A Medium, or just well done? A little more on dreams. My view on Karma.

Dreams cont’d: I needed to cover one more aspect of dreams and that is, if you can dream about things happening why can’t you predict or dream about the winning lottery numbers? Well I did. I gave a set of numbers to an elderly client for the Tattslotto and she misplaced them. They came up. In 1982 I dreamt about holding a lotto coupon and it had six numbers marked off in golden light. I flew out of bed and wrote them down and have used them ever since. In 1987 when I left the police, we moved house out to the country on a Friday. The lotto was on Saturday night and it closed on the Friday. At about 4 pm I realised I hadn’t put the lotto on, oh and we needed a loaf of bread. That’s fine but I’d used the last of our cash to pay the removalist and I could only scrounge up $1.82 and the bank was shut. The choice was lotto or bread, the bread won. On Saturday night five of my numbers came up and the supplementary. We would have won about $27,000. So don’t believe it when people say psychics don’t win lotto they do, it’s just that their stomachs get in the way sometimes.

My own personal view on Karma: Karma for those of the Christian faith equates to, for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For eastern religions and with its origins in ancient India, it is a key concept in Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, Taoism, Shintoism, Ching Hai and others. There the belief is about the principle of causality, where it’s basically the same as what you give out, you get back. It’s a word we see used quite often these days, there are boundless memes on Facebook giving uplifting verses on life and karma. When seemingly bad things happen to people, we see many messages comforting the victim, ‘Don’t worry (insert name here) karma will get them.’ Or, ‘Yes it’s their karma and they deserve it.’ Then there’s, ‘Why do all these arseholes get the good (insert riches of choice here) and we, you, me get the crap?’ have you ever stopped to think that it might just be your karma coming back? Is some unseen force at work in the universe enfolding us, watching us and keeping a daily tally of our misdeeds, or more importantly our good deeds?  Many will say it’s (insert god of choice here) way of ensuring we do the right thing, love each other, praise him/her ensuring that at the end of our time we are worthy of entering a better place.
I believe in the soul and if you’ve been following this series you will know that I have worked in great detail with mine, and other people’s lives. Not telling them what to do but showing them what has happened in regards to the choices they’ve made. I think the soul keeps the tally and brings us into situations where we can work out our karmic debt, on both sides of the ledger. You can say, ‘Laurie, you’re full of it, it’s all down to good or bad luck.’ Here we have a process that still seems to depend on the goodwill of the universe to bestow health, happiness  riches, good looks, etc on us. Webster’s dictionary: Luck, is “a purposeless, unpredictable and uncontrollable force that shapes events favourably or unfavourably for an individual, group or cause”. Yet the author Max Gunther defines it as “events that influence one’s life and are seemingly beyond one’s control.” Is life just one huge hodgepodge of events that happen to fall into, or out-of-place at every turn of some unseen roulette wheel? Or, are we nothing more than millions of random events that came together at some indeterminate time in the past. Yet still caught up in a fine gossamer of interconnecting strings, pulling us together, then apart, entangling our lives in a never-ending web of wonder and fear. I don’t know, all I can do is relate my experiences and thoughts on the matter.
I also believe in past lives, once again this is something that gets many folk in a dither and that’s fine. It’s whatever floats your boat and mine sails quite happily on this one. Why? Because it makes sense to me.  If we look at life as nothing more than random events from when we’re born until we die, then there really isn’t a need to be kind, caring or considerate. If this is all there is, then ‘Fuck You’ has to be the saying to live by, because nothing would matter. No amount of good or bad deeds would add or detract from who you are. They might make life better but for what? One bite of the cherry, one go on the Ferris wheel? What if you slip into the world, take a breath and die, or don’t breath at all? Is that it? ‘Sorry old son you’ve had your chance, you’ve missed out, bugger off.’ Then we have the religious belief that we have to be good, so that when we die to go to a heaven. What’s the trade-off there? You’ve lived an immaculate life lacking in adventure, risks and the many other treats it has to offer, then that’s it? What next? Is this a reward? What about all the experiences to be had, where do they come in? This brings us to the idea of past lives, because from what I’ve seen none of us are perfect. Plus there are so many things to do on this planet, that on average, a 70 year life span isn’t going to fit it all in. From leaving school to retiring most of us are trapped on the hamster wheel making a living, instead of living. That’s if you’re lucky. We have people dying from birth right through to the 100’s, so what does a day old baby learn, or a 6-year-old or for that matter a 30-year-old? Let’s see what William Shakespeare has to say on this:
All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players.
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts,
What if you’re the one not playing many parts, you walk on stage and arrgghhh, you cark it? Wouldn’t it be better to come on back and finish your scene, get it out of the way and move onto the next play?

