A Medium, or just well done? More on Karma.

Last week’s post certainly attracted plenty of views and comments and I certainly appreciate the feedback and support. So it has spurred me on to dedicate another post to the subject. I could probably waffle on forever about past lives, reasons for being, interactions between family members who reincarnate to work old problems out. The list goes on. We can’t fully discuss karma without bringing reincarnation into the mix, for what is one without the other? There would be no need to reincarnate if everything turned out in one life, no matter how long it lasted.

I was a serious little boy and if I wasn’t out exploring the world or reading, I would hide behind my wardrobe. There I would explore inner worlds, the world of active imagination. I would take my toy cars, squeeze between the wall and the wardrobe and play happily for hours. Here I was safe and could happily exist and travel to what I thought were hidden realms. I told no one about them, they were mine. When one is subjected to prolonged abuse the mind splinters. You have your normal, every day mind, and then the one that takes you away and keeps you safe. There it distances you from the reality and muffles the screams and pain. If these things are too much, then it creates another mind. It’s like sectioning a computer hard drive. This mind can become a whole new you, with its own personality. I lived as long as I could in the space between reality and my world until I escaped from home at 17. It took nearly two decades before I began to question the world and an afterlife, which is where the Medium series begins. Once I began studying these concepts it all made sense to me and I feel that’s why I have found it so easy to slip in and out of different planes of existence, time, future and past. Especially past lives.

Some explanation is needed here to differentiate between a dream, meditation and a past life experience. With everyday early night dreams there is often a disjointed, making it up as we go along feel. Outside influences, noises, full bladder, or someone touching you can intrude and set the dream off in different directions. Meditation is directed by your own mind or if it’s guided  by a convener. You can wander off and it does feel real at times. With a past life viewing, it’s surround sound, in your face, taste, smell, feel, movement, emotion and all in technicolour. On first entering it you can observe or find yourself fully immersed. I have guided many people through this experience and found myself right there with them, becoming part of the experience. Let’s take a look at the lady who couldn’t get pregnant, she came to see me back in the nineties and the information came to me while doing a tarot reading. Everything she needed to know as to why she couldn’t fall pregnant came through. A few years ago a neighbour’s friend wanted me to find out why she couldn’t fall pregnant. Once we pushed through to a time before this life she relaxed and the images began. I must say that I’m just as surprised when I see where we go. I have no prior knowledge and no idea as to where or when we’ll end up. So when I saw her dressed in a thin leather tunic and laying in a pig pen, her distended abdomen flayed open and a dead baby next to her, it came as a shock. I could only assume by her hair colour that we were in northern Europe. Looking around I could see other bodies, men, women and children all suffering from long, deep gashes. Sword strokes. Smoke billowed nearby and the sound of pigs squealing as they were being slaughtered came to me. Men’s loud voices floated on the morning air and the sound of women screaming soon overtook the pigs. I watched as she took her last breath then saw her spirit rise. I followed and she came to a place where she was met by what I can only describe as a light being. Everything vanished and we came forward, once again it was her dying time and she passed with a baby in breach. It’s little legs were sticking out from between hers. The same thing again then we moved on. This went on for two more lives and I said, ‘Can you see the theme? It’s a fear of you and your child dying that’s stopping you from getting pregnant now.’ We went to the kitchen and had a coffee, talked about the experiences and she went home. Three months later she fell pregnant and gave birth to a healthy boy, the following year she had twins. I believe that getting in touch with that particular life or lives heals the present self. It’s also why forgiving the people who have hurt you in this, and previous lives goes a long way to healing the self.

