Little Roo lost at The Writer’s Room.

This picture needs to be opened in a new window to get the full emotional effect of poor lost Roo. Spring is in the air and the joeys love to bound around the lawn. This little guy ran amok and his mum wandered off. In the third pic the wallaby whacks him one for coming to close to her. He made a pitiful chittering sound and she whupped him again. After he left, her joey came out, I’m sure he blew a raspberry at me. The last I saw of him he was bounding off through the garden to the right of the photo.kangaroos

We were going out for a drive the other day and heading straight for this storm. Luckily we missed it as it dropped a heap of hail and left minor flooding in its wake. Another sign of spring.storm cloud

This is where we were heading, the Pioneer Village at Highfields, Toowoomba. They have about 60 displays and I made a feast of it with the camera. This is Griinke Cottage, a fine example of a slab hut. This was a popular method of building in early settlements. Split your posts, make sure you have your corrugated iron and get stuck in. Opened in a new tab you will see just how good they looked inside too.Pioneer Village Toowoomba

Across the way we found the dining hall for visitors, so we had some damper (unleavened bread cooked in a camp oven) and tea. This fine display of cooking pots, kettles and pans was well and truly in the dark. All I could see when I took the picture with the flash was the glow from the fire.bush kitchen

These horses live on the property and are used to pull various carts on display days. Being horses they always believe that whatever is in your hand is A. For them. B. Edible. Mr Moustache saw my camera and trotted over, he gave it a huge sniff, a tentative lick and then wandered away. That over the shoulder look of disdain says it all. I was a little jealous of his moustache though.draught horses

This fine Banksia tree stood behind one of the large barns. I like the browns and green.banksia

I took this a couple of years ago in the backyard. We have an embankment and bund to divert runoff water from the property behind. So on a hot day and with a large piece of builder’s plastic you have a waterslide. I call it, A reflection on fun.fun

That’s it for another week folks, I hope you’ve enjoyed the offerings. There will be more snaps from the village in coming weeks. Until then, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

40 thoughts on “Little Roo lost at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Patricia Salamone

    The home is amazing and so well kept and orderly. I love the reflection on the water slide the joy shines through. Laughed at the horse’s stash and want to know if the Roo found his mom. Great offerings today Fratello. Finding it hard to post these days, but I will be back, I hope, :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The place is run by volunteers and they do a great job Sorella. The kids had a great time on that slide, I tried it too, once. That horse’s tash is way better than mine.😦 I think the roo would have found his mum, I think she was making eyes at some hunky Roo at the time. Are you unwell Sorella?

      Like

      Reply
  2. nataliescarberry

    You hope we enjoyed the offerings??? What’s not to enjoy! You always delight us with your photos and commentary!!! I’m glad you didn’t get caught in that bad storm too! Have a great weekend, Sir Sage, Herr Herb, and Laurence of Australia!!!! Lots and lots of hugs and love, LMS

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thanks Natalie. I’m happy that I delight you with my pics. That storm certainly dropped some rain, things to come as we slide into spring.🙂 I’m starting to get multiple personality disorders here, LMS.🙂 Thanks for the love and hugs, believe me it never goes astray.
      Hugs and Love
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pagadan

    Poor ‘ittle roo! I love visiting pioneer villages and cabins and sampling things like gingerbread fresh out of the oven or fireplace…; I really enjoyed those photos. Ah, horses, they are curious, as are cows. We were on a building site once while it was still a horse pasture and were doing something there… Anyway, we had a hammer lying on the ground and one of the horses picked it up. Drop that, I said sharply, and he did. (Years of yelling at dogs pays off.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      He was indeed Joy, I did feel for him he only wanted his mum.😦 Yes, there’s nothing like getting out and supporting these villages and museums, they are a link with our past. Horses are very curious. I had one that used to steal from me, he ran off with my hammer one day, when I got it back he ran off with the nail bag. A dog yeller eh? I can only imagine how good you are at it.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    So beautiful again, your pictures, Laurie.
    Of course I love the story-pictures! They’re beautiful and you’re so good in this. But I have to admit, this weeks favorite is the little girl on the waterslide. It’s just so cute!!
    Thanks for sharing these, Laurie!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. I do like doing the stories, especially when such a little cutie is involved. I felt sorry for him when he got that whack. Yes she brightens up many of my photos but this one I think freezes the fun. All that glee and enjoyment frozen in time for as long as the picture lasts.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Susan Wingate

    Incredible storytelling, Slick. You amaze me. Every time I read your blog, my opinion of you gets higher and higher. Much more and you’ll be ranked nearly equal with my Savior.🙂 Oh, btw, he likes you too.

    Like

    Reply
  6. davidprosser

    Great post Laurie, Fantastic pictures again. As always I love the roos but I hope the little one found his mother. You were also kind enough to bring me some horses and very nice they are too even if a little disappointed that you were empty handed.
    Do the banksia trees get very big? I’m guessing that one isn’t?
    Keep well
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, much appreciated. He would have found mum after some searching. The others tend to chase them off. Horses are always disappointed when you have nothing for them, although this one had it down to a fine art. Banksias are more a shrub I think, although there are species that grow to 30 metres tall. The flower heads are woody and are a wood turners delight to work with.

      Like

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Poor baby:( The pictures are all lovely. The horses are beautiful but it’s so strange to think you are heading into spring when we are going in the opposite direction. I think moving with the seasons, the way some of the nomads do, might be the way to live. Followe the summer. Unless you can find a nice place that’s always perfect and not ready to fall into the ocean:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      He would have found his Mum, eventually. I’ve never seen such a disappointed horse in years, I’d hate to have to pay his hay bill.😦 We really don’t have to move with the seasons here in Queensland, winter is so fleeting you hardly notice it.🙂🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