I believe there are different kinds of karma, I’ll mention: instant, from earlier in life and past life. We all know the instant one, you’re busy gobbing off at somebody about what they’re doing, turn around and walk into a post… Simple. When we are going about our daily lives and all is good we tend to think that it’s going to stay like that. ‘Hey, we’re good folk, we do the right thing. Crikey, I even give to charity.’ Then seemingly from out of nowhere disaster strikes, pick one, it doesn’t matter what. If it’s a meteorite crashing into our house then, ‘Hey, it’s an act of god, I’ve been bad.’ If someone has turned on us and hurt us, then, ‘What have I done wrong? Boy, karma’s going to get them.’ Or we’re stricken with an illness, ‘Why is this happening to me, I’ve been good. Why isn’t that bastard who hurt me getting this?’ Is it bad luck, or have you disobeyed some creed or commandment, or have you done wrong to someone else earlier in your life? Let’s have a look at a couple of personal examples here. I try not to censor what I write, and to get the effect of how karma works I’ll write my truth here. I think those who have been following me over the past couple of years know that I’ve been sexually abused as a child. Don’t feel that you have to show sympathy or concern here, it’s done and long gone. What it did was to create an angry, callous, uncaring child. When you are being hurt and are unable to fight back you tend to turn on those weaker than you. Remember these following events happened between 5 and 8 years of age.
I played with some children who lived around the corner from us, there were fourteen of them and I played in my age group, 5. I remember standing in the kitchen and the youngest, a 2-year-old came in and stood by the stove. I lifted a saucepan of water off the stove and poured it over her head. It had gone off the boil. Why? Damned if I know but it took away the pain in me. Go forward 12 years and I’m at recruit training getting a mug of coffee out of the urn at breakfast. I drop my cutlery and bend down to pick it up. I stand up and get a mug of boiling water poured over the top of my head. Karma or bad luck? I set fire to a man’s garden shed and became trapped in it, escaping with seconds to spare. Instant karma. I had my arse kicked all the way home by the local copper, then my old man beat me. No real surprise there. At 7 years old I tried to do to a girl what was being done to me. She clawed my face that badly it took about 10 years for the scar to go away. Instant karma. I pushed a girl into a pond at school and she nearly drowned. I drowned 22 years later. I joined in with a pack of other kids at school when I was 12 and taunted a poor girl having a severe asthma attack. I was being bashed at school every day by 6 boys at this stage and it felt good to be able to lash out at someone else.  I now have asthma and emphysema. Karma or just bad luck? For those who have read my previous series’ about my time in the army, prisons and police you will be aware of the litany of accidents and bad luck, or was it?

gallowsIf you’ve read this far I take it that you either believe in the concept of past lives or at least are curious enough to be here. At the height of my time as a medium I became interested in past life regression and sought the means to do it. I decided on guided meditation which takes you to a place of nothingness before birth, then you go from there. I’ve heard all the arguments about it being wishful thinking and self aggrandisement. There are those who want to be Napoleon or Cleopatra. What I experienced every time I did it was to me, more real than this reality. Prior to going to bed one evening I embarked on another ‘adventure.’ I’ll tell it as a story.

