Whoa. The Writer’s Room is back!

Greetings. Yes I’ve finally returned. I won’t go into detail here, I was unwell and now I’m feeling better. So let’s get this show on the road.Β  This Kookaburra was one of many who turned up at meal times while we were staying at the resort. That look translates to, ‘We know you have a BBQ there, now where’s my sausage?’ Believe me they didn’t hold back. One flew from the tree hovered above my plate, snatched a sausage and flew off. He didn’t even knock over our drinks.That Look

We stopped in a small town to change over, went 100 metres down the road and I snapped this young lady cantering along.Fast Ride

This houseboat looks like it could belong to the Beverley Hillbillies. Taken near Hawks Nest, New South Wales.There goes the neighbourhood

Just a little bridge in a quiet town off the highway and a perfect sky.Bridge

I was filming them feeding and they took off, it feels like you’re part of the flock. @Hawks Nest.Along for the ride

We now have a family of Hares living near the house. Dad came right up to the side of the house so I took the shot through the window.Hare Today
This is Belinda, I took the pictures for her formal. This was an informal shot afterwards.Belinda

So there we have it, I’ve only put a few up for now. I’ll be checking out your blogs over the coming days and linking back up again. Until next week, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

86 thoughts on “Whoa. The Writer’s Room is back!

  1. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    Glad to hear you are feeling well. Hang in there. I love the photo shots and especially the ones about nature. You also did an excellent job of photographing that Beverly Hillbilly boat. It does look exactly like the car that they used for picturing the opening.

    I like your photo shop of Belinda. You really do have an eye for pictures.

    Shalom,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sis,
      How good to hear from you. I don’t see any of your stuff in my feed now. Yes, I’m feeling better although I’m not as full on as I used to be. I’m so glad you like my photos. You’re the only one who mentioned the boat. I thought it was so unique, I could almost see Jed Clampett. That is a good picture of Belinda, she’s very photogenic. Thanks so much for commenting.
      Cheers
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  2. teagan geneviene

    It’s delightful to see you back Laurie, and so glad you’re feeling better. All these pictures were so wonderful, but i think i liked the two of birds best. The brazen little guy is so cute, and the shot of the flock in flight is purely awesome. Hugs! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you teagan, it’s nice to be here. I’m glad you like my pictures. That Kookaburra was sooo cheeky, I think I took way too many of them. I agree about the pelicans, it makes you feel like you’re part of the flock. Hugs right back at you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    Hello Laurie. I’m so happy to welcoming you back (on your own blog, by the way. LOL) I hope you’re doing good!! Your pictures are beautiful – and I’m so happy of course I’m able to pick my very favorite again!
    Normally I would say it is the Kookaburra – but unfortunately he moves to number 2 – my favorite this week of course is Belinda. She’s beautiful and it’s such a great picture you took from her!! What a Model!!πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s always nice to be welcomed back by you Raani. Doing good? I know that my life will never be more than I make it, or allow it to be. We all have our dragons to slay and or tame and I’m afraid mine took control. With love from those who count I’m sure that life will be rosier. It wasn’t hard to pick a winner this week. Belinda is a lovely girl and so photogenic. Photography kept me going over the last couple of months, it gave me some purpose and direction. It’s good to be here Raani.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you so much Carrie. One doesn’t know how much they’re missed until they go away, it’s been something of an eye opener for me actually. I’m glad that you do enjoy my work.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Theresa

    Laurie – you’re back and I’m grinning from ear to ear! Sending blessings for a speedy and complete recovery; if I can help your welcome return in any way, please don’t hesitate to let me know, my friend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you for the warm welcome Theresa. It’s good to be back and I appreciate your healing thoughts and kindness. You may have an idea where I’ve been, I think Robin Williams taking his life affected me quite deeply. The ptsd overwhelmed me and the enjoyment of life left me for a while. The love I receive from my wife and the support of friends is a great tonic. Thank you.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Theresa

        I am here for you, Laurie. Remember that, dear friend. There is always light somewhere within the darkness. Sometimes it takes being totally still to find it.

        Like

  5. Patrons of the Pit

    I was wondering what was up, Laurie. Grand to see you about again, thieving sausage birds and all. Glad you’re still vertical, Mate! May the pendulum of life swing back in your favor!

    Cheers friend!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      So was I but getting better and looking forward. Yep, you have to watch those kookaburras, they love BBQ’s. The pendulum of life indeed, I think it may have hit me.πŸ™‚
      Cheers, I’ll be dropping by soon. Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. olganm

    Great to see you back Laurie. I kept wondering what had happened to you…Great photos as usual and it’s nice to see sunny skies. Here the weather is terrible. Be well!

    Like

    Reply
  7. SalvaVenia

    Praise to all the sausages of the world, if they are meant to pose as Kookaburra food …πŸ™‚

    Very nice to listen and read from you again, and once again accompagnied by all such beautiful shots of the colourful life around you! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Juliette, it’s nice to be missed. Although I would have preferred being away on a modelling shoot in the Seychelles or similar.πŸ™‚ there’s plenty of critters to come.

      Like

      Reply
  8. jorobinson176

    It’s lovely to have you back again Laurie. Gorgeous pics – that Kookaburra is a cutie. It’s pointless trying to hold onto any sort of food when a birdie decides it’s his. πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Ah David, it’s great to hear from you. I do hope you’re well and that Mike hasn’t run you ragged. I’m glad you liked my offerings, I have quite a few to come.πŸ™‚ I’ll see you on your blog.
      Hugs, Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Pagadan

    Laurie, I’ve missed you and hoped you’d be back fairly soon. I’m glad you’re feeling better! And it’s a pleasure seeing your photos again too. I especially loved the birds taking off–reminded me of the close up of pterodactyls taking off in Jurassic Park–the cantering horse, and the hare.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Patricia Salamone

    Thank goodness your back Fratello, I was quite worried. Hope all is well now. What ever it was it did not affect your talent. The photo’s are wonderful. Back just in time for the holiday, sending my cheeriest Merry Christmas to you and L from across the miles. Hugsssssssssssss.

    Sorella :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I wholeheartedly agree with you Sorella, I was worried too. I’m better but I’ll be taking my time with writing. The only thing that’s kept me sane has been photography, gives me something to focus on.πŸ™‚ I’ll gladly accept your cheery merry Christmases’. Your Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  11. Lee Furlong

    Hi Laurie,

    GREAT to have you BACK. Your friends and fans really enjoy you writings and observations. Keep well…and let the kookaburra have the next sausage. Very best,

    Lee

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron. Aren’t they just the devilish little dive-bombers? All I got on the camera was a white blur. I was saving that sausage for last as well. Believe it or not I’ve missed you all but I couldn’t come back until I got myself back together as it were.
      Cheers. xxx
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  12. nataliescarberry

    I’ve been so worried about you. I knew you must be sick since you’d said you’d be back later in October. Wow, what a lovely Christmas present it was to see your name pop up in my inbox.
    I’m so glad you are better and back, Laurence!!!!! I have missed you. Hugs, hugs, and more hugs, N ❀❀❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Natalie, it’s good to be back. I nearly ended up giving it all away but thought better of it. if I did that I’d miss out on knowing some lovely people. Thanks for the hugs, they’re always appreciated.
      Love’n Hugs from Laurence.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

