A Medium or just well done? Pyschic development course, part 2.

Seeing the Aura: The human aura is an electromagnetic field that surrounds the body, while it’s alive. When a person is out of their body, either asleep or during a healing the aura is missing. You may see a fine cord of silvery blue, or a misty form of the person hovering close by. While doing a headcount in my last prison job, I opened the door to a room late one night. It contained one prisoner, so why was I seeing one in the bed and his form all in blue sitting on the top bunk? Simple he was having an out-of-body experience. When someone is dying the aura slowly leaves the body and when they’re dead usually the emotional aspect can be seen nearby the body for a little while. The aura comes out of the chakras which respond to the major glands of the body from the crown, forehead, throat, chest, solar plexus, above the pubic bone and lower back. I’ve written at some length about it in previous posts and I gave the students the same spiel. The hard part was trying to explain how to see it, especially when people are expecting to see a huge rainbow. If we could all see the aura in its splendour then we would be caught up in nothing but colour day after day. The only time I’ve seen the aura in its awesome fullness was  here. So how do we see the darn thing? Firstly, don’t try too hard. I think this could be the catchcry for anything we talk about here. Expectations are always high, so don’t have any. With your victim volunteer standing against a light coloured background, first look at their face, move your glance so you’re looking just past the side of the head, then slightly alter your focus. You should be seeing a faint light, usually grey/blue coming up about an inch around the head and shoulders. If you don’t see it at first, don’t despair. Your mind may not want to acknowledge what it is seeing. Turn your head away and start again, then ask your volunteer to think happy thoughts. This can get the aura moving. Or, you can get them to stand with their back to the outdoors. It’s great if you can get the sky behind them. I used this technique to convince a workmate that I wasn’t pulling his leg. I sat in the guard box and he stood in the doorway. With a bright blue sky behind him I asked him to think of different things. As he thought, swirls of what looked like smoke twirled through the aura around his head. Then I could tell him what he was thinking about. His aura would expand and contract and those thoughts just went out into the ether. Once you are confident about seeing that ripple of light around the head and shoulders, close your eyes. You will see an after image of the person, wait a few moments and it will fade, then it should light up again. This is the aura at work now. It’s all about opening your mind to the possibilities of what you can do. If you still can’t see anything, relax and try again.  Let your mind wander a little then focus again. It will happen. Another way is to look through brown glass, it cuts down on different spectrums of light. I wasn’t happy with using it, figuring how people would react when you whipped out your piece of glass for a look at them.
So you’re seeing it, now what do we do? You would have to do some study on the chakras and how they function in the aura, what the various colours mean, how they interact. Interpret what you see and discuss it with your client.  It’s doable but it takes time and a little dedication. Of course I heard the cries of, ‘I can’t see anything, I can’t do it, what am I supposed to see?’ – ‘Settle ladies, can you see that line around your person?’ – ‘Yes but it’s so small.’ I’m leaving that line alone. We finally sorted it out, I stood side on with a white sheet behind me, thought happy little thoughts and pushed out the aura. A little chorus of oh’s and ah’s convinced me that they’d seen something. Obviously they had been nervous as a viewer and a subject prior to this. Now we were getting somewhere. This brings us to the following subject.

