Ohhh, it’s interesting at The Writer’s Room.

I’m still here and what a treat this week. Unless you dislike frogs and wasps that is. Sometimes you have to make the most of a scene. I went out to take a sunset shot and this Green Tree Frog was out on the window ledge. So I took him around to the tap, gave him a splash then placed him in the planter, hence the happy look on his face. I like the gold flecks in his eyes.

Frog in a planter.

I think this is an Ichneumon wasp. He was lurking in a shrub, trying to be inconspicuous… fail.

waspA flower from the Port WIne Magnolia bush, it smells like Hubba Bubba bubblegum.

Port Wine Magnolia

A Swallow Tail butterfly, one that stayed still long enough to get a decent capture.

 SwallowTail Butterfly

They seek you out and stare through your bedroom window. The joey is rather bemused by the naked photographer.

kangaroo

Then you get your own back and capture a tender moment at the back door. I have to say his ear nibbling technique was impressive.

kangaroos

Just when you’re having your portrait done there’s always a photo-bomber.

WallabyA quick snap out of the car window on our trip last year. Somewhere in Northern New South Wales.

scene

Early morning on Hawks Nest Beach.

Hawks Nest beach

A trio of Corellas being quiet for a moment, at Lake Apex Park.

Corellas

A pair of fledgling Cattle Egrets, at Lake Apex.

Cattle Egret Fledglings

There we have it for another week. For those who follow me on FB you would have seen the Egrets and Butterfly this week. You must admit though they needed to be shared further afield. Take care and we’ll see you all next time.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

48 thoughts on “Ohhh, it’s interesting at The Writer’s Room.

      1. thisisnotbangkok

        So true. I am definitely a bug phobic lol. As for my blog, I have run out of inspiration lately. I am in bad need of taking a photo expedition of sorts. However, I am uploading a photo now that you will probably like.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Bugs aren’t everybody’s cup of tea but I do like snapping them. No inspiration? That’s not good Michael, let’s hope things change soon for you. I’ll check out the pic soon. Cheers, Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        I should have said no time for inspiration. I think I do have inspiration but I am in desperate need of going out and taking a bunch of photos. I am working nearly every night and sleeping for much of the day. So my time is limited right now. But I work for two ridesharing companies and pass endless amounts of photo opportunities every night. So I look forward to these new photos. Definitely looking forward to hearing from you regarding my latest photo…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. suzjones

    Ha ha. You’re so lucky you didn’t have a ‘caption this’ comment under the photo of the joey outside your bedroom window!! rofl
    Seriously great photos my friend. I am still in love with the butterfly photos and the eyes of the Green Tree frog are just divine.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bruce. I’ve been using a Canon 18-250mm lens on a Canon 600D body. For the closeup shots I have it on a monopod. It’s a great lens. When I get really serious I use a Sigma 150-500mm lens.

      Like

      Reply
  2. nataliescarberry

    Oh my, Laurence, you’re taking some fabulous photos these days. Maybe your little down spell was a good thing. I absolutely love frogs and that picture you took was stunning. Although the wasp was an interesting “critter,” I’m not a big wasp fan. I can move in and around my bees at will and seldom ever have a problem, but those damn wasps are a different story. They are always looking for a fight and hurt so bad when they sting. But it was a lovely photo for sure! Thanks for this beautiful post and as always for being my inimitable Sir Laurence of Australia! Love’n hugs, LMS ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you LMS, I guess we all need a refreshing break now and then.🙂 The wasp has certainly caught a few people’s attention, I’m allergic myself so I used a long lens. I’m glad you liked this weeks offerings, it seems I have a reputation to live up to. As for the Sir, our prime minister gave a knighthood to Prince Phillip. So I’m hanging out for one now. 🙂
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence (still waiting for knighthood)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Yeppers, I think we do. I will be taking one for a few days when my knee replacement occurs. The PM sould most certainly give knighthood to you too, O Sage of Australia that you are!!! Have a wonderful week, my friend. Hugs and love, N😉❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I think you’ll be having more than a few days break after your op LMS. The PM’s in a little trouble at the moment so definitely no knighthood.😦 I’ll try my best.
        Love’n Hugs
        Laurence.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Olga. I guess every creature has its own, innate beauty no matter what they are. But it’s always good to avoid them.🙂 I will have a good weekend Olga, it’s going to be great.

      Like

      Reply
  3. davidprosser

    Not a duff shot in sight Laurie. They’re all stunning. You could easily be getting these in magazines as professional work. Though I like them all, the trio of Corellas is my favourite as I adore birds, especially parrot types.
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you David. I haven’t even sent anything off or entered them in shows, perhaps I should remedy that. Thought you might like the parrots, they’re always a great subject.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Teagan, I have to soften the blow as it were when I show biting insects and such. The frog was a great subject, he certainly appreciated the wash as he’d been living in one of the window fascias. I’m allergic to wasp stings too, so I used a longer lens.😉 Hugs back at you Teagan.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. hitandrun1964

    Really, I don’t know what to say. These photographs are so amazing Laurie. They should be in books or on the covers of magazines. Truly wonderful and I love the three birds and the kangaroos. They are all just outstanding and I look at them over and over again. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Gigi, I have to keep my standards up now.🙂 I’m glad you think so highly of my stuff. The corellas are nice birds but oh so noisy, friendly too. They let you get a bit closer before flying off. Keep enjoying them, they should take your mind off the cold weather.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

