All sorts of things at The Writer’s Room.

Please note I’m going away for a couple of weeks, so there won’t be any Monday posts until 20th October, or Writer’s Room posts until the 17th October. I really need a break. I won’t be visiting blogs and only answering emails if they’re urgent. I will be photographing my little heart out and hope to bring back some great images. For those who have recently followed me there is a wealth of stories to read in my archives. Until then, take care.
Cheers,
Laurie.

No Roos this week but there are plenty of other animals. I took this picture at a neighbour’s place, they’re down the road from us. It gives you a different look at Mt Beau Brummel.Mountain view

Lorelle’s granddaughter is a born horseperson. She’s here on Rocy, the stallion, he’s part of Dave Manchon’s ‘Rooftop Express’ horse show. He’s well trained and in beautiful condition. (The horse that is.) This girl has no fear at all, she trotted him around the yard and turned him.Girl and horse

‘I’m sorry Dave, I didn’t mean to take a bath during working hours.’dog in a bath

A look at the kitchen and laundry at Wolston House as per last weeks view through the doorway.Wolston house kitchen

They have some old machinery in the yard, I thought this tractor had definitely come to the end of it’s working life. A little touch of contrast brings out the rust.tractor wheel

This is Lorelle. I had to use flash inside the house as it was quiet dark.  I call it, ‘Reflections of my Wife.’  :-)Lorelle

This Butcher Bird came visiting while we had scones and tea, after I finished my scone and lemon curd he was lucky to get a few crumbs.Butcher Bird

Warning, the use of these tools cause blisters. I’ve never seen so many axe heads. Taken at Highfield Pioneer Village.old tools

Still at Highfields, I do love the blue car, it’s a Willy’s. I could see myself driving that.Highfields Pioneer Village

I erected a DIY garden arch made out of reinforcing rods. Hopefully by the end of summer the vines I’ve planted will cover it. The Miner birds found the bath I’d put there and I believe the one on the left is saying, ‘Yes, it’s better than a dust bath, yes the water looks nice but you didn’t tell me it was bloody cold.!’Noisy Miner Birds

Well, that’s your bloomin’ lot for another week. I do hope you’ve enjoyed my offerings, so until next time take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

40 thoughts on “All sorts of things at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    Laurie, we do miss you and I just permitted myself to send you an email. I really hope you’re fine!! Please, come back soon!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jane Risdon

    Beautiful horse and photos and so interesting too. Have a fab holiday and come back rested and full of the joys of er..um Autumn (well here anyway). Keep well and be good. Look forward to the photos.🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    Have a great holiday and relax. Great shots and that little one is amazing. The photo of Lorelle looks like an oil on canvas, and I saw those dogs on Antique Road Show, they are worth a good buck. Cheers
    Sorella :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Will do Sorella and thanks. yes she’s not afraid of the horses at all, if she keeps it up she’ll be a great rider. I might make that pic an oil painting.🙂 There’re so many beautiful antiques in that house, it’s fantastic. I’ll talk in a couple of weeks Sorella. keep well.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    Enjoy your break away Laurie, you’ve earned it. I’ll miss your posts, the only thing keeping me sane of late…. maybe I need some R n R!
    Love the photos today, I can’t seem to get a reflected image that looks human. Lorelle looks beautiful 😊 as does her grand daughter. Love the looks the birds get in their eyes – when you get used to seeing them it gets easy to pick out the “almost human” expression. 😁
    Take care of yourselves and come back recharged and relaxed. Look forward to really catching up then – if the sun doesn’t fry me to a cinder before then. Better take lots of sunscreen and a large hat. 😎
    Ciao, Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I will Susan. I’m not going to miss writing posts while I’m away although I may get some inspiration.🙂 There’s an art to taking mirror photos, I don’t know what it is but it turned out okay. Yes, the two beautiful ladies in my life. That look in the eye was disappointment, no crumbs left. We’ll take care, recharged and refreshed? I bloody hope so. I’ll take my hat, have never used sunscreen, only a touch of zinc on the nose now and then.🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    This is a wonderful bunch of great pictures again, Laurie!! I love them all, in particular the bird pics of course. But your granddaughter on the horse is quite a sight too!
    My favorite picture this week is “reflections of your wife” – Lorelle, of course!! I just love it!

    And now you should enjoy your vacation, you deserve it!! Have a great trip! We of course will miss you and can’t wait until you’re back!!

    Sending you and Lorelle hugs.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, yes she looks good on that horse alright. The picture of Lorelle, although not sharp I think is good. We fully intend to have good time and explore new places. See you when we get back. Cheers. Laurie. 🐴

      Like

      Reply
  6. ksbeth

    wonderful and enjoy yourself, don’t think about contacting us, we know you’re out there recharging your batteries and taking lots of snaps. look forward to seeing you upon your return, laurie. )

    Like

    Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Oh, Laurie, the Butcher Birds are so very beautiful. Wonderful photographs. Hi to Lorelle:) Fabulous horse and rider. The horse is so lovely. Have fun and get some good pictures.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. They’re definitely a beautiful bird and get right up close, food works.🐔 Lorelle says hi back. It certainly empowers the young one when she’s on a big stallion. She’s pumped for the rest of the day. Let the fun begin.😎

      Like

      Reply
  8. davidprosser

    Great pics as always Laurie. Have a nice break and don’t let your conscience worry you about those of us left behind with cobwebs growing on us till you return again.
    Look after yourself.( & Lorelle too)
    Hugs
    David

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. The break will be great. I’m sure you’ll manage to remove any lingering cobwebs in the interim. Hugs to you. I always look after her, she’s precious.🌹

      Like

      Reply
  9. olganm

    Great post! I’ll take the yellow pick-up. Lovely horse and the girl is very skilled already. I hope you enjoy your holidays and we’ll take you up on that promise of pictures…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. It is a nice pickup. That horse is beautiful, he’s very well trained. I agree she has good seat already. We are definitely going to enjoy ourselves and there will be pictures.🐎

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        Ok Laurie, where are you? I hope all is well, do let me know soon. I hope you are taking lots of photos and making notes so we can share your holiday with you. Come back soon: we miss you.🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