I’ve written about objects in people’s auras from everyday items, to monkeys. I haven’t told you about the ghost and also the Roman spear. I’ll call her Rosemary, a single woman in her 30’s she came to see me for a general reading. She didn’t look well and complained about feeling drained and out of sorts. ‘So how long has this been going on?’ – ‘It feels like forever.’ Sitting back I took a look at her aura, definitely depleted, hazy and wait, what was that? I looked again and saw a face peer out from behind her head, then it vanished. Hmm, get a grip Laurie. ‘Tell me, do you always feel uncomfortable, a little paranoid like someone is following you?’ – ‘As far back as I can remember, I’ve never felt well.’ This began to make sense now. ‘Don’t mind me for a little while I need to take a look at something.’ Thankfully she sat quietly and I tuned in. It seemed that for some reason, which I could never quite understand Rosemary came into this life with the spirit of someone else firmly attached to her. Was it waiting for her to be born? Did it come along for the ride? I honestly don’t know. All I could do was talk to it, or try to. Nothing, except imagery of Rosemary dressed in a black dress, ruffled up around her waist. She squatted in a huge barn over a patch of straw and birthed a baby girl onto it. Once the afterbirth came out she staggered away. End of scene. I didn’t have to be Sherlock Holmes to understand what had happened. That Rosemary, for whatever reason abandoned her newborn child. Obviously the guilt stayed with her throughout that life and into this one. Her child, well its spirit must have attached itself to her and followed. I said, ‘Do you feel burdened at all?’ – ‘I’m not sure but nothing seems to go right for me.’ Taking a deep breath I told her what I’d seen both in her aura and about the child. I won’t tell you what she called me as she left the house. Not every story has a happy ending and all she needed to do was forgive herself. A simple, ‘I forgive me’ would have ended all of her discomfort. Perhaps it was her karma to go on feeling this way.
Picture from Wikipedia.
Pilum Let’s call her Alice, she turned up for a reading with an aura of great expanse. When she sat down I found myself looking at a spear point sticking out from between her breasts. A Pilum, a javelin used by the Roman army. I opened my eyes and closed them, still there. ‘Alice, do you have a lot of trouble with heartburn, or funny feelings in your chest?’ – ‘Sometimes and they can’t find anything that’s causing it.’ By the amount of objects in her aura, I deduced that Alice was not only a hoarder in this life but she couldn’t let go of old hurts. As the reading progressed it became obvious that she didn’t do well in affairs of the heart. Not wanting to incur another round of humiliation I didn’t tell her about the spear, instead I told her that I could do a quick healing. She was okay with that and I worked through the aura, withdrawing the spear. It fell away and I glimpsed old rivalries and a fight over a woman. Yes our Alice was indeed a Roman soldier who died for the love of a woman, betrayed and stabbed in the back by a rival. We worked out that she needed to be wary of the interference of others in her present relationship, simple.

What can you learn from past lives? Lots of things, I found out why I was terrified of walking over a bridge when I was a boy. Looking down into the dark water terrified me. It seems I was washed over the side of a sailing ship in the Atlantic ocean. Cut down by machine gun fire in WWI, 10 years after the regression the wounds there manifested as nerve damage to the heart and damage to the left lung. That one was complicated, present day family members were involved. Too emotional to write about. I’ve experienced death twice at the hands of a man I know in this life, both in single combat in the 12th and 13th century. I’ve yet to go back and see what I did to piss him off so badly. In this life he basically destroyed my first marriage and saved me from drowning, go figure.

