A bit of a rush at The Writer’s Room.

It’s been all go this week with getting ready for my Senior’s Week talk and book selling extravaganza. Hmm, maybe not that big but you know what I mean. So here are the offerings for the week. I wandered around the yard this morning and saw the colours in the clouds. Snap.sun flare

Buddha seemed happy in the morning shade surrounded by pansies.shadow buddha

The trees are quite big and tend to lose their branches in storms. This leaves plenty of openings for the local wildlife to hide in. Near a locality called Mutdapilly.eucalypts and dam

 This Joey decided to pose for me in front of the shrubbery.wallaby

All of these kangaroo pics were taken this week. I always take my camera when I go down to the front gate to put the rubbish out. This pair was fighting over some attractive female. The young Roo in the main pic gave me a pouty sort of look when I came out to take his pic. The joey is the same one in the above pic. I think it’s time she was weaned mum.kangaroos

I have a bad habit of not watching where I’m walking. I opened the screen door and there he sat. I raised the camera and snap, he sat back and went, ‘Omg, what’s that?’ Then took off like a shot. He’s going to have to grow into those big paddles he calls feet.Joey

I was trying to take the picture of the swan in the next picture and these ducks flew past as I snapped. Cheeky blighter’s.ducks

I left the blank space next to the swan because I’ve always seen them in pairs. She’s been swimming in this dam outside of Rosewood for a couple of weeks now, all alone.black swan

I know, another Kookaburra but what a beauty he is. I was cutting firewood and he’d chased the Butcher birds away. They know there’ll be grubs and such when I move the timber.kookaburra

Finally here’s my favourite. We went out for a drive looking for Koalas, didn’t see any but there were plenty of Galahs in the trees.  This pair took my fancy.galahs

That’s your bloomin’ lot for another week. I hope you enjoyed them. Come back again, there’s always something to see at The Writer’s Room.
Cheers
Laurie.

47 thoughts on “A bit of a rush at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You won’t be disappointed tomorrow on them neither. Thanks so much for camping over here at my place Russel, it’s always a pleasure and you leave the place a little better than you found it.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Eli Pacheco

    1. The joey looks like he’s posing for school pictures in that one. It should say Class of ’14 in gold embossing in the corner of the picture.

    2. Maybe we could find a eligible bachelor swan to introduce to your friend, mate. She up for a long-distance relationship?

    3. Kookaburras – and joeys, for that matter – seem to know they’re photogenic. I can’t say I blame them for showing off a bit.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      1.He’s that cute he needs a gold star.
      2. She’s moved on mate, probably logged on to a dating site somewhere.
      3. They do and the little blighters pose for you, I walked up to the tree for that shot , about 15 feet away, then he flew off. I tried to get him laughing but he obviously felt a little down.
      Good to see you back on deck mate.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Raani York

    I love the Galahs of course, and I do feel sympathy for the black swan. I’m so sorry to hear she’s all alone… there are a couple possibilities after all: Either her partner was killed, has passed away… or: she’s young enough to still find one… but I’m not sure about that, considering her coloring…😦
    But my very favorite picture this week is the Buddha.🙂 I’ve got one of these sitting on my balcony.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      See, another spur of the moment picture just drags the punters in.🙂 I took it because of the early morning light and shade. The swan has moved on, we’ve been past the dam three days running and she’s left. I have a couple of Buddha’s around the place. The plants always grow well around them.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jane Dougherty

    You are so lucky to be surrounded by so much beauty, Laurie. Thanks for the pic of the galahs. They’re often mentioned in Australian stories and I’ve never known what they look like.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Wingate

    Wow. Slick. Those are awesome pics of roos et al but the BABY ROO?!!! Heavens to Betsy. Fabulous. Thank you for taking such great photos of some of life’s most darling creatures.😀

    Like

    Reply
  5. Ms. Vee

    These are all lovely. I would be fascinated everyday if I could step outside and see what you do. Thank you for sharing.🙂 Best of luck with your novels. See you soon.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I love clouds, and the pink in those morning clouds is delicate and lovely. That roo with big feet is so cute! And the duck and swan photos are nicely balanced–really; the space by the swan makes it more interesting.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, it was definitely an, ‘Ooh, that would make a nice pic,’ moment. It doesn’t come much cuter than a joey with huge feet. I though the space by the swan would add some drama to the shot. It’s rare to see one swan.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. There I was putting the bins out and it was on…. Then they stopped and had a scratch and started again. Felt sad for the swan being all alone. I’d say it’s mate has been taken: fox, disease, hit by something.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks beth, if I’d have left the door open and stood back that little guy would have moved right in. I can walk outside now and hardly any of the adult roos and wallabies move away.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. davidprosser

    A nice group of pictures Laurie. I always enjoy ones with kangaroos and birds in though the others are fine too. Buddha certainly picked a nice spot to sit. The kookaburra looks quite regal there but those galahs are certainly in the pink aren’t they. ( Sorry).
    All the best, Keep well please.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, yes the roos and birds are popular. it’s funny but flowers always grow well where I have a Buddha in the yard. Yes the galahs are in the pink and cheeky as ever.
      Hugs back at ya Mate.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

