A Medium, or just well done? Dreams.

To sleep: perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come,
Thanks to William Shakespeare for that little piece. One cannot write about anything to do with the paranormal or mediumship etc. without touching on dreams. On average we spend a third of our lives sleeping and we dream on average every 90 minutes throughout the night. The first dream is 5 minutes long and the last one up to 45 minutes long. Through a normal lifespan we would dream 100,000 times. Now that’s a lot of dreams.

“The dream is a little door in the innermost and most secret recesses of the soul, opening into that cosmic night which was psyche long before there was any ego-consciousness, and which will remain psyche no matter how far our-consciousness extends.” Carl Jung.
During my journey into working as a healer, medium and psychic I read a huge amount of books on the subject, practised what I read and came to my own conclusions on many things. Amongst the books I read and absorbed were anything by Jung. To me he made a lot of sense about archetypes, symbolism, the unconscious, dream interpretation etc. I’m not going to waffle on here about the scholarly aspect of dreams but I will show you examples of prophetic and other dreams. What you need to realise though is because a dream symbol means one thing to me, it doesn’t necessarily mean the same thing to you. I would suggest that for those who haven’t read about Jung that you Google Dreams and Carl Jung. During my ten years of psychoanalysis dreams played an important part in my healing. On every visit my psychiatrist, George would always ask, “So Laurie, what have you been dreaming about since I saw you last?” I kept a diary and would recount the main features and feelings, both during and after the dream. I have to say that the mind is wonderful creation, the subconscious hides all the terrible things and lets them out when needed during your sleep. Events that many would say are better left unknown came floating to the surface in vivid colour. Then were fleshed out during EMDR therapy. Sure I would have liked them to have stayed there but they were slowly killing me inside. Exposed by the light of day they may not be pleasant but I have an understanding of the events.

Prophetic Dreams. I would have been about 5 and in infants school back in England. There was quite a lot of hoo haa going on, the Queen would be visiting our town. Now I wasn’t all that sure about who she was, yes you saw her on stamps and coins and in paintings. (we didn’t have a TV then) The dream: I stood in a long winding corridor against a wall. On each side of me were my classmates all excited and squealing, and me? I was towering above them at 6′ 2″ tall, in my late teens and wearing jeans, boots and a chequered flannel shirt. The Queen floated past me, waving her hand.  HM visited the town, came nowhere near the school and left. Let’s go forward to 1970, Sydney Australia. I’m in town with an army mate, we’re both in civvies and the celebrations are on commemorating Captain Cook’s landing in 1770. I’m dressed the same as in the dream and I walk around the corner, stop on the sidewalk and who should drive past waving? Yes, Queen Elizabeth. I know it’s not earth shattering but it shows, at least to me that the mind goes somewhere while we sleep.

A year before the parents even thought of going to Australia I dreamt of myself standing on a high point. I was quite brown, my skin was oiled and I wore a pair of white swimming trunks. The thought came to me that I would be somewhere warm and that I wouldn’t set foot back in England for forty years. Within a year of being in Australia I was really brown, wore a pair of white swimmers my mother made and was diving for coins off the jetty at La Perouse. I returned to England for a visit in 2002, 41 years after I arrived in Australia.

I had left Ipswich after my time in the police and moved to the country for 7 years, a variety of reasons came into play and we decided to move back into town. About 6 months before we found the house we wanted I dreamt about going around the corner from our house up to where there used to be a service station and a block of shops. The service station was gone, the shops were renovated and one was a pizza shop. I stood in line with two people ahead of me and bought a pizza. We bought the house and I noticed that the servo had been removed. We were too busy to even stop. The day we moved there were a few problems and we finally moved in that night. I decided to go around to the shops for some takeaway, lo and behold there was a pizza shop. Two people were ahead of me. Once again nothing alarming but in my dream state I’d gone forward to that time.

