Do Roos and Libraries mix at The Writer’s Room.

I was invited a few months ago to be part of the Ipswich City Library’s Paper Tales program, where authors come along and talk about their work. So on Tuesday morning this week I attended and had the pleasure of talking to over twenty people for an hour and a half. Being Senior’s Week there were seniors and younger people in the audience. Most people aren’t forthcoming with questions and then someone asked about prison and prisoners. I was able to talk at length on these subjects making many references back to my books and how working in prison and the police gave me a good grounding in writing about crime and criminals. I sold some books and I think scarred a couple of older ladies in the process. I’ve always believed that if you don’t want to know the truth don’t ask for it. No, I wasn’t horrible just down to earth. Of course not a lot goes on at The Writer’s Room without the local Roos finding out about it, and this monumental event leaked out to none other than Wal Wallaby, rooving reporter, oh and ladies’ man. Take it away Wal.

excuse-me[1]“G’day viewers, I’m Wal Wallaby rooving reporter and sports broadcaster. It’s a special day here at the Paddock, we’re going to town. Yes, I’ll be joined by Marilyn Munroo, our undercover reporter, and Gerard DepaRoo, investigative journalist and actor. They will join me at the Ipswich Library where we’ll finally get to see the man who makes our lives miserable.  Yes, the human who’s forever snooping around the paddock and detailing our everyday lives. Now it’s our turn. First off I’d like to thank our sponsors, Roo Poo  for their valued support in our endeavours today. Also DepaRoo for taking the time away from his new action movie, also produced by our sponsor:  Shite Storm 2014. A story of one Roo’s battle against crime, corruption and a lack of fertiliser. If DepaRoo is in a movie, it’s bound to be Shite. Sorry, what? Oh, right I’m not supposed to say that. Sorry viewers, that was my producer Ed Wombat, he’s a stickler for language. Hmm, thought he was asleep. Back to it. We’ve chartered a bus and will get a flash mob going. DepaRoo will  be looking into our human’s background while Marilyn interviews him.

Marilyn Munroo poses outside and comments.

IMG_0003“Good Morning viewers, it’s Marilyn Munroo and I’m here at the Ipswich Library. I can see the man now, he’s talking to a group of other humans sitting in front of him. Hmm, he’s telling them a story of how a dog ate his hearing aid. I’d love to interview that dog, wait there’s a lull in the conversation, I’m going in.”

“Excuse me, Laurie isn’t it? Do you have time for a few words?” Oh, he’s looking at me, hmm, those green eyes are…..
“Oh, hello Marilyn great to see you, I certainly do. I think I’ve warmed the audience up. Come over here, sit down and please, ask anything you want.”
“Okay firstly, why do you spend so much time photographing kangaroos and wallabies?”
“Quite simple Marilyn, many of them are like you, beautiful. I send their pictures all over the world and humans everywhere are fascinated.”
“Of me?”
“Yes and the others, so I believe that the more pictures I put out there the more fans you will have.”
“Oh,” *fans her face with her notebook* “I see. Right, can you tell my viewers what’s happening here today?”
“Certainly, I’m promoting my books in the Death Series and launching the third book, River of Death.”
“Is that like a warning to keep out of the water or something?”
Laughs.
“Not really, it’s a story about a man who likes to kill people. Women actually, a certain type of woman and…”
“My goodness, surely not?”
“Sadly these things happen but it’s not all about that. It’s also about the people who hunt him down and their lives: love, courage, strength, loss and many other human emotions.”
“But why do people kill each other? I know there are people who come looking for us.”
“I can’t tell you why people do these things to each other, it’s been happening for so long now it’s almost normal. You do know that you’re safe when you’re up on the lawn at the Writer’s Room don’t you?”
“Yes, I guess so. Although Gerard says we shouldn’t trust humans. So, do the other books have the same things in them?”
“To varying degrees, you’ll like Mountain of Death, the hero is something of a bad boy, strong, a little mean and hard.”
Marilyn’s tail swishes back and forth.
“Really?”
“Really, it’s a popular story about crime and corruption, people have become engrossed in it.”
“I see another book over there, Valley of Death, what’s that about?”
“This is a difficult subject Marilyn, it’s about people who hurt the young and…”
“Oh no, not like the joeys?”
“I’m afraid so, there are people who make money out of and take great pleasure in hurting those who can’t fight back.”
“This is terrible Laurie, I must warn the others when I get back.”  She looks over to the door, the flash mob have arrived. “Well here are a few more roos to listen to your talk. Thank you for your time Laurie and I look forward to reading your books.”
“You’re welcome Marilyn.”

img_0035[1]Outside the Library, away from the mob, Wal interviews Gerard DepaRoo.
“G’day Gerard, what can you tell our viewers about this author, L.W. Smith? Did you check out his background, and what do you think about his claims to have worked in law enforcement?”
Gerard turns his right profile to the camera and runs a paw across his moustache.
“I have to say I’m truly disappointed Wal. I’ve spoken with other humans and found that he has indeed spent time amongst the criminal element, both in their jails and on the beat. There seems to be some validity to his past.”