The world looked just as desolate from behind prison bars as it did from the small window of my cottage, although the cottage felt warmer and I had the company of my wife and boys. Now? My future will be cut short tomorrow on the gallows, tried and convicted for murder. No long sea journey for me to Van Diemen’s land, thank God. My only journey will be from this rat hole to the gallows in the yard. Do I deserve it? Yes and no. If a man can’t feed his family and keep them alive when thousands die, then what good is he? I’ve worked all the hours I can to grow the oats and barley and what’s left over after I’ve paid my rent is just enough. They didn’t have to send the redcoats to take what little we had left, taxes they said, food for the starving in England. What about the starving here in Ireland? Drunk they were and not a good manner between them. They took our grain then came back at night, drunk on cheap ale to show my wife what a real man could do. I showed them. Young they were, the short one had never shaved and his mate had long, sparse whiskers. They’d only seen garrison duty and never stood against an angry man. I skewered the young one with a hay-fork, the tines entering his throat. His face grew whiter as his life blood spewed out. The whiskered one fired his Brown Bess musket, the ball lodged in the wall above the fireplace. Taking it from his grasp I reversed it and drove the brass plated butt into his face. He fell to the floor and I only stopped hitting him with it when his head was no more. It’s morning now and they don’t waste any time. At least they’ve found a priest for me so I can find forgiveness but they won’t let me hold my wife and sons. Defeated, horror-stricken at what is about to come I reach out and try to grasp their hands through the flat-iron straps that make up my cage. Their features fade and all I can see is the tiny hands of my boys. The view from the gallows is less appealing. The mist still floats over the far meadows and I pray that I do not piss myself. The smell of fresh hemp comes to my nostrils before a rough cloth hood is dragged over my head. The hangman is quick and efficient. The knot sits under my left ear and the noose is slack enough to pull tight when I go through the trapdoor. Fresh air beneath my feet and crack, a flash of light explodes in my head, then… the mist closes in.
So where’s the karma in this life? I’ve had some events occur to my neck over time that have been at the most, uncomfortable. I kept them under control with regular visits to a chiropractor. The following morning my head had an obvious tilt to the left and the C2 vertebrae was decidedly uncomfortable. It took days until I could move my head back into position and even then the pain didn’t go away. It’s given me some severe trouble ever since. Coincidence? Wishful thinking? I don’t know. I was shown who the two soldiers were in this life, one was my father.

Next week: More on past lives.

66 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? A little more on dreams. My view on Karma.

  1. Katherine Pym

    I’ve always believed in reincarnation, but had no proof until one very hot day I mowed the lawn. Afterward, I was sick with heat. I got into the shower and turned on the cold faucet. The impact of cool water on hot skin sent me from the shower stall into a vaulted room with a Nazi soldier standing in front of me. I was naked and terrified. After I stopped gasping, he said, “Now, that wasn’t so bad—was it?” I knew then I was about to experience something far worse, far more terrifying.
    In this life when I read of the Warsaw ghetto during WW2, and how the Jews rose against their oppressors, I knew I had lived there, but I didn’t have the choice to fight. By that time I had already been picked up, taken to a camp, and put to human experiments.
    Later in life, I found a wonderful teacher who guided me through past lifetimes. It was an eye-opening experience, I must say. I learned about karma then and how it can come back to you with a vengeance. When we run across an individual who takes an instant dislike to you, there is a reason. My teacher took me back to the time I had offended the person who unreasonably hated me in this life. I saw what I had done to her, how careless I had been of who she was, how she felt. I went to the soul level and apologized. The very next day, her attitude had greatly changed. I was awed by the fullness of the experience.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      This is the very thing I want to show people Katherine, that karma and past life regression is all about healing the present. Sure it’s really interesting to see and experience these events but it’s the healing of relationships. That’s why connecting on the soul level is so important. People think that you have to actually front the person involved to give-receive forgiveness, you don’t. That’s why I’m so big on white lighting a situation or even the use of gold light over a person. This connects the person to his/her soul. I find your past life journey and the entry into it fascinating. Becoming ill can quite often loosen the bodies grip on the astral self. it transcends this realm and opens us up to a whole host of past experiences. I’m glad that you read and commented on this post Katherine, I think it will inspire others who read it to take another look at forgiving the people in their lives.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. kcg1974

    I have so much catching-up to do with all of your lovely posts and photography. I love the “Dream” sequences with all of the hidden meanings. SO much to learn from you, Laurie!! When I was a child of three, night after night the same dream came to me. Terrifying. I was a little child of course, all alone in the midst of a sea of train tracks. Soon an engine shining its big, bright light came straight towards me. I jumped to the next set of tracks, but the train did too. On and on this went, never allowing my escape until I finally woke up. What did this mean to me? I’ve never forgotten and always wondered….:Thanks, Laurie. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Don’t worry Kim, they’ll still be there, waiting. There’s so much more for me to learn too. I keep the mind open and I hope to eventually find out more about the whole process of dreams. With your dream as a 3 year old there are a few things to take into consideration.
      1. You could have seen a train in real life or on TV and the enormity of it could have imprinted itself on your mind. Then when it replayed in your dreams it became huge and inescapable.
      2. Something could have been happening at home that was beyond your understanding. Being small anything happening between your parents or other adults would be magnified. (Arguments, or loud voices) This would have been processed in your sleep and represented by a train. Huge and out of control.
      3. The ending of your previous life could have been somewhere on the railway tracks, unable to get out of the way of an oncoming train. The dream would always cut off because your mind wouldn’t let you see what happened. At 3 years old you would still be quite connected to the spirit world.
      This should give you something to think about.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. kelihasablog

