It’s Gorgeous at The Writer’s Room.

This young fellow is gorgeous, in a manly sort of way. His ears are cropped slightly because he caught me by surprise. I always carry my camera on the trip up from the front gate and I had the large lens on. I opened the shed and walked around the side and he popped up from where he was eating in the drain. I don’t think it detracts too much from him.
Wallaby

I took this one a few months ago at wetlands near Oxley in Brisbane. The female Bush Turkey is busy laying her eggs while her mate stands by. He builds a huge mound of leaves and twigs for the nest then hopefully attracts a female with the result. “Come on ladies, look at the size of this nest, oh and my lovely yellow wattle.”
Bush Turkey

These Red Browed Finches are happily gorging themselves on seeds. Some friends have moved out near a national park and the place is hopping with wildlife.
Red Browed Finch

I never tire of snapping Pale Headed Rosellas, this little beauty perched on the poinsettia bush in the front yard. I think this is the best shot I’ve taken of one. They’re easily startled, so I took this from the front door with the curtain draped over me. Eat your heart out David Attenborough.Pale Headeed Rosella

We now have a feeder in the front yard, however it’s been taken over by a pair of Magpies. They reward us with something of a serenade when they finish stuffing themselves with birdmix.Magpie

There is definitely a moment happening here between the Wallaby and Hare. I’d just taken the pic of the male wallaby, turned around and I saw this. Her joey had seen the Hare and jumped in the pouch so mum decided to see what this odd creature was all about.
Wallaby and Hare

Let the cuteness begin, yes this is a Koala in the wild and about sixty feet up a gum tree. My eagle eyed wife, Lorelle spotted them when we drove out of our friends gate. This is a Joey and she’s about ten feet up above her mum. She seems to have this dozing on a branch thing down pat.Koala Joey

Here’s Mum, she doesn’t seem too perturbed about her offspring being so far away. It was worth kinking my neck to get the shots. I had the long lens on and a monopod. I could have walked back down the road a bit and took the pic. Knowing my luck I would have got myself run over. So to get a steady shot I collapsed the pod, jammed the end in a fence post, hooked my leg around the post and leaned back. I’ll show a couple more next week.
Koala

Finally a gorgeous pic to finish with. This is Siobhan, you may remember her as the girl whose picture I posted wearing the fur hood a few months ago. Her Mum wanted some pics taken for family members as Xmas presents. I took many pictures of her in different outfits but this one is my favourite.Siobhan

So that’s your lot for this week, I hope you enjoy my offerings. Now I’ll have to see what I can to top this lot for next week.
Cheers,
Laurie.

74 thoughts on “It’s Gorgeous at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Wordifull Melanie

    Every single one of these is gorgeous! You really are talented and I love hearing the stories of how you got the shots. The yellow bird is especially gorgeous and I love the roos meeting the hare and of course the baby koala! ❤

    Like

    Reply
  2. hitandrun1964

    WHERE ARE YOU??????? I’m saying that really loud so you hear me an answer. I’m yelling over a lot of water and that makes a difference. I hope you’re feeling better. Let me know how you’re doing, my friend. It’s been way too long.

    Like

    Reply
      1. kcg1974

        So sorry, Laurie. Must have missed this while I was traveling. Yes, it would be so much fun to capture photos of bear and bigger wildlife in nature, wouldn’t it? Still, all are lovely.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. patgarcia

    Hi,
    The koala in the gum tree is beautiful. All of the pictures are well taken but that one is a beauty.

    I wish you a very Merry Christmas and a great crossover into the New Year.

    Shalom,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sis,
      Those Koalas are my first ever in the wild, it’s easy to take them at the zoo.🙂 I do wish you and yours the best Christmas Sis and that your New Year is filled with endless possibilities and love.
      Your Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  4. bldodson

    Great photos! We have magpies here in Sweden. Don’t remember seeing them in the States.