Divining Rods: I spoke of using divining or dowsing rods here a couple of weeks ago. For the course I rummaged in my shed for fencing wire and made several sets of rods. As I’ve said you don’t need anything fancy. I also took along a few pairs of biro cases to slip the rod handles into.
Divining rods are an artificial extension of the human aura/spirit. I believe that on a more subtle level we are aware of many things and for a variety of reasons we don’t see or feel them. If one is going to teach these techniques then they have to step up and demonstrate them. I showed them how to test the rods by first asking them to cross over for a yes or positive result and swing outwards for no. After a couple of questions requiring yes-no answers, I then gave a demonstration. I used Lorelle as a subject and had her stand quietly, then think about expanding her aura. Putting the rods to one side I held my hands out, palm forwards, closed my eyes and walked forward. After a few steps my hands tingled and I stopped. I asked Lorelle to withdraw her aura and started again. I stopped inches away. ‘Okay ladies, now I use the rods.’ Same again, I moved about 10 metres away, held my elbows into my sides with the rods pointing straight ahead. The rods cross over at the same place, and again with the aura withdrawn. Now I had their attention and they paired off, not only were they getting confirmation with the rods they were also seeing just how far their auras could expand. I had a table with several objects placed underneath a sheet and one by one they divined the objects they were looking for. The rods are quite good for finding lost objects and in my experience usually for other people. A case in point, about 10 years ago Lorelle and I were staying with her ex sister-in-law until we sorted out our living arrangements. Her niece had a friend over for the weekend and on the Monday morning when they were ready to leave for school, the friend couldn’t find her bracelet. She ripped her bag apart, nothing. Then tore the room apart, still nothing. Fetching my rods (and in true super hero style) I said, ‘Stand aside, we’ll find it.’ Going through the questions brought me back to the bracelet being in the bag. ‘I’ve looked, it’s not there,’ she wailed. The rods indicated otherwise. ‘Have another look, it’s in your bag.’ She found it, the bracelet had slipped in between the bottom of her overnight bag and the lining. I find them useful when doing healings as a super quick way of checking chakras and looking for blockages in the aura. Especially if you have a few sessions happening on the day. So that’s how the rods work for me, different people have their own beliefs and ideas on the subject of dowsing. That’s how it should be too.

Channelling: I’m talking about channelled writing or automatic writing. As a writer I find this to be an interesting subject because it fits in with the Muse, every writer’s friend or enemy. Over time I’ve experimented with this form of writing and have come to a few conclusions. One, that you are actually getting in touch with your own soul or higher self. Two, that you are in touch with something quite profound, nip over and have a look at Cosmic Consciousness . This link takes you to the writings of Richard Maurice Bucke, a Canadian Psychiatrist. He wrote about this in 1901 and he had great hope for humanity at large, sadly it doesn’t seem to have come to pass. Some profound writings have come through over time. Now and then you may receive something from spirit. Or if you haven’t been white lighting yourself something ugly or nasty from some lower level astral entity (thought form). With anything that involves working with spirit you need to white light yourself. I’ve spoken about this previously. Once again like all of the previous lessons this is where meditation comes in handy. The meditation for this night involved opening up a channel between spirit and the self. Afterwards with pen and pad at hand they settled down and began. With first attempts or even on the tenth attempt there’s no guarantee of getting anything profound or even interesting. This takes practice and dedication. it’s all a matter of being comfortable, resting your pen on the paper and waiting. Sometimes you may feel the need to write, so you start, even moving the pen over the paper can set something in motion. You may get scribbles, long streaks of writing or even coherent words. Once again the expectation is to start writing almost immediately and push out volumes of new truths. It doesn’t happen that way. All I could say to my students was to keep practising, as with everything they were being taught. Automatic writing also opens you up to the following lesson.

Becoming a Medium: This was the lesson they’d been waiting for but like anything to do with spirit work you need to ease into it. Once again the meditation was about the subject at hand and they were taken to a place where they could converse with someone they knew in spirit. I have to say this meditation was quite powerful. At the end of it they all spoke about where they’d been, not who they’d seen though. (What came out at the end of proceedings was the number of people they’d seen for other students.) When one is guiding their students through this or any meditation you have to ‘be there’ yet aware of everything going on around you. Some people can become quite emotional doing this and need to be taken out of the circle. Thankfully it went well. The strange thing is the convener quite often picks up what the students are seeing too. We went through two meditations, had a tea break then began. You have to back up your teachings with action in this game so I ‘worked the platform’ and took them through what they could expect from a medium. A couple of the students were widows, one recent so it didn’t take long for those in spirit to come through. I must say it felt good to be back in the groove again. There’s nothing quite like being able to pass on communications from deceased loved ones to the living. Because of the small numbers I was able to spend a little more time with each student and give them solid evidence that their person came through. I have to say here that there are times when the spirit comes in very close and I back out a little.  Eyes closed and feeling the nervousness of the spirit coming in, I began to sing, ‘You are my sunshine, my only sunshine.’ You can often tell the age of the person coming through and in this case I felt a toddler. I was shown how the child died and received messages to pass on to her mother. The death occurred in the late 60’s and the spirit’s sister was one of my students, and the song? The mourner’s sang it at the child’s funeral. Of course an outpouring of emotion followed amongst the ladies. Once we returned to normal they each took a turn on the platform. I felt proud of my ladies, each one of them brought something through from spirit. they couldn’t do it for all the students. Some passed messages on for four or five others only one or two, and do you know the numbers didn’t matter. Even opening up for one person is fantastic, it showed them that it could be done, that with faith in themselves, and opening their minds would produce remarkable results. The one thing you can’t teach is confidence, only practice can instil that in a person. Yet confidence and faith in yourself are the top requirements. No matter how good you are at connecting with the departed, if you can’t stand up in front of a crowd and pass the messages on then you need to find another pastime.