    Well you know I just loved this post too Laurie! I do like to believe in Karma (probably selfishness on my own part cuz I’d like to see certain people get “punished” for the evil they’ve done in this life. Maybe next time they’ll be a cockroach? LOL -Kidding… I also believe in previous lives which does get to be hard to try to explain to some of the “super religious” people I know… They just say it can’t be and yada yada… But like Deja vu…. when you think you’ve been somewhere before, or you seem to know what’s going to happen before it happens, or someone or some place just seems like you’ve known them/it before or well. I know I lived in Scotland and in Wales before… Ireland too I believe, but since I’ve never been hypnotized I guess I’m just going on “gut” feelings.😀
    Thanks for always stopping by my pitiful posts Laurie… you are always so kind!❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli. Well you have some prime examples in your life at the moment. Yet as far as karma is concerned they’re only acting out their purpose in this life. It’s obviously all about making you and your mother’s lives miserable. Now, acknowledge this to yourself, that you are aware of what’s happening and the lesson ends. It’s quite interesting to see how things change. We never come back as animals. For years now I have looked at life from this perspective and watched what happens with people, especially those in my life. The interactions, the comings and goings, how they affect our existence. Then I think of how they fit into what is happening at the time. they might be there for a few minutes or the rest of our lives but they are there for a reason. Super religious? I find it strange that they can believe in an afterlife, a vast realm where they’ll go on for eternity and yet refute the idea that we may have been here before. The disciples asked Jesus if John the Baptist was the reincarnation of Elijah, (see Mathew). The belief in reincarnation was quite evident in those days. Deja Vu is another interesting thing. There can be the brain not recognising something, then you become aware of it after a few seconds. Or, the being able to tell someone what is around the corner in great detail, and you haven’t been there before. I think that comes from out of body experiences and dreams where you’ve been there. I believe when we have strong connections to a place our self is telling us that we’ve lived there before.
      Your posts are not pitiful Keli, you are quite the blogger.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        keep it in mind Keli, apparently the belief in reincarnation was commonplace in those days.
        BTW, I didn’t reply on your last post about the 9/11, ISIS. Mainly because I would have ranted at the woman who took you to task about the firearm, then about the Germans etc. So I liked and left.🙂

        Like

      2. kelihasablog

        Hahaha… that’ fine Laurie. I didn’t write it anyway, just reposted for a friend. I knew I wouldn’t have time to get to my thoughts and put them on paper… Thanks for stopping by though😀

        Like

  4. Eli Pacheco

    I wonder what kind of bloke I was before to make myself the kind of bloke I am today, mate. Hopefully, not a punter.

    It’s fascinating to think that maybe people find each other in more than one life, too.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Let me see Mate, hmm the kind of bloke you are today? From what I can gather you seem to be a pretty good bloke, any man who does such a great job of bringing up his girls on his own can’t be that bad at all. No, not your average punter. There are probably lessons involving relationships and being the best dad you can be. I think you’re doing okay.
      The people in our lives today, more often than not are with us in various relationships in past lives.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Carrie Cannady

    Laurie – I loved this…every word of it. I had not really been introduced to past lives until reading Br. Brian Weiss’ book on one of his patients…years ago. I get it, I believe it and have learned a lot about myself from regressions. Your story makes complete sense and I believe that some of our deepest healing can come from these powerful experiences. I honor your truth telling here. It is, no doubt, at least one aspect of the expression of your purpose. Looking forward to the next one. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Carrie, as I mentioned to another reader it was a last-minute decision to run this one. It can be a decisive subject but as you said it makes sense. The main thing is the healing aspect of the regression, and understanding why these lives affect our present. I’ll share next week about why I’ve taken so long to get to the nitty gritty of writing about contentious issues. Truth in writing was one of them. You won’t be disappointed with next weeks offerings. Cheers, Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. mindlovemisery