One of the greatest events in my life was meeting George, my psychiatrist. After a few years of going through my Vietnam service and police work, we started on my childhood. This took another few years and during this time I told him about working as a psychic. One would expect a referral to an asylum, no we explored it and used various techniques to aid me. Towards the end of our time together he began to take me back and explore past lives. Sitting back in the recliner I closed my eyes and George asked, ‘Now you have all of this free time Laurie what do you want to do with it?’
Hunted, it’s never a great feeling to be stalked through the streets of a city that you once felt safe in. Wanted, not for your writing talent but for your need to expose the truth. I’ve long since stopped caring about the filth that congregates in the drains of the winding streets. Darkness hides a multitude of sins  amongst the hovels and the palaces. The wind blows up off the cold waters of the Thames and finds its way through my cloak. I check the parchment tucked in the inside pocket and bow my head against the rain. Only a few windows show signs of other souls awake on this foul night, candles flicker casting dancing shadows on bare walls. Stopping suddenly I move into an alley and listen, the wind subsides and I can hear the sound of heavy boots on cobblestones. A loud clang shatters the night, one of them has dropped his halberd, muttered oaths follow and I run. Well, a semblance of a run, I’d barely healed from my last stay in prison. I reach the inn where I’ve been staying and enter by the back door, there is much to do and far more to write about and prepare for the printer. Sedition is a crime and punishable by death but I have much to write. I have the attic room and the chimney breast runs through it, the warmth is comforting and I set out my ink and parchment. The aroma of Ox fat lingers in the room, I can’t afford wax candles. The steady rhythm of quill tip against clean parchment lulls me, along with the words that appear on the page. I don’t hear the small door being opened. All I see are bearded faces, polished breastplates and a halberd, its spear point coming towards me. The broad head is hooked onto my thigh and I’m dragged out of my warm eyrie. A man stands above me, imperious, stiff holding a roll of parchment in white, feminine hands. I only hear one word, sedition as blood pumps out of a wound in my thigh. I’ve cheated the executioner yet have still died for my beliefs.
Shaking my head to clear the vision I stare blankly at George and he asks again, ‘Well, what do you want to do?’ – ‘I want to be a writer.’

Next week: Something interesting.

42 thoughts on “A Medium, or just well done? More on Karma.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    A beautiful post Laurie. I like how you make it clear how looking at one’s aura cannot only give info on a past life but also shed light and help make sense out of your life today. Need I say another fascinating read…..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Michael. We have all the info right at our fingertips really and it can answer so many questions about the who and why of our life and lives. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Actually I was going to email you today to see if you were okay, I hadn’t seen a post from you this week.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        I completely agree with your words. Many of us just don’t know how to access this information. I read a great quote the other day, but forgot where it came from. It said something to the effect that we might realize that we create our own karma, but the real goal is to know the reason why everything happens to us. I thought that fits nicely with your post here.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        That’s why many religions don’t want their followers to investigate these things for themselves Michael. Because the answers are there for those wishing to find them and the answers aren’t always what they’d expect. If one is aware of their karma and the reasons behind it, then it can be rectified in the here and now.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        Thanks for almost emailing me🙂 I was thinking of emailing you as well. I am going through a rough patch and haven’t had much time to read posts let alone upload one. But hopefully one will be coming soon.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        No worries Michael, I hope you’re okay. We’re off on holidays for a couple of weeks so I hope you get your mono back soon and get some good shots. Cheers, Laurie.

        Like

  2. kelihasablog

    WOW, I always love reading your posts Laurie! They are so interesting and seem to provoke so many thoughts squirreling around in my head… Can’t wait for the next one…. I still think you should put all these into a book… Just think about it.😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Keli. So we have a lot of squirreling happening in your head, hmm?🙂 It will go away, eventually. Seriously, I’m glad you like my work and that it makes you think. I’ll be doing something with all the posts I’ve done over the last couple of years, when I’ve finished my novels.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. bgbowers

    The story about the baby is heartbreaking, Laurie. I’m glad you were able to help her overcome that ‘blockage’. Pretty powerful stuff! All your good psychic deeds must be stockpiling positive karma for your next life 😉
    I find your stories about family members being linked to past lives. I have often thought and wondered about that… Not just family, but people that come into your life and have such a powerful effect and profound impact. I had many such encounters in SA, where there seemed to be a stack of unexplainable emotions and familiarity with certain people. It’s been interesting leaving SA and living in different countries… I don’t seem to experience that same intensity or familiarity with people. I wonder if this link with past lives theory could explain that?
    As usual, you have got me thinking in depth about this subject – and I thickness you for that, because I love this subject and rarely get to discuss it.
    Intrigued about the guy/nemesis from your past and current life. That would be an interesting regression!
    Take care,
    Bianca 😘