Lorelle and I visited her sister in Emerald a few years ago, after we settled in we all went for a walk. This involved going via the opposite end of the street to where she lived. Halfway down I stopped and thought, I’ve been here before. I said to Lorelle’s sister, “There’s a shed at the end on the left and a man fixes car engines there. There’s a grocery shop around the corner and going up the street on the right is a park. In the park is a rotunda amongst a grove of trees.” – She gave me that look and said, “I thought you hadn’t been to Emerald?” – “I haven’t, I dreamt it.” I had indeed, 20 years previously.

I walked tentatively through the familiar building, most of the insides were destroyed leaving bare timbers and mounds of bricks. Other figures, almost ghostly wandered past me looking in despair at what was once familiar. A woman came close, I recognised her as the only teacher I had in England who took an interest in me. She smiled and kept going and I found myself standing in the classroom of my boys school. I received a letter from an aunt about three months later and in it she informed me that my old school had indeed been demolished earlier that year.

The train carriage rattled and swayed. I stood at the rear looking forward, towards the far door noticing dozens of people sitting together in the rows of seats. The carriage stopped and the door burst open. Large, green crocodiles barged in walking upright. They wore bandoliers of ammunition and carried AK47 machine guns. Mouths agape, growling they began firing into the passengers. Thankfully I woke up and actually wandered the house for a while to settle myself. A couple of days later on 17 November 1997, the Luxor Massacre occurred in Egypt involving the killing of 62 people, mostly tourists, by an Islamic terrorist group. Why the symbol of a crocodile? Well it placed the event in Africa, the crocodile god Sebok was revered by ancient Egyptians as a god of strength, power and war. Crocodiles are also by their very nature symbolic of violent death. Why the train carriage? To me the steam train is symbolic of death and destruction, some of the world’s worst transport disasters have been train crashes, with deaths of up to a thousand people. I obviously read something about them as a child and the effect would have been imprinted on my psyche. So when a death is imminent then I see the person or animal in a train carriage. I’ve wandered through other carriages in my dreams, always before a large loss of life, or of someone close. I find it extremely interesting because my mind is connecting with something that is yet to happen, the deaths of so many people. I know some of you will ask, “What’s the good of it if you can’t stop it happening?” A valid point but one that is easily answered, they’re on the train and nothing I say or do will change it, they’re going to die. When it involves someone closer at least you can prepare yourself. I learnt years ago that people rarely listen to warnings, even when it involves their own wellbeing.
Salt water crocodiles in Darwin.
saltwater crocodiles

Symbolic dreams: Over time I have accrued a list of dream symbolism that has served me well or at least informed me of events to come.

Teeth: When I dream about my teeth or for that matter someone else’s then I know that illness is a week or two away. Prior to a major health problem in 2011 I dreamt that all of my  teeth were dropping out of the gums and going down my throat. I’d had previous dreams of a tooth coming out, then a week later I’d have a cold or cut myself. This one seemed sinister and I couldn’t do a thing about it. Although when I did fall ill I decided to go to the hospital for a change. Last April I had the tooth dream, plus a huge storm, with wind blowing everywhere. The following week I contracted pneumonia then a few months later was diagnosed with emphysema. A few weeks ago I woke in the middle of the night, I’d been dreaming about a friend of ours, Leesa. She stood in front of me, opened her mouth and her teeth fell out. Right I thought, this isn’t good. Now this friend has an ongoing health problem but I saw this event as being much worse. I woke up and told Lorelle and later that day she rang her with the warning. A week later Leesa’s health deteriorated and she ended up in great discomfort and has been laid low since.

Water:  This is always about emotions to me and depending on the state of the water then it shows the severity of the event. I always find myself floating or swimming in the sea, or a large lake. When the water is rough and the currents strong then I know that emotional upheavals are on the way, something new to come. If the waves come in a regular swell then its going to be a constant problem for a while. The sneaky one is where the water is dead calm and things come up from the sea bed. These things can be animals, objects or people.