    I believe in reincarnation as well Laurie though I do not have such a clear idea of those past lives as you have presented. I do wonder if I might have been a doctor/nurse because I have such an easy time picking up medical terms by the 5th grade I already knew the proper names for all the bones and muscles and was answering medical questions on Jeopardy with ease. In high school I took a test for the military and aced the section pertaining to medical and was immediately placed as a medic. I took several medical classes in college just for fun but I never entered the field because of the intense stress. Weirdly I think Sam might have been Henry David Thoreau haha Fabulous post Laurie

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It seems to me that those who present with such talents early in life are showing what they did in a previous life. usually one they’ve not long finished as their memories and talents are so clear. Who knows, the intense stress could be due to the way you passed, thereby stopping you from continuing on in a now redundant profession for you. Who really knows who we were?

      Like

      Reply
  7. bgbowers

    Your openness and honesty on this subject is refreshing, Laurie. Damn pity about the lotto! That story reminded me of how often I’ve been rewarded when I’ve taken the biggest risks in life. Most times in life we choose the comfortable, safe option and miss out on big opportunities. It’s amazing what happens when you go out on a limb – magic is very often waiting…
    The past lives is so interesting and something I firmly believe in. However, I have a lot of repressed memories from this life that I still have to tackle at some stage. I tried about 10 years ago in NZ with a reiki master, but when I started shaking violently he stopped and suggested that I wasn’t ready to go back.
    I’m always amazed at your robust memory.
    Thank you for another great instalment. Can’t wait for next week🙂
    Bianca.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The lotto? I cried, big tears too. Open? I try to be Bianca. I discussed it with my wife before posting last night. She doesn’t want people to think badly of me and I told her that to write these things you have to be honest. People pick up on when you’re skirting an issue. So if I can’t be true to me, then I can’t be real with my readers.
      The comfortable options are okay for a little while then you have to take the big steps. Past lives fascinate me, the whole process is so different from dreams and meditation. What interests me is the relevance for things happening now, in this life. it’s probably best that you sort out this life first, although saying that perhaps a sneak back can reveal answers. It depends on who is assisting you and your emotional state.
      My memory is good about a lot of things, I just need the trigger and away I go. I have memories back to when I was 18 months old. I hope next weeks is just as well received.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. risinghawk

        It came off splendidly – nothing even remotely feeling “last minute.” Keep ’em coming! Peace . . .

        Like

  8. Patricia Salamone

    We think alike Fratello. I am pretty much on the same page. I tend to keep things to myself because people would think I am nuts. However I am happy to know that I am not the only one getting this kind of karma. I look forward to next week. I always feel better when I read your posts, almost like I am in you home sitting on a comfortable sofa or club chair sipping a cup of tea and listening to your tales. Maybe one day we can exchange stories. :o)
    Sorella

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s why I like you Sorella, great minds that think alike.🙂 I long ago gave up caring if people thought I was nuts, I happen to love my reality. You know the saying, ‘My reality can beat up your reality any old time.’ Hmm, maybe that was about dads, I’m not sure now. yes, good ole karma comes around and gives all of us a taste of the cane now and then.🙂 I’m happy to know that you gain some satisfaction and comfort from what I write, it makes it worthwhile you know. A bit of a fireside chat you reckon? It’s music to a writer’s ears to hear that. Now I know that my style isn’t putting anyone to sleep. You brink the cake and I’ll supply the tea, okay?
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. rayjamieson

    Great post and discussion Laurie. There was a book written many years ago (early 70s I think – doesn’t that date us?) of the experiences of someone (cannot think of the name) who recalled connections with both survivors of the Hindenberg and an airliner that went down in Florida some years before (but after the Hindenberg, of course). The conversations this person had with the people who had passed over were incredible and enabled investigators to go back to the tragedies to do further investigation, using the new found ‘knowledge’ as hypothesis to look for new answers as to why the tragedies occurred. It turned out to be factual – messages from the beyond proved to be factual.

    After reading this book and a couple of others by the same author, then some by a few other liuminaries in this field, my mind opened up greatly also. That was when I began to put 2 + 2 together from my own experiences and so-called dreams. As a result, I happen to agree with pretty much what you’re saying here, based on my own observations…

    And you’re right – it would be a waste if it was a once-only ticket to ride! There’s a bit left to do and at this stage, I am booked to around 140 years of age to get my current bucket list done, and that’s before I get out to do some serious research on a few other things I heard about. If they get onto the list, I won’t have time to ‘go home’!

