World Blog Hop.

Raani York ambushed  asked me if I’d be part of the World Blog Hop for authors. Seeing she’s a great blogging friend I succumbed to the arm twisting and said yes. Actually she sent a smiley face and I crumbled under the pressure. So here we have it, there is obviously some formality about the whole thing and I have to answer four questions. Raani’s bit is first though.

My Blog http://www.raaniyork.wordpress.com

My Website: http://www.raaniyork.com

My FB: https://www.facebook.com/DragonScriptures

I have been a high volume writer for years. I have published articles, letters, short stories, poems, continuation stories and descriptions of all kind. I also write novels, some of which can be found on my website. I have been educated in Switzerland and in the U.S. I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and also obtained diplomas in Graphic Design, Color Studies and won a prize as a Logo Designer. I do speak four languages and several dialects. I work and live in Switzerland and the U.S. and travel often. Next to my writing and my cats, I like reading, blogging, Martial Arts, skiing, horseback riding, sky diving and enjoy playing the classical piano. This blog is posting in various categories, from personal experiences, humorous happenings, cat diaries, Interviews with Authors, travelling posts, book reviews and even letters to celebrities. Explore a fun blog.

http://www.raaniyork.wordpress.com

Now we have my bit. ( I think I have it right )

Question 1) What are you working on?
I’m supposed to be tarting up my fourth novel in the Death Series, Cape of Death. Set mainly in far north Queensland, the story revolves around the deaths of several illegal immigrants on a deserted beach. Throw in a former Taliban fighter from Afghanistan on the loose in Australia’s last frontier and a pair of rednecks on a spree and you have the Homicide crew from book three on a huge manhunt. It’s complete but as you know there’s always something to do to a manuscript. I’ve been rather busy getting book three, River of Death printed for today. As you are reading this I’ll be talking at the local library for Senior’s Week and hopefully flogging off books.

Question 2) How does your work differ from others in your genre?
I think my work differs from others because I tend to call a spade a spade. I don’t hide behind words, I let them out to tell the story in a lifelike, realistic way. You can smell the blood, feel the gun in your hand and look into the eyes of people who would snuff you out in an instant. In real life people love, hate, desire and kill. They have feelings and real emotions, so do my ‘people.’

Question 3) Why do you write what you write?
My subject matter hasn’t always been seen as acceptable over time, sure it’s mentioned but it’s glossed over. Paedophilia, abuse, sex slavery, drug addiction, corruption and evil are all present in the world. I write about it because people need to be reminded of the state of the world now and then. That not everyone is who they seem and there are civilised people who commit terrible acts against those who can’t fight back. Being a self published author I’m able to do this and explore the limits of horror in the world today.

Question 4) How does your writing process work?
Erratically at the best of times. My writing day usually revolves around how I feel when I wake up. With my first two novels I wrote 10 hours a day 6 days a week until I finally slowed down. Starting late next week I have to discipline myself to take up finishing book 4 and continuing book 5. I like to work that way because I can take a break from one and still do something useful, often bringing in a fresh approach. I’m a pantser who has a basic idea of the story at the start and I work in with my characters. Hey, they know how the story goes.

Blog www.laurie27wsmith.wordpress.com
FB:  http://www.facebook.com/laurie.smith
From my about.me page.
If someone were to ask, ‘Laurie, just who are you?” I would probably come up with some smart arsed, glib reply and say, ‘Well, I’m me, who do you think I am?” They would mutter and walk away shaking their head, vowing never to ask it again. Now the subject has been broached, I will ask the question, “Laurie, who are you?” This calls for navel gazing, inner reflection and the need to break down the layers that my ego has placed there over the years. When I’ve removed the lint from said navel and peered into the depths of my psyche I have some idea about the inner me. After all, isn’t that what this writing lark is all about? Dredging up the dark, the dirty and edgy bits that stick like dried scraps in the drain of your life. You know the bits, no matter how much we flush and scrape the residue is still hanging on. I nurture it, tease it out and blog about it, don’t fret it’s not all gloom. I love pictures and delight in sharing what I see through the camera lens. The same applies to my life experiences, I look back through the lens of my memory and share the pictures in prose and poetry, ballad and tale. I don’t Photoshop my memories, they come out in RAW format. Every pixel bright and shiny for those who wish to look. If you want to join me on life’s long and winding road step up and read the posts. The who is sorted now for the where. Born in the north of England I found myself dragged kicking and screaming onto a migrant ship heading for Australia at the tender age of nine. It took about two days of hot weather and I’ve loved the place ever since. Finally the what. I’m retired and loving it, writing gritty crime novels now takes up my time. Read my blog, what I used to do for a living is all in there.

Apparently I now have to nominate other authors to take up the torch and continue this tour. Even if they don’t take up the challenge drop by and check out their blog pages. Here they are.
Seumas Gallacher Is on the Hop
Olga Nunez Miret
Jane Dougherty
Susan Wingate.

46 thoughts on “World Blog Hop.