“So, are you withdrawing your claims that he’s nothing but a hack writer?”
“I’m not sure yet, I’ll have to read his work. As you know I’m a descendant of the great bard, Will  Roospeare, on my mother’s side. We take our literature seriously.”
“He’s never claimed to write literature Gerard. It’s all about action, drama, violence, sex and…”
“Sex you say?”  Rubs moustache furiously. “Merde, I could teach him so much. You know that I am a great….”
“Back to your investigation Gerard.”
“Sorry. I have researched his blog and found many stories about his time in these places. Some made me laugh and others, well I cried just a little bit. Oh and he even writes poems, a strange man indeed.”
“So what do you have to say about him now?”
“I trust him a little bit and when he takes my picture again he should try for a close-up.”
“That’s all from the Ipswich Library viewers, here are a couple of photos. I don’t know how those other roos found their way inside.”Ipswich Library Seniors Week

For the eagle-eyed editors amongst you, to should be too in the right hand speech bubble. Give the roos a break, they can’t spell. The library staff did a great job on their banner for the day. Pity about the hairline Laurie, although it’s great for reflecting the flash. 🙂senior's week

I know it isn’t the usual style for Fridays but hey, a bloke has to promote himself now and then. Everything will be back to normal next week, so here are a couple of pics from  when it rained last week. The poinsettias look happy about it.Ponciana

Have you ever seen anything looking so miserable?kangaroos

I’ll see you all next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

47 thoughts on “Do Roos and Libraries mix at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    Oh Laurie – I hope you had a GREAT and successful time promoting!! Your books are so special and I really think a lot more people should read them!!
    Even Marilyn does help you – and so does Gerard, see? You’re going to be famous – worldwide!!! 🙂
    I love the pictures too!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I had a great time Raani, I didn’t know whether to continue on with the comedy or do a Medium reading. 🙂 I’m hoping more read them. I should just send Marilyn and Gerard out on a road trip/book tour. Thanks for the support Raani.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. nataliescarberry

    You are certainly becoming quite the celebrity, Laurence of Australia!!! Loved the pictures and the post as always. Hope all is well with you. I’m very far behind on reading posts and answering comments, but I vow to get caught up soon. It has been extremely hot here as it always is in August, and I feel like I’m trying to move through molasses these days because it just saps nearly all my energy. Thank goodness summer is coming to an end. Our heat won’t for some time but maybe after September rolls around it will drop out of the triple digits. I pray you have a great week. Love and hugs, LMS

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m almost there Natalie, almost. I’m glad you liked the latest post, although all credit must go to the Roos. 🙂 Ah, the hot weather. Nothing like a summer in the 100’s to make you wish for winter to get here. 🙂 I feel your pain, we’re like that here in summer, although right now we’re expecting a cool snap this week. So I will have a great week LMS.
      Hugs and Love
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I went to Canberra for an army reunion several years ago and stayed at my brother’s place. He has two fox terriers who live inside. I was still getting used to my hearing aid and because we were going to a club for dinner, way to noisy, I left it in the bedroom. I forgot to shut the bedroom door and one of the dogs went in and jumped on the bed. When we returned home there was my hearing aid in a hundred pieces. Only the battery remained unscathed. I put the bits in a snap lock bag and when I returned home I popped over to the hearing aid shop, put the bag on the counter and said (tongue in cheek) to the sweet young thing there, ‘Excuse me, do you think you can fix this?’ The look on her face was priceless. I never got it replaced.