    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      There are many accounts about past lives, with evidence to back it up, yet people don’t want to know about it. It’s when you get physical evidence on the ground then it makes it harder to refute. Although with some people no amount of evidence will change their point of view. I’ve heard all the excuses for what it ‘really’ is. Repressed memories, you’ve seen it on TV, read it in a book, wishful thinking etc. Sure, there could be in some cases a flowover, especially if the subject is after something elaborate and fanciful. David mentioned the woman who regressed to a Jewess in York back in one of the pogroms and how she spoke about a hidden cellar in the chapel. It was found after the usual jeering and name calling directed at the author of the book.
      Seems like you have a lot to do Ray, booked well ahead by the look of it.🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Owls and Orchids

    Great post Laurie, as always. You’ve more than whetted my appretite for past life regression…. if only you would 😆.
    The more I read the more I find I want to learn. Finding the right teachers is another story though. My luck hasnt been great in that department.
    Karma – yes, it’s good if you can see and understand the ramifications as they happen but waiting and not knoeing, now that’s darned hard.
    I’m still working on forgiving and letting go of old grievancies, let’s not forget the new ones either 😉. No angel I guess so what comes will come soon or late.
    Always a zillion things to think about. I think we could yarn for months and not scratch the surface.
    Blessings Susan 💖

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan. You only have to ask and come for a visit. I don’t mind doing them at all, as part of the experience I get to see it all too. One thing I have found doing this is, that the more we hang on to the old hurts and grievances the sicker we get. None of us are angels just people trying to make sense of it all. I know you’re definitely a have-a-chat, a bit like me so there would have to be endless cuppas to go with it.
      Cheers
      Laurie. xox

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        I think I’ve found a new love – don’t tell Rel🙂
        Seriously – I’ll have a talk with the other half and then get back to you…..You really are a champ and I’m sure I recognised your swearing in photo so I may have bumped into you when you graced the Police Force…. (note Force and not Service).
        Ciao, Susan xox

        Like

      2. Owls and Orchids

        I’ve just been accepted on a course for 6 days…. Saturday to Wednesday. Caught me on the hop. Will get my skates on and get back to you (says she, poking out tongue and saluting…. thank God you’re not “Old Tom )
        Susan x

        Like

  11. davidprosser

    I’ve been fascinated about past life regression for years since reading a series about a century ago in he News of the World ( remember that Laurie?) about a man called Arnold Bloxam and tapes he made of people he regressed.
    There was one particular one of a woman who said she was a Jewess who was hidden in a crypt below the alter in a Church in (I think) York. People who knew the church aid “Rubbish, no such crypt exists” but a few years down the line during renevations one is found.No-one in the regressions he did claimed to be Napoleon or anyone famous but the details they gave of the times seemed exceptionally good.
    I’d quite like to be regressed but having been hypnotised to give up smoking which laste till I left the building, I’m not sure I’d make a good subject.
    As always my friend keep well.
    Hugs
    p.. What kind of karma is the burglary do you think? I hope I didn’t do anything too bad.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I read Bloxham and found his regressions very interesting. The York incident was certainly a boost for the reality of past lives. He certainly took people back and retrieved some great detail. The Napoleon reference was a joke, you know how they reckon everyone in an asylum thinks they’re him?🙂 Just because the hypnosis for smoking didn’t work (you probably have a great need to smoke, who knows?) The burglary? Mate it could be just one of those things. Not every event is karma based. Although it could be a message to up the security around your home.
      Stay well yourself David.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  12. hitandrun1964