Next week: Let’s wait and see, I’ll have to think of something. 🙂

46 thoughts on “A Medium or just well done? Pyschic development course, part 2.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    My favorite medium of all time is John Edward. He used to be on the Sci-Fi channel all the time when I first came to San Diego. Then they renamed Sci-Fi to SyFy and took him off. I haven’t watched much on the SyFy channel since then. In fact, I don’t even have television in the house now; two years this week! Until last night I had not watched any television. Last night I watched the Djokovic-Murray tennis match online. Live, no less! I hope that’s where the world is going, to online television so we can get rid of all these televisions in favor of computer monitors…….

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I like John Edward, he’s a great medium. No TV? I honestly don’t think you’re missing much at all. I do think online TV will be the way of the future. Man, won’t the airways be jammed then with Wi-Fi traffic and such.

      Like

      Reply
  2. bgbowers

    Cosmic consciousness and automatic writing is fascinating. Have you read any of the “Conversations with God” books? Walsh wrote those books via automatic writing of sorts. They are profound books that made me interrogate so much of my own philosophy and look at the world and people in a very different light.
    As for auras – I had no idea that it wasn’t visible when asleep.
    Reading these posts always makes me want to tap into this side of myself.
    Bianca.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I think I read one years ago, quite a different and interesting perspective. Because we’re in and out of our bodies during in sleep it comes and goes. I’m glad that I may be inspiring you to have a peek behind the curtain Bianca.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. kelihasablog

    Oh I love all the little lessons here Laurie! I’m going to have to go back and catch up on the previous posts that I missed on this, but I really appreciate you explaining it so well so that hopefully some of us will be able to give it a try! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  4. Eli Pacheco

    Some might say a spirit moves me to write what I do, but I’m not so sure as to what that spirit intends, not even after I post.

    I thought about it, mate. I don’t think I’d want to be a medium. There’s a lot of pressure there, of course. But more important, my father. I feel like he has communicated with me. I can’t be sure, but I feel it. That’s enough for me. Sometimes it’s just the belief.

    And also, when someone I really trust, but have never met, and love like a brother, can shed some light on my specific and ordinary life from a world away, that means something, mate. I’d rather find enlightenment through those channels than on my own.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Probably your own prompting you to write Mate.
      It’s not for everybody, I can assure you but it is accessible to those who want to try. Many people are contacted by their deceased relatives at some stage. Sadly most of them pass it off as wishful thinking and carry on with their day. Thanks Mate I find that comforting to know that you trust me and feel that way towards me as a brother. Enlightenment comes in many ways and if I can help then I’ll do what I can.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Wingate

        I told myself to bookmark it and to go back when I’m writing that sort of fiction. I’ll be using your blog in a book I’m sure–all credits will remain intact with you and the blogger. Love that stuff, Slick.

