Some gems at The Writer’s Room.

I’m changing phones soon and decided to clear out the photos. I took this a couple of years ago on a trip to New South Wales. I forget exactly where it was but it has a certain feel to it.Great Dividing Range

I learnt a new technique from one of my photo magazines. They supplied the templates and you have to put them together with one of your own photos. So here we have the Byron Bay lighthouse as a picture in a bottle.Byron Bay lighthouse

The link will take you to Henry Lawson’s poem, The Babies of Walloon  This statue is situated at Walloon Queensland. We drive past it whenever we go to Ipswich. The poem tells the story of two sisters who drowned in a lagoon in 1891. The park has been renamed Henry Lawson Park and is the venue of an annual poetry competition. I read this piece  there in 2011.Babies of Walloon

Now for the gems. These photos were taken on our honeymoon in 2006, we had decided on a trip around the bottom half of Queensland. We made a day of it on the gem fields at Sapphire.  First dig through  overburden from the owners sapphire mine. It’s brought in after they do a first run through it to get the big gems out. Then they charge about $5 a bucket so the tourists can have a go at making their pile. I didn’t dig just anywhere and thought carefully about where to dig, the results will be evident in the next picture. So it’s dig out your fortune, get Lorelle to wash it in the sieve and pan, have a good look through the gravel and then have another look.The Smiths

This is the end result, these are all sapphires. They vary in colour, green, blue and amber. The broken matchstick is half an inch long, or 12mm. This will give you an idea of the size of the gems. I turned a torch upside down, placed the stones in a Tupperware container add some water and switched on the light. Viola! The 5 stones in the top right are probably worth getting cut, the truth is I put the packets away and forgot all about them until the other day.  When you finish all the washing and cleaning, you take your treasures into the shop and the owner has a look at them with her eyepiece. She said to me, ‘I thought you only bought two buckets?’ – ‘I did, why?’ – ‘Well these stones here, hmm, you should only get that quality in about ten buckets worth, and one of them is a star sapphire.’ Her face said it all, believe me I wasn’t crying about it.sapphires

Lorelle’s hairdresser has a certain flair for decorating, so I snapped these while waiting for her. I put the white, shell thingy on one of the chairs. Now that’s black and white.🙂IMG_0015q-tile

Coming home the other day and there they were, two new deer. They were interested in some hay put out for the cattle. This is a new stag, he only has six tines on his antlers and he’s a tad smaller than the other two I’ve put on here. He looks quite fit standing on the road.Red deer

Technically this isn’t a good photo. I took it a couple of years ago with my phone, while still in bed. Yes, she was staring through the window but I think it gives a good view of how close they come to the house.roo at window

So how about some good pics of them. ‘You lot keep watch for that photographer, I’ll just…ahhhh, have a scratch.’wallabies

If you open this in a new tab you’ll see the female’s eyes are bulging slightly. The amorous young bloke behind her has his foot on her tail. One of those off the cuff courting moves I think.wallabies

I had my work cut out catching this little bloke. They came onto the lawn and he was full of beans. He took off from his mum and bolted across to these adults and jumped clean over the female’s back.wallaby joey

Some evenings I just like to sit and take little portrait pictures of them. ‘Excuse me mister, have you seen my earring?’wallaby

That’s it for the week, I hope you’ve found them interesting and I know I’ve made one group of supporters very happy. Until next week,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

43 thoughts on “Some gems at The Writer’s Room.

  1. CaronAllanAuthor

    That big sky one at the beginning looks like the opening backdrop of a Western – sure I can hear the theme to ‘The Big Country’. Great Roos! Love the picture in the bottle technique – that’s so clever.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron, I surprised myself with that one.🙂 It has that big country look. Thought you might like the roos, there were plenty for roo lovers. I gave a little squeal when that bottle pic turned out. I don’t have photoshop but I do have Gimp and I managed to find the tools needed to do it. Yay.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Nancy Eckert

    What I think is that the photographs are marvelous, and why have I not see this group before?
    OR! Maybe I have, was distracted, and had a crack in my mind (my mind appears to be working rather well).