      Like

      Reply
  3. teagan geneviene

    That was a truly fun post, Laurie. Writing from an animal’s point of view is such fun. While i’ve interviewed one of my four-footed characters, i’ve never been interviewed BY one. Hummm… you may have given me a new challenge. Hugs!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks teagan. Well the crew here in the paddock are certainly talented. They’ve done a few insightful interviews, performed Roomeo and Jooliette and they even have a thriving Roo Poo business in place. They’ll probably take over the blog next. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It was Olga, I loved it. As to the reporting it was second to none. I think Marilyn might be up for an award, International Journalist of the Year I think, it’s for her undercover work. Gerard reckons she does a lot under the covers but you didn’t hear that from me. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    Great to see a little stardom exploding in our midst ;). You should be warned to watch out for the competition though – the Roodom have been known to use subversive tactics on up and coming sneak previews with cameras. (I heard the little pressies they leave can pile up!)
    Great post Laurie – luck with the series.
    Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s great bringing couth and culture to the masses via our Macropod brothers and sisters Susan. There’s so much untapped talent out there in the paddock. They’re entrepreneurs too, all those little piles have gone into the RooPoo business. Overnight deliveries of a great product that any politician can use in their speeches. 🙂
      Thanks Susan.
      Cheers
      Laurie xox

      Like

      Reply
  5. hitandrun1964

    This was so much fun. Roos are quite clever and they make outstanding reporters. Not to mention how truly photogenic they are. It’s seems that the audience was polite and remained seated during your lecture. No one was throwing anything, another positive thing. All in all, I’d say that you had a very good day. Lots of fun:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You have to let the fun run now and then Gigi. 🙂 Well the roos have been Shakespearian actors (Roomeo & Jooliette) of course Gerard is a great actor (apparently) Wal is an ace reporter. The place is hopping with talent. I checked the auditorium for explosive devices, sharp objects and tomatoes. Missed the RooPoo though. A great day indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I enjoyed the interviews with the Roos and the background of your talk at the library. Great posters, btw. Oh, I loved the red flowers too. Do you know what they are?

    Like

    Reply
  7. davidprosser

    Great interview and pictures Laurie.I wonder why I never get interviewed by the Marilyns of this world. If anyone ever asks me to give a talk though I’m sending you in my place.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. It can be a curse with these Marilyn’s wanting to interview a fella. I do it for my craft. 😉 I’ll fill in for you Mate, I like a chat now and then.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        Yes, it’s all built up on small consistent steps. That’s the way to do it, Laurie. You are excelling at creating value and meaning, sharing your medium experiences, your humor, and now your novels. I bet people were riveted and I doubt you scarred anyone. Everyone on the planet knows about violence these days, and if they show up to your talk and buy your book they want to also learn about the heroes who deal with the offenders and keep our society as safe as possible. You are making a huge contribution expressing yourself and creating art not to even mention all the support you provide to friends in the blogoshpere and through your healing and seeing.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thank you Nia. I could never bombard people with my work, I think it puts them off. It is all about building an audience of people who are interested in you the person, then author and then your work. That’s why I spoke for so long, so people could understand the place where my novels were coming from. People were really interested in the prisoners I’d known and their crimes. I’d finished talking about a member of the toe-cutter gang, they used bolt cutters to snip off the toes of other criminals who pulled off big robberies, then they’d apply a blow torch to the stumps. Then about a prisoner who’d raped and murdered a 12 year old girl. He drove around as part of the search party for three days with the girl’s body in his vehicle. This tiny, sweet old lady said, ‘Do you think these men would be helped if counsellors or missionaries were able to talk with them?’ – ‘They certainly would, if they were able to talk with them when they were between say, 5 and 8 years old. After that it becomes harder to change a person’s outlook. I think her view of the world changed a little.
        I didn’t see myself as making a contribution Nia, just putting my stuff out there. Well in that case I hope I have helped someone.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

        That is great, Laurie. It’s interesting about that sweet old lady and the dialogue that you had with her. It’s great that she had the curiosity and that you could tell her your educated point of view on the matter.

        You make a contribution by valuing and sharing your own life experience and you expand knowledge. You inspire through your example of being open and honest. You also have very unique and interesting experiences to share!! Finally, you are a good friend to a lot of people.

        It’s true about building an audience that way. I like that and am so grateful that I’ve managed to do the same. I’m about to launch a new endeavor and am so glad I have met some people through my blog who might like to take a look at my work, and also I consider my blog itself a wonderful gift, to be able to publish my thoughts and perspectives daily to a wide audience. It’s wonderful.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        She got my point Nia and I think it shook her world view. Some people are beyond change for the better. I was polite. 🙂 I truly appreciate your view on what I’m doing. I’ve looked at it as waffling on about stuff and telling my story. I figure that if one is going to get into blogging then you need to be that friend who shares a link or tweets it. There’s no skin of my nose to do it and I share the stuff that I see as good. I’ll always be interested in taking a look at your work Nia. You have to love this blogging lark, I’d say it’s one of the big steps forward in communication between diverse people and cultures ever. It is wonderful. 🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