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I have to say Bianca I felt pretty chuffed about the ladies managing to fall pregnant. From what I’ve seen over time doing this there’s not a lot of happy endings, with feelings of loss and regret abounding. I don’t know if I’m in credit or not with the karma.🙂 It’s why so many families are in conflict Bianca, they’re not only working out this life’s problems but past ones too. Crazy eh? People come into and leave our lives for many reasons, each one I think teaches us something whether it’s good or bad there’s always a lesson. As to moving countries, I think that you’ll find after a few more years the people that need to be in your life will turn up. You know we could have all of our lessons completed early and spend the rest of our lives just finishing our time here. Although some of us will be constantly tested. I’m glad to have you thinking, for starters it’s an interesting subject and it also makes us realise that being here can impact on other people’s lives. Yes I’ll be checking into my nemesis this week.🙂
      Thanks for commenting Bianca, it’s always good to hear from you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. jenanita01

    It’s a great pity you are all the way over the pond…as I would love to meet someone like you with such insight. My life has been pretty awful and I would love to know why…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s a terribly big pond jenanita. Look, I suggest you try a couple of things: 1. Itemise the things that have gone wrong in simple terms. i.e. Relationship with …… constantly irritates me. Why do I have trouble with my…… Then look at the question several times before bed. Do it often enough and you’ll start dreaming about it. 2. Do the above but sit quietly and meditate on it. This could take a little time but it will get you there, eventually.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. jenanita01

        What you say sounds too simplistic, but then a lot of solutions can be.
        I am willing to give it a try, and I’ll let you know what happens…
        Thank you Laurie…

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Why make something more difficult than it needs to be? I’ve been doing this stuff for 24 years and I know that keeping it simple is the way to go. Some people want to make more of it, filling it with ceremony and endless rules. Give it a go.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  5. rayjamieson

    Fascinating post Laurie. I’ve done a little regression work and of course, had people ask “But how do you know it was real?” Your explanation is perfect. I know one time I was having a rather bad time in a past life (understatement!) and my mouth filled with the clay and gravel as I hit the ground. I KNOW what that tastes like, because while fencing on the farm in THIS life, I tasted it more than I wanted to, as clods fell off the shovel while digging etc.. It was exactly what I tasted in my mouth while sitting back in a very relaxed state during the session, when I suddenly began spitting to get the gravel out of my mouth! Surprised us both, and yes, it is VERY real!

    I went back to a number of different times and most of them had a relevance to this lifetime, but not all (that I know of at the moment).

    As for Karma, well, I had it coming, didn’t I?
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Ray, it’s interesting stuff isn’t it? You’re right, people don’t believe what can happen. That instant feeling of whatever the event is about is more real than real. When it involves an emotion it cuts deep too. taste, sights, sounds it’s all there. That’s the other thing, several relevant happenings in this life can stretch back over many lives and usually with the same person/family. Karma? Yes we all have something coming.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Katherine Pym

    Laurie, you may want to go back and discover what pissed that fellow off, why he continues to bedevil you in this lifetime. My dad did not like me. He treated me differently than my other siblings. When I listen to them talk of their relationship with my father, I thought, ‘are they speaking of the same man?’
    It seems we hook up with the same group of souls from one lifetime to another. I learned my father was with me in the 17th, 18th, and 20/21st centuries. He was my mother in the 17th, my dad in the 18th when he clearly did not like me, and then this lifetime, still disliking me.
    When in the 17th century, my parent was on her deathbed. As an unbridled youth filled with irreverence and disgust, I spat on her as she died. Her spirit rose out of the cask that was her body, and my insult went with her. This soul resented me for centuries, through the aforementioned lives, and in this life, though I did not know why.
    Then I went through life regressions, and learned the truth. It seems I was not a nice person for many lifetimes😦, and as with the other person who hated me on sight, I went to the soul level and apologized to my dad. Heartfelt apology. He accepted this on the soul level, but not on this physical plane. I could do no more, but I do feel I tried. I have also forgiven him for what he did to me this life. I feel much better for it. Healthier.
    All the best,