Storms:
Obviously storms are about turmoil and destruction. On the 5th January 2011 I dreamt that I was floating above Ipswich, looking back towards Toowoomba. The area in between was covered in tornados, deluges of rain and flooding. Lorelle was due to go into hospital on the 11th of January for an operation on her bowel to remove a cancer. It began raining the Sunday night so I took her into Ipswich. We stayed at a motel near the hospital and on the Monday morning she went in for her op. I stayed until I could speak to her and returned home. Which is where I stayed for three days while some of the worst flooding in years tore the district apart. There were many deaths and the destruction of land and property ran into the tens of millions of dollars. Two things came of that, I knew I had to get her there early and that I needed to return home.

Motor vehicle: Dreams of being in a car or similar is about your life, it’s your ‘drive’ and purpose. Depending on who’s driving shows just who is in control of your life. The condition of the vehicle should also be taken into account.

House: I always see a house as representing the self. The roof or attic is the mind, the bathroom connects to the bladder and bowel, the kitchen to nourishment, the bedroom, sex and sleep, the living room the heart. Take a look at the condition of the rooms when you walk through it in your dream, you may be surprised by what you see.

Spiders: Most people would wake up screaming if they had thousands of spiders pouring over the end of their bed and swarming towards them. Not so gentle reader, spiders are symbols of money coming your way. Three days after this dream I won $6,666.66 on the Lotto.🙂

Nightmares: They’re almost always about a dream you’ve been ignoring. Because dreams are the way our subconscious speaks to us, if we don’t pay heed then the subconscious ups the ante until we have no choice but to look at what’s there. How do you do it? Simple, you face the terror and ask it show you what it really is. Now for when you can’t speak to them. (This dream occurred about 1976)
My armoured vehicle stood silent on the jungle track. The sky lowered, melding with the tree tops, dark clouds scudded past heavy with rain. Dead grass, taller than me grew out of a long ditch. The rain fell, soaking my uniform and I gripped the Browning 9mm pistol harder. Something lurked in the long grass and I moved slowly towards it. A Viet Cong, black clad and heavily armed moved out from the grass. I raised my pistol and pulled the trigger, nothing. I pulled it again and a bullet fell out of the end of the barrel. I pulled the trigger again and the pistol fell apart. Rage, fear and adrenalin propelled me forward and I leapt onto him. One hand at his throat I pummelled him with the other, that didn’t stop him moving. So I put two hands there, good now I had him. I could feel the life leaving him, he brought a hand up and I felt terrible pain in my eyes. I woke up. I was in bed straddling my wife, both hands firmly around her throat. With what she said later was virtually her last breath she raked at my eyes. That is how people can kill in their sleep. At no stage was I aware of my real surroundings, the only thing that existed was my life or death struggle with the enemy. The symbology screams at you from this dream. A gun that doesn’t work, (phallic) pending doom with the rain clouds, (huge emotions) a hidden male enemy that’s well armed, the need to destroy. You can look at this on two levels, one an experience in Vietnam and the other a marital one. My ex never slept close again after that.

Next week: A bit of this and that.

61 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? Dreams.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    Great post Laurie. Dreams have always been one of my favorite subjects. I do keep a dream journal and write down all the ones I can remember. But I also believe in waking dreams. For instance, if we see a huge snake in real life, how is that any different from seeing one in a dream? For me, the symbolism or lesson is there, no matter if it is physical or in the dream state. Do you agree?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael. The things we see in our dream state, I believe are more symbolic because our subconscious mind is speaking to us. The things we see in our waking state that are symbols could make us aware, or remind us of things we need to know. This symbolism in nature is very ancient, it’s how the world operated before mainstream religion.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. CaronAllanAuthor

    This was so interesting, I know that many people including myself are fascinated by dreams and their meanings/purpose. I have had vivid, recurring dreams which have sometimes gone on for many years, and I know, for example, if I am very stressed or anxious, I will have a ‘railway’ dream – a dream I am back in the (extremely stressful and unpleasant) job I had when I first left school, where I worked in a ticket office at a busy railway station.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I quite often dream about being back in the police and prison and it’s usually when I’m stressed, or feeling regretful. Recurring dreams are interesting, especially if you are in the same place, with the same people. I tend to think that you’re then somewhere in the astral. Let’s face it Caron, we spend a third of our life with our body asleep and our mind off travelling in a strange world. What an adventure.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. bgbowers

    Dreams have always played a central role in my life. Over the years I have consulted many dream books, but, like you say, they are far too generic and so I have slowly figured out what things mean for me personally. I now keep a dream journal and I’ve learned to distinguish ‘warning/prophetic dreams’ as opposed to general dreams.