    Been reading about the kidnapping in Australia, of course. TV news keeps saying this it the first time something like this has happened there, but seems to me you mentioned an incident some time ago.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bruce, I’ve seen a slightly different one in Canada. The siege in Sydney was bad but I think it’s the first time that it involved a muslim trying to make a name for himself. What has overshadowed all of this is the woman in Cairns who stabbed 7 of her children to death and one niece.
      I can’t recall another incident, may have to think deeply. Although it could have been this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Broken_Hill
      It makes for an interesting read. I visited the site when we went to Broken Hill a few years ago.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. hitandrun1964

    I think your next book should be about Australian Wildlife. Your photographs are stunning. Seriously Laurie…think about that. Last night, my grandson told me he wanted to drop out of school and go to Australia. I told him that if he went…I would visit him because of your pictures (and to see him too, of course:)). Beautiful post.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Gigi. If I did it would be a small run for friends and family. the hard part is deciding which ones.😦 There’re worse places your grandson could visit and as you say you’d have to come visit.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    Another beautiful blog post, Laurie. They’re so amazing, these pictures! Siobhan is beautiful! And so are the birds. But I have to admit: NOTHING beats a young Koala. Well done!! You’re such a great photographer!!! So gifted!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Raani. I thought I might get you with the koalas. crikey I was excited taking the pictures.🙂 Siobhan made a good subject, I’ll put a couple up after Christmas as some I took are for Christmas presents. I’m working hard at trying to be gifted.😉
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. olganm

    Gorgeous pictures. From your description about how you took the Koala pic I think we need somebody taking a picture of you taking the picture! I agree Siobhan’s photo is lovely. She looks radiant. Love to see your pictures again…:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. it was a bit like a Monty Python skit actually. I took a whole set of Siobhan, I might filter a few out after Christmas. It’s good to be back showing them off too. Although I’m not rushing to answer everything straightaway, I’m getting there.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  8. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful shots Laurie and as close to the wildlife as I’m likely to get whilst its this hot. Love the colours…they all seem close enough to touch…. not Siobhan 😊.
    My summer attempt at being a nocturnal denizen or recluse is well under way. I’m glad you made it back before 2014 ended…you’ve beaten me 😁. Two weeks to go to break my drought. (Just imagine a selfie raspberry).
    Talk soon…. really good to see your photos.
    Blessings, Susan 💖

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Susan, I’m glad the heat doesn’t bother me otherwise I wouldn’t be snapping these lovely creatures.🙂 It’s what I love about my long lens, it brings them in close. Not Siobhan.🙂 I thought I hadn’t seen any of your stuff, except on FB, feeling better for it? looking forward to hearing from you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. nataliescarberry

    Wow, when you said it was gorgeous at the writer’s room you were defintely NOT overstating the matter. This is another round of great photos and why I missed you so much while you were absent. I love the face on the guy in the opening photo! Soooooo, soooo handsome is he!!! Hugs n’love, N❤❤❤

    Like

    Reply
  10. Pingback: It’s Gorgeous at The Writer’s Room. | The Writers Desk

  11. Patricia Salamone

    Wow Fratello you really have honed your talent. Absolutely gorgeous photos. We haven’t had a decent chat in a while. I hope after the Holiday’s are over I can sit on your veranda and have a nice long chat. Missing you and wishing you and your wife and family a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
    What a wonderful time of year, I love Christmas and all it stands for. Love, family, peace, birth and happiness. I am baking and cooking my brains out and loving every minute of it. Talk to you again soon.

    Fond Regards,
    Sorella

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, keep shooting is my motto, I’ll eventually get it right. No we haven’t but then again you’ve been busy moving and unpacking and I’ve been skulking in the background. thank you for your wonderful Christmas greetings, I’ll pass them on to Lorelle. I’m glad you enjoy the season but hey, don’t go cooking your brains out too much now.🙂
      Hugs’n Love from your
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Yvonne

    Phew, what a feast you have set before us, Laurie.

    I wonder why the koalas don’t fall out of the trees when they fall asleep? There must be some reflex thing going on that keeps their claws grasping until they wake up, sort of like bird’s claws do on tree branches.

    I wish I had eyes and eyelashes like the Wallaby.

    I’ve shared this on Facebook, my Venetian friends will love it!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Indeed it is Yvonne, worthy of the season and ready to be indulged. I think they just dig those big claws in and hope for the best. When you’re stoned like that I don’t think you’d care.🙂 Those eyes are something else aren’t they? They don’t use mascara neither. Thank you so much for sharing it with your friends in Venice, I do hope they enjoy them as much as you have.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  13. davidprosser

    Great to have you back. Brilliant pictures though I never knew ‘roos’ had green fangs. The rosella looks just like my favorite budgie looked so I guess they’re related. Well done on deciding not to walk into the road, the shots are great without that.
    Nadolig Llawen.
    A manly Hug.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s great to be here David. That grass does look fang like. Yes they’re all related and do look so like budgies, only on steroids.🙂 It was one of those bendy, country gravel roads that everyone drives way too fast on. No picture is worth getting run over for.
      A Blwyddyn Newydd Dda
      Hugs,
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