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I may just have to Katherine. Although I’ve not had anything to do with him in 20 years. Interestingly since then he’s lost an eye and fallen off his roof, smashing himself up badly. The eye? We had a mutual hunting friend with one eye and he would always take the micky out of him. The roof? I guess it’s payback for all the marriages he’s ruined. I don’t think he’ll stop doing what he does until he’s dead, even then?
      I find your story here extremely interesting Katherine. I can see where your father is coming from. Because we work on that soul level we’re not always aware of why people hate our guts. I can empathise with you on the differing treatment in the family. It could be a lesson to us all because the family is quite often the way karma works itself out. I think it might take a while for your dad to like you in the here and now. Next time maybe? That’s what this is all about, forgiving, understanding and getting on with life. Once we’ve discovered the problem and forgiven or apologised then it slowly filters through to the person. We feel better and hopefully they do too.
      thanks Katherine, it was great to hear from you again.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Katherine Pym

        It’s pretty interesting how that guy received some of his ‘growing’ karma in this life. It’s really hard not to shout, Rah! Rah!, but something niggles at him to be the brute. You probably took part in the cause back in a lifetime wherein he seeks revenge. He’s stubborn about it too. I bet his soul sparks browns and reds. Pretty sad, really. If you go back and find the cause, at least you will find a bit of relief, maybe learn how to avoid him in another life. Hugs, KP

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        The thing about karma is that it can be instant, or just hang around and hit us when we least expect it. The interesting thing though is that he could be one of those people who are here to bring other people’s karma to them. I guess we’re all teacher/students in life. I’ll be going back this week and having a peek. You never know what you’re going to find Katherine. Who knows, there might be some catching up to do.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  7. ksbeth

    i love these posts, laurie. i am endlessly fascinated by them. had a psychic tell me about my past lives once, how they paralleled what i was going through in this life. made perfect sense. and i had never met her before.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Raani York

    This was quite special, Laurie. In many ways scary as well as explanatory (for you to become a writer for example)…
    And I was fascinated by Rosemary… in a way… It kind of made me think… I guess you know what direction…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Raani. It would be scary actually reliving it physically but reviewing these lives is like watching a movie, albeit a horror one at times. Loss and early death play a huge part, especially the loss of children. I have an idea where you’re coming from though. Yes Rosemary was a tough case, I guess that people have to be in the right frame of mind to accept what has happened. If people realised the huge benefit and healing that comes with it, then there may be a lot more happy people in the world.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. suzjones

    I am thinking that many of your memories/regressions would also make good writing material.
    Sad story with the lady and the baby in her aura. I can imagine some of the words she used. You know I have a friend who swears she was on the Titanic. I don’t know how she come to that conclusion but she’s addicted to cruising and had a meltdown watching the movie. It’s definitely food for thought.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ve actually written one short story about one of them Suz. Just used the opening scene of the death and whacked a story on it from there. Yes the baby in the aura was sad but she had a huge opportunity to make her life better. No pun intended with meltdown and Titanic is there? Look, imagery can come at the weirdest times in relation to these memories, reading a book, watching telly even a conversation about something can bring them up. It is food for thought.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        Yes, most definitely.
        Interestingly, I did a guided meditation with Dr Brian Weiss where he takes you back. I had a wonderful time with some childhood memories but then he takes you back further. You face a door with light behind it and then as the door opens you move into the light and beyond. He then asks you to look at where you are, how you are dressed etc. I saw this beautiful big blue door with dazzling light behind it but strangely didn’t get past the light.

        Like

  10. davidprosser

    Next week: Something interesting…So what do you class this week as Laurie? You’ve only taken my interest in regression a step further here. I’ll have to start looking round to see if there are any hypnotherapists willing to do that. Maybe it could even kick start an interest in writing again.
    I’m surprised you haven’t produced a book on your days in the field yet.
    Stay well. All the best, Hugs.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hmmm? Interesting I guess.🙂 I’m glad to see that I’ve stirred your interest there David. You never know your luck, you might find someone to help you. I guess this series of posts will be the basis of any future book on my experiences. Then there are the other three series, army, prison and police. Phew. Went for a walk this morning and feeling great.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