    Sigmund ruined the dream thing for me. I never liked him, so I don’t usually pay attention to dreams, unless they are Lucid Dreams. I believe in Past Lives. I’ve been regressing Debbie (and going into the future) for years and years (others too). You can talk to yourself in your past life and make better choices that will lead to better outcomes. So, you truly can change the past. Once you do, you can go back and check on yourself again. Solving problems in your past lives, can solve a LOT of problems in your present. You recognize yourself and it doesn’t take that long to realize that you are talking to yourself from a different time. You, in the past, understands and is more than willing to avoid bad things that hinge on the choices you make. Once those lives are better, happier, etc.,your current life heals and is better as well. If you go back to visit, you can see the difference in the person who is you, in that past life. It’s so cool. You can also get good advice from your future self, that can help you right now, and you can SEE and talk to yourself in that future lifetime. Not all of the lives are lived here, either. Past or future. Once things are okay in your present life…you don’t feel the need to go back. But that’s always an option. You can also go to other places, places where you can find answers to any questions you might have, although you really have to work to find out what’s going on because the answers are sometimes cloaked and hidden and one thing leads to the next. Eventually, you get there, but if you’re impatient, like me, it can be frustrating. You just have to stick with it. It’s a fabulous tool and can make a huge difference in a person’s life. I think they should do it with prisoners. I think it may help them figure out why they do things. But Laurie, you would know if it would make any difference. I’m just guessing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Carl Jung’s theories on dreams are what I took notice of. I know Freud was centred on the sexual aspect it still began a dialogue on what they mean. Let’s face it they’re part of us, our mind and they do try to talk to us. Yes there is a lot of dross in there from our daily lives there are also indicators about us, our health and where we’re going.
      I’ve delved into everything you talked about here and found it to be extremely interesting. On several occasions I’ve taken someone back to talk with ‘themselves’ mainly to find answers for now. (Before anyone jumps in here and says, ‘Hey, you’re not a therapist,’ I’ll agree with them. My technique is guided meditation, the subject isn’t hypnotised.) What I’ve found interesting is people have found out why they’re suffering a particular ailment today.
      The whole subject, to me is fascinating and I believe this is why mainstream religions don’t like people to think or take part in these pursuits. The chance of finding answers to mankind’s reason for being could be closer if more people decided to look. Although I think some things may be off the agenda, therefor you don’t get the answers. Patience is a virtue Gigi.🙂 As to prisoners, I imagine they’re there because they are working out their karma, whether it’s for the crime they committed or just being incarcerated. It’s a great subject indeed.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        I agree, I think regression solves problems and answers questions and that’s why it not taught or given the respect it deserves. It can make a huge difference in a person’s life. And yes, it’s more like a guided meditation, I agree with that as well. I just know it can work, for some people, and change their lives for the better. 🙂 Prisoners may be working off their Karma but if they got help they could understand why and what they did, they could stop doing it and not have to come back again to try and overcome the same problem again and again. Once you realize what the problem is, you can change your ways or fix things. That’s what’s important. At least to me.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        People have to believe in this before they do it Gigi. You can’t push it down their throats. In a perfect world we would all get the benefit of it and see through our troubles and reason for being here. Sadly it’s a far from perfect world. A person’s karma may be all about being in jail. The world is one big school and we’re all taking different classes. Although I don’t want to graduate just yet.🙂

        Like

  13. suzjones

    I used to always say “I only hope that Karma gets (my ex)”. One day a couple of years ago, I was showing one of my workmates a photo of my son’s wedding with the parents of the groom. My colleague burst out laughing and said to me “You’ve been wanting karma to catch up with this man. Look at him. I’d say that karma not only caught up with him but beat him to hell and back with the ugly stick”. I laughed my head off. I do know that I have tried to teach my older children to forgive him, accept him for what he is and to thank him that he made us who we are now.
    Interesting story about past lives. I had a psychic one day look at me (and the Tween). Her words were “She’s an old soul. She’s been here before. But you, you are an angel. You came to earth to experience life.” I’d have to say that if she’s right, then I’d like to know what I was thinking at the time. Sheesh.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      it’s interesting about your ex. You wanting karma to catch up with him, then you remind your kids that he made you who you are now. His karmic job is done. Whatever happened in the family was obviously all about putting you and the kids in a better place, oh and probably learning a few things along the way. Old souls? My feeling is that we all are to some degree. My old gran always used to say that, ‘Aye, he’s an old soul, or she’s an old soul.’ Yet if you believe in the ongoing journey of the soul, we all are. Angelic beings? I saw one in a healing a couple of months ago and saw one years ago in another healing. I can only describe their appearance as somewhat, I don’t know, strange. They gave me the feeling of some kind of automaton, programmed for one purpose. I have to think on that a while longer.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        It is only since I have learned forgiveness and forgiven my ex that I have been able to see just how the way he treated us has made us stronger. My son still needs to learn to forgive him and to step back and see him as the flawed individual that he is before he can carry on with his healing. But that is another story.
        Interesting that the angels you saw were vastly different to the ones that Doreen Virtue sees. If I am indeed an angel then I would probably prefer Doreen’s version. Although if they gave you the feeling of an ‘automaton’ then experiencing life may have been something that appealed very much to one.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        The people in our lives are there for a reason and if it’s to love us or hurt us, they’re there to assist in the ongoing growth of our self. I’m not speaking out of my fundamental orifice on this one, I really do know the depths that a person can drag you into and the pain and suffering they can inflict. Forgiveness is the only way to get out of that pit, because if you don’t then you never move on or grow. you’re still tied to them. We’re all flawed to some degree, some worse than others I guess.
        I’ve never gone with the old angels and wings scenario. the ones I saw were obviously what the client needed to see. Although it was an interesting experience. The whole wings thing came from people seeing the aura of the more enlightened people of the time. Either the crown like circle of light around the head or the pulsing around the shoulders. Artists then depicted them with wings. This came from early beliefs that birds were messengers from the gods. They flew, hence angelic beings had wings. So it all filtered down into the collective belief. I’ve never read Doreen Virtue so I can’t comment.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Raani York