    It is such a fascinating subject, and it’s wonderful to read/hear/learn about someone else’s dream experience and knowledge. Thank you, Laurie🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Dreams are odd things Bianca, it is a matter of sorting the wheat from the chaff. Dream books are like daily horoscopes, totally generic. I’m glad you like my offerings, I’ve been cautious about writing some of this stuff and I don’t know why. I tried to get onto your blog yesterday but it wouldn’t load. So I’m going to give it another go.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Eli Pacheco

    I don’t remember most of my dreams, mate. But I have few about things like pizza and Portia Di Rossi and many that involve tense adventures. You know, instances when I’m running from a peril or searching for something. i sometimes wake up exhausted.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Food and sex are great dream subjects Mate, they’re regulated on how much you’re getting or not getting. Especially the pizza. Running away dreams are usually about something in our lives we don’t want to face up to. I’d rather wake up exhausted after dreaming about Portia Di Rossi and a side order of a meat lovers pizza. As an aside it’s interesting that you dream of a woman you can’t have. You know a lesbian and married to another woman. Sigmund Freud would love this dream.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Russel Ray Photos

    About the only dreaming I do is daydreaming. I don’t sleep long enough to enter REM sleep so I don’t dream. Being a catnapper, the longest I ever sleep is about 3 hours, and then it’s not a deep sleep. Tossing and turning all the time.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Actually daydreaming is better than nothing, the same apparatus is in use. Terrible sleep pattern there Russel, though you’re such a busy person it’s a wonder you don’t sleep standing up.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Jane Dougherty

    I can’t reply to your comment, Laurie in the right place. I’m sorry but I’d be a useless subject—can’t remember a thing about my situation/state of mind when I had the dream. It was probably the usual pre-Christmas anxiety about what the hell we were going to eat, and how I was going to get through the festivities without straining a few inter-costals.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Carrie Cannady

    Laurie – I enjoyed every word of this. I, too, am a student of my dreams. Reflecting on my years of therapy, not a single psychiatrist or analyst even broached the topic of my dreams. However, many years ago, I did research on dream analysis as a tool in psychotherapy and quite enjoyed the time I spent in a university science library.😉 There are periods of time in which my dreams are vivid and easy to recall and at other times, I am aware that I was dreaming and yet have no recall…and then there are times when only a few artifacts remain in my memory upon waking. It is a fascinating way to divine our path. After all, it is said that all that has happened or will happen…is happening now. Time is not linear…it is indeed “stacked”.😉

    I look forward to more and more of your thought provoking and feeling evoking words.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Carrie. I was lucky that mine looked at the whole person in therapy and took note of the results. He always said our dreams are a measure of our health. I found Jung’s work enthralling on dreams and archetypes, heavy reading but nonetheless interesting. I go through a period where I know I’ve dreamt but they fade quickly on waking, lost forever. That’s not a bad thing as they were probably of no use.🙂 As you know not every dream is about something important. They can be daily mind clean-ups, filing away happenings, entertainment (I think of it as a DVD for the night) then the subconscious deciding to have a conversation with us. Then of course is what I’ll be going into next the astral travelling dreams. To twist a Star Trek saying a little, “It’s time Jim but not as we know it.” I look forward to hearing from you too Carrie.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. mindlovemisery

