A Medium, or just well done? Psychic development course, part 1.

I’ve mentioned in an earlier post that everybody has the potential to develop their psychic abilities. Over the years I’ve conducted workshops for meditation, healing and Reiki attunement classes and I never tire of seeing a person’s face when they realise that they can do it. Like many endeavours we may take up, psychic development can be scuttled by self-doubt and fear. When we achieve something then it brings its own problem, can we continue to master it or at the very least not stuff it up completely?
You’ve heard the old saying, ‘It’s like riding a bicycle, once you learn you never forget.’ Well if you haven’t ridden one for years then it’s going to be a tad tricky for the first few miles. After a few inquiries from some ladies interested in developing their psychic potential I crumbled and decided to run a course over several weeks. I have to say that putting the course together felt good and it gave me a break from novel writing. Friday nights in a large shed seemed to be the way to go, who cared if it was mid-winter.🙂 At least it kept everybody focused. With seven eager but apprehensive students I introduced them to the interesting world of a psychic.

Meditation: A calm, clear mind is the key to any incursion into unknown realms and what better way to achieve this than meditation. If your mind is cluttered with thoughts of shopping, work, the kids, sex, arguments, the past etc. then you aren’t going to be helpful to your client in sorting out their problem. You have to be able to differentiate between what’s coming in and what’s already lurking in the far reaches of your own mind. I think my group were a little disappointed when they found out that the first lesson meant trying to calm the mind. There’s no excitement in that. With it being a short course I needed to get them to a level where they could find the sweet spot inside themselves. Guided meditation is the key. After a few minutes of breathing deeply and relaxing the body the guiding commenced. I knew that most of them wouldn’t see anything at first, some would feel and others would be there in a moment. After several short but deep meditations we stopped for a cuppa and a discussion.  Then I began the one that would be used at the beginning of each week to assist in the particular lesson. The whole idea is to loosen the consciousness, let that part of you that goes travelling in your sleep go out and have a good look around while you’re awake. Once they were relaxed again the journey began. Starting at the foot of a tall lighthouse bathed in bright red, we slowly climbed the stairs. Stopping at each landing the colour changed: orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet, the colours of each chakra moving up the body to the head. Once at the top of the lighthouse it was a matter of sending them upwards, until they hovered in the night sky. I then had them imagine an object in the palms of their hands and connect with it, finding out all they could. From there they then had to take stock of what they saw below them. After bringing them back we discussed what each one saw, for one nothing, others a multitude of colours and a couple saw quite clearly.  After explaining the necessity for daily practice the first night came to an end.

Psychometry: If you’ve been following this blog you know that psychometry is the art of reading an object, photo, person, place etc. by touching or holding it in your hand. I decided to make this interesting and for the highlight of the evening they would be reading something that I hadn’t thought of before. Firstly I paired them off and had them read each others jewellery, write down what their impressions were and discuss it. This certainly created a buzz as it began to stir up spirit. A few of them were widowed and the departed made their presence felt. After our break, hey, you must have a cuppa and biscuits I brought out the surprise, seven CD’s. Using fresh CD’s I’d burnt a single picture of a different animal on each one. A dolphin, lion, elephant, dog, eagle, I can’t remember the rest. I numbered each CD, slipped them in a cover and placed them on a table. I had a notebook with the number and animal written inside. Each student picked up a disc and sat down with a pen and paper. Once they’d come up with something, they passed them to the next person until everyone read each disc. I deliberately avoided looking at what number disc my students had, I didn’t want to influence their reading by my own thoughts. When they’d finished I brought out the list and we took a look at the results. All I’d told them was that there were no dinosaurs etc, only creatures alive today. That still gives you a fair old choice. Out of all the animals in the world one student scored a definite hit on her first disc, she saw a whale jumping out of the ocean. It was a dolphin. They’re closely related to whales and I considered that a great hit. For the lion someone saw a ginger cat and a huge feather for the eagle. The elephant overwhelmed some and they saw grey and the dog came across as an emotion to some. What came out of the lesson was a great surge of confidence in their burgeoning talents. To actually ‘see’ a picture spread around as bytes of information on a CD, I think, is phenomenal.