    Okay, Laurie… I would love to say this was “interesting”. But it was not only interesting, it was much more…
    The first part about the lottery… uhm…. tempting… I have never knowingly dreamed of any lottery numbers. And I missed the big jackpot a couple weeks ago, which probably means, I’m either not a medium, or only a dumb blonde who forgets her dreams. *chuckle*
    I found your view on Karma quite special. Interesting, special and agreeable, most of all!! I too had to learn how to take things – and know (not only hope) that whoever did this to me, will be paid back three times worse. So far it worked the past few years!
    (I used to play the big avenger which kind of worked too at first… but then I realized I wasn’t being any better than them…) and ever since, I let life play its own games, lean back and watch… works fine for me now.🙂
    As for your past life… That part scared the hell out of me!! Seriously!!
    I never permitted anyone to take me there… maybe I’m too scared to find out what I shouldn’t.
    But once, I met an old Chinese man. And without me even asking, he told me that he recognizes me… he didn’t tell me where from… but he said, I had the heart of a dragon and a tiger… a rare combination in a woman… but that I am a warrior… and that was the last thing he said… I still think back in wonder about these words, trying to find out their meaning…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m glad you found it more than interesting, it seems to have started some debate.🙂 The thing is, if you’re meant to win it you will. Who knows, you may have to learn all about having to work your butt off for a living.😉
      I find it interesting how many people desire that their tormentors get it back 3, 4 or 7 fold. You’re right, when we wish these things on people we lower ourselves to their level. Karma works in its own way in balancing the scales. the other thing about karma is learning from it, if the same thing keeps happening to us, say via different people then we need to step back and take notice. What is the lesson here? Actually I’ll be going into greater detail about it next week.🙂 I like the past life regressions for many reasons, not only the lesson to learn and the people involved now but the actual seeing a place as it was. With your Chinese man it’s not unusual to come across fellow travellers. there is a subtle knowing, that we’ve met somewhere before feeling. After seeing that pic of you on a motorbike I’d say you have that warrior woman look about you.🙂 The meaning of his words? meditate on them.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  15. drewdog2060drewdog2060

    One might be kind out of enlightened self interest (I.E. if I am kind to others they will, on the whole recipricate making life more pleasant for the both of us). Also there is the idea of the social contract, that we give our loyalty to the powers that be because the authorities prevent anarchy allowing us to enjoy an existence free from fear of crime. Another fascinating post, thank you, Kevin

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      This is true Kevin and I’d say it would have been the basis of tribal existence and protection of the group. Out of that religion in its many forms would have been born. With its don’t do this or that rules. Which of course became the mainstay of civilisation.
      There are of course those who don’t care about the lives of others and take them with no sense of wrongdoing or the consequences. Either man made or karmic. Thanks for dropping by.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        All I can say is WOW–riveting post. Excellently written. Your ‘story’ of karma at the end was powerful. It is a bitter pill to swallow when we realize that we create everything in our lives and then must be held accountable. I agree with your views here 100%.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks so much Michael. I find it easier to write something like that as a little story. Life certainly is a bitter pill to swallow. We say, ‘I didn’t sign up for this stuff.’ When actually we did. I guess it’s all for a reason, although I’ll have to think hard on the why’s. It had better be a darn good reason.🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