        Like

  5. Carrie Cannady

    Part 2 did not disappoint. In fact, as open a spiritual being as I feel that I am, you have inspired me to explore even more deeply the aspect of mediumship that you speak of here. I hear from a few, certainly not all, of my departed relatives. Those whom I don’t know, I am not attuned to. I’m sure they are there…perhaps waiting for me to really hear them. I am deeply grateful for your writing here, Laurie. Fun, accessible and easy to follow and understand. Your gentle responses to those whose religions eschew the very existence of these gifts in all of us, is wonderful. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Carrie. I’m delighted that you enjoyed my ramblings. Inspired? Well that is good, there is always something else out there to discover and hopefully help us to broaden our horizons. I have a couple of relatives who still come by, though it’s mainly drop-ins who are looking for where they need to be. As to being attuned to them you can expand your awareness that little bit extra, it’s like broadening the band on a radio. I think that if we believe we can do these things then it goes a long way to helping us achieve. I’ve had many people of various beliefs try and get under my skin over time Carrie. From in your face confrontation to mockery. I slip now and then and try to express my views then realise that it won’t make any difference. So I go on and do what I do best. I thought long and hard about starting A Medium…. Procrastination was the name of the game, because most of the subjects are out of the ordinary. Wait until I start on past lives, reincarnation, ufo’s, shamanism, curses etc. Thank you for coming by Carrie and commenting, it’s good to have you on board.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Carrie Cannady

        Thank you so much, Laurie! I now there are those who don’t want to open to the possibility that we can know more about life AND our journey here. Fear is VERY powerful. Thank you for being you – unapologetically YOU – for we ALL benefit from your authentic honesty.
        I am really looking forward to the other topics! Count me in!

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I think as people we have been denied the knowledge through fear and judgement as to just how unique we are. You’re right, fear is a powerful weapon. Especially when that fear is about the unknown. It’s so easy to go with the flow Carrie, so I find it comforting that people like yourself are interested in what I have to say and have experienced. I’m that stoked I’m going to write next week’s post right now.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. jenanita01

    fascinating post, Laurie, you are full of surprises. Can I ask if you have ever encountered someone who has been cursed? We are trying to find a way to wipe ourselves clean, as it were. This is a serious question…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you jenanita. I do like to surprise folk now and then. 🙂 I have actually and it happened when I was 14. It’s strange that you’ve asked this as I was thinking of using the story in a post. In a nutshell curses are effective when you believe them. It’s easy for me to say ignore it because it obviously has you rattled. It’s like someone threatening you with violence then walking away. You spend an inordinate amount of time worrying about the threat, thereby losing out on enjoying your life. Of course when someone comes out and says, I put a curse on you and yours for….. then it comes as a shock. Then when things start happening, which without the curse you would put down to life and its general shittiness, you think of the curse and give it power. The more you think of it the more it seems to grow, you then become super vigilant and see the curse in everything. So essentially you are cursed but by your own fear. People generally use ritual in their lives, whether it’s doing basic things a particular way or performing religious or spiritual rites.If the person who has said they’ve cursed you is going to a lot of effort and performing ritual to do it, then it’s a little different. I suggest you ask for yourselves and your home to be bathed in white, protective light. Visualise this happening and ask it to repel any negativity being directed at you, then to protect you for the day. Do it every morning or evening for a while. It’s more for your own peace of mind than anything else. I would also ask that the person doing this to you be bathed in the same light. So every time you bring on the light send it to them. People who are that vindictive that they resort to cursing will find it quite unsettling when they receive this light. It will open the connection to their soul and show them who they really are. Scary stuff. What I find interesting is that the human mind can influence another. This is the case in absent healing where intervention and the channelling of healing energy by the healer can change something in the recipient. I’ve experimented with this using a negative approach and scaring the crap out of someone, with their permission of course.
      The evil eye, pointing the bone, even pointing the finger at a person have all been means of cursing over time. As I said earlier, the way it works is through fear. Conquer your fear and the curse has no hold over you. I hope this has helped you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. kcg1974

    Fascination information, Laurie. I’ve always believed in my ‘aura.’ Never knew it was gone when I was sleeping though, Very interesting. Love your posts. Learn something new each and every time. I would love to be a ‘Medium!’ My friends swear that my intuition scares the heck out of them! Lol! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Kim. I think we have forgotten a lot about who we are and what we can do in relation to these things I’ve written about. I think the status quo would be terribly shaken if all of a sudden 7 billion people realised they were more than they’d been led to believe. Apparently ignorance is bliss. I’m glad to hear that you are aware of and use your intuition, keep scaring ’em girl. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. kcg1974