Remote Viewing: Remote viewing (RV) is the practice of seeking impressions about a distant or unseen target using subjective means, in particular, extrasensory perception (ESP) or “sensing with mind”.  This quote from Wikipedia goes on to call it pseudo science, that it was used by both the US and Russia in the cold war but they found it of little use for intelligence. The weekly meditation proved to be a great aid for this lesson in particular, and the psychometry assured a strong connection between the viewer and the target. I picked seven locations around the globe via Wikipedia, because they give a map reference for each place. For instance the Great Pyramid of Giza is at, 29°58′45.03″N 31°08′03.69″E. I would write down the co-ordinates on a piece of notepaper, seal them in an envelope and place a small number under the flap. The I’d print out an A4 picture of the pyramid from Google earth and place it in a numbered buff envelope. I think I used, Uluru, the Eifel Tower, Niagara Falls, Big Ben, the Sydney Opera House and a few more. The same deal, each set of coordinates sealed and a picture. Everyone had a pencil and several sheets of paper and I paired them off. One would hold an envelope and focus on the unseen coordinate they would be viewing view while the other person spoke quietly to them, keeping them focused. They’d then write down or draw what they’d seen and swap over using a different set of coordinates. I purposely left the outside of the envelopes blank so I didn’t know which was which and the pics were kept away from me. While they were viewing I spent my time reading a book in the far corner of the shed, ensuring that my thoughts didn’t interfere with them, or influence their viewing.  At the end of the exercise everybody had viewed seven places. The resulting drawings and notes blew them away.  Everyone saw something to different degrees. One student who viewed the pyramid drew the shapes she’d seen from above, along with some nearby houses then she’d drawn an intricate set of shapes. I’d seen that shape before, it was the Queen’s Chamber inside the pyramid. She also nailed Niagara Falls and Big Ben. Some managed a clock face while some picked up on features opposite Big Ben. One student drew an excellent map of the road around Uluru and the houses and post office which wasn’t on the picture. They were about a mile from the rock. If they didn’t see, they wrote what they felt about the places: dust, heat, water, strange shapes. The day prior to the lesson I’d placed an object in a box and buried it on our property. I took the GPS reading, wrote it down and placed it in an envelope. Once again there were several great responses and very close hits to what was in the box. I have to say that Lorelle took to this like a duck to water. We practised viewing at home and no matter what I came up with she scored every time. I found the coordinates for Auschwitz, put them in an envelope, mixed it up with other envelopes and let her work through them. I also printed out an aerial photo. I wanted to see if she could pick the emotions involved. She excelled herself and drew a map of the place today. It showed where the huts used to be, the power line running through it on an angle, a nearby farmhouse and the trees growing around it. She saw men in grey uniforms holding guns, black cars and felt a profound sadness. One envelope was for ANZAC Cove at Gallipoli, the picture I used was taken from a painting. She drew the painting accurately and also heard men singing a song from that time (1915). I think that the exercise proved that remote viewing is quite a viable tool. Those students who were a little sceptical about the whole thing changed their minds. They were so happy with what they’d achieved. So was I, in a few short weeks they’d come to a place where they were seeing results and all because of boring old meditation.

Next week: Part 2.

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Psychic development course, part 1.

  1. Owls and Orchids

    I think you already know I’m hooked Laurie – I pore over ec=very word and feel so cheated when I reach the last oen🙂 I look forward to next week….. can I tempt you into starting to teach a small group again ????? Pretty please🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m so glad you like my posts Susan. Sadly I won’t be starting any groups up. I have a book to finish off for Jan 2015 and two more to continue writing. As it is I’m behind in my blogs this week. Life has been hectic lately. Your winsome smile and gently pleading voice would have worked years ago, I am now immune to such things.😉

      Like

      Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        Oh Laurie, why didn’t I meet you in the Valley when we were in uniform! Life can be so cruel!
        I already knew the answer though, just mark it in your forward planner that we would love to see you both when you have the time, winsome smile working overtime!
        Susan x

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Life is indeed cruel Susan but that’s how it is sometime. We will have to get together, I’ve been wanting to get over your way and take pictures along the coast. Put in forward planner. Keep working on that winsome smile.😉
        Laurie. xox

        Like

  2. Mary Strong-Spaid

    Remote viewing…can you see and hear me now? 🙂
    My two cats are always talking to each other with their eyes, without making a sound.
    We humans have been so busy talking and making noise, I think that most of us have forgotten how to accurately listen to our surroundings. I agree that a calm clear mind (through meditation) is a great way to reawaken those skills.
    Great post, Laurie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hmm, you’re sat at the computer, typing madly.🙂
      Animals have communication down pat. They see and hear on a slightly different level to us. It’s hard to get calm in the modern world and going inwards can bring great peace.
      Thanks Mary.