    When I dream of cars they are always out of control and driving themselves at top speeds. Generally it starts out normally there is a driver (usually Sam as in real life), he parks and gets out but then the car starts to roll and pick up speed. I try to get into the driver’s seat but the brakes never work and my steering only makes matters worse (there are always a lot of hills). I sometimes dream I am riding in the back going up an enormous hill like the edge of the world or something. I think this is highly representative because I don’t feel very in control or confident. For me cars are very symbolic. I aced driver’s ed but then I had an experience where I was practicing driving and sort of blanked out, like mentally disappeared and the car spun out of control. It scared my mom to death but I wasn’t scared because I was mentally absent during the whole event. When she told me about it and I couldn’t remember I decided that I wouldn’t drive and I never did drive despite how angry it has made everyone. I really feel I’d kill someone driving and with my vision deteriorating rapidly it just doesn’t seem like a good idea, When I dream of houses they always have an infinite number of rooms, sometimes the rooms are very nice, orderly, and spacious (there tends to be a lot of bedrooms haha) and sometimes the house is older (though I’d say my houses are generally in decent shape considering it’s my mind haha). The last time I dreamed of a house I dreamed of the one we might move into. It had an extra room (a kitchen) and there was a cursed radio in it. There really aren’t extra rooms in this house but there is a basement filled full up with gravel. I didn’t feel any negative vibes in the house even in those closets that I usually find creepy (in the actual closet there was a large yellow bird plushie haha) maybe it concerns something I will buy or bring or that they will unexpectedly leave? My step brother is a police officer in New York he has seen some terrible things. He has cleaned up after airplane crashes and 9/11. He has nightmares and when he does he sometimes gets violent and has also choked his wife (during his sleep). He is a very muscular fit guy so he sometimes goes to sleep literally tied down for fear or hurting her.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Your dreams of cars are text book feeling out of control and having no direction. Putting aside your actual driving experience and knowing what you’ve written about your health, I’d say you only feel better when Sam is in charge. The house sounds interesting, not only because it’s the one you are looking to buy but because of the basement full of gravel. I’d look at that as your deep subconscious mind full of the things that are weighing you down. The cursed radio could be your thoughts talking to you in the dream. The plushie in the closet is interesting. What good part of your childhood have you hidden away in a place you don’t like to go?
      I feel for your s/brother, policing is a tough gig and the horror has t leak out somewhere.😦
      Thanks so much for your great participation in this.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. mindlovemisery

        I haven’t had those car dreams lately but they are a staple of my dream life. I am trying to make some strides and have done but I have a long way to go.

        The plushie really was in the house and they really do have a basement filled with gravel. The extra kitchen and the cursed radio were not part of the actual house. I seem to remember I noticed the blender as well and it seemed important but the dream is all very vague now

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Now that could be the result of a curry dinner before bed.😉 Not all dreams have meaning. Early in the night they are usually all about clearing your day out and stacking memories away. So, that turkey………………..

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Jane Dougherty

        I was one of those extremely vivid dreams that I remembered in detail and still do after almost a year. It was the only turkey left at the butcher’s and she was pecking about on the floor, and fluttering her eyelashes. It was the butcher told me her name was Marge. I took the children out of the place telling them I could never eat someone I’d been introduced to. My opinion hasn’t changed on that one🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        A bit more info helps.🙂 Who or what was in your life at the time that you felt you needed to appease? A butcher is a powerful image, was it a person who could ‘chop you up’ emotionally or with your work? Did you feel under pressure to perform? Fluttering eyelashes are certainly about flirting. It seems to me that you were in a position at the time where you had to act normal under pressure. That all you had on your side was your ‘wiles’ and that by acting normal you wouldn’t be noticed. Was it a part of yourself at play that you didn’t feel comfortable with? Being introduced to the turkey ( a sacrifice of sorts) means that you then recognised something in yourself, didn’t like it then told the children, you’re inner child/innocent self that you couldn’t eat/accept that part of yourself.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. jenanita01

    dream interpretation is a very interesting subject and one that has always fascinated me. For I am one of those people who don’t think they dream much , if at all. I know I must do, but never remember any of them. It would be good to have this ‘early warning’ system, I think.
    Thanks for sharing, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It is indeed jenanita. You can always ask yourself to remember your dreams before you go to sleep. the early warning system does help.🙂 You’re welcome ladies.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      A diary helps Olga, although I haven’t kept one for a while now. I’m usually interpreting them as I wake these days. I find the ones I have before getting up are the most productive. There’s more to come…
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. talain45

