What a sunset at The Writer’s Room.

I tweaked the brightness and contrast just a little on this one, the orange was overshadowed by the dark grey. We had a small shower of rain just on sunset and the silver grey clouds really caught my eye. Sometimes a picture needs to show its true colours.sunset

A double gerbera, two ordinary ones and a petunia. I can only lay claim to owning the petunia.
flowers

A pair of King Parrots paid a visit the other day. Do you realise how heavy a 500mm lens gets when your standing under a tree? Heavy! It was worth it though the one on the left sat still long enough. I do like the green on the head of the one on the right.
king parrots

I took this at Highfields Pioneer village. It’s a replica set of Ned Kelly’s armour standing in the small bank building.
Ned Kelly armour

This is Wolston House, a pioneering families home, built in the 1850’s. It’s situated near the Brisbane River behind the jail complexes at Wacol.
Wolston House

A view from the far end and I think it’s a better one. The masonry work is exquisite. That’s an in ground water tank on the left.
Wolston houseThis is a view of the kitchen from the veranda. I’ll be showing more of the insides next week.
Wolston House kitchen

Even Wallaby Mums want their Joeys to have clean ears.
IMG_00091The RooPoo gang are checking out the competition, they can’t seem to stop acting out their favourite TV shows though.
kangaroos

Once again we’ve come to the end of another week. I do hope you’ve enjoyed the selection. Until next time take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

36 thoughts on “What a sunset at The Writer’s Room.

  1. suzjones

    Look! I finally got to Friday in my emails lol
    I adore the old fashioned gerberas as they bring back so many childhood memories and Wolston House is just wonderful. I used to work out at The Park Centre for Mental Health but never came across that in my travels around. Wonderful that they have a replica of Ned Kelly’s armour. We have seen another replica at Glenrowan and the original at Melbourne Gaol. I want to go back to take better photos than the last time I was there. This time I’ll take a tripod!🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yay, finally got to Friday eh? They are nice gerberas. Wolston House is down past the CSIRO centre near the river, so you wouldn’t have come across it. Yes a tripod is a must in gloomy places like jails.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Natalie. I like to make a selection that gives a broad range of subjects. My week has been bust LMS but nothing I can’t handle.🙂
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. talain45

    Hello Laurie, I finally made it🙂 Absolutely love the coloration in the sunset shot, its beautiful. Now the King Parrots you have resemble the Scarlet Tanagers we have here in color only. Both are lovely birds. The Wolston House looks like a nice place, I would have loved to live in that time frame. Things were simpler back then and you live an honest life I think. The RooPoo gang was probably watching the episodes on your TV through the window wishing that they can be beamed in. Nice Post Laurie. Have a good one, Michael🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Michael, welcome back.🙂 It only took a little contrast adjustment in the large cloud but those yellows and faint oranges were all there in abundance. Yes they’re great colours on the parrots, they were back this morning. Yes simpler times and one had to depend on those closest. Hard on babies, children and women. Believe it or not Michael we have had the RooPoo mob looking through the windows at night. We have the bay windows at the front and the roos sometimes take a peek through them.
      Thanks Michael, I’ll do my best. Cheers’
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    I’m fascinated by all of your pictures this week, Laurie. But my very favorite is the “ear cleaning”-picture. It’s just so cute!!🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It speaks volumes, they have taste in sci-fi programs. They’ve tried beaming up but that doesn’t seem to work. Then there are all the dried Klingons littering the paddock from these strange life forms. Yes, it’s difficult being an alien, especially in Laurie’s view of Australia. I’m glad you enjoyed it.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

