Let’s have another go at The Writer’s Room.

Here we go again folks, it’s photo time. I used to start off with a sunset so I thought this double gerbera may make up for not having one.GerberaThis goanna thought if he stayed still long enough I’d go away. Nope. He’s about a metre long, sorry about missing the end of his tail.

Goanna

For those who dislike spiders I thought I might get this out of the way early. Do not dismay, cuteness will follow soon.

spiderI told you so. This is the same Koala from my last post, just a different angle.Koala

This unused fishpond had some water in it before Xmas and the Wallabies thought it was marvelous. It seems that everyone wanted to get in.

WallabiesI snapped this handsome young Red Deer a couple of days ago at the end of the road. He was curious enough to stop for a moment and pose.

Red Deer StagThis Roo hangs around the chalets where we stayed last year, the only trouble is they are hand fed by tourists. So when they see a person they bail them up. Notice the cranky face, tongue and attitude.

Kangaroo

Even the pelicans were anxious for a feed at Hawks Nest Bay.

pelicans

If we had bodybuilding competitions for Roos, this bloke would win it. Showing his guns, and err, hmm, everything else.

Kangaroos

This crab is the size of a matchbox and fast on his claws. I think he’s contemplating life and his place in it.

crab

Life can be tough living out in the wild, especially when it’s wet and windy.

Wallaby

Well that’s your lot for this week, and I can only imagine the Roo lovers are happy. I know who you are. It’s good to be back and I’ll get around to seeing you all soon.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

53 thoughts on “Let’s have another go at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    Absolutely stunning, Laurie! – Surprisingly this time the pelicans are my favorite. All your pictures are beautiful, but this one is the peak of your picture series! I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Patricia Salamone

    Hooray and Halleluiah, mu Fratello is back…The flower was like a burst of sunshine, beautiful. I am not much on spiders except for the fact that no matter how many times we humans or mother nature destroy their webs the next day there it is again. They never give up. Sort of like us, don’t ya think? Loved the Roo’s and all of your offerings, but most of all happy to have you back :o).

    Your
    Sorella

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You may also throw palm fronds on the ground in front of me too.😉 It was such a beautiful spider Sorella I had to share her. You’re right they don’t give up at all, it’s just as well we don’t.🙂 Yeah, I’m glad to beck too.

      Like

      Reply
  3. hitandrun1964

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY! I love all the photographs. They are fabulous…I love the lizard. Can you pet them or do they run away? I’m sure the roos want food from people. The flower is beautiful. I’m SOOOO happy you’re back. I missed all this beauty. I may have to move to Australia:) The sweet Koala the deer…so amazing. Again, so glad your back. Thank you for these beauties.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yay indeed! Thanks Gigi what a great welcome. No to the lizards, especially those. They’ll take a nip at you. Running away is their self-defence. Those roos get enough in the wild, but when they’re around humans all the time they’ll certainly take it. We don’t give any to ours, I want them eating my lawn.🙂 i’m so happy you’re pleased with my offerings.
      Cheers
      Laurie. ps. Don’t show the lizard to the chicklets, they love to eat birds eggs.😦

      Like

      Reply
  4. Patrons of the Pit

    Another splendid line-up of fotos, Laurie. It’s too bad you caught Mr. Roo with his bits and pieces hanging out, but what can you do. I like the lighting in the koala shot. That turned out good. And I assume that spider would no doubt knock a fellow belly-up in a minute flat, being an Australian spider and all. I don’t trust spiders!

    Take care, mate. Great to see you up and about!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Potp, I wanted to make a grand entrance with them. His bits were well tucked up in the bounding position, you ought to see them relaxed.😦 He’s a manly man alright. It was an extremely bright day when I took the koala pic so i used a fast shutter speed, it gave good clarity and showed the true blue colour of the sky. The spider is a Saint Andrews Cross spider, thankfully non aggressive and has a very weak venom. Although if you walk into ones web in the dark you soon get in touch with your Ninja moves. Thanks for dropping in guys, it’s great to be up and about. Cheers.

      Like

      Reply
  5. olganm

    Beautiful and spectacular. the crab made me think of a story by Martie Preller called ‘Master of the Universe’ about a crab that believes he is…Nice to see you back.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Olga. I must have taken a dozen pics of him before I managed that one. They’re so quick! With limited vision and a watery environment they must see the universe on a whole different level. It’s nice to be back here my dear.🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      He’s certainly a nice specimen Bruce. I do like pelicans they have a certain something about them. They’re also quite violent when it comes to not sharing a free feed of fish carcasses.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I love the colors of the gerbera and the cute critters, even the spider ’cause they’re interesting. I especially love the hunting and wolf spiders with their beautiful and faceted eyes. What kind is this one?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes there are certainly some great colours around this week Joy, I’m feeling brighter.🙂 The spider is a Saint Andrews Cross spider, so named because it weaves the centre of its web into a cross. You can see in the pic that it has one piece done already. They’re very low on the toxicity rating and non aggressive. I hope to have more soon of a red back.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Good to be hear Greg. Yep, that big boy was certainly strutting his stuff, yet when they’re around a receptive female they’re real gentle and tender. Put another male there and it’s Rocky 6 all over again.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. suzjones

    I’m so pleased to see you back Laurie. I’ve had a forced hiatus myself this week but you know what life is like. Was thinking about you last week and kept meaning to email but like I said about the past week….🙂
    Huge cyber hugs to you.
    Oh! And I loved the photos. Even the one with the spider. Since it wasn’t big and hairy I could handle it. lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Suz me old chum, I’m so pleased to hear from you. I know indeed how life is, it seems to create a huge vacuum, ie, it sucks. Glad you liked the photos, I do enjoy sharing them. I thought the spider was nice, especially the web. Did you see how I put the koala straight up after it? The impact is lessened.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron, the ole mo-jo is seeping through the pores again. I must take a picture of a Red Back spider for you, she’s down in the tractor shed with her eggs. I took a few pics last week but I’m not too happy with them.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Dover, I’ve missed sharing my pics. It’s always nice to know that they’re appreciated. I think the offerings might keep you going for awhile.
      I do rock indeed!

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

