Flighty Friday and Sad Roos at The Writer’s Room.

I took this picture on our travels in 2006 in western Queensland, believe me it was one huge windmill.windmill

These bees decided to make their new home on a neighbour’s letterbox, apparently I missed the thousands that were there the previous day. I think I might have managed to snap the Queen though.bees

This mare saw us while we were walking down the road, yes I do get out. She galloped from the far end of the paddock, stopped and posed while the wind ruffled her mane.Horse

This is inside the haberdashery shed at Highfields Pioneer Village.ย  I’ve never seen so much stuff in one place, the other walls were just as loaded.old equipment

There is a fine selection of old goods here. Sadly I remember most of them.old store

Another view of the village, yes that’s a railway station called Gore.Highfields Pioneer Village

This is a Pale Headed Rosella. I have other names for them and none of them are for gentle folk. This bird is the flightiest thing I’ve ever come across, as soon as it gets an inkling I have a camera in hand it’s gone. I had the camera set up on the tripod from the night before. Lorelle dragged me out of bed and told me that they were in the yard.ย  I raced to the front door, opened it sloooowly and turned the camera on. Some days one gets lucky. They love the flowers on the thistles. Pale Headed Rosellas

This morning (Thursday) I wanted to get another shot of a Kookaburra. He sat in his usual tree looking out for bugs. He flew past the house and landed in the paddock, right in front of the Magpie. He was not impressed about the incursion on his territory, so it was on. I missed the initial tussle then caught the chase. They ended up back in the tree and glared at each other.Magpie and Kookaburra

For those mothers who think that the kids are annoying them and won’t go out to play, take a moment to think of this poor Mum. She laid there for a while but the young Roopert couldn’t get comfortable. So she stood up, had a scratch, licked an arm, bit a claw and still he wiggled and wriggled. Some days no matter how much you try you still can’t get comfortable. When all is said and done you have to hang your tail out somewhere.Wallaby

We’ve all seen Grumpy Cat on the internet, well let me introduce you to Grumpy Roo. I know we all feel down and miserable at times but he takes the cake. Those flattened ears. the pouty lips, the hang-dog look says it all. He didn’t seem to be having a good day at all.kangaroo

Well, that’s your lot for another week. I do hope this finds you all in a better mood than Grumpy Roo.
Cheers
Laurie.

43 thoughts on “Flighty Friday and Sad Roos at The Writer’s Room.

  1. talain45

    That’s a beautiful shot Laurie of the windmill, I’d be prod of that one “frame it”. The Bee shot is neat as well, you got a nice detail image of them. They look like the American Honey Bee that we have. And sadly you remember most of them. I think that’s great. I recognized the Coca Cola sign, the Johnson & Johnson bottle and the Meat and nut grinders. A couple of the red cans look familiar but I could not make out the labels. The birds are nice, colorful and I would have loved to see the chase of the magpie. Nice as always Laurie, loved the post. Hope your having a great day there, Michael๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The windmill was lurking in the files and taken with my old point and shoot camera.๐Ÿ™‚ The bees we have in common, they’re the European honey bee. A lot of those companies were universal, coca cola is everywhere. That magpie chase was fast and furious, the kookaburra kept his bug though. Thanks for your kind comments Michael. Take care and have a great weekend.
      Cheers
      Laurie.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Oh they get grumpy alright and cranky. Then when they don’t get a female to make life bearable then they pout… a lot. I guess life runs its own course for them Mary, they enjoy or it’s too hot, cold, lonely, painful etc. But I’m there to catch the moments when they experience these things.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. Mary Strong-Spaid

        Australia looks like such an interesting place. I still remember your story about the frogs and the snakes in your mailbox. All I had in my mailbox was a bluebird and an abandoned wasp nest “chandelier.” Quite tame by comparison. One day, maybe in my next life, I would like to visit Australia.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It is Mary, the frogs aren’t as a busy although we haven’t had too much rain at all yet. Came across a snake in the garden this morning though. He came out where I was doing a little weeding and vanished pretty quick. the last thing I want in m y letterbox is a wasps nest, I’m allergic to the sting.๐Ÿ˜ฆ Visit this life, at least you’ll know me.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  2. suzjones

    Love the rosella shots. I am never quick enough to catch them unfortunately. The GG reckons we had a pair checking out the nesting box he put up on our shed the other week but they didn’t come back.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron. Yes I always think of them as big budgies, they’re a beautiful bird. You’re right, Grumpy Roo would make a great meme, I’ll think on that one.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Wow love the God shots shooting out from the sun in the first one of the windmill! And then another whole series of great shots! A grumpy roo?! How can that be?! But then I reckon all of us, animal and man alike, have a grumpy moments!!! Hugs and love, Sir L!!! LMS ๐Ÿ™‚โคโคโค

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Made your day did I Natalie? I found the windmill while looking for another picture. I can only imagine he became grumpy for a few reasons, 1. he lost a fight. 2. One of the females rejected him. 3. The ants found him and he was too upset to move.๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hugs and love back at you LMS.
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Your posts always make it a good day, Sir L. Yes I espcially loved that first photo, and now that you sum up the roo’s predicament, I can see why the guy might be a tad on the grumpy side.
        Ya gotta hate it when you get ants in your pants, as it were and rejection is never easy, not to mention the shame of losing a fight. Poor guy!!! I pray you having a splendid weekend, Laurence. LMS โคโคโค

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Why thank you LMS. Sometimes it’s good to know what makes someone grumpy, especially poor old Roo. Yes it definitely wasn’t a good day for him in the woods. My weekend is great up to now, I’ve been gardening.๐Ÿ™‚
        Love and Hugs
        Laurence.

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy. I do like the snap of the rosella taking off, especially with the drops of dew falling off his wings. The mare is lovely, especially with her mane ruffled. I think the bees have gone.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    You never make it easy for me to pick my favorite, Laurie, but I figure I told you that before. I was having a hard time to chose between the mare and one other picture – and the bees won!
    I love bees – and these look happy and healthy – and apparently you did catch the queen, or at least one of the queens that had made them fly, otherwise they would have been gone.
    I just LOVE this pic!!๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I do it on purpose you know Raani.๐Ÿ˜‰ Sadly I missed the huge mass of them but I’m glad I snapped the queen. I think they’ve moved on now though. otherwise they wouldn’t be getting mail.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. davidprosser

    Great selection Laurie. What a fascinating place the Pioneer Village must be. I made sure I didn’t look too closely at the labels in the shop though.
    I love the rosellas, they’re like fantastically coloured budgies.Cannthey talk too?
    You manage to get such a variety of shots every time, it just shows how boring it is here by comparison.
    Keep well, keep away from pouty and look after yourself
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, there’ll be a couple more next week. I have a few. Yeah there’s certainly some familiar, old labels there. The Rosellas are beautiful, they would talk if you had them in captivity I think. Although all I hear from them id, ‘Faaaaaark, it’s that bloke with the camera.’ Then they fly off. Old pouty lips got over his problem, I think he was knocked back by one of the females.
      Manly Hugs back at you David.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

