Is there no end to The Writer’s Room?

A framed frame here in a friend’s garden, thanks Kathy.Bird of Paradise

I love tall trees and using Lorelle to show you just how big they are.trees

One of my favourite subjects, an Egret. Naturally I missed him grabbing a fish.IMG_0026

Yes I know, another Red Deer but isn’t she beautiful? Taken at the end of our road.Red Deer

A Noisy Miner, it just kept on posing at the outside cafรฉ so I took its picture.Noisy Mynah

They always give me a photo opportunity, bless ’em.Wallabies

This is a Carpet Python or Morelia spilota. We were taking a walk around Berimba Wetlands at Browns Plains last week and Lorelle spotted this lovely fellow first. The squeals were terrible. My reaction, “Quick, get out of the way I have to get its picture.” The log was huge and I estimated the snake to be about two and a half metres long. (about 7 feet)Carpet Python

An adult Cattle Egret standing guard above one of its babies. Quite a handsome fellow really.Egret

We walked for about five minutes after seeing the snake and came across these mushrooms, or perhaps toadstools. Either way they make for a great subject, at least they don’t move. I had a 10×12 inch print done of them today and my don’t they look nice on the wall.Fungi

That’s it for another week, these pics will look even better opened in a new tab or window. I hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I enjoy taking them.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

 

57 thoughts on “Is there no end to The Writer’s Room?

  1. Pingback: secret garden | Wordifull

  2. Wordifull Melanie

    All great pictures…as per usual! I can’t even take good clear pictures of inanimate objects LOL so i do admire your talent.

    That first picture is particularly intriguing… I might just have to write something to go with that…with your blessing of course๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. suzjones

    Awesome shots there Laurie. The son spotted a brown in our front garden the other day but it moved too quick for a photo (or even for us to see it). I reckon it was moving to higher ground.๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        I am glad you are feeling a little better but hope your chest infection clears soon. A lot of them about at the present. In a week or so we should have a natter about you guesting on my blog – perhaps ‘A day in the life…’ etc? I am trying to find time to fit stuff in and trips to the hospital – going later today – for physio and so on and it is taking up lots of my time with travel. Get better soon and love your blog as you know.โค

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It’s never ending Jane, the antibiotics are doing something. I think they’ve killed off every bacteria in my body.๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’d love to guest on your blog Jane, thank you. Keep well, do your exercises and we’ll talk soon.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. nataliescarberry

    Oh how I pray there is no end to the “Writer’s Room” and you, at least as long as I’m around. It’s just too sad a thought to even contemplate! Great photos as usual, Sir L.
    You always bring sunshine into little LMS’s world. Hugs’n love, N โคโคโค

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Patricia Salamone

    Enjoying your offerings as I sip my cuppa. Thank you dear brother. Your photo’s are beautiful as they reflect your mind’s eye. I close my eyes and travel to your beautiful country. You are truly one with nature.

    Love
    Sorella

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hello Sorella, I’m so glad you’re enjoying this weeks offerings. I haven’t thought of it before, how the viewer is for a moment part of the photographer, seeing what they saw at that moment. The big, wooden bench is still on the veranda waiting for you.๐Ÿ™‚
      Love
      Fratello.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Nicci

    Oh, you have the most wonderful wildlife there.
    Are those blue gum trees?
    I never tire of the red deer. She is lovely.
    Egrets are gorgeous. I can’t believe what great shots you get. The egret has a skinny neck. I wonder how big a fish it can swallow.

    I’m with Lorelle. Shriek! You are funny getting your photograph. Of course you’ve had a snake crawl right over you, so I shouldn’t be surprised. It does take courage to live and walk in the bush in Australia.

    A wonderful collection, Laurie!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      We certainly do Nia. I think they might be blue gums. There are only two female deer, their young and a stag around at the moment. There could be more come the rut at Easter though. I reckon with the egrets it would be the biggest they could get down, they’ve got plenty of neck to swallow with.๐Ÿ™‚ One can’t let shrieking wives stand in the way of a good picture opportunity you know. As a boy I used to go out into the nearby bush with a potato sack, a forked stick and my little brother. He’d catch lizards and I would catch brown snakes. We’d take them home and show dad, then I’d let the snakes go. I leave them be these days though. Thanks for your kind comments Nia.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Vera, the frame is quite popular. Just another way to look at a garden. Big old snakes like that won’t bother you, just leave them be. Now if you were a little critter…

      Like

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    So wonderful. I just LOVE your pictures. The snake is beautiful. I like pythons, my son had a big one. the birds are amazing, the Miner looks quite large. The Egrets are gorgeous. Every picture is perfect. I really look forward to them each week. โค

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. I must agree with the python, a fine specimen. The Miner bird was quite close (waiting to check our table out) so I zoomed in on him. I’m so glad you enjoy my offerings.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  8. Yvonne

    Isn’t the texture of the fungi in the last photo excellent! You caught them at just the right time in their life cycle.

    You really do take great photos to share with us, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. davidprosser

    You don’t need me to tell you how great these are Laurie.There must be people the world over interested in what Australia has to offer and yet you show us every week. You should be producing shots for the tourist board.
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