    I have two emails: My pen name is Thistle Brown, and she writes Women’s Literature, although her best reviews have been written by men.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Nancy, pleased to meet you. The photos came out on Friday for the first time. Perhaps you may have seen them, I don’t know, in a dream, seen them forgot and saw them again.😉 the thing is you stopped by and commented, thank you. I do like Thistle, it has a ring to it. My best reviews are written by women, it’s a funny world.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Eli Pacheco

    1. We blokes could take a lesson from Mr. Tail Stomper. That’s one way to get a gal’s attention.

    2. Your gem-mining shirt is a gem in itself, mate.

    3. I always wondered – who does cleanup behind the ‘roos in your yard?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      1. Well she obviously noticed the size of his feet and you know what they say about that.
      2. I have been known to wear multi-coloured shirts at times.
      3. No clean-ups mate. The gang from RooPoo come along at night and spread the love, so when spring comes our lawn is well on the way to being fertilised. It doesn’t smell.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Carrie Cannady

    I loved these pictures, and of course the story which accompanies each one. Now I wish to go get my star sapphire ring out to wear! This is a great beginning to my day. Thank you.🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Wow, poetry and honeymoons and roos and deer!!! What a nice bunch of gems these were, Sir Laurence. I loved the poem about the Babies of Waloon although it was a sad story too.
    Thanks for the fun post although I have no clue about what it could possibly have to do with you getting a new phone. I think I must have missed something. Blessings and hugs, LMS🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Come on down, I have everything going on here. It was sad about the babies of Walloon. There was another sister, a younger one and her daughter came to the unveiling of the statues a few years ago. The phone. The first pic of the mountains was taken with my mobile phone and it was the only good pic I ever took with it. The rest except for the wallaby at our bedroom window were taken with various cameras. So I was lamenting the fact that it had a lousy camera in it.
      Love and hugs
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Patricia Salamone

    Great pictures Fratello, your good even with a phone camera. You have an artist’s eye, something I lack, I can not play a musical instrument either, but I keep trying. Love visiting you, thanks for making me smile. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, I try. An artist’s eye? Well I like to observe things so I guess you could call it that.🙂 Not musical? But I bet you make a mean pizza. I enjoyed your visit. How’s Mike’s back going? I like to make the ladies smile you know.🙂
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bette. I wouldn’t want to do it for real, some of those mines just wander down into the ground.😦 There’s nothing like gathering memories of a nice day finding sapphires.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. olganm

    Great images, sad story…Love the thought of going looking for gemstones, especially getting one over the owner. I’m wondering what pictures are we going to get from the next phone… Looking forward to it!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. yes the babies of Walloon was sad, poor wee things. Well if the pics from the new phone are like the panorama then it will be okay. Although I won’t be retiring my DSLR for anything. I didn’t feel sorry for the owner, there were a few people and little action happening there. I watched the owner go over to a group, who were her friends, put her hand in their bucket and pull out a large stone. She called out, ‘Look at this, they’ve found a huge sapphire.’ Of course the punters raced for the buckets. She’d palmed it like a pick pocket in reverse.

      Like

      Reply
  8. talain45

    Hello Laurie! I don’t know about you getting ride of that old phone of yours, it takes such great images and is quit a little genie judging by the lighthouse picture in the surf. It also looks like you both did well on the honeymoon, hope you can finally do something with them gems. Take care, Michael🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Michael, the panorama was from the phone (the only decent pic) the others were from various cameras. I believe in Thailand you can get stones cut at a cheaper rate and they’re honest with it too. Thanks for dropping in mate and
      have a great day. Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. talain45