    Dream are definitely the creative side of our thinking proses I think. It can shape our imagination at will and create any world it wants. They bring out our fear that is for sure. Most of mine awake me in the middle or more towards the end but I’m kind glad for that. I can make happier ending in the woken world. Have a good one for me Laurie and keep the spiders out of it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      So many inventions have come into existence through the dream state. The man who invented the sewing machine had an awful lot of trouble finding out how to get the needles to take the cotton through the fabric. he dreamt one night about being surrounded by Zulu warriors. They were stabbing their broad bladed spears at him. each spear head had a slot cut into it. That is how the machine was born. I don’t think that we really appreciate our sleeping life as much as we could. There’s definitely a lot happening there. the one thing I’m glad of is the old we need to go and have a pee dream, now that’s important. Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  11. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran

    I’m amazed by your prophetic dreams! Thank you for the symbolism ideas too. I dream about houses constantly. I like those dreams a lot. I have some recurring houses, too. I tend to remember these dreams. One recurring theme is that find whole new wings to the houses that I didn’t know were there.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia. I love the symbolism and how when a dream comes together it’s that ah moment. The recurring dream about new wings on the house would be about your transformation as a person, writer, photographer etc. As we expand our ‘house’ gets that little bit bigger.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  12. Raani York

    This was quite an interesting read, Laurie.
    I do own a “dream-meaning” book which explains different things we dream about. Sometimes it’s right, sometimes it isn’t. I do find it very fascinating. Even more since I had learned to remember most of my dreams.
    Years ago in a very hard and demanding phase in my life I had been seeking psychiatric support. This man was very much into dreams and taught me how to remember them. Whenever I needed to go to him I had to tell him about my dreams.
    One day I told him that I didn’t dream about anything significant… but that I realized I started hearing voices. He got kind of excited and asked me different things about this… you know, do I hear them regularly, what do they tell me… or if they are talking to me particularly at a certain time of the day… I replied, no. They come and go whenever they please. So he asked me if I usually do something particular when I hear them. And I replied: “Yes… usually when I’m on the phone.”…. This, Laurie, was the first and last time within years that I had heard him laughing loudly. – But fact is: he must have “read” a lot from my dreams. Whether or not he saw my dreams from a scientific-medical point of view or a psychic one I could never find out.
    Thanks for sharing this very interesting post!!🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. I had a dream book years ago and it was quite general in its approach. When I started reading Jung then it all took on a new meaning. I found a deeper appreciation of my dreams, finally the inner me was communicating. Dream interpretation and psychiatry are such great tools to help a person. It gives some meaning to hat’s happening in life. You’re bloody lucky he didn’t crown you with a large book for saying that about the voices. Very funny indeed. The thing is Raani that he would have interpreted your dreams and fitted them into the analysis. Dreams are such a great barometer of our mental state.
      You’re welcome, I enjoyed writing this one.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  13. drewdog2060drewdog2060

    This is fascinating. I recently dreamed of being in North Korea with a close friend and meeting an Englishman who was sympathetic to the regime. My friend and I both agreed (in the dream) that this person was extremely dodgy and ought not to be trusted by us. He was, I think a businessman looking to make money from trading with the North Koreans. I don’t know what to make of my dream!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hmm, this is interesting. Perhaps there is someone around you who is putting themselves outside of the law, (North Korea) or normal conventions. They could be a businessman or a person you have dealings with. The friend in the dream could be the subconscious side of yourself warning you about them. In your waking state you might think this person is sort of okay. In the dream your intuition is warning you to be careful.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  14. suzjones