  1. Jane Dougherty

    Thanks for nominating me Laurie. I’ve already answered these questions for one blog tour but I don’t think it had the same name. I can always do it again though. I don’t suppose anybody’s making notes🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Raani York

    I love this blog post, Laurie! Thanks for mentioning me… I’m not feeling too comfortable knowing that the pressure on you was so high… *sigh*
    But I’m really glad it turned out such a great blog post!!!🙂
    Hugs
    Raani

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, there’s a little something to learn about everyone.🙂 I’ve been around and certainly haven’t led a boring life. A roo reference? It would be Rood not to.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Indeed I have Suz and thanks again for turning up at the library. I fought hard to keep that accent, the more people called me a Pommy bastard the more determined I became to keep it.
      🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Exactly! To me, coming to a new country means you want a change, yet people bring their old troubles, religious conflicts and beliefs that don’t gel here. Keep them to yourself if you want to but don’t inflict them on others. Rant over.

        Like

  3. olganm

    Thanks Laurie. As I told you I don’t tend to do blog hops very often these days but really enjoyed your post and thanks for the invitation. And you’ve chosen a fascinating topic for your next book…Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, I’m glad you liked it. I put several authors up, mainly to send people to their pages. It wouldn’t have bothered me if they didn’t take it on. Yes, the topic for book four is totally relevant today, and I started writing it last year. Strange that.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Jane Risdon

    Yep I guess I may have got muddled up with awards. I get them to but have stopped accepting them as I spent half my time trying to work out who to send them on to. Appreciate them but, don’t know about you, but I got too many too often. So, I really should have got you on my blog tour. Drat! Smacked wrist. Another time. Then you can go to town on one or more of your books, in detail, which will send readers rushing to buy them. Lint doesn’t bounce unless rolled into a ball and flicked good and hard. All in the wrist action….lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s nice to be nominated Jane but as you say you have to send them on to so many others. Half of them will go, “Aargghhh!” when they get them. I thank the person for their kindness and politely decline. I’ve done a couple of author interviews and this blog hop. How much is too much? I don’t know. Books? I find that I sell more paperbacks here than eBooks. people will take every free book you put out there but don’t reciprocate and leave their thoughts about it on Amazon. I’ve sold more through word of mouth than anything. Hmm, we’re going to have to talk about this lint. perhaps if I get some little baggies and put it in and…………🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        I agree. Something for nothing is never really valued. Found the same with music and performing for nothing and giving away free albums etc. Time is money and it’s the writer/performer’s time and money initially and then someone wants to get it for nothing and has no idea of what has gone into it to make it saleable or something they have to have as a punter. I cannot see freebies working; people will just wait for the next book to be free and get it that way…and so on.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Sadly many people don’t think of the hard work that has gone into writing, music, movies etc as long as it’s free. They’ll hang out like vultures just waiting……….

        Like

      3. Jane Risdon

        I do believe that people are very thoughtless about a lot of things they take for granted. Modern life has made things so accessible and throw-away, I think they know the cost of everything and the value of nothing in many cases. Somehow music, books, and other commodities are their right, they can take but because in a lot of cases, they don’t have the capacity or where-withal to understand what it is they are taking, they cannot see that it is stealing, harmful or just not right. I think a whole generation has grown up not knowing right from wrong. Having something for nothing seems to be their mantra.

        Like

      4. Jane Risdon

        I am not a fan of the New World…I like old values though open-minded….live and let live etc. But some manners, kindness and respect would be nice.🙂

        Like

  5. Jane Risdon

    Wow Laurie, this is fab. I do wish I’d asked you to be on my tour with me but for some (weird) reason I didn’t think you’d be into something like this. How wrong can someone be! I am thrilled to read more about you and your writing. I know we have exchanged chit-chat and laughs and so forth over a period of time but this IS IT! The writer Laurie, whose work I enjoy so much. Photographer Laurie whose photos are FAB….this is YOU. So happy to read this. Wishing you tons of success, you deserve it. Looking forward to more of the same. Oh! and I can still see some lint in your navel. Nope, up a bit, across and just in there. OK you got it. Now watch where you flick it.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      *Sigh* Do I look that unapproachable Jane?😉 I don’t do awards, you may have got it mixed up. I’m so glad that you found my blog hop of interest and that you learned a little more about me, the writer. I feel touched that you think so highly of my work, it makes it feel worthwhile when I sit at the keyboard again.🙂 I’m watching that navel lint, it’s sneaky. I try to bounce it off the wall too.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        I shall have to have you here soon. It’s not my aim to have guest authors, the other two didn’t have their own blogs and I wanted to nominate them…so on mine was the best solution. Perhaps when my shoulder op is out of the way and I know if/when I can use my arm again, I can get you over. That would be lovely. If I can type after early Sept. and I get my act together catching up on things….remind me.🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’ll be happy to drop over and chat Jane. Like many musicians I have a list of ‘back stage’ treats. Hmm, yeah, that’s it. A pot of tea and a packet of digestives. all the best with the op and don’t worry I’ll remind you.🙂

        Like

      3. Jane Risdon

        Cool, please do because I know I shall forget with everything that is going on. I just hope the arm works again. Anyway where there is a will there’s a way.🙂

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        A friend in her 60’s recently had her shoulder reconstructed, she’s back at work 3 days a week now. It’s all about getting through the pain, discomfort and rehab. You’ll do it!🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

