house is a constant 24° Celsius, I walked back into the hallway near my writing room and the temperature dropped considerably. Hello, we have a visitor. I dug around in the healing room cupboard and found my spare rods, they’re aluminium and a little battered. I told Lorelle what was going on and returned to my room. Bam! Something hit the divider between the hallway and the room. Lorelle called out, ‘Was that you?’ – ‘No.’ Certainly not bats neither. Standing, holding the rods out I began my usual dialogue and came up with the spirit of a man in his eighties. It seems he had passed about 1955 and didn’t know he was dead. Sometimes when using the rods it can actually get the spirit to connect and talk, ‘Not dead, I’m not dead.’ Just what I needed another cranky old bloke in the house. I asked if anyone was present who could help. A big clink, yes. Apparently guides don’t go away and someone who I worked with in the 90’s was still around. I managed to convince the old bloke that someone was here and that if he went along he’d be fine. Gone. What a relief, the last thing I wanted was someone wandering around in the house all night.

Next week: It will be a case of wait and see.🙂

28 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Melanie’s house and using dowsing rods.

  1. Pingback: A Medium or just well done? Pyschic development course, part 2. | laurie27wsmith

  2. Wordifull Melanie

    I read both sections of this story today…WOW a lot going on on the other Melanie’s property… i think you did a lot for just a cuppa and a biscuit🙂 What a generous bloke🙂

    I’ve never heard of rods being used in this way…only for locating water…. but why not? Very interesting as always

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes, it was a busy place Melanie, it’s what you get with old homes. I work for food.🙂 It was a good experience for me and I enjoyed it, so a cuppa and biscuit is okay. The rods are extremely versatile. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I did eden, now it’s quite low key, oh except when they pop in at night.😉 It’s an interesting experience, they can get pushy at times, only because they’re in need of answers. A few times when I’ve woken up to go to the toilet, I’ve looked through to the lounge room and seen a soft glow coming from the TV. Enough to illuminate the room and there they are, a couple of hazy figures sitting on the sofa. I leave them to it.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. suzjones

    In the book E Squared there are experiments to encourage people to harness the field of potentiality. One of her experiments uses rods. I never actually completed all of the experiments though.

    Like

    Reply
  4. lifechange90

    Fascinating Laurie, as always, especially the rods… Tantalizing… Could be a way for someone starting out in developing psychic abilities to gain confidence in other areas as well…!
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
  5. CaronAllanAuthor

    Fascinating insight into the rods. Like most people I’ve heard of them used for finding water, but never before like this – it’s amazing. As always loving the human element too!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron. I thought if they can find water, well they can do just about anything else. I read about other people using them for all sorts of things and decided to give it a go.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    This was highly interesting, Laurie. I’m not really sure why I was surprised reading you were working with rods. I’m not sure why? Maybe because I heard about many people talking “bad” or “negative” about them… probably because they didn’t know how to properly use them…?
    I was once more fascinated! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. Look, I give everything a go, I don’t constrict myself because it sounds odd. (This isn’t aimed at you) It never fails to amaze me about people who talk about something being bad or negative when they’ve never taken the time to look at it. Anything out of their limited view of the world then becomes ‘evil.’ One day, when people take back their minds, think for themselves without fear and the pressure from those who want to control the masses – whether it be political or religious leaders, then we might move forward as the great spiritual beings that we are. Each and every one of us has great potential and powerful minds. Sadly we are led to believe that we are nothing without the intervention of those who purport to know what’s best for us. Rant over.😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Another wonderful post. Glad the last spirit came to visit before you were asleep. I suppose the older the place the more things like this happen. Melanie seemed to have so many things going on. Do the spirits see each other? Do they communicate?

    Like

    Reply
  8. davidprosser

    Many moons ago a colleague of mine used to be called by the Council department responsible for burials to dowse for water and pipes when new field was opened up. In many instances there were no records of pipes and there was no way to record water on the maps. Having been out a few times when he did it I can vouch for the fact it worked. His dowsing rods were also aluminium taken from an old coathanger.Since I had control of old O.S. maps at the time I could see he couldn’t have checked them first. I was fascinated the first time I saw the rods moved and then cross. Water courses could be diverted and pipes could be removed if not in use and avoided if they were.
    It’s amazing to read of you using them to dowse in this way though I fully accept they’d react to energy .
    All the best. Fascinating as always. Keep well
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      When I worked at the airbase David they used to call a ‘Pipe Finder’ in whenever they were doing construction. It was a father and son business, Dad used the divining rods and the son used a metal detector. They actually had a set of crossed rods on the side of the van. I spoke to the son and he said his dad was never wrong. You can imagine the amount of pipe and cables under an RAAF base in constant change since WW2. Your story is great confirmation for an art that is often referred to as bunkum. I like to push the boundaries in this work and see how far the human mind can expand to meet what’s out there. Thanks for the input David and big hugs at ya.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