    You’ve started something in me now Laurie. I got to the part about the train and a dream I had last year resurfaced. I have written a lot of my dreams down in a notebook and for the life of me, I can’t find the dang thing now. I started writing some of my more vivid dreams down to try and make some sense of them. And then there was one that I am sure would make a great plot for a fantasy book. This one went all night. I would wake up and then go back to sleep and the dream would continue.
    As to the spiders….. still waiting for money.
    For the record, big spiders scare me. I went through a stage where I had dozed off and something would wake me, and there would be a huge spider suspended from a gossamer string over my face. I generally screamed and threw myself from the bed. By this time, the GG and the Tween would be with me and I would be telling them about the spider. I could still see it but when they turned the light on, there was nothing. Bit like the money really….. not there. lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ve done something right this week then.🙂 Bit sad that you can’t find your dream book. The thing with dreams is to look at them like a cryptic crossword, they might seem obvious but the only way for your subconscious to communicate is through this awkward bleedin way of The Times’ cryptic crossword of the day. You may have to wit a long time for the money.😦 I’ve actually woken up with a real huge huntsman doing push ups on my face. Yuk!

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I found the book. It had fallen behind the computer desk. But I didn’t write the dream about the train in it. Weird that I remembered it when I read your blog post though. There were some other pretty strange dreams in there though. lol
        Ugh on the huntsman. Those things give me the heebie jeebies.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Hiding from you eh? Strange dreams are good because they’re the ones that usually contain all the clues.🙂 Spiders are okay as long as they aren’t on me.

        Like

      3. suzjones

        Agreed with the spider thing. *ugh*
        As to the dreams, I have found some awesome meanings from some of my dreams. And some were just so bizarre I have to wonder. lol

        Like

  15. davidprosser

    Fascinating stuff Laurie. I’m afraid I very rarely remember a dream in the morning, most of the time I’d say I don’t think I dream. At least I’ll know what to expect if I dream of spiders now.
    Keep well
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. We all dream but not everybody remembers them. If we don’t get any sleep then weird things happen to our minds. That’s why sleep deprivation is a common torture method.
      It’s like the Scot who had crab lice and after 6 months of suffering he went to the doctor. He examined him and said, ‘This is terrible, why didn’t you get treatment earlier?’
      The Scot replied, ‘Well, I was thinking they may have been money spiders.’

      Like

      Reply
  16. risinghawk

    Fascinating. I recently had a most unusual dream with a spider. I could open my mouth very wide, and was looking at the back of my throat in a mirror, and there was a spider crawling up the back of my throat! My throat was open at the top, so the fear was that he was going to go right up into my brain. I kept trying to knock him down with my finger but couldn’t quite reach him and he kept heading back up. Very strange. I don’t recall feeling afraid in the dream, only that I felt it was significant in a totem/archetype way. Haven’t got my money yet, though😉 Great post!

    Like

    Reply
      1. risinghawk

        I believe that a feeling becomes a thought when we give it words or sound, be it silently in our minds, or vocally, or pen-to-paper.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Re imagination/thinking. I read recently that the Vegas nerve which controls many of the body’s internal organs is a type of brain in itself. That it controls so many functions and can do so without much input from the brain. Could this be the gut instinct, that first knowing of when something is wrong? So that the feeling is probably being transformed to thinking in microseconds as it is being felt.

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Greg. In Norse mythology the spider is seen as the two fates, Norn and someone else, I’m not sure. They’re also associated with speaking out and. So perhaps your dream was about speaking out about something to do with you or your life. because you were pushing it back down you didn’t want to speak about it. Dream symbols can be quite personal and one persons dream may not represent another. It’s something to think about.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. risinghawk

        Well, I certainly do my share of spouti . . . uh, speaking out. Usually with a lot more tact than I’m actually feeling. Interesting that it relates to Norse mythology, as I am at home spiritually within that framework. Peace . . .

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Tact, the brake pedal on the end of the tongue.🙂 I may have lost mine. I’ve always had an interest in mythology Greg, to me they are stories of real people added to over time. I think a longer time than most realise.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