        Imteresting to see how friends react to comments made when asking for my opinion. The whites of eyes often rise above irises to think of what might come next. 🙂

        Like

  8. hitandrun1964

    Another informative and enlightening post. Thank you:) I didn’t know your aura was gone when you were out of your body or sleeping. I never read or heard of that before.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. That’s how you have the oobe. Everything goes out and you’re connected by the silver cord. Let’s face it we’re just lumps of meat and bone designed to carry a soul around. So when the body’s at rest it goes off and does it’s own thing. I must do a post on out of body experiences, I think some people think I’m odd now wait until I write about them. I see people moving out of the body often when doing healings. I’m always watching the client’s aura and can tell when they go out. I can see the body and it’s quite dark, with the tiniest tinges of blue. They come back with a thump and there’s the aura. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  9. suzjones

    Interesting reading Laurie. Due to my christian upbringing, I find it difficult to even imagine (let alone attempt) something such as automatic writing however I have read that Dr Wayne Dyer has written many of his books in that way.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ve heard this a few times Suz. Replace automatic writing with divine inspiration and where’s the difference? Jesus healed and prophesised, his followers spoke of him being re-incarnated and many parts of the bible are supposed to be written as the word of god. Where did the writing come from?
      All automatic writing is about is in unleashing your own mind. It’s what writers do, getting in touch with inside themselves. I know many branches of religion think that the things I do are satanic and evil. I look at it as being an independent thinking person who wants to know exactly what’s out there.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I hear what you are saying Laurie (I really am) and I have taken it all on board. I just don’t think that sort of thing is for me iykwim?

        Like

  10. davidprosser

    Enthralling stuff Laurie. I seem to remember something about Kyrillian aura’s years ago and how we all have one.
    I have a sort of belief that our bodies are full of electrical charge and when we die that charge
    ( call it a soul maybe) carries on. Electricity doesn’t fade does it? I use that to explain away ghosts etc because the charge hasn’t moved away yet. and also spirits because the electricity still holds an imprint of the person. Am I a long way off?
    Thanks Mate, very enjoyable.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That electrical charge has been measured David. When you sit and watch someone die you know that something has gone. The switch ahs gone off and they’re now out there. Energy never diminishes it just changes into something else. Ghosts are usually the remnants of the energy body, many stay on for centuries usually in places made of stone. Their energy is locked into the crystal makeup of stone, especially granite. The spirit in it’s previous human form manifests when necessary, drawing energy from the air around it, hence the cold feeling when it occurs. They eventually move on as the soul reincarnates. You weren’t too far off at all Mate.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

    Very interesting Laurie – I know that when I was holding the hands of both my parents when they died that I felt a physical change from one moment to the next – one minute they were there and the next gone…I probably was not visually focusing at the time so did not notice anything else.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sally. Most folk are caught up in the emotion of the passing to see anything but tears. I’d considered my mum dead for the previous four years so I observed the whole process with her passing.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Emotional indeed for some people Olga, because not only does spirit come through with their message but they bring strong feelings of love and connection. It’s worth giving the writing a go, you might be surprised what comes through.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Raani York

    This is a great post full of small lessons, Laurie. – I know the Aura reading… but sometimes I lack of interpretation. 🙂 I’m not that much into the rods, I told you that…
    And I have to admit, since the strength of gifts seems to come and go… I never thought of becoming a Medium… psychic or anything like it… I’m just thankful I sometimes, rarely, do have the chance to see a little further than my nose…
    Thanks for opening up about your gifts, Laurie!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s all in the interpretation Raani, piecing it all together. The rods? Just another tool to help along the way, they do help by giving something tangible to the experience. We all have the capacity to do these things, it’s whether or not you want to do them. I could’ve been a footballer, a mountain climber etc but had no desire to. It goes for just about anything. You’re welcome Raani.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