        It is a wonderful image! So keep it and exchange the old phone for hopefully a better one. I’m having a good day so far, hope yours is starting off great as well, Michael🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Funnily enough the old phone is two years old.😦 I may have got a dud camera in it. The new one’s coming next month. Good to hear that all is well, mine’s okay, every day you’re above the ground is a fantastic one.🙂
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  9. suzjones

    We’ve never been to Sapphire. I like the idea of being able to fossick through a couple of buckets full. We were able to do that in Lightning Ridge with some tailings from one of the mines. We found a couple of tiny pieces that we have put away. Nothing to write home about that’s for sure. Not like you apparently.😀
    I remember reading that poem and your story about the woman. I’ve said it before (Baden-Clay) and I’ll say it again “Divorce is an easier way”. Sad really.
    If you’re interested in poetry competitions, there is one coming up next month (I think) in Rathdowney. I have the details somewhere if you’d like them.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The secret is Suz I used the old intuition to find the best places to fill the bucket from.🙂 I know a few people may have read the poem before but what ‘m doing lately is linking back to my previous, relevant posts. it gives a bit more to the picture or the little story around it. I agree, divorce is far easier, unfortunately some men allow their egos to get in the way.😦 Yeah, send the details for the comp, I’ll see what’s happening,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I figured that was what you did lol
        I just googled the competition and it appears they have cancelled it. Oops. Wonder what happened there. I might have to investigate further with my in-laws. I’m sure they’ll know.

        Like

  10. davidprosser

    All the pictures are amazing as usual Laurie but the top one is just stunning.That was a great poem but so sad, especially for you as the policeman having to face that again and again.
    I’d love to have seen the look on the mine owner’s face, it must have been a treat. You did really well there. You’ll have to get the star sapphire cut.
    Did you use zoom on the joey or did it come really close. I guess some are braver than others and certainly more inquisitive.
    Keep well Laurie
    Manly Hugs
    David

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. I don’t know what I did right with the panorama, I haven’t been able to take a decent one with it since. A lot of anger came out in that poem. A divorce might be messy but at least everyone walks away in one piece. The mine owner? Oh yes, she didn’t like that I’d found much more than my money’s worth.🙂 I only zoomed onto her face, she was about 20 feet away on the lawn. I sit out on the veranda and watch for the antics, then when you get a pretty face like that you have to snap it. Well the one at the bedroom window will show you how nosey they are.
      Manly hugs back at you David
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  11. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    Those deer are beautiful. I love the black and white shell. Good for you for finding the star and other sapphires! The panorama is gorgeous. Like the bottle with the light house too. Nice to see Lorelle! Of course the roos are adorable. I like the earring one. She’s sweet. Another entertaining post, Laurie, thanks!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Looks like I’ve ticked all the boxes here Nia. I got a surprise with the panorama. I can’t seem to take a decent pic with my phone, so you can imagine my surprise when I saw the panorama.🙂 Lorelle went, ‘Why did you put that pic in?’ I thought it was fine. Thanks for taking the time from your holiday to comment.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  12. Raani York

    Laurie, these are GREAT!! I love your honeymoon pictures, I love the decoration plates – I love the last picture. (the missing earring.🙂 )
    But of course and first of all I love the deer.🙂 So beautiful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. yes not every honeymoon is resorts and flowers. No, get out there and look for gems.🙂 I glad to see I’ve given you plenty to ohh over this week. Whenever I see the deer I always stop and take a snap.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  13. Jane Risdon

    Wonderful. I love the photos and the little snippets of information to g with them. Thanks for sharing. I am working my way through your blog again and many others I am behind with, Laurie, so bear with me. I can see it pays to hang out with you. There’s me thinking all you can offer a girl is second hand lint and now I see you have sapphires too…oh, kept that little gem from me I see.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Jane. One must have snippets, I know a pic is worth a thousand words but sometimes it needs a few more.🙂 Not only do I have an endless supply of lint, one gets sapphires too. I couldn’t tell everyone about them, well they know now.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

