Fire on the Mountain at The Writer’s Room.

I like the way this Clivia Lily turned out. A little touch of brightness and contrast makes it look like the stamens are little lights. Okay, I’m clever.๐Ÿ™‚Clivia lillies

The doves are still nesting in the hedge and I caught this fellow sitting on the bench. He wasn’t too happy about being photographed though.doves

These Miner birds were enjoying their dust bath on the embankment behind the house.miner birds

There’s a certain pensive look about this Wallaby, I think they’re getting used to me and the camera.Wallaby

This is a Red Necked Wallaby joey on the left. I think he may have had a run in with a fence, his back is cut. I snapped this one quickly because they are quite nervous and make a run for it when they see me. The Wallaby on the right has her paw protectively over her joey’s head.wallaby

First bush fire of spring on the hills opposite the house, it burnt out after a few hours.hills

Back to the Pioneer Village. Clockwise left to right: you can’t go anywhere without seeing a coke sign. Lorelle loves shopping so in she went, I showed the interior last week. I just thought I’d put a yellow gerbera in here. Then we have an Anderson Bomb shelter, they became popular after the Japanese bombed Darwin, shelled Townsville and sneaked into Sydney Harbour and sunk a ferry. I’ve seen a few over the years still in the ground.Pioneer Village

This Desoto truckย is set up as a water drilling rig. Some of its equipment is next to it.desoto truck

I thought this Dodge deserved some B&W treatment.jalopy

Remember they all look a bit better opened in a new window or tab. Well that’s your bloomin lot for this week. I hope you’ve enjoyed my offerings and look forward to seeing you nest time.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “Fire on the Mountain at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are different Mate, it must be that yellow around the eyes. I’ve seen some exotic birds over the years too. Oh, you mean of the feathered variety? Sorry, my mind wanders and well, you know how it gets.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Patricia Salamone

    Great shots Laurie, your post’s some how make me feel homesick. I wonder if I was Australian in another life and your soul is the soul of a brother I had. I do enjoy your talent in taking photo’s and love to read your stories. Miss seeing the Roo Crew, and please don’t let anyone take my chair. :o)

    Sorella

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, perhaps they make you long for a simpler life, less cluttered and away from town. You never know, there are no shortage of countries and races to reincarnate in, or families. I’m glad you enjoy my photos and stories, I enjoy doing it.๐Ÿ™‚ There’s a Roo fix in next week’s post but not the one after.๐Ÿ˜ฆ. Your chair’s still there waiting.
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  2. suzjones

    Great shot of the mynahs, although I have to admit that I don’t really like them that much. Our Willy’s have begun nest building again but sheesh they take forever and it still looks like a mess of spider web with no structure right now. Yesterday we had a pair of King Parrots drop in to say hello. They were very quiet and we sat out there and took lots of photos.
    Glad the fires weren’t close by. We’re getting into that season again aren’t we?
    As you can see, I am behind on my reading and commenting. Such is life right?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz. They can be a nuisance and chase other birds but they’re native. I like to watch them fight amongst themselves, they’re full on.๐Ÿ™‚ Those wagtails are just taking their time, probably waiting for the home loan. I have a couple of king parrots up for next week, they’re beautiful birds. Yes, fire season is around the corner, thankfully we haven’t had a problem. Such is life indeed.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. bgbowers

    Fab photos as always, Laurie. I took the kids to Lone Pine Sanctuary this avo and fed the roo’s. They’re wonderful, aren’t they?!
    Shame about the doves and their eggs. That mating dance takes a lot of effort ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bianca.๐Ÿ™‚ I bet the kids enjoyed feeding the roos. I think they’re charming creatures. It is a shame, although I think the Green Tree snake would probably have snatched them if the other birds didn’t. Yeah, there’s an awful lot of tail fanning and preening going on with them.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. talain45

    Those are a couple of cool birds Laurie. That miner bird has some neat coloration too it. Still having a dry spell there it see with the fire. the truck is still functional I take it, I just love older vehicles. I think I got that from my father. I have enjoy your offering today.
    With many blessings, Michael๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are Michael, the colour is great. I think it started from a lightning strike a couple of days previous. There’s still a lot of dry tinder around. All the vehicles they have on display are driveable. They put on a parade at Easter with all the tractors, cars and trucks. I’m partial to old vehicles myself.
      Cheers
      Laurie.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    And what a splendid bloomin’ lot it was!!! Poor guy that had a run in with the fence. I hope that heals well. And do those birds really take a dust bath? My grandsons would love that if they could get their mom to go along with it! I hope a fire like that never gets closer to your abode, dear Laurence. I pray you have a wonderful weekend, my friend. Hugs, cheers, and much love, N ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Lol! Thanks Natalie. Yes those cuts would have been bothersome. Yes they love a good dust bath, there were about half a dozen flying back and forth, dust going everywhere.๐Ÿ™‚ We’ve had a couple of fires come down the face of the mountain a few years ago. Thank you for your kind prayers LMS and all the big hugs and love right back at ya. Cheers,
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    What a lovely collection. The Clivia Lily is bright and looks sort of crytalline. The pensive wallaby is another favorite, along with the bush fire–beautiful landscape. And the black and white Dodge photo seems really sharp. Oh, and the bomb shelter is an interesting bit of history. Btw, Pacific Empire, an alternate history novel, has the Japanese attacking Australia.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy. That lily really shines, which shows that you don’t always have to have a perfect picture. I’m always happy to get a pic of that breed of wallaby, there’s only a couple of them around at the moment. I was going to leave the dodge in colour and thought with it being so black, well…
      The Japanese had a few nasty in things in store for Australia if they decided to invade, The government was going to pull back all it’s forces to defend the Brisbane Line, it would stretch from just north of Brisbane and down west of Sydney and Melbourne..

      Like

      Reply
  7. Raani York

    Another bunch of beautiful pictures, Laurie! I love them. It was again hard to decide, but I have to say, this week it’s the dove-pictures I love the most.๐Ÿ™‚ I do love them.๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani. Sad about the doves this week. The miner birds stole their eggs so they’re back to going through the whole mating ritual again. You’re welcome, I love sharing my pics around.๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. davidprosser

    The offerings are great as usual. The b & w effect on the Dodge is especially good though of course I love the miner birds. I was surprised to read the Japanese had actually made attacks on Australian soil so that Anderson shelters were needed.
    Have a Great Weekend. Hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, I love playing with B&W and I updated one of my programs and it had new monochrome setting. However it doesn’t detract from the fact that you have to have a good shot to start with.๐Ÿ™‚ The Japanese bombed the bejasus out of Darwin about the time they were doing pearl harbour. They sunk ships up and down the east coast, including a hospital ship and of course the attack on Sydney harbour by sub. hence the Andersen shelters went up quick smart.
      Weekend’s looking good.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