      Like

      Reply
  3. thisisnotbangkok

    I was riveted as usual, reading this post. I do meditate, but I do not focus on these psychic elements. But I have a sense they are growing with me anyway. I have always felt that remote viewing was difficult. But I really wasn’t sure of what it was. Now I know it has more to do with subjectivity and ESP, rather than trying to actually go there in the astral body, or something like that. Never tried psychometry either. The course sounds very creative and fascinating. Wish I were there.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m glad you enjoyed this Michael. I believe that meditation can take us anywhere, it’s only us who stops the process. None of the things I promoted in the course were actually difficult. The hard part was convincing people that it can be done. I think with remote viewing the most amazing part is that the mind ‘reads’ the location on the paper inside the envelope. Then it takes you there in a flash, and usually to the exact spot. The course was great.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes it sounds wonderful–great idea. My dad told me about a cousin who lives locally and who just got a new car. I tried to use remote viewing, tried to see it parked at his work, as I know the area, and also to see its color, but I got nothing. I don’t think I was relaxed enough. But I thought it would be a fairly easy task.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It’s not easy Michael. I think you may have been trying too hard. With your meditation, get comfortable, go to your nice place then move your mind upwards. imagine the lighthouse or an elevator and travel upwards. Then focus on your cousin and see how that goes. He could be somewhere else, not where he’s supposed to be. If you focus on him then you should get to the car from there.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        It is. I don’t know too much about it except that it is electric and very highly rated. I don’t know if they have them in Australia but there are a lot of them here. Thanks for taking a look …

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        There should be more of them and cheaper too but alas that wouldn’t go down well with the oil companies. I’m interested in anything to do with Tesla the man and his inventions.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. olganm

    In my professional life psychometrics would usually refer to applying psychological tests to people to measure… well, all kinds of things, personality traits, intelligence… Not that it that was boring or not useful but… maybe it’s true that we have many tools to measure things but not those that matter the most. Looking forward to the next post, as usual, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
  5. suzjones

    Interesting once again Laurie. I enjoy reading your blog very much. Although I sit in mediation each day, it is to still my mind and find my inner peace. I don’t think I would wish to go any further than that really.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz. I used the guided meditations due to the short nature of the course. They could do their inner stuff at home. Years ago I did the inner calming/find yourself meditations and they were good. They took me to the shores of a new world that I really wanted to explore and explore it I did.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    This is GREAT, Laurie!!
    It took me back in time some 15 years or so… I participated a similar course… and first thing we had to learn was Meditation… my problem is, I cannot meditate. I immediately fall asleep. (normally I wouldn’t mind THAT much, at least not as long as I don’t snore, grunt and drool) But within a group of people it can be kind of embarrassing.
    Next thing I know is, that everyone was supposed to “see” something harmless about one of the others – and I got so many deep buried secrets at once that I felt nauseated and had to get up and leave the room…
    I heard later they were quite upset about me, but when I asked the teacher if it wouldn’t have been more upsetting to them if I had sat there and revealed their deepest secrets in front of all the others? She remained silent. I have to admit, I was glad she didn’t ask about the secrets I meant… but she could have known them anyway…
    It was the last “group meeting” I’ve ever participated…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That’s exactly why I used guided meditation with the beginners, left to their own devices in that situation most people either nod off or go looking. With practice you can meditate, it’s all a matter of taking back the control of your mind. I don’t think your teacher had the right approach there, by getting you all to look into each other it definitely leaves them open to ‘snooping.’ Once you start digging, well who knows what you’ll find?

      Like

      Reply
  7. davidprosser

    What a great sense of achievement everyone must have felt and what a sense of satisfaction it must have given you to see your little ducklings take to the water so well Laurie.
    It probably made a big difference to then knowing an accomplished psychic was teaching them and had patience since it’s hardly the kind of thing you can sign up for evening classes in at the local poly.
    Keep well my friend
    Hugs
    David

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Most of them did David and I felt vindicated by taking some people who had never done these things to have them ‘up and running’ in 8 weeks. it was a great feeling. Yes it isn’t a common subject out there.
      Hugs David and we’ll talk soon.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. risinghawk

    Wonderful post, sir! I sit in meditation every day, and have exhibited psychometry many times when I was working with people one-on-one, teaching the principles of my book. I can claim no success with remote viewing, really haven’t tried it. Fascinating subjects🙂 I am a firm believer of the amazing power of the mind and its ability to ignore physics and time. Looking forward to the next installment! Peace . . .

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Greg. Psychometry is a remarkable thing. Remote Viewing even more so. Not only can you see the present day, it also seems to take you backward and forward in time.
      I don’t think we’ll ever learn the full potential of our minds when our existence is filled with so many distractions. I’ll be there next week.🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

